Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

European Cross Country team Selection

• 23-09-2009 2:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

I think its time we start talking about who will be running in our own back yard. I thought of starting this thread after reading about fagan and how people are giving out that he isnt focusing on european cross country.
    It quite possibly will be the biggest event ireland has staged since the world cross!
    And we have some solid chances of medals.

1. Mary Cullen in the Senior Womens
    2. Fagan/Cragg in the mens
    3. Dave McCarthy in u23s
    4. Our Under 23 team seems to be packed full of Talent

I havent been upto with who is in and who isnt running but going on what I know.. Which isnt that much the senior team could look like this,

Senior
    Fagan,Cragg,Christie,Connolly, Mccormack, Ledwith

U23 team
    McCarthy, O Lionaird, O Neil, Coughlan, Mulhare, Scullion

What does everyone else think???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭brutes

yeah it should be good , what about top 3 last interclubs, kelly , kenneally, mulvey, if they are fit and ready are well up there, injuries affecting two of them last i heard.. whats the selection will there be a top 3 from intercounties plus more???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Senior
    Fagan,Cragg,Christie,Connolly, Mccormack, Ledwith

U23 team
    McCarthy, O Lionaird, O Neil, Coughlan, Mulhare, Scullion

What does everyone else think???

Oh no, are they not entering women's teams, typical AAI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Tingle wrote: »
    Oh no, are they not entering women's teams, typical AAI.

In fairness TIngle, the make up of the womens team is a lot more predictable than the mens (barring injuries). Britton, Cullen, McGettigan & Deirdre Byrne would all nearly be pre-selections if it came down to it.

Now that I write the names down and look at it, that's a damn fine team!!

Edit: Am i wrong in thinking that Linda Byrne is under 23 again this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

pwhite587 wrote: »
    Edit: Am i wrong in thinking that Linda Byrne is under 23 again this year?

According to Tilatopaja, she's turned 23 already.

Don't forget the formidable junior women's team. The twins, Mageean and Huet should form its basis. Medal winning potential there, I'd say.

Regarding the men's team, two big questions surround Cragg and Fagan. Will the former turn out, and will the latter be fit?

Maybe Josephat Boit could declare for us. ;)

Edit: I forgot to mention something that was on my mind: why are the inter counties on in Kilbeggan? I was sure they'd be on in Santry, to give our athletes a run out on it, and to act as a dress rehearsal for the main event. /shrugs

pwhite587 wrote: »
    In fairness TIngle, the make up of the womens team is a lot more predictable than the mens (barring injuries). Britton, Cullen, McGettigan & Deirdre Byrne would all nearly be pre-selections if it came down to it.

See Mary Cullen got though her comeback race at the weekend, 5k in 15.4? something. Its a start and hopefully she'll continue to improve over the next few months.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Edit: I forgot to mention something that was on my mind: why are the inter counties on in Kilbeggan? I was sure they'd be on in Santry, to give our athletes a run out on it, and to act as a dress rehearsal for the main event. /shrugs

Dress rehearsal was the inter-clubs last March. Not too many turned up especially in the women. Keith Kelly was sublime, wouldn't it be great if he was 100% fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Regarding the men's team, two big questions surround Cragg and Fagan. Will the former turn out, and will the latter be fit?
    I've heard that Cragg hasn't taken a break after the season as he felt he had too much time early in the year so is in good shape. From the post yesterday by someone seemed to suggest that Fagans year was over, hope its not the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭TJC

But why would they do that??
    That would make too much sense:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭sh4128

who will be on the junior mens team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭limericklion

Its hard to tell with this particular age group. Last year Mulhare, Murphy, David Flynn, and Ian Ward were always near certain to make the team. This year Ward is still junior and should win although he ran a poor 5k recently for his high standards. My guess barring injury etc and last years form would probably be

