Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert Art

• 30-09-2009 6:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭

Just recieved the options for the projects.

For those who didn't get them they are:
    Community Spirit and Invlovement I think not too sure.
    The Rythem Of Light And Shade.
    Out And About.
    Life's Little Comforts.
    A Poem About Nature, not too sure what it's called.

To be honest I was dissappointed. I'm not really sure what to choose. Anyone on here got any ideas so far? At the present moment I think I'll do out and about as it seems to give the widest variety for choice.

Anyway I would basically like to0 get other peoples opinions. Thanks :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Gosh thats quite crap... :/
    I'm proably going to do 'out and about' and twist it so I can do early morning and animals waking and coming out.
    Animals are the only thing I can draw:p
    Are these definaite?? We had art today and we wern't told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Groe

:p Everyone in my class was going to do out and about for the same reason as you, they could twist it to their advantage. I think I might do something along the lines of a lighthouse on a coast or something like that. To answer your question, yes they are definite they were in like these official junior cert booklet things. Now that I think about it it said 1st of October on it so maybe we somehow got them earlier?:confused:

Yeh we got them today, but I was able to tell eevryone in the morning I knew what they were already lol
    I thought the poem would even be a bit better, raindrops..

We were laughing though what could you do for 'meet me at the sales'(i think) Like, a shop in the backgroud saying sale and alot of people standing outside with one person waving!!
    Same with 'rythem of light and shading'.. What do you do..
    There hard themes but im going to talk to my teacher about it tomorrow. Are you doing honours or pass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 nams

Snappiiinn. :(

Rythm of Light and Shade, I'm gonna do that. I wasn't in school today, so I didn't get the options. But that seems like a pretty decent option for me. I like working with black and white a lot. So should be interesting to see what I could do.

DG I apologise, 'meet me at the sales' was the one I left out :P And I'm doing honours. Pass is the same themes just marked differently according to our teacher.

Nams have you thought about the 3D project? :p I thought of an amazing drawing for light and shade but I didn't have a clue about the 3D.

Did yee start your projects yet?? We started ours 3 weeks ago :/ We're just about finished all our support studies!

And I'm doing honours too. For the light and shade thing we were talking and it would be cool if you did a piano, a grand black(shaded one) and keys white then the rythem of music kinda goes into it.. If I could draw thats what i'd be doing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Lucky_Ducky

You started 3 weeks ago? Last year for my JC we didn't go near the projects until mid November! :rolleyes:

We only practiced drawing and shading people for a couple classes. We dived straight into it!
    And Wow mid November!! We havn't touched the 2d, 3d things though coz we didnt have the themes but the paparitry sheet can be unrelated so she(teacher) may as well use all the time you have.

Thats a brilliant idea for the light and shade one. I have a perfect idea for a drawing for each theme but the only one I have a 3D idea for is the out and about one:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

Can "Life's Little Comforts" not be twisted into anything you have an interest in? That's what I'll most likely do, the focus being mainly on music.

Yeh you can twist that too but I think you'd have to be a bit mroe careful. For that I'd love to just do a fat cat on a cushion!!! But again i wont :D Im going for 'out and about'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭colincork

I have pretty much decided on "Life's Little Comfort" but cant think of an idea for the 3d any ideas:confused:

What are you painting for it??

Lmao we awere having a laugh in school thinking what you could do, and for 'Meet me at the sales' do a wheres Wally kinda thing!!! :P Im convincing one girl, she might :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 LucyWantsABand!

:):oHey! I'm in JC and my STUPID art teacher got herself knocked up and left our school so now I have a really dumb hippy as a sub!!! She says we have to spend til xmas doin support studies or prep?? Is this right???? Then I ask what do they even mean, and apparently they are sheets of paper with pictures on them...? But are they both this? Because someone else told me that support studies is about an artist you like?

Oh God....I really don't know who to listen to!! Could someone tell me what support studies means and what Preparation means, cos we have to do both....Thanks in advance!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Cel333

Hi Guys, the art course and examination can be confusing especially if you are not being directed well by your teacher as mentioned above. Here is a link to the board of educations guidelines for the exam, I suggest you print them out and highlight the points relevant to you. I hope this helps. http://www.education.ie/servlet/blobservlet/jc_artcraftdesign_sy.pdf?language=EN :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DryGinBoy

The themes are tough...but i decided to pick "Life's Little Comforts"
    I have an idea for the 3D and the graphic design but no clue for the Option...any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭killyoutodeath

:):oHey! I'm in JC and my STUPID art teacher got herself knocked up and left our school so now I have a really dumb hippy as a sub!!! She says we have to spend til xmas doin support studies or prep?? Is this right???? Then I ask what do they even mean, and apparently they are sheets of paper with pictures on them...? But are they both this? Because someone else told me that support studies is about an artist you like?

