Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA autographs?

• 01-10-2009 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭

Can anyone tell me how/if i can get colm coopers "the goochs" autograph on a picture of himself,as in i write to him and ask for it,fanmail i suppose it would be called.Trying to get if for the little brothers birthday(13)next month as all his age are twice the size of him now and hes getting overpowered at matches and is getting a bit down because of his small size.
    I keep telling him you dont have to be big to be good-just look at the gooch i say,a signed pic would really mean the world to him as the gooch is his hero and it would really pick him up.I know you can write away to english football sides and get ones but dont know if its possible for GAA players
    Can anyone point me in the right direction?,not much of a GAA man myself unfortunatly so dont have a clue where to start,I know the gooch plays for crokes,should i just send a letter addressed to him there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,640 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Thats exactly what you should do, they'll get it to him and he shoudl write back

One point of information, gooch may look small but he is 6" 2'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

dannyo666 wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me how/if i can get colm coopers "the goochs" autograph on a picture of himself,as in i write to him and ask for it,fanmail i suppose it would be called.Trying to get if for the little brothers birthday(13)next month as all his age are twice the size of him now and hes getting overpowered at matches and is getting a bit down because of his small size.
    I keep telling him you dont have to be big to be good-just look at the gooch i say,a signed pic would really mean the world to him as the gooch is his hero and it would really pick him up.I know you can write away to english football sides and get ones but dont know if its possible for GAA players
    Can anyone point me in the right direction?,not much of a GAA man myself unfortunatly so dont have a clue where to start,I know the gooch plays for crokes,should i just send a letter addressed to him there?

I think your best option would be to send a letter to: Vince Casey, c/o Dr.Crokes GAA Club, Killarney, Co. Kerry outlining your request and reason for it. You wouldn't be waiting too long for it either. They do get requests like that and even more so since the AI-Final victory by Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Former Great

Green&Red wrote: »
    Thats exactly what you should do, they'll get it to him and he shoudl write back

Hes about 5 ft 8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

says in a recent programme i have that he's 5'11"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Green&Red wrote: »

6" 2'

gerrup outta dat!!:D

5" 10' at most

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I think your best option would be to send a letter to: Vince Casey, c/o Dr.Crokes GAA Club, Killarney, Co. Kerry outlining your request and reason for it. You wouldn't be waiting too long for it either. They do get requests like that and even more so since the AI-Final victory by Kerry.

+1 Think this is the best way to go about this.

OP you might also want to see if you can get hold of a picture of Gooch leading out the Dr Crokes team in 1992 when they won the Club All-Ireland on St Patrick's Day. He was mascot that day as some of his brothers were playing. He would have been about 8 or 9 and would have been fairly short at that age.

Tried to find it on the Dr Crokes website below but was having some problems loading some of the webpages.

http://www.drcrokes.com/photo.htm

Maybe try The Kingdom or The Kerryman to see if they have a copy of the photo in their files.
    RHunce wrote: »
    says in a recent programme i have that he's 5'11"

Having met him a few time this sounds right.

Def not 6'2 :D and def not 5'8 at least for a good few years now :D

I would have said just under 6ft - same as myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭dannyo666

Cheers for all the replies lads,ye've been great help,sure ill let ye know what comes of it anyway

Danny