Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan Gaa

• 06-10-2009 10:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭

I have never seen a Cavan Gaa Thread( apologies if there is) here so im just wondering is their many Cavan posters on Boards who are interested in getting one going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Crow71

celt262 wrote: »
    I have never seen a Cavan Gaa Thread( apologies if there is) here so im just wondering is their many Cavan posters on Boards who are interested in getting one going?
    Never seen one though I must say ye have one of Irelands top athletes playing for ye -Paul Brady

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭celt262

Crow71 wrote: »
    Never seen one though I must say ye have one of Irelands top athletes playing for ye -Paul Brady

yeah hopefully he will get over his injury and win another world title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

I will post in a thread, if one is maded. By the way not am not from the Geals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭gerocks

Lads, there's a great e-mail going around at the moment about the Cavan minor team of 1959.

gerocks wrote: »
    Lads, there's a great e-mail going around at the moment about the Cavan minor team of 1959.

Yeah i seen that, when i got the mail i though it was a joke mail but then i read about it in tht paper and on Hoganstand.

www.hoganstand.com/cavan

manutd wrote: »
    I will post in a thread, if one is maded. By the way not am not from the Geals.

Im not Gaels man either but i was at the county final on Sunday and they were impressive. Hopefully Lyng can stay fit now he had a brillant game and will be a great asset to Cavan next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 mclovinn

i take it u myt b 4rm coothill or lacken celt!???!!

mclovinn wrote: »
    i take it u myt b 4rm coothill or lacken celt!???!!

Im from neither mc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

Paul Brady greatest sportsman ever from the county without doubt.

Kill...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Thats a great story about your man turning up at the re-union. There is a good documentary there.

Will take Cavan a few years to get back in contention. They need to do serious work at underage level from what I hear. But the raw talent is there.

Carr set to lure Plunkett's ace

Cavan manager Tommy Carr looks set to bolster his attack for next season after confirming that Oliver Plukett's ace Gareth Smith has been in training with the Breffni County recently.

Better known as 'Nesty' Smith around the capital, the attacker captained Plunkett's to a Dublin senior league title in 2007 and would be a welcome boost to Carr's charges, which struggled to impress in both league and championship this past season.

"We're investigating the possibility of bringing Gareth in," Carr is quoted as saying in this week's Anglo-Celt newspaper.

"He's had a session or two with the team, but we've still got to go through all the legalities. He's scored consistently in the Dublin championship, but we're just going to have to wait and see what happens."

Smith has been on and off the Dublin senior panel in recent years and is said to qualify for Cavan under the parentage rule as both his parents are believed to be originally from the county.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Football/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=119726

Good news for Cavan there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 ricflair

Paul Brady is a fantastic abbassador for cavan but surely and it is only an opinion that Katrina McKiernan achievements are vastly superior, given the levels she reached in athletics without doubt the most competitive sport in the world. Her medals at the world cross country chapionships coupled with her London marathon wins are magnificant given that she was competing against the east africans.

manutd wrote: »

We will take all the help we can get. TC seems to be looking at alot of players in challenge games and is not bothering with the Regional games this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

ricflair wrote: »
    Paul Brady is a fantastic abbassador for cavan but surely and it is only an opinion that Katrina McKiernan achievements are vastly superior, given the levels she reached in athletics without doubt the most competitive sport in the world. Her medals at the world cross country chapionships coupled with her London marathon wins are magnificant given that she was competing against the east africans.

I wouldnt go so far as to say vastly superior given the fact that Brady has proven himself to be No.1 in his sport for 9 years now........such a disappointment that few people seem to care. If an Irish Olympian even gets to a final in his chosen sport they get more media coverage the weeks after the Olympics than Brady has probably gotten his whole career. I think its disgraceful really.....I know some of the lads that were over at the world championship, they said the training Brady did was unbelievable, streets ahead of almost anyone else in the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Anyone going to Enniskillen this weekend to support Lavey, the Cavan intermediate champs, against Fermanagh side Kinawley?

It is going to take Cavan football a long time to get back on track. People talk about how they expect the senior team to perform better but why have they this expectation?

It is a long time since Cavan had anything near minor or U21 success, its 2001 since we reached an Ulster final at senior level, our record in the qualifers is shambolic and the Gaels walk the county championship each year only to be easily defeated in Ulster. Not to mention that we've only played once in Croke Park since it was redeveloped (may I also add that we were the last county in the whole of Ireland to do so) and that was a division 2 league semi final where Roscommon gave us a good spanking.

