Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

''Scrappage plan could raise €100m''

• 09-10-2009 1:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/motors/2009/1007/1224256090871.html

Scrappage plan could raise €100m

OVER 677,000 cars could qualify for a scrappage scheme applied to cars aged 10 years or older if proposals being put forward by the motor industry are introduced by the Government.

The latest bulletin on the Irish vehicle fleet, published by the Department of Transport, shows there are 677,938 licensed cars on Irish roads that were registered in 2000 or earlier. This is out of a total car fleet of 1.9 million.

Several countries have successfully introduced scrappage schemes to support their ailing motor industries.

It is believed any such scheme introduced in Ireland would provide incentives to motorists who scrap their older cars for new models. It may, however, be restricted to the purchase of new cars with emissions levels below 155g/km.

Alan Nolan, director general of the Society of the Irish Motor Industry, estimates such a scheme would create only about 20,000 new car sales in the market next year if introduced.

The latest figures show an increase of 42,000 in the number of private cars licensed last year compared to 2007. A total of 1,924,281 cars were in the national fleet at the end of last year.

“When you compare this figure with the number of new cars sold in the same period, it’s clear that a substantial proportion of the new cars are ultimately replacing cars that are taken off the road,” says Nolan.

“If you compare that replacement level with the number of new cars likely to be sold this year – approximately 57,000 – you can see that we are not going to be at a similar replacement level this year. That ultimately means older cars will be retained in the fleet and, as older cars emit more CO2, this may well outweigh any benefits we have made in our carbon footprint from the introduction of the new emissions taxation [in 2008].”

Nolan says a new scrappage scheme could raise about €100 million in extra tax revenue for the Government.

“New car sales are down 63 per cent on 2008, a level which cannot sustain the current level of employment in the motor sector. Our industry has continued to haemorrhage jobs with the numbers lost now totalling more than 10,000 since January last year.

“Many employers are retaining staff in the hope next year might improve, but if we have a similar level as this year then many more jobs are at risk. That could well cost the Government over €100 million in increased welfare payments.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/motors/2009/1007/1224256090871.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

ten years or older :mad:

ten year old cars are nearly better built than todays yokes :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dustpuppy

Everybody is telling u that cars older then 10 years are too dirty because of the emission. But no one tells the people the trues. The production of a car, the production of the material, the transport to the dealers and so on blows more CO2 into the air, then driving a car 10 years.
    Another good **** they never tell or lie is the amount of fuel a never car need compared to an old car. A Golf MK1 diesel had 54Bhp and a weight of 850kg. It needs 5 liter of fuel for 100km driving on a motorway with 100km/h. A Golf 5 has a weight of 1130kg with all this ****ty electronics carrying around and needs 6 liter for the same way.
    Let's tell the people more **** to get more cars sold. That's the right way.

Will not scrap my classics because of this ****. I am proud that i am driving the same car since ages. I saved more CO2 then all others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

two things...

1) A scrappage deal is going to kill classics. Both present and future ones.

2) RE the post above. I'm curious if all the asterisks represent the same curse words or different ones?

OT, I find that censorship a bit twee to be honest, and posts are more annoying to read with it than without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Well the SIMI would say that, wouldn't they? Much like the way taxi drivers try to tell us that a cap on taxi numbers would be better for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Anan1 wrote: »
    Much like the way taxi drivers try to tell us that a cap on taxi numbers would be better for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I dont think it would work.

The big problem that is causing people not to buy a new car is lack of funds, either their own, or through a bank. A scrappage scheme wont change that, will it?

It will only encourage those who have a few quid, and a car ten years old or older to buy a new car. How many people is that? A very small pecentage of people in this country at the minute, thats who.

I think a better way to encourage people to buy new cars is for the distributors/dealers to improve their customer service levels, develop new sales techniques related to the current markets, and price cars very well. Hopefully with Gallic distributors handing back the Citroen franchise, and big changes with the Audi dealerships, it will start.

Scrappage scheme my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

The big problem that is causing people not to buy a new car is lack of funds, either their own, or through a bank. A scrappage scheme wont change that, will it?

