Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opel Airside: Full Service €139

• 29-09-2009 1:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭

Just thought of Bargain Alerts now but I think this has been going for some time; still on anyway as they've a flashing sign up to that effect.

When I rang them 3-4 weeks ago it was €139 for a service, full job, plus €30 for a courtesy car for the day. Decent prices and a main dealer, can;t go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

in my opinion, to change your oil and filters and reset your service light its not a bargain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

most places in Cork do this for 99 euro plus clean and hoover your car too included, main dealers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭LarWright

sdonn wrote: »
    ...it was €139 for a service, full job, plus €30 for a courtesy car for the day. Decent prices and a main dealer, can;t go wrong.

I wonder for what car??

It's strange, I have a 2 litre turbo Astra, 2008, due it's second service, and when I called about 2 weeks ago, they told me €240.

I was out there on Friday picking up a few bits and asked the service guy how much, and to my face he told me i was "looking at €300 for a second service for that car".

I asked what that included and he told me "Oil, Oil Filter, Air Filter and check fuel filters and brakes."

ROBBERY from a Dealer if you ask me!!

None of these "Service for €139 *Any Make * Any Model" deals ever do me any favours.... EVER!

I think Liffey Valley Renault were doing a similar thing a while back for around €99 for any car that was 4 years old or more. I can't understand that, why should the age of the car reduce the price of the service??

I'd do it myself for about €65 for Oil and Oil Filter, reason I wanna go to a dealer is to get a stamp in the book!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭Kashkai

Charging €140 for an oil change is a complete rip off. You'll do it yourself for about €40 and 15 minutes of your time. My wife left her car in recently for a service (she wanted to service it in the Renault dealership in Airside to keep it in warranty) and they charged €280 for an oil change (no filter change), and checked this, checked that and checked some other thing. No air filter change, no spark plugs no brakes were changed. Jeez if she gave me even half of that money, I'd have changed all of the above and did the "visual checks" that Renault did and I'd have washed the feckin car too unlike them.

BTW, I left mine in for a service a few years back (I'd hurt my back and wasn't able to fo it myself) and when I got it home I noticed that the bodywork near the jacking point under the rear passenger door had been pushed in where some eejit in the garage had obvioulsy not ensured that the jack in the garage was under the correct jacking point and when the car was raised off the ground (they were doing the brakes at the time), the bodywork had been crushed in. I called the garage and they stated that they didn't do it but I said that as I had not had a puncture, I'd never had cause to jack up the car so it wasn't me who'd done it but it came down to my word against theirs. A$$holes - rant over - I feel better now.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Macer123

LarWright wrote: »

I asked what that included and he told me "Oil, Oil Filter, Air Filter and check fuel filters and brakes."

ROBBERY from a Dealer if you ask me!!

QUOTE]

I think the key here is that the "quote" included a change of brakes, which could be pads & disks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Watch out for rip off prices on Opel genuine spare parts also.

Check out my previous post on how to save a fortune on genuine Opel parts.

invest4deepvalue.com

Macer123 wrote: »
    I think the key here is that the "quote" included a change of brakes, which could be pads & disks.

thats to check the brakes going by the post, you can be sure they'd charge a lot more if they had to change the brake pads, and you'd prob be lucky to get one disc changed for that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭LarWright

Macer123 wrote: »

As johnny said above, it was just to "check the brakes" if they needed replacing, that was more, and the pads on my car (from the dealer) are over €100 for the front.

Dunno if I should mention the dealer, (lets say, they're a big one on the Navan Road beside the Halfway House) but these guys really take the biscuit though. A service there can be done in 2 ways.

1. €149 - Oil & Oil Filter
    2. €199 - Oil & Oil Filter and a visual check!!

So for 50 quid, they "look at" your air filter, and if it needs replacing, they charge you more! Scandalous!

Wonder what Opel Ireland's stance on this is.
    Surely each car has.... (at least to keep the warranty valid).
    "First Service - A,B & C need to be done"
    "Second service - A,B,C,D & E need to be done"
    "Third Service - A,B,C & F need to be done" etc....

So how can a dealer say the second service is only Oil & Oil Filter, and then charge another €50 to check if anything else is needed.

Also, it p****s me off that at my last service, I just filled up my windscreen wash tank the evening before I dropped it in, and on the invoice, was a charge of €2.50 for "Windcreen Washer Fluid". I had gone by the time I looked at it, but I will be checking the next time!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

I ended going up to Belfast to get good value.

I have a 2003 passat 1.9tdi that needed the following work:
    Timing belt and water pump
    Oil and filter change
    Replace temp sensor
    Replace drivers side CV joint

went to MSL for a quote, and boy did I get a quote, "about €1,750" he said, "could be more as we may have to remove the dash to repair the faulty temp gauge". A couple of small independant garages were quoting €700 - €800 for the work.

I was on vagdrivers.net and saw that one of the site sponsors was doing a special offer on timing belts (link), contacted him and he gave me a price for the same work of £300!! Granted I supplied the CV kit, but the job was carried out on time and I'm more than happy with the service I got from him.

The garage is a small independent setup in Belfast, Walsh Motors, going to be getting the timing belt /service for the missus car done there soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭ASTRACLUB

LarWright wrote: »
    As johnny said above, it was just to "check the brakes" if they needed replacing, that was more, and the pads on my car (from the dealer) are over €100 for the front.

Dunno if I should mention the dealer, (lets say, they're a big one on the Navan Road beside the Halfway House) but these guys really take the biscuit though. A service there can be done in 2 ways.

1. €149 - Oil & Oil Filter
    2. €199 - Oil & Oil Filter and a visual check!!

