Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Only In Ireland

• 26-09-2009 10:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭

Was in a shop in sligo a while back.
    Old one in front of me at the queue - blind as bat - "can i get 3 scratchcards?"
    Young lad on the till gets the 3 scratchcards.
    Old one "can you scratch them for me"
    Young fellow scratches them.....no nothing again mrs hagan.
    Old one "god i've no luck"
    For fcuk sake - even if you'd won a tenner the young lad is keeping that for beer tokens.
    Only in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I saw that happen in England last week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

newmills wrote: »
    Was in a shop in sligo a while back.
    Old one in front of me at the queue - blind as bat - "can i get 3 scratchcards?"
    Young lad on the till gets the 3 scratchcards.
    Old one "can you scratch them for me"
    Young fellow scratches them.....no nothing again mrs hagan.
    Old one "god i've no luck"
    For fcuk sake - even if you'd won a tenner the young lad is keeping that for beer tokens.
    Only in Ireland
    You assume the guy behind a counter is a thief because the woman is blind?

Only in Ireland:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

How is this exclusive to Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Where else would you see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

America

No^

Anywhere else in the world. You'd swear the Irish were a different, more dishonest specie of human or something.

But lets play this game anyway...

Would you see it innnnnnnnn....England?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

How do you know that the youngfella was a thief?

Only in Ireland would you see this type of attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

No^

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

A thread like this,

only in ireland would you see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Only in Ireland would someone complain about this.

phasers wrote: »
    How do you know that the youngfella was a thief?

Only in Ireland would you see this type of attitude

Right so she doesn't win again...spot that word - again

Would it not occur to her that the reason she has no luck is that every time she buys a scratchcard and the young lad scratches it she wins feck all.

Jesus you're all so honest you'd tell her if she'd only won 2 quid!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Right so she doesn't win again...spot that word - again

Would it not occur to her that the reason she has no luck is that every time she buys a scratchcard and the young lad scratches it she wins feck all.

Jesus you're all so honest you'd tell her if she'd only won 2 quid!!:rolleyes:

the chances of winning on those things are high enough as it is,

talk about tarring the all young lads with the one brush:cool:

only in ireland

I consider myself honest, if she won 1000 Euro, I'll tell her. But I'd tell her that sadly the labour and working time lost, seconds of my precious life lost, productivity in our fragile economy lost my scratching fee for the years of scratching her cards is exactly 1000 Euro, so I'll just have to take her winnings.

jumpguy wrote: »
    I consider myself honest, if she won 1000 Euro, I'll tell her. But I'd tell her that sadly the labour and working time lost, seconds of my precious life lost, productivity in our fragile economy lost my scratching fee for the years of scratching her cards is exactly 1000 Euro, so I'll just have to take her winnings.

That's more like it......faith in human nature is restored

Yes, but I'm sure it's the same in every other country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Tomebagel wrote: »
    the chances of winning on those things are high enough as it is,

talk about tarring the all young lads with the one brush:cool:

only in ireland

And Canada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Jaysus. What a load of sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

only in...

ahhh fuck off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

OP, only in Ireland would someone judge the old lady as all sweet, innocent and thrusting. She was probably watching that fella like a hawk, she might have appeared to be blind as a bat, but i bet she could spot a 2-for-1 offer in Dunes Stores from half a mile away, and if that young fella had of tried to do her out of 2e, she would have had her umbrella (all old woman carry umbrella's) impaled up his arse in a blink of an eye.

Only in Ireland do we forget all old people are evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Senna wrote: »
    OP, only in Ireland would someone judge the old lady as all sweet, innocent and thrusting. She was probably watching that fella like a hawk, she might have appeared to be blind as a bat, but i bet she could spot a 2-for-1 offer in Dunes Stores from half a mile away, and if that young fella had of tried to do her out of 2e, she would have had her umbrella (all old woman carry umbrella's) impaled up his arse in a blink of an eye.

Only in Ireland do we forget all old people are evil.

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Slighty off topic sorry but funny at the time

Old lady from accounts in her late 60s asked me did i get last nights lotto results as it was a big one the previous night (about 10 million)

She took out her lotto slip and i took out the morning paper to call out the numbers to her,but because she hadnt got her glasses on she couldnt see the numbers in the paper but i could see her numbers on the slip

So i casually started to call out her numbers on her he lotto slip one by one and as i got to the fifth number her hand was shaking but i said fcuk it and called out her final number .......and my jesus she nearly creamed herself until i had to calm her down and tell her i was only messing with her

She then took off her shoe and chased me all over the shop till she left me with at least six heal marks in my forehead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

i work in a shop and have hod customers buy twp scratch cards and ask me to scratch one. there have been times where there is money in them and i have told them straight out, some customers take the ticket back and ask emto cash the prize in for themselves to keep,, while others have told me to keep it beacuse i was so honest in the first place! why would you bother robbing from them like that? wouldn't it just be easier to overcharge them if you wanted to go down that road?