Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

escape niteclub

• 10-10-2009 4:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭

Anyone in there yet? whats it like.. hmmm getting overruled and have to go there tonight, want to be ready for what awaits me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

havent been there myself but people i know have said its basically the rubys crowd that goes there ie the teens,bebo heads and wannabe gangsters/scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

oh ...... joyful >.<

ya never know,ya might like it and have the best night of your life:D

then again i havent been there,just going on what a few heads have told me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

anplaya wrote: »
    havent been there myself but people i know have said its basically the rubys crowd that goes there ie the teens,bebo heads and scumbags.

Should probably go to a place for yourself before badmouthing it.

nah i know meself what its like,lads have told me,so if its the same as rubys i know exactly what its like then.thats all i need to know.

i wouldnt go into the middle of baghdad cause i know what it would be like.:D

ya never know,ya might like it and have the best night of your life:D

then again i havent been there,just going on what a few heads have told me.

Yeah ya never kno! doubt it hate rubys

she was only answering my question :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

I was in there last Saturday and it was fine, Typical Waterford heads bad mouthing a place, Its not as big as Rubys but looks a lot better, go in there for yourself as you were told and see what you think, It was a mixed crowd in there.

Shall do :) ill report back haha!

I was in there last Saturday and it was fine, Typical Waterford heads bad mouthing a place, Its not as big as Rubys but looks a lot better, go in there for yourself as you were told and see what you think, It was a mixed crowd in there.

typical waterford heads?i was just telling he/she what i was told.he/she doesnt have to listen to what i say.

fair enough you enjoyed it but it might not be for every1.as i said i havent been there,but i know it wouldnt be my kinda place,hence thats why i dont go there.i also said ya never know youll prob have the best night of your life.

regardless of if ya go to escape or not,enjoy your night.:D

she'll try to thankie:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

i for would like to take this thread to say...... DONT GO TO GEOFF'S :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

Grand place, more relaxed atmousphere than Rubys for whatever reason and the quieter zone upstairs is a cool idea.

The only bad thing I'd say is the music played is very very safe-seems like the Beat playlist from 2-3months ago-not exactly pushing the boundaries of DJ'ing. If they sort that out I wouldent have any complaints.

ziedth wrote: »

lol,dont get me started on that ****hole,full of pretentious w@nkers lol

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    Grand place, more relaxed atmousphere than Rubys for whatever reason and the quieter zone upstairs is a cool idea.

The only bad thing I'd say is the music played is very very safe-seems like the Beat playlist from 2-3months ago-not exactly pushing the boundaries of DJ'ing. If they sort that out I wouldent have any complaints.

Its a commercial club, Chart is being played is most cheesey clubs, Im afraid it works, I Know a lot of chart music is muck as well, but if you go pushing the boudaries with a lot harder stuff your going to empty the club then have an owner that is not happy as he or she is not making money:)

ziedth wrote: »

awww hush ye! i love geoffs:)

went to the forum after all that >.< until next time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Bluezar

I like Escape, it's more like a Disco Bar than a nightclub but it's really cool inside..Better than Geoffs anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I agree with bluezar calling it a disco bar the dancefloor is a bit on the small side.
    But its somewere different to go and I prefer it to oxygen which is a horrible niteclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I haven't been down in ages lads, where is this new venue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I haven't been down in ages lads, where is this new venue?

Its next to centra on john street and is above revolution, you cant go through revolution to get to escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭west101

just left the place recommend you dont go in there on a sunday night its s**t!

Myself and the Mrs where in there last night Sunday, we enjoyed ourselfs was quiet allright, better than any where else in town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭well butty

Myself and the Mrs where in there last night Sunday, we enjoyed ourselfs was quiet allright, better than any where else in town

I have to agree with you. It is certainly refreshingly different to what we were used to.

Sunday is the only night we have off over the weekend, and the mrs has an obsession with Harveys which I dont like, the drink is over priced, and the music in harveys soundslike they are playing at a wedding, No complaints what so ever about the last night, loved the 90's tunes:) Keep up the good work lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 The Knee Grow

Irelands Smallest Nightclub!!!! Smoking area is class enough... way better than ruby's shed of a place... Tiny dancefloor,like 16 lit up tiles... Not worth the bother at all and like there's a fingerprint scanner to get your coat which didnt work for me... Whats wrong with a f*ckin ticket!!

To be honest... Get a bus to cork or somewhere cos there's f*ck all in Waterford except scum and teenies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭well butty

Irelands Smallest Nightclub!!!! Smoking area is class enough... way better than ruby's shed of a place... Tiny dancefloor,like 16 lit up tiles... Not worth the bother at all and like there's a fingerprint scanner to get your coat which didnt work for me... Whats wrong with a f*ckin ticket!!