Ian Ward
    Shane Quinn
    Liam Tremble
    Michael Carmody
    O Hare cant think of his first name
    John Travers who seems to be in good early season form
    I think Paul Robinson, and Darren McBreathy are great track athletes who may struggle over the country. Others to watch Paddy Hogan and Paddy Flynn both from Ferrybank. Both did well in this event last year but not as strong in the interclubs in March. Jake Byrne may be a year or so of making the team. Chris Jones and Darragh Flynn both from Raheny may make a stab at getting close to the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭sh4128

Conor Rochford beat alot of them in the recent Ballyfinn cross country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

u23 men best bet for a medal i'd say

McCarthy - 13.43 5k and european bronze
    O'Neill - 14.10 5k great xc runner
    Chessor - 3.44 1500m + has strength from steeplechase
    Coghlan - 3.48 1500m great xc runner
    Scullion - 14.20 5k
    David Rooney - 14.20ish 5k this summer i think??
    + Mulhare, Murphy, Dennehy, O'lionard

Fierce talent there, get a few of them boys fit and healthy and i'll be expecting a medal!

I don't know much about the juniors but Mageean, French O'Carrolls and Huet is obviously very strong team if they are fit.

Dont think we have such strength in depth with the senior women but Britton, Cullen, McGettigan & Deirdre Byrne all on top form would be medal contenders.

Senior Men, I think Fagan, Cragg, Christie & Ledwith would be our top 4 if all are fit & running well.

Really looking foward to this, hopefully we can sneak a few medals. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Kiptanui

Who can we expect to see in the Gerry Farnan? Seniors, U/23's and Juniors?

This race is usually a great indicator as to what we can expect in the Inter Counties.

The usual suspects I presume Mark Christie, Alan McCormack, Brian Farell and Mark Hanrahan near the top Vinny Mulvey is only coming back from injury. Under 23s John Coughlan will be near the top along with Dennehy maybe, Scullion, Mulhare the other contenders for positions are all based in US. Juniors names mentioned previous although one never knows there could be a surprize package there usually is. Farnan seems to be a very fast course based on previous years times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Tingle wrote: »
    See Mary Cullen got though her comeback race at the weekend, 5k in 15.4? something. Its a start and hopefully she'll continue to improve over the next few months.

Mary is continuing her comeback, breaking the women's record in a local Sligo 10K at 32:20, with only 2 men ahead of her.

Her focus seems to be on the Euro XC: “I will run a cross-country race in the Phoenix Park in Dublin in a couple of weeks time [Gerry Farnan XC], the AAI national inter-counties in Kilbeggan and one or two races in Europe which should get me right for the Europeans” .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 1500mrunner

After the rathfham which seems to be the first real indication on some of the form of runners.

You would have to say mark christie will be confident on makin that team along with Fagan, Cragg, Ledwith,

As for the u23 men, micheal Mulhare seems to be picking up were he left of from this track season, It was his first real track season and really showed he can mix it with the top even at 1500m. And across the pond the US based runners are starting to hit some form, Dave mc seems to be not far off his best and with O Lionaird not far off him it looks to be very mouth watering prospect. Also Craig murphy turned in a fantastic performance in the Pat Short xc, hopefully these lads are sent. And not forgeting Bredan O neill,

For the senior womens it doesnt look like Britton is running to her best, its early and hopefully the Gerry Farnham goes better for her. But linda byrne will be mixing it up with that team.

Im going to stick my neck on the line and predict the teams
    Junior mens:
    Ian Ward
    Paul Robinson
    Shane Quinn
    Liam Trimble
    John Travers
    Darren Mc Bearty(dark horse pushed travers over 5k)

u23 men
    Dave Mc Carthy
    Ciaran O Lionarid
    Craig Murphy
    Michael Mulhare
    John Coughlan
    Stephen Scullion

Senior Mens
    Allistar Cragg
    Martin Fagan
    Andrew Ledwith
    Mark Christie
    Sean Connolly
    Alan Mc Cormack

Junior women
    Ciara Mageen
    Rebbeca French O carrol
    Charlotte French O Carrol
    Laura Huet
    ???????
    ???????

U23 women
    Rose Ann Galligan
    ??????????

