Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clowns and rally drivers

• 05-10-2009 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭

So eroo is waiting patiently at a bus stop in Limerick city for a bus that's going to take him to work. It's a cold morning, and the last few drunkards are vacating the take aways.

Naturally, eroo is a bit on edge at this stop. (For anyone who knows Limerick, I was at Arthurs Quay) It's 3.30am and there is no one around except for aforementioned drunkards. The park behind eroo is a haven for drunk homeless people.. quite drunk indeed. So eroo was heartened by the site of a Garda car driving past. Eroo's mind eased a bit, as only minutes previously a car load of scrotes mooned him.. and he was shaken by the unholy site. Funnily enough it was a full moon this night.. but eroo failed to see the funny side nonetheless.

Out of nowhere, eroo's thoughts and ponderings were swept aside by the sound of an engine revving and tyres screeching. 'Oh no', he thought. 'Those lads are back to take what innocence I have left'. Eroo then saw the yellow strip and elevated light bar of a mondeo. 'Ahh thank god for that'. The squad car tore off around the bend. More screeching and a traffic corps estate car followed. Seconds later they repeated there action having just circled the shopping centre. 'How strange, maybe they're lost' I thought.

It soon dawned on eroo, that the 2 cars were racing. Eroo thought to himself 'wow, I never knew a Chief's permission automatically qualified young Gardai to drive like a 17 year old rally driver who's trying to impress his scanger girlfriend by driving fast, revving the engine and being unable to change gears fast enough'. Then eroo realised there was a clown in the passenger seat of the mondeo!! Well, it had a ponytail and was caked in makeup while wearing a strange vest.. 'so it must be a clown' he thought. Rally driver and clown steal Garda car and uniforms.. maybe thats why the other squad car was chasing them

Seriously though, I was quite shocked by the behaviour of those 2 units. The mondeo almost lost control around a corner. The speed they were going was ridiculous. They weren't responding to a call as they had no blues on, and I saw them moments later 'cruising' up O'Connell St. I would expect that sort of carry on from 2 car loads of young fellas acting the maggot, but not from Gardai. I'm seriously considering writing an anonymous letter to a Chief Super.

Finally, I would like to congratulate those idiotic members for their immature, pathetic and downright dangerous behaviour.. all of which happened on the 1st anniversary of one of their colleague' death in a car accident, which happened while he was driving home from Limerick to Galway after a double shift. Well done to the clowns and the wanna be boy racers for their activities this morning

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

While I would not defend stupid driving by members......may I point out all Traffic members have the driving course done, you cant be sure the other driver was on chiefs, you cannot be sure they didnt get a call, you cannot be sure that the call did not warrant blues ie a burglary in which lights would scare off offenders and you cannot be sure that if they had got a call it might have been cancelled moments later.

Speculation is all your going on my young friend, and while you think their driving was reckless and uncalled for it may have been warranted and they may be trained drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Speculation is all your going on my young friend, and while you think their driving was reckless and uncalled for it may have been warranted and they may be trained drivers.

I'm not specualting. They weren't responding to a call. How do I know? Because they lapped the shopping centre. Moments later I spotted them cruising up the main street(O'Connell St.) as if they were 2 car loads of mates having a laugh. Btw, the shopping centre is triangular and the road is ideal for that sort of carry on

eroo wrote: »
    I'm not specualting. They weren't responding to a call. How do I know? Because they lapped the shopping centre. Moments later I spotted them cruising up the main street(O'Connell St.) as if they were 2 car loads of mates having a laugh. Btw, the shopping centre is triangular and the road is ideal for that sort of carry on http://maps.google.com/maps?q=public%20jo&rlz=1I7DAIE_en&oe=UTF-8&sourceid=ie7&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=N&hl=en&tab=wl

I know the road.....one way street isnt it? Maybe they got a call and it was cancelled half way around before turn off for Dublin/Corbally?? Then they continued their patrol or were heading back to Henry street??

If you dont know 100% for sure then it is speculation im afraid.

I know the road.....one way street isnt it? Maybe they got a call and it was cancelled half way around before turn off for Dublin/Corbally?? Then they continued their patrol or were heading back to Henry street??

Unless they got a call, did a lap of the centre.. then call was cancelled and they did another lap for fun.. The Garda in the passenger seat seemed to be enjoying herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭w123

Come on now...
    Two sets of pals, deserted streets, fast cars ...

Take it on the chin - Young fellers can hardly resist that sort of temptation - no matter who they are.