So for 50 quid, they "look at" your air filter, and if it needs replacing, they charge you more! Scandalous!

Wonder what Opel Ireland's stance on this is.
    Surely each car has.... (at least to keep the warranty valid).
    "First Service - A,B & C need to be done"
    "Second service - A,B,C,D & E need to be done"
    "Third Service - A,B,C & F need to be done" etc....

So how can a dealer say the second service is only Oil & Oil Filter, and then charge another €50 to check if anything else is needed.

Also, it p****s me off that at my last service, I just filled up my windscreen wash tank the evening before I dropped it in, and on the invoice, was a charge of €2.50 for "Windcreen Washer Fluid". I had gone by the time I looked at it, but I will be checking the next time!!!

I used to have OPEL ASTRA previously. I got so much pi*** of with dealer, i started doing opel service myself. The easiest car to service, did service for many years and passed NCT twice.
    I wont do timing belt myself though, going north is cheaper for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 CuriousJack

Nobody has mentioned that the computer on the car has to be updated on the service, I had an electrical problem with my car which I got serviced with my local mechanic and It turned out the software was way out of date, I had to as a result replace the computer in the car at a cost of 920€ in total.

This is why I make sure that my car is serviced regularly by a Opel Dealer, and not by a local mechanic, who why may be cheap but in the long while it will cost a fortune, as he does not have the expensive equipment that the dealer has.

Nobody has mentioned that the computer on the car has to be updated on the service, I had an electrical problem with my car which I got serviced with my local mechanic and It turned out the software was way out of date, I had to as a result replace the computer in the car at a cost of 920€ in total.

This is why I make sure that my car is serviced regularly by a Opel Dealer, and not by a local mechanic, who why may be cheap but in the long while it will cost a fortune, as he does not have the expensive equipment that the dealer has.

not surprising this is a first post user. what did they update in ur car....exactly?
    reset ur service counter more like.
    and by the way if the ecu (computer as u try to dumb it down) in ur car had to be replaced by opel it would cost a hell of a lot more than 920
    if your ecu fails, there is nothing that a standard service by opel, local mechanic or god himself would prevent or predict

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 CuriousJack

not surprising this is a first post user. what did they update in ur car....exactly?
    reset ur service counter more like.
    and by the way if the ecu (computer as u try to dumb it down) in ur car had to be replaced by opel it would cost a hell of a lot more than 920
    if your ecu fails, there is nothing that a standard service by opel, local mechanic or god himself would prevent or predict

Sorry that I upset you there, but I can only relate my experience. Why did my local Mechanic tell me to go back to opel, and that he could not fix it? is it that my local mechanic is not experienced?

I now have an Opel Insignia and It will be due it's first service in January. and will a local mechanic be able to service it, or can you recommend anyone in the Tallaght area that is qualified to service it and do whatever updates are necessary. also will this affect my warranty in any way (do they have to use genuine Opel parts to keep my warranty intact.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Sorry that I upset you there, but I can only relate my experience. Why did my local Mechanic tell me to go back to opel, and that he could not fix it? is it that my local mechanic is not experienced?

I now have an Opel Insignia and It will be due it's first service in January. and will a local mechanic be able to service it, or can you recommend anyone in the Tallaght area that is qualified to service it and do whatever updates are necessary. also will this affect my warranty in any way (do they have to use genuine Opel parts to keep my warranty intact.

I have to say I'm loving this topic about how great everyone else is at doing there car thereself's. But to be honest not everyone is comfortable at doing certain things. Do you laugh at people too when they get a virus on there computer and have to bring it to someone to get it fixed?
    Some people are able to do the decking out the back garden, when others wouldn't know were to start.
    OP posted this thinking it was good value, and while it is quite simple as you all seem to be going by for an oil, air and plug change. Do you also take the drums off while your doing this to check the shoes? how to do you see if one of your shocks are leaking, as you won't be standing under the car.
    everything can be different to certain people, but believe me if you're doing a service on your car yourself and by the sounds of it thats all some of you can manage in the long run you're going to have other failures as you aren't a qualified mechanic/tech

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,462 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Yeah got my fiat punto mk2 serviced in a main dealer in West Dublin got charged €240 to change the oil and plugs and replace a bulb, I know rip off but I worry about bringing it to your small garages as they wouldn't have the equipment or know-how to check the ECM etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

I know rip off but I worry about bringing it to your small garages as they wouldn't have the equipment or know-how to check the ECM etc.

You shouldnt have concerns about this, not when its just a routine service, even the smallest of garages should have the electronic equipment required for the service-most of the time its just clearing the service indicator light, they arent remapping your car or anything hi-tec.

Once a car goes a certain age main dealer stamps arent as important, a good garage will still give you a details receipt and if i was buying a car and seen a pile of reciepts in the book i would consider these as good if not better than a main dealer stamp.

People you know should be able to give you a recommendation on a good independant garage, the next time your car needs some work you should give them a call for a quote.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

which software was out of date ?
    the mechanics or the ECU ?

if it was the mechanics , the how did it affect the car , and even if it did then it should have been up them to replace it

and if it was software why did the ECU have to be replaced ???
    it should either have been reprogrammed or upgraded, I don't know much about ECU's (how can it cost so much !! - automotive processors are high volume,but only need low computing power) but to me it sounds like the original software was not fit for purpose / design flaw that should be sorted even after a minimal warranty period

this sort of thing and integrated light bulbs that cost €150 a pop would put me off buying a new car , especially since new models are brought out at shorter intervals so the is less chance of them being fully debugged before the next one is on offer.