To be honest... Get a bus to cork or somewhere cos there's f*ck all in Waterford except scum and teenies

And there's no scum in Cork. That's a new one for me!

Your a brave man or woman saying that on a Waterford forum, I agree with you about the dance floor just looks liked it was thrown in the corner and no thought put into it, A night club should be deisnged around the dancefloor, and most night clubs in the Uk and Dublin have finger print scanners, the reason they are put into clubs becuase people end up losing tickets looks like Cork is a bit behind the times by 5 years, an no scum or teenies in cork thats a first ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

You've an awful habit of stereotyping people that go to certain places.

sorrywhat wrote: »
    Ah now in his defence, the pubs can be broken down into what people go there, and for what music they want to listen to

the loft - house and dance, ya aint going to see rockers or whatever you want to call them in there

rubies.. full of cheese

fourm- is mainly emo's and what not, like my friends wouldnt go there cause they hate the music and all that scene

Out of curiosity Emo, when was the last time you were in Rubys?

yeah cause its true.and thats why i try and avoid those places.

as Emo said ya wouldnt go to certain places cause ya know what they would be like.with the crowd,drink prices,music etc.so if ya dont like them ya tend to avoid them.thats only my opinion about geoffs,you have your opinions about places and youre entitled to them.

Out of curiosity Emo, when was the last time you were in Rubys?
    wednesday last week, went there cause most of the people i was with wanted to go there, walked in paid the fiver or whatever it was, stayed ten minutes and left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

yeah cause its true.and thats why i try and avoid those places.

as Emo said ya wouldnt go to certain places cause ya know what they would be like.with the crowd,drink prices,music etc.so if ya dont like them ya tend to avoid them.thats only my opinion about geoffs,you have your opinions about places and youre entitled to them.

Yea thats partially true. I dont go to some pubs because I have been in them and didnt like them, but I wouldnt say I dont go to geoffs because they are all pretentious [EMAIL="w@ankers"]w@ankers[/EMAIL].

And Emo, what kind of music do you like? Or do you like to hear in a night club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Yea thats partially true. I dont go to some pubs because I have been in them and didnt like them, but I wouldnt say I dont go to geoffs because they are all pretentious [EMAIL="w@ankers"]w@ankers[/EMAIL].

My feelings on geoffs are known at this stage, BUT I must admit that I went in there las saturday night and I thought it was grand. In saying that I just came up from the wwacky apple and by jesus I'd happily live in Ruby's then go into that fecking place again.

And Emo, what kind of music do you like? Or do you like to hear in a night club?

My opinion music wise in a club, I’m going by the club I play In Clonmel, Your main night club are area would be the latest chart, Commercial Dance and Rnb and the old school tunes, 70 and 80’ are more suited to a disco bar with your current chart stuff, as you have a more mixed crowd and the second area of the club caters for this. Just playing every style of music in the main part of a club doesn’t sound good, you will never keep everyone happy, and you will always get moaners that nothing is ever good enough as proven on this thread

I just find it interesting, I mean, if you don't like old skool, RnB, house, remixes etc...then you have no business going in a niteclub, and consequently, in my opinion, no business complaining about them. Unless of course that niteclub is advertising a rock night or something like that, and you don't get what's on the tin.

Rubys, on some nights, will play a lot of old skool, a bit of old skool hip hop, a smijin of the charts, some house and some dance. For the average nite clubber, this is a perfect mix. Escape, a disco bar, not a nite club, is a superb place to go for people who are not into the night club scene...cocktails, shots, a bit of class as some would say. Harveys, although i haven't been there in a long time, is another classy venue. I was in geoffs today and I really enjoyed it...had a tea first...then a budvar...a great chat with my mate...(music was a bit too loud at times for the time of day that it was - but they were playing the stone roses at the time and i appreciated that) and generally I had a nice few hours.

The problem is that there's not enough people in the town to sustain that many venues...so a lot are closing, and the rest are under pressure to appeal to as many as possible.

Yea thats partially true. I dont go to some pubs because I have been in them and didnt like them, but I wouldnt say I dont go to geoffs because they are all pretentious w@ankers.

i have been there numerous times and i dont like the place.thats what it seems like to me.we'll agree to diasgree ok then? who cares anyway?

Well said, but is Escape not being advertised as a nightclub? Why call it a nightclub if its not one? I agree with you it dosent look like a night club, and anplaya if you dont like that place dont go there, easy as:)

It is, but to be honest if we were in a bigger city there could be 10 night clubs and they'd all look differently...to us it's more of a disco bar

Well said, but is Escape not being advertised as a nightclub? Why call it a nightclub if its not one? I agree with you it dosent look like a night club, and anplaya if you dont like that place dont go there, easy as:)

as i said only my opinion.sometimes it cant be avoided going there.as i said it wouldnt be my choice. anyway,who cares.ye go wherever ye want to go.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

Agree with Bluezar.