What are chiefs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

w123 wrote: »

What are chiefs?

Too many of them spoil the broth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I think Eroo's piont is 2 AGS vehicle's should have no reason other than a pretty silly one for driving around a shopping centre at speed twice

However it does not really matter as Garda cars never crash and if they are written off there is plenty of cash floating around to buy new ones. Maybe even some nice Subaru or other high powered vehicles. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

But the boys will be boys comment still stands, young lads make mistakes even AGS and if you think back Eroo I am sure you did. ;)

Not to mention the fact that by now someone in AGS Limerick has read this and has a fairly good idea who the members are.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Cant say what these guys were doing as i dont know if they were on a call or not. Nobody does, only the gardai on duty last night.

Tyre screeching does not constitute dangerous driving however speeding in a built up area if pedestrians are around does.

As for going around the block, many times Gardai might get a priorty one call only to be cancelled 20 seconds later. (Eircom phonewatch panic alarm)

Blue lights are not always used on calls. Blue lights are an aid to the driver to get through traffic. It does not signal that they are on an urgent call.

Also, trained Garda drivers are trained to drive the cars at high revs which sometimes seems odd to untrained drivers. Perfectly normal though and the cars are well able to take it.

My 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭norrie_1001

While I would not defend stupid driving by members......may I point out all Traffic members have the driving course done, you cant be sure the other driver was on chiefs, you cannot be sure they didnt get a call, you cannot be sure that the call did not warrant blues ie a burglary in which lights would scare off offenders and you cannot be sure that if they had got a call it might have been cancelled moments later.

That is not the case everywhere. I know in my district 3 traffic corps members on chiefs and that same corps cover half the division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

Given that both sides of this discussion may well be right, what harm could reporting this "incident" do. Let management investigate and decide as appropriate, thus ending speculation.

That is not the case everywhere. I know in my district 3 traffic corps members on chiefs and that same corps cover half the division.

Sorry I'll re word that....all TC members in Limerick have the course done, as do Kerry....as do Cork North.....as do Cork city......as do Waterford. This I know. Cant comment on anyother divisions so you may well be right. But all TC in Limerick are trained (unless they got a few person)

Chief--- wrote: »
    Cant say what these guys were doing as i dont know if they were on a call or not. Nobody does, only the gardai on duty last night.

Tyre screeching does not constitute dangerous driving however speeding in a built up area if pedestrians are around does.

As for going around the block, many times Gardai might get a priorty one call only to be cancelled 20 seconds later. (Eircom phonewatch panic alarm)

Blue lights are not always used on calls. Blue lights are an aid to the driver to get through traffic. It does not signal that they are on an urgent call.

Also, trained Garda drivers are trained to drive the cars at high revs which sometimes seems odd to untrained drivers. Perfectly normal though and the cars are well able to take it.

My 2 cents

Chief, I appreciate your and NGA' opinions on the possibility of a call out not necessitating blues. However, I cannot stress how clear it was to me and another person at the bus stop that they were not responding to a call. They did 2 laps and they cruised up O'Connell St nice and slowly.

Also, there were pedestrians around.. many of them drunk. The mondeo driver definitely was not trained as he/she couldn't control the car. My heart was in my mouth as they went around the corner by the Dept of Agriculture buildings. Thats a blind corner and anyone could have been crossing the road, or a car/bus could've been around the corner.

It just annoyed and tbh, shocked me. To say people make mistakes is fine if your talking about young lads acting the maggot in a car. But Gardai should never behave like that. It's dangerous, not to mention illegal! It just smacks of the immaturity some younger members seem to have when it comes to bad driving etc.

Zambia232 wrote: »

But the boys will be boys comment still stands, young lads make mistakes even AGS and if you think back Eroo I am sure you did. ;)

Not to mention the fact that by now someone in AGS Limerick has read this and has a fairly good idea who the members are.

Of course I've made mistakes, and I will continue to do so. But I'm not in a position whereby I can arrest and charge someone with dangerous driving, while engaging in it myself.

I just feel some of the younger members that made it through in the last few years are in AGS for all the wrong reasons.. some of them seem to behave as if they're 'out with the boys havin a laugh' at times.. not in a good way either. But that's just my opinion and another topic maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Whitewater-AGS

Chief, I appreciate your and NGA' opinions on the possibility of a call out not necessitating blues. However, I cannot stress how clear it was to me and another person at the bus stop that they were not responding to a call. They did 2 laps and they cruised up O'Connell St nice and slowly.

