Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mazda 626 parts. Urgent!

• 21-09-2009 4:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭

Hi all.

I have a '94 Mazda 626 which has just failed it's NCT re-test on handbrake performance (again).

My mechanic says that I need new cylinders for the rear brakes.

Thats okay, but they cost the earth new.
    They charge like wounded Rhinos for these things!

Anyway, does anybody know of any of these cars scrapped anywhere or the numbers of some good scrappies in the south east area?

Thanks in advance.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭vw4life

Hi all.

I have a '94 Mazda 626 which has just failed it's NCT re-test on handbrake performance (again).

My mechanic says that I need new cylinders for the rear brakes.

Thats okay, but they cost the earth new.
    They charge like wounded Rhinos for these things!

Anyway, does anybody know of any of these cars scrapped anywhere or the numbers of some good scrappies in the south east area?

Thanks in advance.:)

its new rear calipers you need,any second hand ones will be seized too,they're a fecker for seizin up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

vw4life wrote: »
    its new rear calipers you need,any second hand ones will be seized too,their a fecker for seizin up

Tell me about it.

That model of 626 is even gettin scarce in scrapyards now.

Another retest due by the 27th or else it has to go through the entire test again.

Hence the urgency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭B11gt00e

Hey Whosbetter,

Tight driver that car... enjoyed many's a mile in one back in the day. The calipres in the 92-93 edition had seizure issues... they were supposed to be rectified by 94, so yours may be seizing due to age.

Anyway... not the perfect solution, but if your driving it yourself and not selling, you can remove the caliper and work the cylinder with some grease and then a lot of elbow grease... take it off, and fix it in a vice, and manoeuver it in and out with what ever tools fit the purpose... if you perservere and use enough grease you can get it going again, and it will provide you with a short term fix to allow you more time to locate a replacement.

My mechanic & very good mate worked this a few times in the past for me when I was driving one of those and had no money for anything bar the tax, insurance and petrol. (And only a good mate would put in the effort necessary to save me the cost. Philip... the man's a legend!)

It's one of the few weaknesses on that model, and when you think about the performance, it's not surprising they take a fair pounding over time.

Obviously be careful to remove as much grease from the caliper when you get the cylinder drum moving again....

...I did this back in the day before the NCT, but it sufficed for a number of months and only seized again when I had to jam on the brakes to avoid some Chuck Norris type dog who ventured onto a 100km/h strip of the N2 near Emyvale.... thankfully, the canine was grand but my brakes were well and truely seized to disk!!

Good luck with your search or your attempts to fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭vw4life

its not the actual piston thats seized usually,its the arm/linkage that operates on the rear of the piston is usually the problem.if it passed the brake test but failed on the handbrake performance thats usually the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

...does anyone know if it's the same as the MX-5 one ? If so, they're readily available reconditioned. Have a gander HERE

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Thanks for the replies lads.

Rest assured that all the fixes mentioned above have been tried already.
    This car is run on a very limited budget & been nursed through the last few NCTs at the least possible cost.

My mechanic knows what a Skinflint I am!:D

Been searching thru the net & located a scrappie down Kilkenny direction who has one of these cars in stock.

Rang him today & he says he'll have the callipers off & checked tomorrow morning.

I'll let you know how I get on.

FWIW, a guy here has a 626 too, and spends at least 1 w/end a month doing the calipers. He tells me they are impossible to get, now. Make sure the scrappie ones are good/warranted, otherwise you're wasting your money.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ...does anyone know if it's the same as the MX-5 one ? If so, they're readily available reconditioned. Have a gander HERE

That's intresting Galwaytt.
    They're about 80notes cheaper PER SIDE, than I've been quoted for new ones.

If all else fails, they could be an option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

I owned two of these (very under-rated cars) and had issues with rear capilers on both. Theyre a big problem on this model. Fwiw, the runout 97 model was every bit as bad as the 92 model.
    If you let the pads wear down to a low level, the pistons can sieze, or tilt off centre and not retract (I learned this the hard way in parnell st in rush hour).