And we don't even have a car industry in this country. A scrappage scheme would be an utter waste of taxpayers money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

If the government want to people to start buying cars again, they need to start squeezing the banks to get the value out of the millions spent top bail them out.

As far as I can see, the banks have not held their side of the bargain yet.

A scrappage scheme will only suit those who have the cash or can afford to buy a car. The sooner the government cop on to this, the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

The Irish Times Motoring Supplement should be called the SIMI proganda supplement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭COB MGV8

I can understand why they introduce a scrappage scheme in countries where cars are manufactured. What would the benefit be to the economy and the environment of dumping a whole load of perfectly decent cars on the scrapheap ?

Would our economy not benefit from keeping the older cars going and giving work to the the non-main dealer mechanics who we rely on to keep our cars going

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

unkel wrote: »

And we don't even have a car industry in this country. A scrappage scheme would be an utter waste of taxpayers money.

I don't agree with scrappage schemes.

But how exactly is it a waste of money for the taxpayer? The VRT on a bog-basic Hyundai Getz is about €1700 (band B - 16%), never mind the VAT @ 21.5%. If the government was handing out a couple of grand, then they'd get more than that back in VRT and VAT.

If they were really hell bent on doing a scheme, it would be most important to put a upper age limit in place. If Mandy ever has the misfortune to cross my path, he's getting a big slap. :mad:

macplaxton wrote: »
    But how exactly is it a waste of money for the taxpayer? The VRT on a bog-basic Hyundai Getz is about €1700 (band B - 16%), never mind the VAT @ 21.5%. If the government was handing out a couple of grand, then they'd get more than that back in VRT and VAT.

That's presuming the people buying the Getz would not buy another car without the scrappage scheme. Not now, not next year, the year after. That's a big assumption :)

My point is those people would probably buy a car anyway when the bad times are over, or they would possibly even buy now. The scrappage is then just a nice "discount" to them.

Now there is something to say for a scrappage scheme if a country has indiginous car manufacturing, but generally subsisdising companies is a bad idea. And look what happened in the US - people scrapped their (mainly) US cars and bought Asian cars instead. What a waste of money that scheme was. And I don't even want to mention some of the perfectly good (classic) cars that were scrapped over there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Dustpuppy wrote: »
    Everybody is telling u that cars older then 10 years are too dirty because of the emission. But no one tells the people the trues. The production of a car, the production of the material, the transport to the dealers and so on blows more CO2 into the air, then driving a car 10 years.
    Another good **** they never tell or lie is the amount of fuel a never car need compared to an old car. A Golf MK1 diesel had 54Bhp and a weight of 850kg. It needs 5 liter of fuel for 100km driving on a motorway with 100km/h. A Golf 5 has a weight of 1130kg with all this ****ty electronics carrying around and needs 6 liter for the same way.
    Let's tell the people more **** to get more cars sold. That's the right way.

Will not scrap my classics because of this ****. I am proud that i am driving the same car since ages. I saved more CO2 then all others.
    I agree with you fully. Take the crapywagen Toyota Prius for example. On a long run that thing is as "eco-friendly" as a big 4x4 Land Rover (production process, life of car, fuel consumption, recycling, etc.). But no talking head will ever tell you about it, because "it is at least economical"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Right...introduce a scrappage scheme..but exclude cars over 30 years old and i dont mind.No car that reaches 30 years old,has a valid NCT or whatever should be scrapped.The english system is a joke.Any car with a valid MOT can be scrapped?Surely the MOT is a certificate of roadworthiness,so why should it be scrapped so!!!??

As folks above have said new cars are bad for the environment, good for revenue to the government coffers though. I like the bangernomics side of motoring :D

Any car with a valid MOT can be scrapped?Surely the MOT is a certificate of roadworthiness,so why should it be scrapped so!!!??

To deplete the used car market, forcing more people to buy new cars

The official excuse is probably to reduce emissions, but clearly that's rubbish.