Also, there were pedestrians around.. many of them drunk. The mondeo driver definitely was not trained as he/she couldn't control the car. My heart was in my mouth as they went around the corner by the Dept of Agriculture buildings. Thats a blind corner and anyone could have been crossing the road, or a car/bus could've been around the corner.

It just annoyed and tbh, shocked me. To say people make mistakes is fine if your talking about young lads acting the maggot in a car. But Gardai should never behave like that. It's dangerous, not to mention illegal! It just smacks of the immaturity some younger members seem to have when it comes to bad driving etc.

As was already pointed out to you eroo you have no way of knowing if the lads where on a call, I'm in the job and when I see a car speed,skid whatever past me I cant tell if they are on a call so I doubt you can.

And whats your big gripe with young members, I seen the older lads do stupid stuff too:)

P.s I can enjoy my work and I do enjoy going to calls, so to say the member in the passenger seat was enjoying herself hardly proves anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Of course I've made mistakes, and I will continue to do so. But I'm not in a position whereby I can arrest and charge someone with dangerous driving, while engaging in it myself.

I am assuming you are 100% correct and the member was acting the clown.

If you think about it the Garda you saw risked more by his actions than you would. If you are caught DD you will lose pionts and possibly your licence for a while.

If he gets caught he will get the same as you plus possibly lose his job, and with a dismissal for that reason not be employed in any police force ever. Not to mention the fact if anyone with a mobile phone sticks him on Youtube he's gone for sure.

Zambia232 wrote: »
    I am assuming you are 100% correct and the member was acting the clown.

If you think about it the Garda you saw risked more by his actions than you would. If you are caught DD you will lose pionts and possibly your licence for a while.

If he gets caught he will get the same as you plus possibly lose his job, and with a dismissal for that reason not be employed in any police force ever. Not to mention the fact if anyone with a mobile phone sticks him on Youtube he's gone for sure.

Tbh, I don't believe he would be fired. Maybe get withdrawn from driving patrol vehicles, but I would think he would not be dismissed.

I'm not going to keep repeating it.. but these cars were defintely not on call!! There was no around bar me, a girl, drunks and taxi's. Thus, they probably didn't think anyone would report it. As someone pointed out.. 3.30am, deserted streets etc

So have you made a complaint about it? If not why not? You are prepared to come on here and discuss it openly enough.

foreign wrote: »
    So have you made a complaint about it? If not why not? You are prepared to come on here and discuss it openly enough.

I have my reasons, of which I'm not going into here.

I can discuss it because I'm anonymous here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Fairly obvious he's not making a complaint because despite his strong feelings on alleged actions, he still wants to be a Guard some day. I'd probably be in an identical boat but I wans't there so won't speculate there.

(course I'm more identifiable cos my username isn't exactly genius :P )

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Can you see how this is unfair?

You're being judge and jury to AGS members without the slightest clue what the reason was for what you saw. How do you know they weren't receiving live updates to a situation that was changing by the second? You have to admit, you haven't the foggiest idea what was happening that night.

You have arrived at your own uninformed and unfair conclusion, and by the look of things, nobody is going to change your mind, even with the most likely explanations being offered for what you saw.

Now you have the opportunity to make a report to GSOC in confidence, and you decline because you have your reasons, which you're not going to go into here?

Why not, sure after all, aren't you anonymous?

psni wrote: »
    Can you see how this is unfair?

You're being judge and jury to AGS members without the slightest clue what the reason was for what you saw. How do you know they weren't receiving live updates to a situation that was changing by the second? You have to admit, you haven't the foggiest idea what was happening that night.

You have arrived at your own uninformed and unfair conclusion, and by the look of things, nobody is going to change your mind, even with the most likely explanations being offered for what you saw.

Now you have the opportunity to make a report to GSOC in confidence, and you decline because you have your reasons, which you're not going to go into here?

Why not, sure after all, aren't you anonymous?

Yes I am anonymous, and I wish to remain so.

There is no likely explanation for what I saw, other than that they were racing. Why do I beleive this? Simply because it was 3.30am, they were doing laps around a city centre building with a road that is perfect for that sort of action. They then followed each other through town. As you said, nobody will change my mind because it's made up. As for making a confidential complaint, I may just do that and I thank those of you who suggested it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Well I'm not prepared to allow you to make unfair and unsubstantiated allegations about AGS based on what you think you saw. They could have prevented a murder that night for all you know.

Thread closed.