Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

David Gray / Regina Spektor

• 09-10-2009 3:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭

Any idea how long Regina Spektor would be playing? I was very excited to hear she was going to be playing in December, and then I realised she was supporting David Gray. Wasn't going to bother, but tickets are €33, which doens't really seem too bad. Do support acts usually play about half an hour, or longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭CiaranK

cailinoBAC wrote: »
    Any idea how long Regina Spektor would be playing? I was very excited to hear she was going to be playing in December, and then I realised she was supporting David Gray. Wasn't going to bother, but tickets are €33, which doens't really seem too bad. Do support acts usually play about half an hour, or longer?

Normally it's around half an hour. Unless it's a double headliner, like the Whitesnake/Def Leppard tour. But generally it's half an hour.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,572 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Id say she will get about 45mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭Dr Gradus

id love to go to this, even if she is only supporting i missed her at oxygen, tickets on sale yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Yep, on sale yesterday.

I reckon it'll be a good night, I've seen Regina live before and she's a very engaging live performer, and David Gray's stuff is pretty decent on the whole.

Yeh i wouldnt be a massive fan of David Gray but Regina Spektor is an astonishing artist so i figure its worth it.
    Got the tickets now anyway so i'll have to make the most of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

I'm going too and more for Regina Spektor than David Gray but it should be a good night. I was hoping she'd do her own show but it'll be nice to see her at the O2. I reckon when the opening act is "featured", such as this gig, then that opening act gets 45 minutes to an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Twilighter

I'm dying to go because I absolutely adore Regina Spektor plus David Gray isn't a bad artist, I like some of his stuff.

But I'm a student and I'm going to both the Arctic Monkeys and Paolo Nutini in November (they're like 4 days apart..) I finish my college exams on the 18th so maybe my mum and dad would buy my ticket as an early christmas present. I don't know anyone wanting to go to it though..

Gutted!
    She was excellent at Oxegen btw, despite the 25 minute hold up because of her piano.

I'm going for Regina Spektor too :P I've been dying to see her live.

Is anyone going for David Gray?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Surely, given how early the gig kicks off (6:30 on a Saturday!) there must be some inclination towards it being sort of a double header?

Can't help noticing Regina is playing on her own for most of the rest of her tour, some of which are in other o2's...

Its a bloody shame there isn't a show of regina spektor here if you ask me.

Looking at her tour schedule, the only other "O2" I can see is in Birmingham and that O2 venue holds about 3000 while the O2 here in Dublin holds a lot more. It would be nice if she was doing her own show though. Maybe next year she could play the Grand Canal Theatre.

Like someone said, doors at 6.30, so i'd say Regina will play 7-8, and David Gray 8.30-10.15/10.30

Thats good enough for me!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Driver 8 wrote: »
    Like someone said, doors at 6.30, so i'd say Regina will play 7-8, and David Gray 8.30-10.15/10.30

Doubt she'll get an hour, times at a guess
    RS 7:45 -8:30
    DG - 9:00 -10:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

im going for david gray

I just rang The O2's number and the recorded message says that doors open at 6.30pm with the showing starting at 8.00pm and ending between 10.30pm-11.00pm. I would suppose that this means Regina is on stage at 8 and David Gray is on at 9ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

JJ wrote: »
    I just rang The O2's number and the recorded message says that doors open at 6.30pm with the showing starting at 8.00pm and ending between 10.30pm-11.00pm. I would suppose that this means Regina is on stage at 8 and David Gray is on at 9ish.

The good news, well, for me, is that the email from Ticketmaster says Regina is due on at 7.15 followed by David at 9. That's a very decent amount of time for Regina altogether...

So it is, they've just published the stage times on The O2 site:

http://www.theo2.ie/event/david-gray

Regina Spektor: 7.15pm to 8.30pm
    David Gray: 9.00pm to 11.00pm

75 mins for Regina? Good stuff :)

75 mins!! yayyy! I was expecting 45 max.

I got back a short while ago from this gig. Regina was fantastic. The opening set was like a mini gig. It was a shame not everyone was into it but that's generally what you get with an opening act. David Gray was good for a few songs but we left before the end of the encore.