Camarague wrote: »
    To deplete the used car market, forcing more people to buy new cars

The official excuse is probably to reduce emissions, but clearly that's rubbish.
    Yes..this is it exactly.Money is the motivation here,emissions are just the excuse.

Well, we should all write into the Irish Times to condemn their pernicious attempts to disguise the Motor Trade's agenda as news

They need to be exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

What a load of b***** There was a serious amount of nice cars destroyed over in america, presumably the same in the uk.

Only good side of it that i can think of is that 2nd hand parts will become available. But knowing how things are done here whole cars will prob end up going straight to the crusher without them being stripped 1st of all the goodies.

Anyway, hope it doesnt happen. As already mentioned there's no car manufacturers here to support through such a scheme either, not that that is likely going to be a consideration :rolleyes:

My car is staying anyway thats for sure, she's got plenty more left in her.

Another thing I wanted to add. Brothers 89 mini (998cc) can do 52mpg, with some good driving, that better than a prius! But the thing old cars can't do to well is emissions which is what people look at these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

jozi wrote: »
    ........Brothers 89 mini (998cc) can do 52mpg, with some good driving, that better than a prius! But the thing old cars can't do to well is emissions which is what people look at these days.

As Dustpuppy pointed out, you need to compare apples with apples. A modern, efficient, but heavy car, will produce the same amount of CO2 as an older, lighter, slightly less efficient one. The amount of CO2 produced is based on fuel burnt. So, find an old car that's good on juice, and you're automatically ahead. The fact that you're 'saving' tonnes and tonnes of CO2 being produced in the first place, by NOT building/shipping a new car, means you're even FURTHER ahead.

So, from a 'green' perspective.........you're Gormley's friend.
    :P
    There's just one snag to the whole thing: it's only true if you subscribe to the whole CO2-as-bad-guy propoganda in the first place. :eek:

And that, Meine Damen und Herren, Messieurs et MesDames.......is another ball of wax entirely..........;)

Fwiw, I just checked my 968 Tip this week, and, over 379 miles, including one trip to Mondello, and the rest pure 2-mile-each-way commuting (the worst type you could have..)...it has returned 29.7 mpg.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

because it's annoying, my 02 on........CO2 !

Let's try to actually understand all of this CO2 stuff.....

All from a relative, who's involved in gas/etc for a living......

If you remove all moisture from the air the earths temperature would drop by 33degC. This is because water vapour is good at retaining heat.

If you removed all CO2 it would only drop by 0.3% (this is because CO2 is a 'cool' gas ie. it has a low ability to absorb heat).

The corrollary is true also.

If we burned all of the gas, oil, and coal reserves the annual CO2 increase would represent 3% of the natural turnover of this very important gas (which would be converted in nature by plants to sugar & oxygen).

There is no cumulative effect in terms of infrared absorbtion (hence heating up) because there is overlapping of the absorbtion spectra of the various gases.

Er, .........discuss ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

galwaytt wrote: »
    Er, .........discuss ?
    *pulls up chair*

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Dades wrote: »

That's bad, but you obviously haven't seen the US list yet :(

Dades wrote: »
    *pulls up chair*
    *Boils kettle and breaks out the mikados,you take sugar Dades?*

According to classic car weekly there was a 60s Vauxhall Cresta scrapped recently in the scheme,and its being extended over there too.

(From Mortortorque.com)

