Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dunne Interview

• 02-10-2009 12:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭

Just taught a few of you lads might appreciate a heads up that Dunne is on the late late show tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

haha i was just about to post this aswell. i have to say i gotta hand it to him the way he goes out into the public after defeats. kiko and now this one. no one would blame him if he layed low for a while, i prob would. makes me like him more have to say. looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭BDF

alanceltic wrote: »
    Just taught a few of you lads might appreciate a heads up that Dunne is on the late late show tonight

Cheers Alanceltic, I would have missed that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,366 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Shane10 wrote: »
    i have to say i gotta hand it to him the way he goes out into the public after defeats. kiko and now this one. .

I know, he has a hard bloody neck:D

This thread has been far too cordial, we can't have this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Wow, the Late Late has some how convinced the former double world champion Bernard Dunne to appear on the show. This must eclipse the Parky / Ali interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

It's a bit soon for my money. Tough one to call but I would say that if Dunne can stay away from Tubridys left hook he should have the skills to win out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

mrak wrote: »
    It's a bit soon for my money. Tough one to call but I would say that if Dunne can stay away from Tubridys left hook he should have the skills to win out.

For the super lateweight championship of the world!!!

It is a bit early really. Unless he knows what direction he is going to take in his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

mrak wrote: »

lol if you ask me tubbers is looking a little weight drained, I just hope someone has the decency to throw in the towel if it gets ugly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭marcusluck

i would'nt watch the late late after last week, imo it was cheap tv on darren behalf. anyhow fair play to dunne for showing up on it after a tough defeat last week..
    besides prize fighter on :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

i defy anyone to say Dunne is arrogant after watching that interview. a class act to be sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

ditto, more humble than ever. man himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Absolutely first class interview.

Dunne came across like an absolute gentleman, the more I see/hear of him since the defeat the more he's grown on me as a stand up, 'salt of the earth lad.

Even if he decides to retire from fighting, TV would be mad to let this lad off the hook, I think we'll be seeing lots more of Dunne.

As for Tub's - another class act, handled Dunne's obvious emotions exceptionally well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Great guy.

I really felt for him when he was about to start crying. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

I thought from the interview, he has had his fill of the pro life.

I heard Dunne mention a while ago he was trying to join Dublin fire brigade, is this still an option for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭gdael

Just watched it. That fella has a career in the media ahead of him for sure.
    He came across really well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

spadder wrote: »

I heard Dunne mention a while ago he was trying to join Dublin fire brigade, is this still an option for him?

Nope not at the moment, there's a recruitment embargo until 2012.

gdael wrote: »
    Just watched it. That fella has a career in the media ahead of him for sure.
    He came across really well.

He always does!

Great interview. Class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

T-K-O wrote: »
    He always does!

Great interview. Class!

+1, He's a great speaker, with a common touch and he has some snazzy suits. Saturday night with Dunne!

spadder wrote: »
    +1, He's a great speaker, with a common touch and he has some snazzy suits. Saturday night with Dunne!

When he does hang them up, wouldn't it be great to have a boxing show. Maybe TV is out of reach at the moment but Dunnes boxing hour on 106 would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭MCMT

Terrific interview, and the Tubb handled it very well.

Honestly, I think if Dunne wants it he can continue to have a successful pro career. He's proved himself to be a dedicated, decent, modest and sincere fighter - an abundance of qualities that are rarely displayed by most pros today. As his career progresses I respect hi more and more, win or lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

any links ?.... im working away down country with no internet or tv or any-fing . will watch it when im back next thursday/friday !
    would love to see it

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    any links ?.... im working away down country with no internet or tv or any-fing . will watch it when im back next thursday/friday !
    would love to see it

only the first part of it seems to be up on youtube:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SStHER2JsLc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭MCMT

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    would love to see it

Here you are:

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1056805

Starts about 21mins in (if you want to avoid an Ant and Dec interview).

I've just watched this again - can't get over how articulate, direct and sincere he is. Really amazing.

And whatever about his pros and cons in the ring, next time I hear a bunch of "real Dubs" bang on about what a pussy he is I'll go through them for a short cut. I was listening to it on the street before the fight and then had an earful of it after the fight by so-called fans of boxing who had paid to watch him fight! If our race has any redeeming qualities they can be very, very difficult to find some times.

MCMT wrote: »
    Here you are:

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1056805

Starts about 21mins in (if you want to avoid an Ant and Dec interview).

I've just watched this again - can't get over how articulate, direct and sincere he is. Really amazing.

And whatever about his pros and cons in the ring, next time I hear a bunch of "real Dubs" bang on about what a pussy he is I'll go through them for a short cut. I was listening to it on the street before the fight and then had an earful of it after the fight by so-called fans of boxing who had paid to watch him fight! If our race has any redeeming qualities they can be very, very difficult to find some times.

well-said MCMT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

fair play to bernard...he had the b*lls to admit he was beaten by the better man....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    fair play to bernard...he had the b*lls to admit he was beaten by the better man....

A great interview - very enjoyable, that man let nobody down last week, its great to see someone from my part of the woods doing so well for himself.

He was beaten by a future great in my opinion - I think Bernard should go up a weight to have a last crack at it, but whatever he does he had us all glued into the tele of a saturday night watching someone who loves his country & done his best. - Not that often we get to do that for an Irishman.

Fair play Bernard Dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

There's an interview with Poonsawat here: Poonsawat leaves door open for a rematch and urges Dunne to keep fighting he comes across as a nice bloke too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Good interview. Dunne looks like hes really hurting still. He was chocking back the tears at one stage. Fair play to him for facing the public so soon after his defeat, He's a tough bugger. Theres definitely a place for media for him in years to come, he's has really grown comfortable in front of the camera, and not short of a quip either.

Tubs his a tool, I cant help but cringe everytime he opens his mouth.

I enjoyed the interview and Dunne is simply a nice guy, hard not to like him and I was impressed at how he described the fight in detail and never tried to
    make excuses. He said he was in a daze and badly hurt.

When Tubridy was asking Ben why he was staking the loss so bad, I was wishing Dunne to simply say, "I don't like to lose. I'm in the sport to win and I hate losing." That is the answer I wanted. Dunne seemed lost with the question and was so humble with his answer.

The suit was snazzy, but didn't it remind any of yee of the Gangster suits from the 1920s era?

Bernard always always dresses so well. Something that will always stand out.
    Like, you look at Dunne and say, a guy like Geldof or Colin Farrell or Bono, and you really wonder, who's the one with the money?

stagolee wrote: »
    There's an interview with Poonsawat here: Poonsawat leaves door open for a rematch and urges Dunne to keep fighting he comes across as a nice bloke too.

Poon I think is looking for another easy nights work and pay. If Dunne took this match, he would be two things, brave and I'm afraid, stupid. It's a no no for Dunne and if he returns, it will not be an option I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

didnt really expect anything less from the interview, open, honest and didnt hold back but you can clearly see the will to win bubbling underneath. show me a boxer on the pro scene who is as humble or honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Zak Flaps

walshb wrote: »
    Poon I think is looking for another easy nights work and pay. If Dunne took this match, he would be two things, brave and I'm afraid, stupid. It's a no no for Dunne and if he returns, it will not be an option I would imagine.

I agree. I don't think Dunne would want to fight him again. He won't admit it,but I think he knows he couldn't win against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭clap-for-trap

Zak Flaps wrote: »
    I agree. I don't think Dunne would want to fight him again. He won't admit it,but I think he knows he couldn't win against him.

i agree