Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

100km Castlecomer (KK) Sunday 18th October

• 09-10-2009 11:45am
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi Everybody,
    The route isn't particularly hilly, shorter options available. Hope to see some of ye there.

Castlecomer 100Km Cycle Challenge

The event will take place on Sunday 18th of October at 09:30 am.
    All cyclists are welcome. The entry fee is €10 and all money goes the Day Care Centre in Castlecomer.
    The route: Castlecomer -> Carlow -> Stradbally -> Abbyliex -> Ballyragget -> Castlecomer
    Bring a few euros for shop stops. There will be soup and sandwiches available in Bollards Pub afterwards
    For further details

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

jerseyeire wrote: »
    Hi Everybody,
    The route isn't particularly hilly, shorter options available. Hope to see some of ye there.
    Jersey are you sure about the above or have you discovered a climbing ability:D as from memory there would be a few long drags even on the main rds around there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

I'm with Esroh on this one.

The last section Ballyragget -> Castlecomer (10KM) has an incline for 7KM. I did it this evening. It's not going up the side of a mountain ior anything like that, but it could come as a nice surprise after a relatively flat run.

For me it's down in the granny chainring (The embarrasment :o) and slog away, some of you guys will hardly notice it, just a little blip at the end.

The final 3KM is a blast at 50km/Hr+++

I'm hoping to turn up to this on Sunday. I've done a couple of spins of 60km so I'm going to try to push myself to get my first 100KM

Kieran

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Esroh wrote: »
    Jersey are you sure about the above or have you discovered a climbing ability:D as from memory there would be a few long drags even on the main rds around there

Erm no, I didn't discover a climbing ability and last week I was droped on that hill from Ballyragget to Castlecomer (at least they don't have to wait as long these days). No there'd be no major climbs, I wouldn't have done Carlow to Stradbally to Abbeyleix but the rest of it has a few small hills. Oh yeah and the decent into Castlecomer is a cracker, especially since they've done up the road surface (I made up for my slow climbing there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

I'm interested in this cycle. How bad is the hill? I have a standard 52/39 chainset ad an 11/23 cassette. I'm generally ok round kilkenny and outlying areas but should i put my 12/25 on? I presume you can register on the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Super Freak

I'm interested in this cycle. How bad is the hill? I have a standard 52/39 chainset ad an 11/23 cassette. I'm generally ok round kilkenny and outlying areas but should i put my 12/25 on?

I don't think it's that bad, it's just that it is the last 10k of a 100k spin and could have come as a shock to some people as the rest of the spin is relatively flat.

I personally struggle up it, but I'm relatively unfit and probably not the best to ask.

Kieran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

ashleey wrote: »
    I'm interested in this cycle. How bad is the hill? I have a standard 52/39 chainset ad an 11/23 cassette. I'm generally ok round kilkenny and outlying areas but should i put my 12/25 on? I presume you can register on the day?

You must be incredibly strong to not cycle with 52/12 all the time, is there any reason you don't leave the 12-25 cassette on the whole time?

I bought new shimano rs20 wheels to upgrade an old bike which had a triple chainset, so the 11 tooth cog was a good extra and the 25 wasn't missed because I could use the granny ring. Then I got a new bike which came with less good wheels (Alex race28) and I haven't got round to putting the standard 12/25 onto the upgrade wheels...

I had the gears adjusted after 500k so it is really smooth and I'm too rubbish to swap the cassette and readjust myself and it's too sunny to put the bike into the shop for 5 days.

Would there be much adjusting required to the rear dérailleur if I just change the wheels back?

Can someone bring a tow rope on Sunday please?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I'm too rubbish

*cough, cough* :rolleyes:

but I haven't go thte tools for a cassette.

See you Sunday?

but I haven't go thte tools for a cassette.

See you Sunday?

I've to be in work at 12 so I might just show up at the start to show my face and turn off towards Kanes bridge and come back in that way. If you're interested I'm going on a spin tomorrow? I haven't been on the bike that much recently but seen as I've been dropped from the soccer team cycling is back at no.1.

Working unfortunately

Probably for the best did Kilkenny to Wexford and back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Deisetrek

Just back from this , great day out ,weather not too bad just a little dull but dry . Very well organised and well marshalled throughout . At such short notice Brendan and the lads did a great job .........take a bow . Relatively flat course as was said ( and my bike computer time verifies that , fastest 100 I've done) and the pull up out of Ballyragget was a nice one . Pacy last few km into Castlecomer , flew along with a Boardsie from Bray ( nice to meet you J ) pushed each other all the way home ............ Again thanks lads great day out , one for next year ...bigger and better I'd say ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Clandog

I second all of the above fairplay (Mr P! fantastic stuff) savage end of season race and very well organised, fairplay to Jerseyeire for throwing this event out there to the board very much appreciate it, great effort crew.

Really enjoyed it and thanks to the lads for organising it. Just one small point...who said it was flat? Did you take a wrong turn at the end? Great day and just cleaned all the cow s..t off myself and the bike ready for the next time.

Damn, I was hoping ye'd all get peed on. I showed up at the start to get my photo in the local rag support the event but I had to turn around after about 5km to get to work in the city (how noncy does working in the city sound)and I'm feeling very jealous now :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 dick muster

never knew that tour was on
    any more in the coming weeks let me know
    :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

Deisetrek wrote: »
    Just back from this , great day out ,weather not too bad just a little dull but dry . Very well organised and well marshalled throughout . At such short notice Brendan and the lads did a great job .........take a bow . Relatively flat course as was said ( and my bike computer time verifies that , fastest 100 I've done) and the pull up out of Ballyragget was a nice one . Pacy last few km into Castlecomer , flew along with a Boardsie from Bray ( nice to meet you J ) pushed each other all the way home ............ Again thanks lads great day out , one for next year ...bigger and better I'd say ;)

+1. Great day out, very well organised. There was tea/coffe & sambos at the start and a food stop in Stradbally, at half way. It was a nice 'lumpy' route, well marshalled and signed. Fair play to all involved.

It was fast alright, but we had a tail wind until Stradbally. My computer showed 58.76 Miles @ 18.4 MPH