Nine out of ten cars sold under the government's scrappage scheme were built abroad, according to research by the Daily Telegraph.
    The newspaper says that of the 51,000 vehicles ordered since 18 May, 46,000 were built abroad and only 4,800 in the UK.
    According to the figures obtained from car manufacturers, Hyundai has benefited most from the scheme, with over 8,000 orders for cars from the Korean manufacturer. Hyundai has been one of the most proactive manufacturers in courting scrappage customers.
    Hyundai's sister company, Kia, has registered 6,540 orders. All Hyundai and Kia models are manufactured on the continent.
    The figures also reveal that of 5,454 Toyota and Lexus vehicles, only 528 came from Burnaston, where the Avensis is produced. Of 4,455 Ford models ordered, only 45 Transits were built in the UK, at Ford's Southampton plant.
    British-built cars ordered under the scheme include 660 Minis made in Cowley; around 590 Honda Civics and CR-Vs from Swindon; approximately 700 Vauxhall Astras and Vivaros from Ellesmere Port and Luton respectively; and 42 Land Rovers and six Jaguars from Halewood and Castle Bromwich.
    The scheme has already come under fire for not capping the CO2 emissions of new cars bought under the scheme - casting doubt on any environmental benefits the scheme was purported to have - and will now raise doubts about the benefits the scheme is bringing to the UK car industry.
    But industry voices point out that thousands of jobs in the supply chain and in dealerships across the country benefit from car sales. Figures revealed by the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders last week revealed that there was no upturn in sales during May, although it is believed that orders will only start translating into sales in June.

Hyundai says its dealers have seen a steady supply of classic and luxury cars being traded in for small city cars and superminis since the start of the government's scrappage scheme.
    A Jaguar XJ-S being exchanged for a new i10 and an XJ6 to make way for an i20 constitute some of the more noticeable downsizing.
    The manufacturer says its dealers have also seen dozens of BMWs, Audis and Mercedes models, as well as Mazda MX-5s, MGFs and several Saabs.
    The oldest car to be traded in at a Hyundai dealership was a 1966 Austin 1100, closely followed by a 1968 Morris Minor.
    Both were apparently beyond restoration, although scrappage rules will allow some parts to be reused. An MG Midget, MGB GT, Nissan 300ZX and even a Fiat X1/9 also appear on the list.
    The Korean manufacturer says the most common car to be traded in is the Nissan Micra, with over 200 examples traded in. Next most popular is the Ford Escort with 126 on their way from Hyundai dealers to the crusher.
    Many buyers have also used the scrappage scheme to trade in old cars with major mechanical faults, but with a current MoT.
    Rovers with head gasket problems – a common problem in vehicles made by the defunct British manufacturer – are the most common cars turning up at Hyundai dealers on the end of a tow rope. Tony Whitehorn, Hyundai UK’s managing director, said: “Some people look a little embarrassed when they turn up at a showroom with an old car which is literally falling to pieces but we’re happy to take anything as long as it meets the government’s criteria."

LTI Vehicles - makers of the iconic London black cab has scrapped its oldest taxi to date under the government's scrappage scheme.
    The 20 year old Fairway, which had managed up over 600,000 miles, was taken in by leading LTI taxi dealership, M&O London and exchanged for a £5K grant off a new model.
    Scrappage grants constitute £2K towards a new car or small van for qualifying customers, but many manufacturers are also offering an additional scrappage bonus.
    The taxi's owner, Sheldon Posner, said: "I buy cabs regularly from M&O as the older they get the more expensive they are to re-license, so this initiative is most welcoming.
    “The TX1 had only just come out when I fondly recall my four year old daughter shouting taxi and pointing at a TX1 parked up at Tesco. "This proves just how recognisable and distinctive the traditional London Taxi is and is so across the world.”

And theres this kinda thing happening

A vintage 51 year-old Morris Minor 1000 faces destruction after being traded in on the scrappage scheme.
    The car turned up at a scrap yard south of London. It has 36,494 miles on the clock and is in fine condition given it was sold more than five decades ago.
    When we turned up to have a look at the Minor it started first time and ticked over happily.
    It has obviously been well looked-after - it has fresh tyres and a new exhaust. But it will only be going as far as the crusher around the corner.

Scrapyard owner Geoff Bridges said: "I understand the point of the scrappage scheme but sometimes the wrong cars are being traded in.
    "This is not just some clapped-out old banger."
    Sandy Hamilton of the Morris Minor Owners Club said cars like this are still in demand.

