Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Warning slippery road ahead" - N32

• 11-10-2009 10:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Can someone explain why these VMA are on the N32. One at the bewleys hotel roundabout facing the m50, and the other just before the roundabout coming from clarehall direction.

They have 'slippery road ahead' warning now for a few weeks and i have yet to see why they are their.

MessageVMS.jpg
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Could be just an attempt to slow traffic. Since most don't heed the 50/60kph limit on some sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

The N32 is 60kph from end to end iirc. The signs are just at the roundabout, so coming from clarehall you would be at the end of the n32 so the sign wouldn't be doing much effect.

I was thinking something must have happened a few weeks ago at the roundabout, but the sings were never removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Do the NRA have anything posted about any works or proposed works for this section of road on their site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Don't know if there are other reasons, but I'll vouch for it being slippery in rain after a dry spell!

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Don't know if there are other reasons, but I'll vouch for it being slippery in rain after a dry spell!

Wouldn't say thats just confined to this spot

Hal1 wrote: »
    Do the NRA have anything posted about any works or proposed works for this section of road on their site?

Cant see anything myself, or on AA site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭October

I can confirm that roundabout is slippy!! Last Sunday week (4th October) I went into a skid going around it - extremely lucky I didn't hit another car or the traffic island. I was so shaken I pulled into that little road that goes nowhere on the roundabout. Couple of minutes later another car pulled in, he had also gone into a skid. While standing there I saw several cars skid. I rang Coolock Garda station to report what I presumed was an oil spill and they told me they were aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

These signs have been at that roundabout for as long as I can remember and with good reason as it's a very badly designed junction/roundabout - but it's also the usual "Oirish" thing.. rather than resurface the road/roundabout properly, just put up a sign. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Clytus

Slippery...more like lethal!
    I nearly crapped my pants there today,the whole feckin car slide sideways at 50 Kph!!

Clytus wrote: »
    I nearly crapped my pants there today,the whole feckin car slide sideways at 50 Kph!!

Which way were you going?
    Gone through the roundabout hundreds of times and never noticed even after rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

Davy wrote: »
    Which way were you going?
    Gone through the roundabout hundreds of times and never noticed even after rain

I found the same thing. Very slippy heading towards Clarehall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Must be even worse on a motorcycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭martian1980

Clytus wrote: »

That has happened me twice in the last year - once it wasn't that noticible, but it felt like I was losing control of the car. The second time the car slid way off course! I pulled in cos I was sure I must have a flat tyre. Lots of other cars were sliding too. This is coming off the roundabout coming towards clare hall. A guy I work with had the same issue. I don't know what is the story but I come off that roundabout at no more than 30km/h since!

Their was oil spill warnings on the roundabout during the week, and the oil spill kits/sand spread over the roundabout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Voltex wrote: »
    I found the same thing. Very slippy heading towards Clarehall.

Funny you should say that.

I've only ever slid coming from the M50 towards Clarehall and I'd use that roundabout a few times daily.

Even taking it easy through it there's a tendency for most vehicles I'd drive to under steer badly and drift towards the path on the N32.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

i cannot believe ive found this thread.ive skidded on this three times and nobody believed me.i was working in the airport and driving to raheny via clarehall.i actually did a full 180 degree spin one of the times,and a lady coming behind me spun as well.then we saw a lorry coming and jumped out of our cars waving our arms.he slowed thank god.

another time i was going to work,there was a motorcyclist on the ground after taking a tumble.there is a drain on the apex(in the clarehall direction) i dont know whether its a contributing factor though.

by the way these incidents happened to me in 2007. but i go around the roundabout like miss daisy ever since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

by the way these incidents happened to me in 2007. but i go around the roundabout like miss daisy ever since

Well it hasn't changed one bit!.

I tip toe around it too, however if I'm on the outside of someone I'm half expecting them to slide towards me so I try avoid entering with someone.

I was behind an elderly couple who done a complete 180 in a Merc only this weekend, dry road and normal speed.

Bit of a Bump

The roundabout has now been surrounded in yellow asphalt on one lane, i presume they will be doing the other one aswell. They did the first bit over night i think. The VMS are still there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Davy wrote: »
    Bit of a Bump

The roundabout has now been surrounded in yellow asphalt on one lane, i presume they will be doing the other one aswell. They did the first bit over night i think. The VMS are still there
    wow that didn't take them long! only 7 months lol

Ye would have been quicker myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Thank god it's getting fixed. I might even dare use the inside lane now, coming from the m50 to N32.

I'm a generally a pretty calm driver and just react without getting too jumpy during incidents that (nearly) occur but I was well rattled by a bad skid coming through there last November. Far worse than anything I experienced during the big freeze this year.

This was finished last night, both lanes are done now.