Oh God....I really don't know who to listen to!! Could someone tell me what support studies means and what Preparation means, cos we have to do both....Thanks in advance!!

I'm not sure how long you should be doing them for but the supports studies sheet (for me) was a black A2 sheet of paper that I put LOTS of pictures on (based on my theme and idea for a poster) the preperation work (prep sheet) was the same - black a2 sheet with sketches and ideas I had for my poster

Then when you are doing your model etc. It's the same one support studies sheet and one prep work sheet to go with your 3D piece. Also don't be lazy get the work done ;) I got all my stuff put together two days before the deadline! But still I got a B in higher and mine wasent up to much :o

AFAIK you don't have to do any certain order. We've finished our support studies and we've started our 2D but we're doing the papritory last...

It depends on the teacher coz we had a sub for the last week and she was saying how she'd do things differnty.....

Turns out our art teacher had the highest amount of A's in Munster!! So yeh im listening to her :)

The main thing to remember is to have a link between all your pieces, make sure they all relate to your theme. It can be useful to pick an artist whose style you like and plan to base you own painting on ie: impressionist Renoir. Try to use that style in each of your pieces. Don't just ,model something wonderful have a twist to it - a hidden message. last year a girl submitted a bust of a girl on one side she was pretty with long flowing hair and made up face on the other side it was a robotic half face - message - we are like robots following fashion images and trends. Your option should be chosen based on something you know u can do well, get inspiration from your chosen artist style. Hope that helps and isn't too long winded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 DryGinBoy

Thanks that helps a lot and gave me some new ideas! I was thinking of doing a picture with andy warhol or roy lichtenstein style on a record sleeve

Totally love the idea of Any Warhol, his repeated image style is immediately recognizable. He is associated with the quote '15 minutes of fame' perhaps you could work that into a sculpture. An Warhol style clock with just 15 minutes marked on it? Read his bio and you will be inspired. best of luck and fair play to you for starting your research early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭AddictedToYou

They're not bad. You can twist anything to suit you though so I wouldn't be too worried. Life's Little Comforts sounds nice. Base it around coffee! :D

Unless its extremely original I think you would be better to choose something other than coffee, I have six students already basing their craft on that, everything from Starbucks to Nescafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Tibster

Hey guys...
    I was told about the exams 2 week ago..
    Now im doing out and about and i thought of doing cars..
    I went and reserched about cars and hoe can 1 person do from a normal car 2 a tuned car step by step.. Wat do us think would it be a gd idea?
    Wb plzzz:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:

Hey Tibster, what do you mean by step by step. in your chosen craft? or in a drawing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Oh they are ghey choices.
    Last year I was delighted I got Mechanical Parts, did it on cars and I failed.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭A193

OMG, the themes this year are terrible, I remeber we had themes based on Fashion and some real good themes, there tough this year. My advice would to be enjoy it and don't get bogged down by it. It was the only good part of the JC course TBH, also, take inspiration from something you really enjoy..think maybe music, your favourite bands etc., it will really help.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 MegFitz

hi! im in 2nd year and my teacher has given us this years titles to do a mini project. i picked community spirt and i did my preperation and painting about tidy towns but i don't know what to do for the support studies. please help!!

MegFitz wrote: »
    hi! im in 2nd year and my teacher has given us this years titles to do a mini project. i picked community spirt and i did my preperation and painting about tidy towns but i don't know what to do for the support studies. please help!!
    AFAIK, and I did them :o You just pick any two artists you like and write a bit about them, their style and why you like them. Oh and include pics of their work.
    Then for your 3d one you choose a scultuor and a printmaker and wrte about them, why you like them etc.. Pictures of their work iswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Caught

MegFitz wrote: »

We do anything that inspires you. We get pictures artists did that relate to our theme in some shape or form and write a little about them. If you have flowers in it, you can use a Van Gough picture. If you are doing a music theme, you can use pictures of ballet dancers and stuff. Also, you can use cool writing and stuff for your support studies. Because you're doing tidy towns, if there are any ads with rubbish, factories, houses, etc you can stick them on. Its like that in my school anyway. :P