Senior Women
    Mary Cullen
    Deirde Byrne
    Linda Bynre
    Fionula Brttion
    Roisin Mc Gettigan
    ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 pajo61

is there some reason you have omitted craig murphy of togher ac from your under 23 team selection?? you must be from the pale. ;):confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Maybe I'm showing how little I know here but I would have thought Dave McCarthy should be in the senior team and not U23, is there a rule regarding age or am I being silly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

pajo61 wrote: »
    is there some reason you have omitted craig murphy of togher ac from your under 23 team selection?? you must be from the pale. ;):confused:

Confused is right...
    Also Craig murphy turned in a fantastic performance...

u23 men
    Craig Murphy

I would have thought Mark Kenneally from cloniffe harriers would make the team ahead of Mark Christie, Sean Connolly, Alan McCormack given that he ran 13.36 for 5k in the summer and won the Loughrea 5 mile race in sub 24 minutes which translate to going through 5k in roughly sub 15 not bad going considering he probably only used the race as a workout.I will guess that if the top three ( Cragg, Fagan, Ledwith though they should be told to race ) dont run in nationals and are automatically selected and injury free I predict Kenneally will win the inter counties ahead of Alan McCormack, Mark Christie, Mark Hanrahan, Gary Murray, Connelly all fighting it out for top three finish and automatic selection.

I have already made my predictions for junior boys. The under 23 selection will be interesting considering that five of top eight are based in America the NCAAs are on the same weekend as nationals. Mulhare, Coughlan in Ireland , Chesser in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

also Sara Louise Tracey should be on the under 23 team considering she was 12th and first junior home last year in the euro x junior race,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 1500mrunner

pajo61 wrote: »

The reason for this is cause from what im hearing they are selecting 3lads based on form, I know craig is in good shape but will brenden beat him? Id like to think he would. The only way id see craig on that team is if he comes homes for the trials and in that case he would definatly make the team.

Mark Keneally i actually had forgot about him. Sorry there is so many seniors who are up the top that he slipped my mind. Im sure come the trials that he will be the favourite to win.

And for Sara Treacy i think yes she wil make the team, as I said before a few skipped my mind.

And aswel why would dave mc turn down a chance of winning a medal in the U23s and run in the seniors and come nowhere. Im sure he will eventually make the skip up but he will definalty in the U23 race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

Dont like making predictions on home grown talent.
    People always talk up the teams for medals but that will only happen if Ireland get all their best runners on the line fully fit which isnt going to happen.
    Britton will be womens top scorer,can see her coming on for her racing.
    Mcarthy top u23 maybe top 6
    Regarding the Mens senior team i would say Chrisite,Fagan,Ledwith,Cragg,Kenneally and open for last spot,Connolly will admit he hasn't yet put a really good cross country run together since beating Fagan in the Schools leinster a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

i have to say I dont think Britton will be the women's top finisher! Mary Cullen will almost certainly come home ahead of her, Britton would do very very well to make top 12, while I think Mary has her sights on a medal. Now whether she will be back fit in time is another thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭thirstywork

sorry forgot about Mary.but think Britton will be 2nd scorer atleast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Eurox

Very early to be making predictions still another 9 weeks to go!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭brutes

Does anyone know how many can be picked on senior teams for eurocross- six? nine?12? I assume theres a max, and presume a full squad should be put out by us in each event.. ...?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Eurox

6 per team. First 3 across the line will be automatically selected in each event & three additional athletes will be selected by the selection committee.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

The reason for this is cause from what im hearing they are selecting 3lads based on form, I know craig is in good shape but will brenden beat him? Id like to think he would. The only way id see craig on that team is if he comes homes for the trials and in that case he would definatly make the team.

Mark Keneally i actually had forgot about him. Sorry there is so many seniors who are up the top that he slipped my mind. Im sure come the trials that he will be the favourite to win.

And for Sara Treacy i think yes she wil make the team, as I said before a few skipped my mind.

And aswel why would dave mc turn down a chance of winning a medal in the U23s and run in the seniors and come nowhere. Im sure he will eventually make the skip up but he will definalty in the U23 race

Brendan is back from US so he will be running the trials i say which will take him out of the equation for form