New or warranted calipers the way to go, and make a point of keeping an eye on your pads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Em...slight diversion of topic but where do people get the time to do all the legwork necessary for 'bangernomics'? All that faffin' about over a few quid would wreck my head. I know times are hard but if you invested as much ingenuity and graft into earning a few bob instead of saving pennies surely you'd be better off? I mean a few nights down the pub would blow the sort of money we're talkin' about... It's like the guys who will spend 15 mins queueing up for a 2 cent difference in fuel. Or am I guilty of ivory tower syndrome?

pburns wrote: »
    Em...slight diversion of topic but where do people get the time to do all the legwork necessary for 'bangernomics'? All that faffin' about over a few quid would wreck my head. I know times are hard but if you invested as much ingenuity and graft into earning a few bob instead of saving pennies surely you'd be better off? I mean a few nights down the pub would blow the sort of money we're talkin' about... It's like the guys who will spend 15 mins queueing up for a 2 cent difference in fuel. Or am I guilty of ivory tower syndrome?

...I hear ya. But you have to agree, even in you were to buy a new caliper at, say, €200, it's still than cheaper than buying a new car.........

Ode To The Motorist

pburns wrote: »

Well, it might seem like being a Skinflint over a few quid.

But

1. I got quoted 185 Euros PER SIDE. Are these fookin things Gold plated?!!

2. Work is hard to come By. I'm on a 3 day week at the mo.

3. I hardly ever go to pubs these days. Too dear.

4. What little income I have coming in goes into a Mortgage, childcare, food & all the other basic essentials required to run a household. NOT to line the pockets of some greedy dealer.

5. I dont run a 15 year old Mazda 'as a fashion statement' or 'for the craic'. It's the only thing I can afford at the mo.

It takes a fair bit of ingenuity to live half decently on my wages.

gyppo wrote: »
    I owned two of these (very under-rated cars) and had issues with rear capilers on both. Theyre a big problem on this model. Fwiw, the runout 97 model was every bit as bad as the 92 model.
    If you let the pads wear down to a low level, the pistons can sieze, or tilt off centre and not retract (I learned this the hard way in parnell st in rush hour).

New or warranted calipers the way to go, and make a point of keeping an eye on your pads.

Yeah, we saw the problem coming the last couple of NCTs.
    Always managed to get it working long enough to get it through before.

The front callipers can give trouble on these cars too.
    End result being disc warpage.

Had this problem before myself, but the parts were nowhere near as expensive or as hard to come by.

Well, it might seem like being a Skinflint over a few quid.

But

1. I got quoted 185 Euros PER SIDE. Are these fookin things Gold plated?!!

...I feel your pain as they say but 185 a side for new ones isn't actually expensive for what they are. Don't mention the €65 Nissan interior door handle around here, if you don't believe me..........;)

FWIW.... I've just been quoted GPB£175 per caliper - TO REBUILD my 16yr old calipers..........

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Would Ford Probe calipers fit?

Ford Probe 2.0L 1996 Brake Caliper, Offside Rear

You might get a reasonable shipping price for the pair, if they fit!

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    Would Ford Probe calipers fit?

You might get a reasonable shipping price for the pair, if they fit!

Could be a runner alright.

I know that Ford own Mazda, so it could be a possibility.

Good price too.

Still investigating the second-hand route though.

Will let you know how I get on.

Your dead right esel... the probe and the mx6 (626 coupe with bells) and the 626 all share many components...

the mx6 calipers are identical as I got a pair fitted to my 626 back in the day... and according to the article I've attached below, the probe has the same

the thing is... it means they whole lot of them have the same issues...so an old probe pair mightn't be the best option... maybe you can get them online - reconditioned, or Chinese/Korean type knock offs?!

