Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayweather 146?

• 18-09-2009 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭

I thought he had to weigh in at 144?
    Marquez weighed in at 142 and looked bulky enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Fight contract got renegotiated yesterday.
    We effectively have a blown up Lightweight fighting a Welterweight.......oooh exciting :rolleyes:

This fight is going to seriously disappoint, it's a mismatch and the only thing that can save it is Floyd suffering severely from his ring rust or else him having lost quite a bit(and now being faded) from his time away.

I wouldn't expect him to fight Cotto, Paul Williams, Mosley etc in his fight back.
    But why not Luis Collazo, Carlos Quintana, Kendall Holt, Andre Berto, Tim Bradley or someone of that level who is at least a Welterweight or Light-Welterweight ?

The reason is Marquez poses less risk but has great reward.
    I'll still watch it mind you, but I don't think I'll bother staying up.

It has to be said though that the two main undercard fights are crackers.

Chris John v Rocky Juarez II and Michael Katsidis v Vicente Escobedo.
    We also have Sebastien Sylvester v Giovanni Lorenzo and Francesco Pianeta v Matt Skelton from Germany.
    So there is some quality competitive fights on Saturday night.
    Orlando Cruz v Cornelius Lock could be pretty interesting on the JMM v Floyd undercard and as a whole it is a very good card. Just a shame about the main event.

One of the fights I'm nearly most looking forward to(nearly because it shouldn't be that competitive either) is prospect Chris Avalos v Giovanni Caro, which is on Shobox tonight. Avalos is a fantastic prospect and still just 19.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

http://www.fightnews.com/?p=23615

Im just reading here that the contract was for 147lbs , with a financial penalty for coming in over 144 !
    Mayweather is prob getting 80% of the purse regardless .

what a joke !
    I was wondering why Oscar looked so unhappy .
    there'll be the best part of a stone by tomorrow night , i cant see Marquez being able to add to much as he obviously didnt have to trim at all .

I really dont like Mayweather calling himself p4p anything untill he fights the best in his own weight category.
    and im not talking about Manny ,... more marketable catch weight nothing matches .

the weight devisions are clearly laid out in B+W , all this catch weigh rubbish bothers me a bit .
    marquez had only recently stepped up to lightweight FFS !!
    A win for Mayweather proves nothing.

All this time Sugar Shane Mosley cant get a fight with anybody ! At 38 years old,offering world title holder being dodged by a man who claims to regain the p4p crown whilst fighting the number #2 fighter two clear weights lighter.

Hey BigEars ,... where did you read about the contract renegotiation ?
    i never heard about this !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

I knew something was wrong.The sneaky bastards never mentioned anything either when Floyd stepped onto the scale and they said 146 clap clap....
    So basically Marquez can't reach 144 without looking like a balloon. And as for Floyd, he can barely make 146 without coming in weight drained tomorrow night.

Maybe this was the real reason why Floyd hurt his ribs Marquez couldn't make the weight?

As for the other fights, ya they look great can't weight for them. I've never seen any of them guys fight before so looking forward to it.

ODD-JOB wrote: »
    Hey BigEars ,... where did you read about the contract renegotiation ?
    i never heard about this !

Well it's not 100% as I saw it on a forum with someone saying Dan Rafael claimed it. Rafael would be a reliable source, but of course I'm just taking the poster at their word that he actually said it. maybe if you check Rafael's blog, or ESPN's website you'll find something(I'd bother but this match is of little interest to me).

Anyway it was supposedly renegotiated yesterday with Mayweather paying a fee for the privilege of being able to come in heavier.
    Normally i'd check if it's true but who cares with a fight like this ?

another stain on mayweather's record.

This win should be marked with an asterix .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

this is a disgrace. i'm seriously considering not staying up for this fight now. i would love it if Marquez manages to defy the odds tomorrow night.

another stain on mayweather's record.

This win should be marked with an asterix .

Ah now lets be fair, beating a great fighter is beating a great fighter.

Can't wait for Wladamir Klitschko v Ivan Calderon now, would be an epic win on Wlad's record.

Noooo ......
    This fight is a con-job .
    Everybody knew except the fans .
    I watched the weigh in live , buffer didnt express surprise , Marquez's team raisesed no eyebrows , Oscar looked like he had just got caught with his hand in the till , and the TV commentators passed it by as if it never happened.

There was a reason it was all kept cloak and dagger , and that was to con the fans into buying subscriptions .
    Would you buy this PPV tonight knowing that weigh-in result ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭RandomRetard

Noooo ......
    This fight is a con-job .
    Everybody knew except the fans .
    I watched the weigh in live , buffer didnt express surprise , Marquez's team raisesed no eyebrows , Oscar looked like he had just got caught with his hand in the till , and the TV commentators passed it by as if it never happened.

There was a reason it was all kept cloak and dagger , and that was to con the fans into buying subscriptions .
    Would you buy this PPV tonight knowing that weigh-in result ???

Probably not...
    Considering its live on sky sports so therefore i dont have to pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

That 146 lbs is a bit of a turn a round, another reason why one would have to favor Floyd.
    If anything, Juan looks to have a half an inch height advantage, maybe equal.
    They stood toe to toe with Floyd in socks and Juan in flat looking runners and Juan
    was very slightly taller

Richard Shaefer addressed the media in the press room regarding the weight after wards. He said the fight was promoted as a welterweight fight, but the contract was 144. Monetary penalties were built in and Floyd will pay a fee for the 2 extra pounds. He would only say that it was a significant amount.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7aNasN71oWQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

300 k per pound.

http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/boxing/news/story?id=4485941

Floyd is a punk for not making weight. He should have the common decency to honour the contract. In saying that I doubt this will effect the outcome of the fight.

