Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ahern says country 'in safe hands' in his tenure

• 09-10-2009 10:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/1008/breaking69.html?via=mr

The gall of the man, talk about rubbing salt in the wounds of the Irish taxpayer,
    he is responsible for a large part of the mess we are in at the moment, and the smug b@*tard is swanning around claiming everything was alright when he was in charge

I hope to god the majority don't fall for this, but they probably will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Are you in love with Berty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

The man lives in cloud cuckoo land, these comments are not surprising.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

My loony bun is fine, BennyLava!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Bertie is a legend.

/Gets coat and leaves to receive mysterious briefcase from Bertie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The majority of people who are blasting Bertie here every day no doubt voted resoundingly for him and his party only a few years ago.

So yes: the country was in safe hands, or more to the point, you didn't give a tin shit what type of hands the country was in as long as you had a few extra quid in your pocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭BennyLava

stovelid wrote: »
    The majority of people who are blasting Bertie here every day no doubt voted resoundingly for him and his party only a few years ago.

So yes: the country was in safe hands, or more to the point, you didn't give a tin shit what type of hands the country was in as long as you had a few extra quid in your pocket.

actually never voted for FF in my life, got this annoying little thing of not liking corruption, go figure,
    although your particular reaction smacks of some one who did and will again, stop projecting man, you'll feel better for it

Kiera wrote: »
    Are you in love with Berty?

Yes and Brian McFadden is our secret love child :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

BennyLava wrote: »
    actually never voted for FF in my life, got this annoying little thing of not liking corruption, go figure,
    although your particular reaction smacks of some one who did and will again, stop projecting man, you'll feel better for it

you might want to read taht again :D and use the old ceann..;)

BennyLava wrote: »

What makes you think I'm addressing you personally?

Fair enough, I meant You collectively, not personally, in my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I would never vote either Fianna fail or fianna gael i believe both to be essentially the same party and believe both belong to history books and the irish civil war that created them, go back to 1922 you shower of tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Bertie should undergo regressive hypnosis to jog his memory, because he's always been blighted with not remembering anything about money, either his or the country's.

to stovelid
    sorry about that misread your post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

You'd think Bertie would shut his cake-hole and keep a low profile, at least until better times when we're not all calling for corrupt politicians heads.

But he goes and does a Bertie and makes afew handy quid for himself!

A brass neck really does get ya a long way in this life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

FFS, He makes the mess and Brian has to try and clean it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

Agricola wrote: »
    A brass neck really does get ya a long way in this Country.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

I would love to be in the Late Late Show audience tonight to ask Ahern how he was able to write his 'memoirs' when he could hardly remember anything at the tribunal.

I would also like to ask him why his make up bill is akin to a Supermodels cosmetic purchase for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Bertie wrote:
    “I want to say I have the same view as I had of them all the time. They’re great people. They deserve what they earned. They’re committed people and long live the Irish public service,”

That's right Bertie, - Rody Molloy, John O'Donoghue, Ray Burke, the Flynns, Clueless Cullen, etc etc. Great people all of them. Well worth their massive salaries.
    Bertie wrote:
    Mr Ahern said people were now trying to rewrite history

That has to be the quote of the week. All Bertie has done since he left the Taoiseach's office is rewrite history! The guy lives in a fantasy world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

hang the rich bastar-d from the spire on O'Connell Street along with the rest of them politicians. Fooking gangsters the lot of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

He made me laugh yesterday when he was on the radio defending JoD and saying that we shouldn't be starting any "witch hunts" - why's that now berti? Something we haven't noticed yet about your own expenses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

remember the election poster from 2002 'a lot done, more to do' hmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭themacdaddy

Just because Bertie is a bit of a jack the lad and we all like him more than most politicans doesn't mean he did a good job....he did a ****e job..he can feck off if he thinks I will vote for him as president if it comes to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I read the title too fast and thought it said "Ahern says country 'in safe hands' in Terenure":o

Can't wait to see him on Late Late tonight....that should be a laugh...

Should probably keep my dad away from the tv though, lest his foot ends up through the screen :pac:

But yeah...wasn't he meant to be bankrupt a few weeks ago? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You've got to admire his utter ignorance really, it's unshakable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Bertie can suck the sweat off a snakes balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

By Safe Hands does he mean when he was stuffing your money into the safe in his hot press?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭alfranken

+1,000,000 to the power of infinity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

One the problems down the years was that there was no alternative. Enda Kenny for christ sake who want him there.

Bertie knew that, so to screw the country left, right and centre.

But ya know what if there was election in morning he get in. When it comes to voting day people think much different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Bertie can suck the sweat off a snakes balls

He has plenty of choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

One the problems down the years was that there was no alternative. Enda Kenny for christ sake who want him there.

Bertie knew that, so to screw the country left, right and centre.

But ya know what if there was election in morning he get in. When it comes to voting day people think much different.

The same way John O'Donoghue will top the poll when the next general election comes around. Irish people are stupid and deserve to be robbed.

How can you say Enda Kenny wouldnt make a good Taoiseach? I'm neither Fine Gael or a Fianna Fail voter but I know whod I'd rather see as Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

alfranken wrote: »
    +1,000,000 to the power of infinity

A: I have never voted for those corrupt clowns, nor did about 48% of the population of the country.
    B: Whilst we as a nation may have enjoyed 'having a few extra quid in our pockets' I and many others were working bloody hard, doing our jobs to the best of our ability, which is a lot more than the bunch of self righteous, under qualified clowns who have at a hysterical sense of entitlement were asleep at the wheel for 10 years.

Unlike the FF Goon squad (and a large section of the PS) most of us run the high risk of being fired if we don't do our jobs properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

FFS, He makes the mess and Brian has to try and clean it up!

This is the same poor Brian who was minister for finance under Bertie? Right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If by "safe hands", Bertie was thinking along the lines of Brice Grobbellar's "safe hands", then he wasn't too far off the mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭AKK

The Saint wrote: »
    This is the same poor Brian who was minister for finance under Bertie? Right.

Was just about to post something similar. I was sure poor Brian hadn't just wandered in off the street in a daze.......

although, now that I mention it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bertie is a comedian.:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Yeah the lying, thieving cvnt should be entertaining tonight,(if nothing else) on the Late Late . I would LOVE if he was booed by the crowd but I don't see it happening. RTE, along with the Ahern 'clan', will handpick the audience for this.

Is the young wan also gonna be on promoting her 'buke' waxing lyrical about how great a 'Da' he was?

Victor_M wrote: »
    A: I have never voted for those corrupt clowns, nor did about 48% of the population of the country.
    B: Whilst we as a nation may have enjoyed 'having a few extra quid in our pockets' I and many others were working bloody hard, doing our jobs to the best of our ability, which is a lot more than the bunch of self righteous, under qualified clowns who have at a hysterical sense of entitlement were asleep at the wheel for 10 years.

Unlike the FF Goon squad (and a large section of the PS) most of us run the high risk of being fired if we don't do our jobs properly.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_QXRm8WxqwVE/RZpTJaVhuNI/AAAAAAAAAAk/Uyra562mS8M/s320/missingthepoint.png