Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking manners?

• 26-09-2009 5:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭

Can the owner of the red car please stand up, please stand up...?

Liffey Valley, Last two spaces on a very busy Friday evening. What were you thinking?

photopq.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Now that's just a total a**munch of a driver!!! Takes bad parking to a new level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Im a little more concerned that the car has two tax discs. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

J@ysus

Even Starsky & Hutch wouldn't park their car like that!:pac:

CPL 593H

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

1 careful lady owner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I was expecting a car parked over 3 handicap space's clicking on the thread.
    Was not too far off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Berty wrote: »
    Im a little more concerned that the car has two tax discs. :confused:

ya whats that about??

nice car though:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

DHFrame wrote: »
    ......... What were you thinking?

NOTHING?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

RN reg

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

trad wrote: »
    1 careful lady owner

I know plenty of males that park like that too

Like this:

Car-2.jpg

or this:

PICT0683.jpg

or this HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Motors Meet Roscrea

EDIT - Picture removed as a boardsie was pictured in it and I didn't ask permission.

or my car at the end

1stGroup.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

A dayzal Vee dubdriving culchie would never have seen parking spaces before nevermind know how to use them :p Farmers wifes and country school teachers in Yaris's :D

bad_parkings.jpg

Saab Ed wrote: »
    A dayzal Vee dubdriving culchie would never have seen parking spaces before nevermind know how to use them :p Farmers wifes and country school teachers in Yaris's :D

Is that in Donnybrook where the Chinese is?(EXPENSIVE CHINESE!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

PICT0683.jpg

on a traffic island, the cheek:)

how long did they get away with it??

fryup wrote: »

They still are. They couldn't give a sh*t. I e-mailed them and they replied saying I should have e-mailed the council which I did whom said they would look into it but the car is still there Monday through Friday.

Ahem* Its for wheelchair access. Fine the road is not probably ever used by wheelchair bound people but thats not the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭magconn

They still are. They couldn't give a sh*t. I e-mailed them and they replied saying I should have e-mailed the council which I did whom said they would look into it but the car is still there Monday through Friday.

Ahem* Its for wheelchair access. Fine the road is not probably ever used by wheelchair bound people but thats not the point.
    what a shower of w*nkrs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

This note was left under the screen of my friend's car after he didnt park so well.

"If you **** your wife with the same carelessness which which you park your car, she will pack and leave you."

Try this

jackass-bettr-1.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Had an absolutely fantastic pic of a garda car parked in a wheelchair space, one of those ones that the whole thing is painted blue while there is clearly lots of spaces around. It was parked outside their favourite shop too. Its on a hard drive somewhere it wouldnt take too much work to find it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

This note was left under the screen of my friend's car after he didnt park so well.

"If you **** your wife with the same carelessness which which you park your car, she will pack and leave you."

In all fairness thats just a knob though , is'nt it! Like unless its blocking the entrance to your front gate or something similar then whats the point. All that effort to make a point to someone who doesnt give a sh!t anyway. Lifes too short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Saab Ed wrote: »
    In all fairness thats just a knob though , is'nt it! Like unless its blocking the entrance to your front gate or something similar then whats the point. All that effort to make a point to someone who doesnt give a sh!t anyway. Lifes too short.

I thought it was funny. Guy got his point across and also made the reader laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

picture.php?albumid=105&pictureid=3924
    Or you could brazen it out and publish it in a national paper like this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭sogood

I have a pain in my face with cars parked constantly in designated coach bays. Kilkenny, Limerick, Sligo, Bantry are just a few places where designated coach parking exists, leaving numerous places for cars, including car parks, which coaches don't have access to. But still they persist and add insult to injury by parking right in the middle of an available/designated coach space, thus taking it all up, as opposed to parking at one end or the other. A coach needs a proportionate amount of space to enter and leave a parking space, attemptint to avoid contact with trees, lamp posts, road signs, bollards etc. allowing for large protruding mirrors and the "tail swing" that results from the large amount of body hanging out behind the back axel. "What were they thinking?" a poster asked. Well, they very obviously dont think, which is what makes so many drivers a danger on the roads, insulated in their little bubble of self importance and single mindedness. I could write a book about bad drivers, ignorance and lack of consideration on our roads. I see it every day. Take a deep breath and count to ten, it wont change anything but your blood pressure! PS, I have yet to see a car clamped or ticketed in such circumstances. Perhaps it doesn't do, to upset the locals, just to appease a bunch of tourists, just passing through? Still, the same locals are more than happy to take the tourists money..........End of (long) rant!

sogood wrote: »
    PS, I have yet to see a car clamped or ticketed in such circumstances. Perhaps it doesn't do, to upset the locals, just to appease a bunch of tourists, just passing through? Still, the same locals are more than happy to take the tourists money..........End of (long) rant!

I was parked in Rathfarnham in Dublin the other day and watched this guy arrive into a Disabled space look over his shoulders and then "leg it" into a shop. There is a parking place there for €2 per hour and the parking warden(council guy) walked down the street. The parking attendant(private car park) said "oi XXX(insert name)mate, check out the Colt in the disabled bay". Boom €80 fine.

Nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I saw a pack of stickers in a shop once when on Hols.