He told us: "Someone just asked me the other day for a nice, two-door Minor 1000.
    "It is unfortunate that well-maintained cars are being used for a £2,000 deposit. I know a few classics that have been saved - a Bond Equipe and a late-40s Riley RM.
    "We'd rather have seen the government make historic, pre-1973 vehicles exempt from the scrappage scheme."

see here for the pics..
    http://www.autotrader.co.uk/EDITORIAL/CARS/news/scrappage_scheme_claims_morris_minor.html

Though there is some sense out there

1958 Morris Minor Saved from UK's Scrappage Scheme

A MINOR MIRACLE? COULD YOU SAVE CLASSIC MORRIS FROM THE CRUSHER?

Dealer and ATF work together to save classic from being scrapped
    Museums invited to ‘bid’ for free use of the car
    The scrappage scheme has removed thousands of automotive eyesores from the road, but occasionally a car is put forward that even the most hardened trader can’t bear to see go to the crusher.

This 1958 Morris Minor is just such a car. It was traded in by an enthusiastic buyer who used scrappage to get a discount of more than £6,000 on a Hyundai Coupe at the marque’s Gatwick dealership.

Once the deal was done and the car appeared however, it became clear that the Minor was far too good to go to the crusher – even if its value does not match the £6,000 given for it in exchange for the Coupe. With 36,494 miles on the clock, the black two-door Minor is described as being in ‘museum-quality’ condition by one independent expert.

So the Gatwick Hyundai and the Authorised Treatment Facility* G.W & G Bridges got together and decided to try and save the car from being cubed.

On the down side, the car can’t ever be put back on the road legally or exported as the DVLA have already issued a certificate of destruction. However this needn’t stop it from being used as a static display in a museum, for example.

The companies are inviting organisations who can put the car to good use to contact them with suggestions. The best and most worthy ‘proposal’ will get to use the car for free.

Proposals and questions can be sent to morris.minor@hyundai-car.co.uk before the end of October.

http://www.carpictures.com/vehicle/09I9B285924051.html

Although some arent so lucky..:eek:

How the crane driver put the grab through that i dont know..:mad::mad::mad::mad::(

A vintage 51 year-old Morris Minor 1000 faces destruction after being traded in on the scrappage scheme.
    The car turned up at a scrap yard south of London. It has 36,494 miles on the clock and is in fine condition given it was sold more than five decades ago.
    When we turned up to have a look at the Minor it started first time and ticked over happily.
    It has obviously been well looked-after - it has fresh tyres and a new exhaust. But it will only be going as far as the crusher around the corner.

That's just sickening. I'm no fan of Morris Minors and I know that particular one was saved (well it can never drive on the road again - how good is that? :rolleyes:) but scrapping perfectly good classic cars is just wrong. And don't get me started about the new low emissions pieces of total sh1te from Korea and Japan that they are being replaced with :mad:

I know there are few fans of the Marina here, but there's a mint MKI saloon being scrapped in the UK. Its not restored - just original and perfect. It won Best of Show in the nationals in the UK in 2007.

marinainside.jpg

marina2.jpg

Like them or not, that car is in too good condition to be destroyed, as someone else sees the value o it and would gladly have it.

Now, the annoying thing I that there are plenty of people who would save it, and a lot of the other cars being destroyed, so that people can drive Korean sh*tboxes around, but once a car is in the system, there's little can be done. The scrapyards are afraid of their lives to help enthusiasts get round the system, as there are penalties ( obviously).

We have to start petitioning our Government before some FF or Green party gombeen carbon-copies this legislation and we see rare old cars going down the swanny here in ireland, and God knows we have less here than in the UK in the first place.

( awaits usual unoriginal and utterly boring and done-to-death anti - marina / piano "jokes"... )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

galwaytt wrote: »
    All from a relative, who's involved in gas/etc for a living......

Not really the greatest recommendation for an impartial view on the impact of fossil fuels on the climate, eh?