By Michael Woods

We are just about good to go. Floyd Mayweather and Juan Manuel Marquez both made weight on Friday afternoon at the weigh in ceremony taking place at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas. Floyd (39-0; from Michigan; six time titlist in five classes) stepped on the scales and weighed 146 pounds , while Marquez (50-4-1; from Mexico; three time titlist) was 142 pounds for the non-title clash.

“I’m very, very happy, that’s the weight we wanted to weight,” Marquez said after the weigh in. “It’s a very difficult fight but not impossible.” We’d all been under the assumption that this would be a catchweight fight, at 144 pounds or under, but Mayweather last week said that a catchweight was not in play, and he cemented that by weighing 146 pounds. The men doing the broadcast, Col. Bob Sheriden and Dave Bontempo, completely abdicted their responsibilty to so much as masquerade as journalists, and didn't delve into Floyd's weight AT ALL. ESPN's Dan Rafael reported that the contract for the fight does indeed call for Mayweather and Marquez to weigh 144 or less. But Floyd apparently blew the contract off. Thus, sources told Rafael, Floyd will be fined $600,000, $300,000 for each pound, for being overweight.The overage will go into Marquez' share of the purse, believed to be over $3 million. It's a drop in the bucket for Floyd, who is supposedly guaranteed $10 million, and could make more from PPV proceeds. This move, flouting the contract, will not win Mayweather more fans, or cause those on the fence who felt that he had a point when he said he gets less respect than a white fighter of similar talent would, to look at him with newfound respect. USA Today's Michael Falgoust said that the weight change was above board, that the Nevada commission was consulted the day of the weigh in, and that Marquez agreed that Floyd could blow off the previously agreed-to contract weight, in exchange for a fee. Falgoust said the overweight penalty was $500,000. Fans, at least those who aren't prone to seeing Mayweather through rose-colored glasses, are wondering why Floyd felt compelled to weigh more than 144; is he worried that he'll need some extra oomph against the Mexican?

DL Hughley, rooting for Mayweather, oversaw the event with DJ Piolin, a Marquez rooter, and Michael Buffer made the trains run on time, as he directed the fighters to the scale in a full but not overstuffed room which truthfully featured less of the heated chanting and electricity that we’ve seen in recent weigh ins featuring Manny Pacquiao and Ricky Hatton. Hughley and Piolin busted on each other back and forth, with Hughley making peepee jokes, and Piolin countering with Kanye West cracks. Hughley responded by calling Kanye as a

, so Piolin looked for other openings. Hughley yelled, “Ya’ll can do better than that” when he asked Floyd rooters to make some noise, and admitted that he’d need to come up with a chant, like the one Piolin led Marquez rooters in, to fire up his crew.

Triple H, the WWE star, came out to dead air. “Are you ready?” he asked, as silence reigned. He’ll walk with Floyd to the ring in Vegas. He left the stage after a couple minutes; being a seasoned performer, he knows when the crowd isn’t going to generate any heat for him. As I watch this, I am re-calculating my guesstimate on the PPV buy numbers. The number is going dooooownnnnnnn.

Now, as long as the IRS doesn’t show up with marshals and take away Floyd to the pokey, we should be on track to see how much a 21-month hiatus has blunted Floyd’s brilliance.

Indonesian Chris John (42-0-2) weighed 126 on the nose and Houstonian Rocky Juarez (28-4) was 126 pounds. They are rematching their February clash, which was declared a draw, though TSS saw John the winner. The WBA featherweight title, held by John, is up for grabs.

Californian Vicente Escobedo (21-1) hit 134 pounds, while foe Aussie Michael Katsidis (25-2) was 135 pounds on the nose. They jawed with vigor, smiling through their pent up fury, as they faced off for the cameras. They are fighting for the lightweight title given up by Juan Manuel Marquez, the WBO crown, the interim version.

And feel free to make of this, this press release, what you will..

NO wonder Juan wasn't too bothered, he gets the overage from the Floyd added weight.
    Money certainly does talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Bit of a joke alright but its still not going to be the one sided affair many think. This will be a good fight imo.

Mayweather was always going to be bigger, its the manner in which the fight was made that sticks in the throat. It was made as a WW (147) fight with the proviso that if a fighter goes over 144 they get a fine...what sort of bollocks is that? We dont have enough weight divisions in boxing to make fights in?

Anyway Marquez needs to take some flak as well....he's a big boy and knows what he's doing.

Still think lots of people will be surprised tonight though...Ive heard such talk before and the fights threw up surprises or turned out competitive affairs...maybe Im just an eternal optimist though.:D

I agree, Juan is in on this too and he seems okay with the deal, 500k richer too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Bit of a joke alright but its still not going to be the one sided affair many think. This will be a good fight imo.

Mayweather was always going to be bigger, its the manner in which the fight was made that sticks in the throat. It was made as a WW (147) fight with the proviso that if a fighter goes over 144 they get a fine...what sort of bollocks is that? We dont have enough weight divisions in boxing to make fights in?

Anyway Marquez needs to take some flak as well....he's a big boy and knows what he's doing.

Still think lots of people will be surprised tonight though...Ive heard such talk before and the fights threw up surprises or turned out competitive affairs...maybe Im just an eternal optimist though.:D

well, marquez is very ring smart and can adapt to most fighters he faces. it will be competitive till the end if Marquez can take the punches at this weight. i think if he can take the punches from Mayweather he is good enough to cause him problems. I just fear given he has been hurt by punchers at lightweight, who were not really known punchers, he could be in trouble here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭keane=cock

i know sky are repeating the fight onsundayorning but will the feeds on the internet be showing the repeat? not sure if ill stay up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

What time is the fight really expected to start? Have something else I want to watch from 3-5.