Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THe- Drums

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭montec

Possibly the lamest, weakest sounding, unoriginal band to come along in quite a while.
    The singers shtick is even a lame Ian Curtis impression!!!
    Very poor and once again ridiculous amounts of hype from the NME et al. Followed in a few weeks no doubt by Hot Press.
    Sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭ludwit

Yeah I find them really poor, 2 good songs and thats it, they are terrible live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

They're ok, but the NME have hyped them up SO much. I thought their opening EP was quite intresting but their LP is nothing special. Basically, they're an ok band but nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

ludwit wrote: »
    Seem to be getting a lot of Hype but I love the tunes.
    ludwit wrote: »
    Yeah I find them really poor, 2 good songs and thats it, they are terrible live.

Quick change of opinion there! Eh.. I'd agree with your second opinion though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭ludwit

Sútalún wrote: »
    Quick change of opinion there! Eh.. I'd agree with your second opinion though.

Oh that wan't me, that was someone else signed in on my profile, honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Can't stand them. Lets Go Surfing, their plateau to date, was nothing special and it's all gone downhill from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭nervous_twitch

I really enjoy their music. Sure, they mightnt be the most original act out there, but that doesnt mean they're crap. I just think its fun, summer music.. though I'm sure others beg to differ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I really like the Drums. I saw them last week at Primavera - the sound was crap so I couldn't judge them properly but they were entertaining to watch and the 2 girls I was with hadn't heard them before and loved them.

They just want to write short catchy guitar, pop songs and there's nothing wrong with that even if it does sound like a throwback to the past.

Down by the Water is a cracking sad tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I like them. Not the most original or groundbreaking band, but they have some great, simple indie-pop tunes and that's enough for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Bren Jacob

Iv liked what Iv heard so far, I hhavnt got the album yet but I will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I'm starting to like their new album, it sounds just as good as their EP and will probably sound better after a few more listens. It's probably not one of the best albums of the year so far but it's still pretty good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

been listening to these to guys for the guts of the past year and a half never get old but the new albums awesome with the 3 tracks i havent heard :p

if you like the drums this is johnaton and jocobs other bands

goat explosion and elkland :):)

people enjoy :)

and haters . . .get lost maybe they might be obscure performing but they have a talent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭.DarDarBinks

All the haters, get to the beach on a sunny day, open a bottle, relax and listen to the album and EP, cant beat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

montec wrote: »
    Possibly the lamest, weakest sounding, unoriginal band to come along in quite a while.
    Very poor and once again ridiculous amounts of hype from the NME et al. Followed in a few weeks no doubt by Hot Press.
    Sad.

Exactly what came to mind. A perfect example of a **** band who everyone knows yet i've no understanding why.

ah go away will ye haha:P this is a great band :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Battleflag

Few people have mentioned this band to me over the past few days, I'm really suprised because I trust these peoples taste in music but this is well ****.

Why listen to this when you can listen to Unknown Pleasures?

i dont think the comparison to unknown pleasure is fair man its nothing like the unknown pleasure album atall and i listen to it everday and is one of my favorite albums ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

montec wrote: »
    Sad.

Don't feel as strong as you about them, but the Ian Curtis take off is both obvious and irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 kylerr

they're serious. i love the way he uses his voice like an instrument
    even the haters have to like ''best friend'' and ''lets go surfing'' :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

kylerr wrote: »
    they're serious. i love the way he uses his voice like an instrument

Nope best friend is one of the worst songs ive heard this year and i havnt heard lets go surfing and i do want to either. he has to have the whiniest singing voice in music.

they are just another example of ****e band over-hyped by NME

kylerr wrote: »

id rather eat me own mickey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Haters?

When did this forum turn all Jerry Springer on us?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭.DarDarBinks

too many people on this thread are uber-indie

get a grip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Wanted to see them at Oxegen but I was right up the front at Kasabian at the time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭cerebis

tunes are good... videos are good...

kind of like a mix between Joy Division and clap your hands and say yeah..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

they're quite fabulous, I trust as a board heavyweight my taste won't be questioned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

They caught my eye last August and got the EP then, which I really, really liked. I liked the simplicity, surfery, pop (with a tad bit of punk thrown in) sound. So I expected a lot more from the album. It's OK. It's a bit 'throw-awayie'.

Still, I'd be interested to see how they develop. Don't hold much hope though; heard them recently on an interview basically saying the simplistic sound was what they strive for...:confused: That'll only go so far.

too many people on this thread are uber-indie

get a grip

shat up :P

if people are "hatin"n . . . . your doing something right :):):):):):):

these guys are great . . . enough said !!!

Let's keep it friendly folks.

Everyone's entitled to their opinion, especially if it involves eating one's own mickey.

i wasnt being mean sorry about that :) just meant it in a positive sort of way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭new fang

they're not really my thing, but i don't see how "ian curtis rip off" or "unoriginal cause they sound like the cure" is an argument against them. there are so many bands and artists out there that are just thinly veiled homages to their influences and there is nothing wrong with that. good music is still good music even if it sounds like other good music, ya'meen?

that said, i remember about a year ago seeing the video for "let's go surfing" and thinking, no way are these guys going to get big. too cocky. too lazy. cut to a month ago and they're all over the telly.