More of Disco Bar than a club.

I generally wouldnt be into commercial clubs or any of the sort but went down here to visit a mate on Sunday.
    reminded me of being
    The main dance floor is way to bright aswell.
    Music is terrible, ranging from cotton eye joe to eiffel 65 to new commercial music Terrible dj too. ha

Looks well/modern though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

PatrickD32 wrote: »

Looks well/modern though.

i dont mean to sound lyk a [EMAIL="smart@rse"]smart@rse[/EMAIL] but its a fairly new building so it would want to look modern ha nd the club just opened under a year ago

Ledger

Ledger wrote: »
    i dont mean to sound lyk a [EMAIL="smart@rse"]smart@rse[/EMAIL] but its a fairly new building so it would want to look modern ha nd the club just opened under a year ago

Ledger

I know its new yep.
    Shur I live in town. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

ha sorry man lyk i said didnt mean to sound lyk a [EMAIL="smart@rse"]smart@rse[/EMAIL] lol

Ledger

haha no bother

Patrcik D. Can I ask you a question? why are you going to a commerical club if your not into that sort of thing, I normally head in here most Sunday nights after Muldoons as im not a fan of Rubys, and the last time I saw an escape flyer it is a cheese night on a Sunday so you are getting whats on the can, Im a dj myself in Galway and Wexford, and if it is the same dj that is in there on Sundays, he is a good dj, if he was **** I would say it, Muldoons might be more suited to your ears by the sounds of it and if its an i pod dj that you are into that fades one track in after another Muldoons is really the palce for you.

Patrcik D. Can I ask you a question? why are you going to a commerical club if your not into that sort of thing.

I generally dont go to such clubs but I was meeting an old friend there, and the girls bday which she was at wanted to go there.
    So it wasnt out of my choice. That would be why.

Muldoons might be more suited to your ears by the sounds of it and if its an i pod dj that you are into that fades one track in after another Muldoons is really the palce for you.

By the sound of it? My comment on 1 new venue and you are able to narrow down a venue which you think would be to my liking? Hardly now. I do not like Muldoons either.

Im a dj myself in Galway and Wexford, and if it is the same dj that is in there on Sundays, he is a good dj, if he was **** I would say it, Muldoons might be more suited to your ears by the sounds of it and if its an i pod dj that you are into that fades one track in after another Muldoons is really the palce for you.
    Whats a dj supposed to do?
    Disc Jockey.
    Someone that mixes 2tunes together well and smoothly would be my take on it.
    Ipod fade in Muldoons?? dont know about that as I dont go there.
    Numerous spinback sounds before next tune was brought in and played. Mixing was atrocious, song choices were an epic fail.
    Unless your into your "spinback mixing" and " voice over " mixing then grand haha!
    Usually these commercial clubs are cheesy and if I do get stuck going to one, Id expect the usual cheese mixed not so well but when I was in Escape it really took the biscuit. Having to hear "mark mccabe - maniac 2000" being played not long after latest commercial hip hop-tune? and then 'mixed' back into "eifel 65" or "cotton eye joe" Come off it :D

ha ha you make me laugh, fair enough if you were dragged there by friends not your fault, but Patrick as I said its a chessey music night, thats whats your going to hear, and the songs you are saying that he was playing, I play these myself an odd time and the fill the dance floor, but I do hate Mark Mccabe:D but they work im afraid to say, they might not be to your taste but you cant keep everyone happy, Just like yourself ha ha It just annoys me when people dont know what they are talking about, If you ever take up djn you might change your mind , every drunk in the place looking for this and that, Its not as easy as you think, Just standing up for djs:) anyway thats me done

ha ha are you takin the pish?
    So a cheesy Music night excuses terrible mixing, or have you chosen not to reply to that part.
    The crowd that in their falling over themselves on floor dont care whats played and theres no need drag anybody out when ya have such people on the floor. As they wouldnt even notice whats played.

It just annoys me when people dont know what they are talking about, If you ever take up djn you might change your mind , every drunk in the place looking for this and that, Its not as easy as you think, Just standing up for djs:) anyway thats me done

I know exactly what Im talking about, as I dont throw my mouth off on topics I know nothing about. I have decks at home and have well over 20/30 close mates who dj. And when they do have to play cheese, as least its mixed and consistent. Its not as if im just another drunken student requesting rihanna or latest top song in charts mouthing off on something I know nothing about. Also note I was sober going in and when leaving Escape. :D

Maybe i should have got locked before going in to appreciate or just to not not remember the poorness of music choices and so called 'mixing' :D