The quoted claims stem from a piece by David Bellamy, who has a pretty solid record of denying anthropomorphic climate change using pretty flakey evidence. In this instance he's neglecting to reference positive feedback into his CO2 levels equation. http://greenfyre.wordpress.com/2008/11/08/david-bellamy-victim-but-of-who/

There's been an ongoing degree of scientific skepticism in relation to man-made climate change, no doubt about that, but it has to be judged in the context of a scientific consensus that holds the opposite position, and has the evidence on their side. I know which basket I'd put my eggs in.

overdriver wrote: »
    I know there are few fans of the Marina here, but there's a mint MKI saloon being scrapped in the UK. Its not restored - just original and perfect. It won Best of Show in the nationals in the UK in 2007.
    Any more details on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

The scheme might "raise" €100 million for revenue, however for this to happen another €100 million or so will leave the country to go to the producers of the cars, as Ireland does not produce any cars it would be much more in our countries interest if the government didn't bother with this scheme at all. US, UK and Germany had scrappage schemes to keep their own workers at car plants in employment.

RoverJames wrote: »
    A shame????Fu*k sake,that and the marina are really taking the piss.An exemption for Classic cars is all it would have taken.Simple.

Agreed.
    Given that the Irish Motor Industry and the Government are twice as simple, what can be done to stop it happening here?

Agreed.
    Given that the Irish Motor Industry and the Government are twice as simple, what can be done to stop it happening here?
    It already did,12 years ago.There was an amount of good cars scrapped then too.

The main failing of a scheme like that is,the people that run the real wrecks cant afford to dish out the cash to buy a new car.And the people who have a few quid usually run their older cars much better,service them regularly and keep them in better shape in general.

I remember...

I meant to stop it happening again. There are witterings from the car salesmen of Ireland trying to convince us that getting in hock is the only way to reliably get around.

My own feeling is that cars of 20 years or older should be exempt.

Something like this,maybe 25 to 30,but there should definatly be an exemption,all jokes aside, how that marina that won Best of Show in the nationals in the UK in 2007 can be scrapped and crushed in 2009 is beyond me.What went wrong there?

Well, that's simple enough to answer. The owner sold it on to make way for a new project - via eBay I think. What happens then is that someone who is not really that into classic cars buys it on a whim, and later decides to chop it in for a "better" modern car.

He didn't offer it to the club or the original owner first. Sure why would he when there's 2k on offer elsewhere?

I really wonder if you couldn't do as well yourself - assuming you're the type of person who would actually buy a brand new vehicle - if you went in with CASH ( or your finance in place) and haggled a good hard deal for yourself, then sold your classic for cash.

The whole thing is ridiculous. Its now skewing second hand car prices. For instance, there's a spotless Ital ( no jokes please) on eBay with a price of 2k on it. its worth about half that, but the bozo selling it even mentions the scrappage scheme in the ad.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1981-MORRIS-ITAL-HLS-RED_W0QQitemZ260489751368QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAutomobiles_UK?hash=item3ca6662b48&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

So we can guess what's likely to happen there.

Here's a couple more shots of that car that lasted for 35 years unmolested before some oaf killed it.

front.jpg

marinainside2.jpg

wheels.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

It nuts because I thought you were meant to be registered keeper for the prior 12 months, hence you couldn't just buy a car to chop in.:mad:

ok,its a marina,and theres alot of jokery about these cars,but in fairness,that sort of thing shouldnt be allowed to happen.The guys in the club must be going nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

noone worthy of the name ENTHUSIAST would trade in a car to be scrapped...shame on them!

They sure are. One of the lads went up to talk to the scrapyard today, see if he could save it, or at least get some bits.:

Just got back from the Scrappy. They are not or can not sell the car as a whole. They said they were fed up of people ringing them up and asking, they're hands are tied by the law.

They are really encouraged by the fact someone like me is prepared to drive 170 mile round trip to get parts. They want to see it dismantled to keep other cars on the road but they are not going to keep it forever. They are a small old fashioned Scrappy, you know the type, where you go and take the parts off yourself. I don't think they are prepared to send parts, but will take them off for you if they know you are coming.

The car is as everyone has been saying, immaculate. So if you need parts for yours best get in contact with them and put the old girl to good use before she gets crushed.

If you want anything their number is 01453 544727 or 544842.