I thought Regina was very good, even though, preferring Begin to Hope/Soviet Kitsch to Far, I could've done with a couple more old songs, but it's no big complaint. I'd like to thank the nice skanger behind me, clearly dragged by his girlfriend, for making snarky comments after every other song she played, for his contribution to the evening :rolleyes:

Thought David Gray was good, nice full sound from the band, but by the encore it was starting to get a bit repetitive. Simply put, i think he needs a few more uptempo numbers, everything was either slow or mid-paced, and while the songs are fine in isolation, as I said, by two hours in it started to sag. Nevertheless, the singalongs, especially for Babylon and Sail Away were great, and I was pleasantly surprised at how good the band sounded.

Regina played, (not in order, from memory, feel free to add anything I've forgotten):

1. The Calculation
    2. Eet
    3. Folding Chair
    4. Dance Anthem of the 80s
    5. Laughing With
    6. Machines
    7. Blue Lips
    8. Fidelity
    9. On the Radio
    10. Samson
    11. Apres Moi
    12. Bobbing for Apples
    13. Love, You're a Whore
    14. Ode to Divorce
    15. That Time
    16. Hotel Song

David Gray (as above, from memory):

1. Fugitive
    2. The One I Love
    3. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye
    4. Jackdaw
    5. Kathleen
    6. Nemesis
    7. Ain't No Love
    8. Slow Motion
    9. Other Side
    10. Be Mine
    11. Babylon
    12. Sail Away
    13. This Years Love
    14. First Chance
    15. You're the World to Me
    16. Please Forgive me

Thuoght it was a fine gig altogether. Loved Reginas Apres Moi, not an easy song to do without other instruments. David Gray, fair play to him for doing a solid 2 hour set, really got the crowd going at the end with the encore......

Good stuff.

Regina was a-mazing. I love her a little bit more, which seemed impossible to me. I was 2nd from the front and had a perfect view of her.

Unfortunately I ended up with food poisoning which kicked in between their sets, and spent most of David Gray vomiting in the first aid post. From what I could hear he was quite good, but I left at 10pm:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Does anyone know the name of the last two songs David played?

I got Regina's set list last night from her forum:

The Calculation
    Eet
    Folding Chair
    Ode to Divorce
    Machine
    Laughing With
    Blue Lips
    On The Radio
    Dance Anthem...
    Bobbing for Apples
    That Time
    Apres Moi
    Samson
    Us
    Fidelity
    Hotel Song
    Love, You're a Whore

I was also near the sound desk at first but when I saw I was the only person around applauding Regina, I started moving closer. I hope she does her own gig the next time she comes here.

I'm not sure if she'd get the support for her own gig here, but hopefully next year it will happen. I'd love that.

And the last two songs David Gray played were Nemesis i think he said and that one by 'the who' thats the theme song from CSI Miami....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

she did gig here few years ago in whelans and it sold out,she is a much bigger commodity now compared to then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

I saw her in Tripod a year or 2 ago an it was sold out I think. Was an incredible gig.

Im very jealous, would love to have seen her in whelans........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Dr Gradus wrote: »
    Thuoght it was a fine gig altogether. Loved Regina's Apres Moi, not an easy song to do without other instruments.

Peter Gabriel covers Apres Moi on his forthcoming album. :)

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

Wasn't to impressed with Regina myself. Got David grays plec and got up to the Audi club. Had a great night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Agree with the statement about the tempo of the David Gray gig. I'm a HUGE fan of his and thats easily my 10th time seeing him live. But I found it very slow and hard to get into my usual manic state when he's on stage.

The older stuff was far more upbeat and really got the crowd going (faster sooner now etc). Aside from Please Forgive me there was very little to be going a bit mad to. It felt very couply and wasn't helped by the fact that he played a couple of songs that were mine and the exs lol.
    He sounded great but it was just lacking in atmosphere imo.
    Lots of couples sucking the faces off each other etc. Felt like a Valentines night gig :(

However his rendition of Bruce Spingsteens Atlantic City was amazing!!!!
    Just can't understand it as clearly thats the kind of music he's "into" yet he's going for the slow set lately..... Rock it up a bit David!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭L.T.D

Marvellous