Let's keep it friendly folks.

Everyone's entitled to their opinion, especially if it involves eating one's own mickey.

yes!

new fang wrote: »
    they're not really my thing, but i don't see how "ian curtis rip off" or "unoriginal cause they sound like the cure" is an argument against them. there are so many bands and artists out there that are just thinly veiled homages to their influences and there is nothing wrong with that. good music is still good music even if it sounds like other good music, ya'meen?

that said, i remember about a year ago seeing the video for "let's go surfing" and thinking, no way are these guys going to get big. too cocky. too lazy. cut to a month ago and they're all over the telly.

Its alright if that thin veil sounds good. They are peddling utter muck tho!

red_ice wrote: »
    yes!

Its alright if that thin veil sounds good. They are peddling utter muck tho!

naah dont think so ,that veil sounds good its what makes them who they are,its their style and sound ,poeple can warm to great hooks and catchy melodys , i liked them because it reminded me of the smiths, the cure n a tiny bit of joy division, yes their album is repetitive but you cant say their really peddling muck,but i suppose thats only your opinion

A V A wrote: »
    naah dont think so ,that veil sounds good its what makes them who they are,its their style and sound ,poeple can warm to great hooks and catchy melodys , i liked them because it reminded me of the smiths, the cure n a tiny bit of joy division, yes their album is repetitive but you cant say their really peddling muck,but i suppose thats only your opinion

I would say that its not only my opinion. Theres a fair few heads that think they sound pants too.

Theres a number of bands that i have no idea how they got anywhere. The next big band etc. I said the same about MGMT, however their stuff was well produced and wasnt as lazy as the drums stuff, look at their second album.

Everything about the drums, right down to the bass tone and attack screams Joy Div. The difference is these chaps look stupid, sound crap, dance like idiots and are seriously going out of their way to do all of the above.. not for fun or anything, but because they think it looks cool.

Another **** band imo is vampire weekend. Thats another band, like the drums, and my previous prediction with MGMT that will come up with a terrible second album.

dont think their music is that much like joy division and the lyrics are no way like them either !!! emmm i know the way they go on but i dont think they do it "to be cool ". . . and to be honest the 2 lads from the drums went on the way they do , they way the act ,dance and sing when they were in elkland and goatexplosion , they still go on the same way and both bands were not famous and the way their going on now is not just beacuse they have got famous and bigger.

and if you named bands i could say they are muck and compare them to bands etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭cheesefiend

If they're not live, and I don't have to watch any of their videos then they're OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Seen them at Oxegen and the boys were prancing about like they were on Pineapple Dance Studios - they looked like the worst everyone thinks of when they think of fey, indie hipsters. As for their music, they have a few good tracks (Forever and Ever Amen) but a lot of the times the singer is unintelligible. In all, I wasn't that impressed, they strike me as a very NME-hyped band, who are very try-hard in their image and stage performances. Potential is there, but they certainly need to step things up for next album

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

Another **** band imo is vampire weekend. Thats another band, like the drums, and my previous prediction with MGMT that will come up with a terrible second album.

Ah come on now, Vampire Weekend & MGMT? They're both decent bands.
    And are you saying Vampire Weekends second album will be terrible?

As this is a thread about The Drums, I'm not a huge fan but there's worse than them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

I like them, simple nice tunes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The Drums are the "we are in love and it will be forever" band aren't they?

How can anyone listen to that lyric and then compare them to Joy Division? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Warm Panda Cola

I really don't like this lot at all, at all. Find them very sameish, they don't stand out at all and they are TERRIBLE live, I saw them supporting Flo and they were just terrible, no stage presence or anything.

and if you named bands i could say they are muck and compare them to bands etc

of course you could, however, id really like to hear a comparison for the following. Just because it might lead me on to something new i might like :D

death from above 1979 and Haunts. go nuts!

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    Ah come on now, Vampire Weekend & MGMT? They're both decent bands.
    And are you saying Vampire Weekends second album will be terrible?

As this is a thread about The Drums, I'm not a huge fan but there's worse than them.

Yea, sorry i have to say i found them(vw) to be annoying and overall bad in every single way possible. If their next album is anything like the first i feel my point will be valid.

MGMT just irritated me and i found their songs to be void of anything catchy (for me).

This related directly to the drums as like the previous 2 bands mentioned they will be no bodies(imo) in the near future. MGMT have already proven this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yea, sorry i have to say i found them(vw) to be annoying and overall bad in every single way possible. If their next album is anything like the first i feel my point will be valid.

Vampire Weekend's 2nd album is already out.

and im sure its terrible too :)

and im sure you'll keep being a music snob :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

and im sure its terrible too :)

worse than terrible. .

I find the drums more listenable than vampire weekend and mgmt, this too will probably pass. Although i only know them from hearing them on livedrive on DC Fm in the evening..

no, i just dont jump on the next fad that comes into an indie music article.

Music snobs are what make this forum great.