It really doesn't say alot for the standard of football in a county which loves the sport. There's nothing there to work with and there won't be for the considerable future. We were lucky to beat Fermanagh this year and get two more days out.

Lemlin wrote: »
    Anyone going to Enniskillen this weekend to support Lavey, the Cavan intermediate champs, against Fermanagh side Kinawley?

It is going to take Cavan football a long time to get back on track. People talk about how they expect the senior team to perform better but why have they this expectation?

It is a long time since Cavan had anything near minor or U21 success, its 2001 since we reached an Ulster final at senior level, our record in the qualifers is shambolic and the Gaels walk the county championship each year only to be easily defeated in Ulster. Not to mention that we've only played once in Croke Park since it was redeveloped (may I also add that we were the last county in the whole of Ireland to do so) and that was a division 2 league semi final where Roscommon gave us a good spanking.

It really doesn't say alot for the standard of football in a county which loves the sport. There's nothing there to work with and there won't be for the considerable future. We were lucky to beat Fermanagh this year and get two more days out.

I wouldnt agree with the point in bold but at end of the day they are failing at the first or second hurdle.

Standard of club football is really bad at the moment so i dont see how the County team is going to improve any time soon.

I wouldnt agree with the point in bold but at end of the day they are failing at the first or second hurdle.

Standard of club football is really bad at the moment so i dont see how the County team is going to improve any time soon.

Why would not agree with the part in bold?

They have consecutively failed to have any sort of impact on the Ulster club championship, despite having a high number of county players over the years.

Why would not agree with the part in bold?

They have consecutively failed to have any sort of impact on the Ulster club championship, despite having a high number of county players over the years.

Yeah i checked back there and over last few years in games they lost they were beat handy enough.

Well I'd suggest ya check the facts before you disagree with points :mad:

On a better note, Lavey beat Kinawley 15 points to 13 yesterday. A high scoring game and a good win for Lavey who won play the Donegal intermediate champions (I think they are Fanad Gaels or something) in two weeks.

In other county team news, did anyone hear the reports that we've a forward from Plunketts in Dublin playing with the county now? I think his name is Gareth Smith or something. Looks like Carr, like Keoghan did when getting Gallagher in, has decided we haven't the quality in the county and is looking elsewhere.

Well I'd suggest ya check the facts before you disagree with points :mad:
    On a better note, Lavey beat Kinawley 15 points to 13 yesterday. A high scoring game and a good win for Lavey who won play the Donegal intermediate champions (I think they are Fanad Gaels or something) in two weeks.

In other county team news, did anyone hear the reports that we've a forward from Plunketts in Dublin playing with the county now? I think his name is Gareth Smith or something. Looks like Carr, like Keoghan did when getting Gallagher in, has decided we haven't the quality in the county and is looking elsewhere.

Aw cheer up it not that bad :pac:

I wonder is he any better than what we have, he is supposed to be good to take a score and has being on the Dublin panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Fanad Gaels it is and they are quite handy. ;)

smashey wrote: »
    Fanad Gaels it is and they are quite handy. ;)

What part of Donegal are they from? Where is the game do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

What part of Donegal are they from? Where is the game do you know?
    They are from Fanad. :p

The Fanad peninsula actually. It is north of Letterkenny and includes places like Portslaon, Kerrykeel, Tamney and Fanad Head. Their home ground is there as well.

I think Lavey will be playing division 2 football next year. Cuchulainns beat Ballinagh so as far as i know Lavey are down.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Anyone know what is happening with Cavan Gaels and Shercock this year? Both teams finished on the same points and are second/third from the bottom of division 2 this year. Normally it would result in a relegation playoff but Cavan Gaels are suspended from playing any games after their behaviour following the championship defeat to Butlersbridge. Is a playoff going to happen or is that Cavan Gaels relegated?

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Anyone know what is happening with Cavan Gaels and Shercock this year? Both teams finished on the same points and are second/third from the bottom of division 2 this year. Normally it would result in a relegation playoff but Cavan Gaels are suspended from playing any games after their behaviour following the championship defeat to Butlersbridge. Is a playoff going to happen or is that Cavan Gaels relegated?

It should be Gaels relegated and i believe Sherock were told as much.

Anyone know when county panel is going to be picked. I hear James Reilly and Keith Fannin are not going back this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

We will take all the help we can get. TC seems to be looking at alot of players in challenge games and is not bothering with the Regional games this year.

