Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Really rude member of staff in NUIM

• 08-10-2009 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

It is just me or have the staff in Maynooth gotten ruder in the last year then ever before????? Ive been in college here for a few years and never met as many ignorant & thick people as I have this year. The security are especially bad, came in through campus after Mantra last night & was accosted by some security guard who was like a bear with a sore arse at us for nothing....
    is it just me??????

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I've heard quite a few complaints about Mantra's staff and was once turned for being "intoxicated" with only 3 pints in me. I'm never one to act a wanker to door staff or anything but I reckon this guy just took a disliking to me for some weird reason. I don't make eye contact with them anytime I'm near the place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Bad bouncers and the Roost hasn't been mentioned??!!

Some of them are dead on but there's one guys every night... He just goes out and tries to make a nuisance of himself! I'd say you know which one i'm talking about. Stops people going into the smoking area WITH FORCE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Something wrong with the security at NUI Maynooth. I've seen them do their night-routine too, sad.

I'll never forget when we asked one of them for a banner back (Forget the exact slogan, Students Support Waterford Crystal Workers! or something to that effect) as we'd been in touch with the lads in Waterford and actually wanted to send it down to them. "If you like it so much dont drop it off the feckin' bridge":rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

...but a lot of people working in Universities are putting up with massive-headache inducing cutbacks, across the board, which has made life a little bit more stressful. If you're in a class where tutorials were slashed for example, take pity on the oul' secretary.

Still, doesn't give people the right to pretend they're in the Garda Síochanna.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 MTAR

Have seen a few members of staff being extra rude alright.... I expect bouncers to be kn*bheads especially in places like mantra(roost not so much this year and oneils,bradys and fizz are grand now too).. but members of the nuim staff are being rude for no apparent reason!

A friend sent an email to one about not being able to attend a tutorial due to having swine flu and the lecturer told her it was her own fault and that if she wanted to actually be in the course she was in she would have made more effort.... loving it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

MTAR wrote: »
    A friend sent an email to one about not being able to attend a tutorial due to having swine flu and the lecturer told her it was her own fault and that if she wanted to actually be in the course she was in she would have made more effort.... loving it

She should forward that to the department head! + the head of health in Maynooth and then..... Joe Duffy lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

Effluo wrote: »
    Bad bouncers and the Roost hasn't been mentioned??!!

Some of them are dead on but there's one guys every night... He just goes out and tries to make a nuisance of himself! I'd say you know which one i'm talking about. Stops people going into the smoking area WITH FORCE!!!

i actualy had a bouncher there say somthing extreemly inapproriate to me one night. hes wasnt on duty at the time, but he was having a smoke outside and what he said to me was so disgusting, that i have never had any repect for him since. i would have complained to management but he wasnt working at the time, so i suppose i had no come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Well there is a higher student population this year, and also we've all gotten those emails about "anti social behaviour" from students, so I figure they're taking a pretty "iron fist" approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

David Redmond couldn't take the iron fist approach if his fists were cast from....eh...some sort of metal. He's just too nice :) Great lecturer too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 BarbieandKen

Theyrs a nu guy on security in NUI n hes like hitler or something...so uncalled for..he barged in2 my friends room on campus 1 nite & gave out2her 4 a fire alarm that had been an electrical fault in the building an had absolutely nothin2do with her..that was only bout 3 wks ago.
    I get the whole cut back thing but stil think stuff like that is totally inappropriate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 MTAR

I think the security have been nicer this year! whenver they see me and a few mates drinking in the college they just ask us to politely move along, no drama whatsoever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

I'm a past student, still live in Maynooth and know quite a few students (friends etc.). Maynooth is my perminant home, I don't go back to the mother on weekends so I can actually go out on a Friday/Saturday night and not encounter the mad crush of students (it's all "young professionals" at the weekends). The bouncers are really, shockingly even, nice at weekends. There's no fuss if someone in the group doesn't have ID etc.

Mantra bouncers are terrible, however, they must have taken some sort of "beat down" course to get the job - they are asses for the sake of being asses. I have yet to see the inside of the place because they have NEVER let me in for a variety of reasons. I take my custom, and money, elsewhere simpley because of the bouncers... not too good for business on their part.

When I was in the collage, I personally had no problems with any of the security staff but heard countless stories of people being stopped and given out to for no real reason. They could just be laying down the law at the start of the year to show they mean business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

It is just me or have the staff in Maynooth gotten ruder in the last year then ever before?????

Asshole number 1, the guy at the door of the fees office during registration. what as ASSHOLE!