Rear Brake Caliper - design Fault for builds pre 95

Workaround

Short-lived, fix is rebuilt/new (Sumitomo redesigned).
    Frequency

Most Probe/626/MX6 rear callipers stick circa 55k miles.
    The Problem

Handbrake pivot-pin seal defect on rear calliper The handbrake cable moves a spring/pivot-arm which operates the piston/brake-pads against the rotor. The pivot-pin sits in a needle bearing sealed into the calliper body by a rubber seal.
    Design failure is seal deterioration allowing water ingress & corrosion. The handbrake is usually found unreleased or the caliper will not release on repeated heavy brake-application. The caliper must then be replaced with a new (redesigned) or rebuilt unit. Lubricating the mechanism can release it and keep it operating for a time, but only as a short-term solution. Both front & rear caliper's must have their caliper guide-bolts lubed regularly with a high temperature anti-seize grease or the caliper will only brake one side of the rotor.
    Solutions

Short term: Unhook the handbrake cable from the pivot arm, spray WD40/penetrant around the area and work the pivot pin its entire range of movement. Then apply a waterproof grease (Castrol CL) to the area and work that in. It is possible on relatively new calipers to remove the pivot-pin & spring: in such cases replace the pivot-pin and seal, and thoroughly clean & lubricate the pivot-pin needle-bearing area.
    Finding that lubrication is only a short-term resolution correlates with the cause being deteriorated rubber-seal & needle-bearing inside the calliper.
    caliper1.jpgcaliper2.jpg Regular use of the handbrake will help prevent the area seizing. Once the pivot-pin rubber seal and needle bearing inside have deteriorated, regular use/lubrication will not work in the long term.
    Longer-Term Solution: Warranty: See Dealer.
    Ex Gratia: Ford-UK & Mazda-UK have contributed towards the cost of replacing failed calipers being aware of the problem. Refunds are not total, usually the cost of the caliper itself.
    Ford UK statement: revised level caliper was fitted in production from 5-Jan-1995, and such parts may be fitted to earlier vehicles. This revised part is supplied as a matter of course now - since the seal/needle-bearing has been redesigned.
    Symptoms

Very hot rear wheel, speed falls back rapidly during gear-changes, deteriorating fuel mileage. If extreme, brake burning smell & glowing orange brake disc with the car being destabilised towards oversteer which the TTL suspension can't correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Don't know if the 929 calipers would fit (you might be able to id them from the photos, or part no. 4053542) , but found these on eBay - total cost for 2 calipers and pads $110 incl. shipping (approx €75).

[edit]Seller says "All Caliper Photos are generic." So, either confirm part no. or confirm independently from Mazda that they suit!

Not your ornery onager

Thanks B11g00e & esel!

Great info there lads.
    I managed to get a pair of calipers cheap from a scrappie in Kilkenny yesterday. (70 euros the pair)
    Got my mechanic to put them in today, as I was at work.

Anyway, he said that one of them was pretty good.
    The other has a prob with the adjustment screw.
    So he made the best of what was available.

The upshot is, is that the handbrake can hold the car pretty good.
    Not the best ever,but worth a punt.

Will be heading into the NCT centre tomorrow & see how it gets on.

I'll let you know how I get on.

Well.

Went for the 2nd Retest this morning.

Managed to scrape through, though the tester did remark that it was a borderline case.

Still the 'ol Millenium Falcon is good to go for another couple of years at least.

I've kept the old calipers might try to refurb them in case I have to get this car through another NCT in the future.
    Likely the way things are going!:D

Thanks for the help lads!

Congrats on getting her throught the NCT. Always reassuring to know you've got another two years to go. Its become a tought system, but I think its good for personal and family safety to have a car meet a certain safety and roadworthiness criteria every couple of years. Your plight, and your quest for components brought many nostalgic memories back of me and Blackie, my 92 626 of old.

Good luck and happy motoring for the future.

Thanks for that.

Yeah,it's a pain in the hole gettin cars through the NCT at times.
    Still, it's important to keep the basics on a car right for safety.

Also, when you're buying a car, it's nice to see a fresh NCT on it.
    It gives you some reassurance when buying.