If Tommy Carr gets the proper support he will have a positive impact on Cavan G.A.A. But dont expect overnight success. Tommy is very strong on discipiline and if the players get the right encouragment from their clubs and Cavan people they you will see an improvement next season. A good move for Cavan would be to bring in some other outsiders to handle U/14 to Minor where regional squads are needed.

As for Gareth "Nesty" Smyth. Have seen him play a few times and he is a very good player who will get scores. He is also quite a good freetaker. Michael Brides is a team mate of his in Plunketts.

I think Lavey will be playing division 2 football next year. Cuchulainns beat Ballinagh so as far as i know Lavey are down.

Has this been confirmed does anyone know? I've been told the league table is on the Killygarry website but I haven't access to it here in work.

LeoB wrote: »
    If Tommy Carr gets the proper support he will have a positive impact on Cavan G.A.A. But dont expect overnight success. Tommy is very strong on discipiline and if the players get the right encouragment from their clubs and Cavan people they you will see an improvement next season. A good move for Cavan would be to bring in some other outsiders to handle U/14 to Minor where regional squads are needed.

As for Gareth "Nesty" Smyth. Have seen him play a few times and he is a very good player who will get scores. He is also quite a good freetaker. Michael Brides is a team mate of his in Plunketts.

How come he never made the breakthrough for Dublin then? After all, yas start Conal Keaney in the forwards :D And worse still, Mossy Quinn gets a run :D

I don't think Carr will have a strong impact. From what I've heard he doesn't attend training much and he's very laid back with the players and has problems motivating them for games. I really don't think he's putting 100% effort into the job and with Cavan 200% is what's needed from management.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

It should be Gaels relegated and i believe Sherock were told as much.
    Cheers Celt. Just looking to see what the story was as I haven't been involved with Shercock at all this year (along with loads of others), I'm basically going on whats been said online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

How come he never made the breakthrough for Dublin then? After all, yas start Conal Keaney in the forwards :D And worse still, Mossy Quinn gets a run :D

He never made the breakthrough because I don't think management were very high up on him.He's a great club player but back in January he played against Offaly in the O Byrne Cup and he seemed to lack fitness.

Mind you,that was after the long club SFC Plunketts were in getting to the final and the Christmas break.I think on the showing of that game,he was never considered.Heard he never got a look in under Pillar either after numerous trials.

I wouldn't be so quick to slag off Keaney or Quinn.If you have seen Keaney's form since the Kerry match playing for Ballyboden,he is the hottest forward in Dublin at the moment.He gets an awful amount of stick at intercounty level when things do go wrong but he puts in an amount of work.As for Quinn,he has been in and out of form and suffering some injuries too.I think you also forgot that he has won a Senior All Ireland Club Medal and has been an established player on the Dublin team for years now.

Kevin Bonner and Dermot Connolly are both players I wouldn't be so quick to defend.

blackbelt wrote: »
    He never made the breakthrough because I don't think management were very high up on him.He's a great club player but back in January he played against Offaly in the O Byrne Cup and he seemed to lack fitness.

Mind you,that was after the long club SFC Plunketts were in getting to the final and the Christmas break.I think on the showing of that game,he was never considered.Heard he never got a look in under Pillar either after numerous trials.

I wouldn't be so quick to slag off Keaney or Quinn.If you have seen Keaney's form since the Kerry match playing for Ballyboden,he is the hottest forward in Dublin at the moment.He gets an awful amount of stick at intercounty level when things do go wrong but he puts in an amount of work.As for Quinn,he has been in and out of form and suffering some injuries too.I think you also forgot that he has won a Senior All Ireland Club Medal and has been an established player on the Dublin team for years now.

Kevin Bonner and Dermot Connolly are both players I wouldn't be so quick to defend.

Keaney or Quinn haven't made a noteworthy impact at county level for years now. Like I have said numerous times, Dublin need to cut away the dead wood. I think you over-rate being an established player on the Dublin team too.

And anyway, this is a thread about Cavan GAA so back on topic...

What happened Fanad today smashey? The Lavey boys kept them scoreless in the second half and won by 6 points, 1-14 to 1-8, the lads will make Croker yet!

Well done to Lavey, good to see a club team doing well outside off the county.

Good luck to Lavey in the Ulster Final on Sunday week, sood to see a Cavan club doing well outside of the county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

Mayo 0-15 Cavan 1-14

Great result here, against all the odds & predictions :-)