Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is what the BBC think of Ireland

• 02-10-2009 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8287222.stm

Here's 6 pictures the BBC took for Lisbon polling, including:
    1. A ginger with freckles
    2. Three nuns
    3. Biffo
    4. A double decker bus
    5. Gerry Adams

I mean... where's the leprechaun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Nothing worng with those pics imo .There are no leprechauns In Ireland dummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Whats intrinsically Irish about a double decker bus? :confused:

Ah, national sterotypes, ya got to love em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Whats` your problem? The pics all looked relevant to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

whoever told you there was leprecauns in ireland was telling you porkies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

I found the bastard with his head in my Lucky Charms! Cnut!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Garda looks pissed off and dont tell me that's a preist on the sax ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

The Times picture is alright. The real bigots in the UK - towards Ireland - have always been the liberals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

I thought they were decent pics in fairness. Particularly harsh on the little red haired girl I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Sure everyone knows that they are extinct, it was the Japanese that hunted them down for their rare, gamey meat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

What the fcuk is going on there??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

C'mon. Everyone knows St.Paddy got rid of them yonks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's all very Twin Peaks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Muggy Dev

Saved the Timesonline pic for my desktop.Pure Father Ted.Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Five out of the seven eligible voters voted.
    They should be applauded.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Here's another strange one from the BBC: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8272802.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭novarock

2. Three nuns
    3. Biffo
    4. A double decker bus
    5. Gerry Adams

Well its not as if they mocked them up now is it? They are great photo's in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Here's another strange one from the BBC: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8272802.stm
    It proves that people who voted "Yes" are almost 90% more likely to be more attractive than people who vote "No".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Come back Laura Palmer all is forgiven.
    Five out of the seven eligible voters voted.
    They should be applauded.:D
    The other two are under the floorboards.

Still alive, hence the need for the sax, aye Capt'n we both think alike.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I wonder if the Irish are the most easily offended nation in the world?

Not according to this thread.:pac:

Maybe more suspicious than Offended :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

Thank you, new desktop background :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

2. Three nuns
    3. Biffo
    4. A double decker bus
    5. Gerry Adams

The bastards! How dare they insinuate that we have.... busses .....
    Where in the bejasus is me semtex?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

2. Three nuns
    3. Biffo
    4. A double decker bus
    5. Gerry Adams

You probably don't want to turn over to the late late show right now, a ukulele, a fiddle and a harpsichord!!

Stereotypes gone mad!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's in your own post??
    5. Gerry Adams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The nuns was a bit OTT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

2. Three nuns
    3. Biffo
    4. A double decker bus
    5. Gerry Adams

Nary a pint of Guinness to be seen...
    The Beeb do be slippin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Pretty sure that's Israel.
    We're up there, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Can't have everyone knowing Ireland still has gingers, those mythical creatures...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

English people are the biggest **** to ever have walked the earth.

/me checks reported posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Terry wrote: »

/me checks reported posts.
    Why don't you just ignore them anyway.

*hopes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

ascanbe wrote: »
    Pretty sure that's Israel.
    We're up there, though.

Christ you could put any Muslim country in there too.

Been to few places and they get in rage over thing slightest thing

Poland is up there too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

Christ you could put any Muslim country in there too.

Been to few places and they get in rage over thing slightest thing

Poland is up there too

And France, USA...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Looks like a David Lynch-directed Father Ted tbh :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Where's the pot of gold? Oh... the Brits took it with them when they left the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Where's the pot of gold? Oh... the Brits took it with them when they left the Republic.

Which Republic was this that the Brits left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jebus here we go again....:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

The Garda in that times online pic is just thinking to himself "If you play that ****ing Rick Astley song once more, I'll batter ya" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

asdasd wrote: »
    The real bigots in the UK - towards Ireland - have always been the liberals.

This is the funniest post I`ve ever read, in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

I think BBC means Bring Back our Colonies. I always knew the smarmy, upper-class accented gits had an agenda

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I doubt they went to the bother of photo shopping those pictures in order to make them fit some stereotype.

Are there ginger people in Ireland?
    Are there nuns in Ireland, and are they allowed to vote?
    Part of Biffo's job is to have photos taken of him voting.
    It was a picture of an election poster that happened to be on a bus.
    Gerry Adams just has to get himself into any story he can about Ireland on the BBC.

Now the Times picture was just comedy gold, you can't deny them the chance to print that shot if the photographer is lucky enough to see it. :D

I'm sure that there will be the chance for RTE to get a picture of some Morris Dancers voting next year to even things up a bit. Oh, and that one eyed Scottish idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'm not offended by the pictures, I don't see why I should be. You'd have an incredibly small world to see something offensive in those pictures imo.
    Agricola wrote: »
    Whats intrinsically Irish about a double decker bus? :confused:

Ah, national sterotypes, ya got to love em!

Nothing. It's about the advertisement on the side of it.

Strange how a few pics from the BBC website has the potential to let the thread become another the brits are this /that / or the other .

You would really have to have a big chip on your shoulder to be offended in any way by those pictures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

They're right. We're a nation of backward hillbillies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

I was reading the English Independent this morning and, OMG like, there was a picture of Biffo and a butch-looking woman and a nun - the cheek of those durty English feckers :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

How dare they take a picture of a countries leader voting, it's just plane rude.

Obama Merkel etc ...

Google Image search for "blair voting" shows some odd pictures though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

It seems that some posters are taking the OP's post too serious. And at the same time, wondering why HE is taking his post so serious. Funny that.

I found it a slightly humorous post. Something to add to, not attack. :confused:

There should have been a photo of some old men, (toothless Micks if you will) with eyebrows on their cheeks and walkin sticks. Eating sods of turf and drinkin Guinn. . . stout. :D:D

Photographers obviously not doing their jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

2. Three nuns
    3. Biffo
    4. A double decker bus
    5. Gerry Adams

everytime there is something happening in ireland the bbc show a priest or a nun. Something I noticed also for number of years. ?????

rte dont show a picture of morris dancers every time they have an equivalent