They said:

Thank you for parking so close, next time please leave a can opener when you are leaving so i can get into my f%&king car!

If you ever watched King of Queens.

He arrived back to his Cherokee and both cars on either side were on top of him so he decided to climb through the sunroof.

He is also fat.

His body was head first in the sunroof, arse end and legs sticking out struggling to get in when both drivers returned and left leaving him sticking out of the sunroof looking like a fool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

one of the things that really annoys me is when a car parks in the middle of two spaces. I've also noticed the offending car is always a pretty decent car (most of them were BMW..no kidding).
    So this has led me to believe drivers of such cars park like this on purpose to give themselves a greater distance between their own car and others...(OK, ye already know that I'm sure:))
    So, I decide to make a best effort to fit my car into the remaining space of the 'valid' spot, even if it means I have to squeeze out of the car myself, just to p*ss off the prats in the other car..I don't care about getting a scratch on my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

http://www.youparklikeanasshole.com/

We should start a thread of parking manners - pics only, minimal discussion. Just cameraphone pics of every arsehole you come across who's parked badly or inconsiderately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭pounder770

Bit of a long story,but the point may be worth the read(alternatively,skip to the punchline ;)
    I had a recent experience outside my regular barber shop..I parked my car,properly positioned centrally in a marked space...the car beside me had it's drivers side tyres right on the white line,leaving little enough space that side,and loads on the passengers side.Madam returns to her car,loads her treasured offspring into the child seat(pass.side)and attempts to then get in drivers side(where I sit,waiting for someone else to join me.)I should point out that where possible,I reverse into parking spaces,so we were on the same side.
    She throws me a dirty look,and says something along the lines of "not much room left for me to get in,is there?"

Before my manners could intercede,my mouth replies"Sorry ma'am,I only parked my own car,not yours" She then got into her car(see..there WAS enough room)and left in a huff! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

yes but the fuc**rs that park next to you and slam their door into yours
    when they open it are just as fcukn bad :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,101 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Would the fact that the car has no tax, insurance or a reg plate not attract the interest of our law enforcing officers who would remove it from the road if they got a tip off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Del2005 wrote: »
    Would the fact that the car has no tax, insurance or a reg plate not attract the interest of our law enforcing officers who would remove it from the road if they got a tip off?

That would mean they'd have to do some work...

Not a bloody hope!

Renault in Limerick have 3 public parking spaces out the front of their dealership which they use for their own cars for sale.

There was a car parked there around 1 week ago overnight and they blocked it in. I watched them purposefully inch a car right up to the front bumper whislt the one behind was mm's from the bumper.

Funny they never get parking tickets, yet around 1 hour later the car was still there with a parking ticket and the other 4 cars(dealers) had no tickets.

Does anybody have a spare trailer that we could park/abandon permanently outside their dealership?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Renault in Limerick have 3 public parking spaces out the front of their dealership which they use for their own cars for sale.

There was a car parked there around 1 week ago overnight and they blocked it in. I watched them purposefully inch a car right up to the front bumper whislt the one behind was mm's from the bumper.

Funny they never get parking tickets, yet around 1 hour later the car was still there with a parking ticket and the other 4 cars(dealers) had no tickets.

Does anybody have a spare trailer that we could park/abandon permanently outside their dealership?

why not call the clampers to the illegally parked cars - I'm sure after a week of clamping the cars wont be parked there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

it has to get onto the island so someone is driving without tax and insurance on the road ... I think a call to the local garda station to report it.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    why not call the clampers to the illegally parked cars - I'm sure after a week of clamping the cars wont be parked there ?

No clamping in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

PCPhoto wrote: »
    it has to get onto the island so someone is driving without tax and insurance on the road ... I think a call to the local garda station to report it.

Or with Trade Plates :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Like this:
    PICT0683.jpg

That's not a public island. The gate of the garage in question used to be there before it was redeveloped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Is that in Donnybrook where the Chinese is?(EXPENSIVE CHINESE!)

Haha. I think thats Dame St. - Only reason is because I parked like that there on a few occasions, although admittedly a bit better, car was "tucked in"better with rear quater of the car on the kerb - just while popping out to use the ATM

Its a bit of a pseudo parking spot that! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

ION08 wrote: »
    Haha. I think thats Dame St. - Only reason is because I parked like that there on a few occasions, although admittedly a bit better, car was "tucked in"better with rear quater of the car on the kerb - just while popping out to use the ATM

Its a bit of a pseudo parking spot that! :p

Aah, if you're using an ATM parking regs and decency don't apply. I get it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

2830586292_c9e313db53.jpg

Now that's disabled parking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

nipplenuts wrote: »
    2830586292_c9e313db53.jpg

Now that's disabled parking...

Now only lowlifes key cars but...you'd be sorely tempted wouldn't ya?

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »

No no check the trolley on the left. Cinder block and a good aim so by the time it hits you are gone off down the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

furiousox wrote: »
    Obviously only if there wasn't a blue badge on the dash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Annoys me is the cars which leave a least 6 feet from the car infront of them when they parallel park.

There is a place where I park near a train station and you get 5 cars easily if everyone parks correctly but you get the cars who leave sometimes up to 10 feet from the car infront.

The worse is a woman BMW driver who seems to go out of her way to make sure only 4 cars can get in