Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paris Roubaix 2010

• 17-09-2009 8:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭

Thinking of doing this. Need a decent training goal. Would prefer the etape or marmotte but that is a bad time work wise. Anyone done the paris roubaix? Worth doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

It would be very very different to the Etape or Marmotte... Basically long and flat over some bad road surfaces. If you want climbing there are plenty of other continental sportives offering that- also consider the Tour of Flanders which I believe has more in the way of hills although they are short. It keeps the bad road surfaces.

Would be tempted by L'Ardechoise myself... there are also plenty in Italy (Gran Fondos) and Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

Thanks blorg. The italian races seen like a good option but are a little late in the year. October i think. Would ideally prefer an event with medal times as an added incentive

What time of year are you looking at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

June would be ideal

And you want hilly? L'Ardechoise I linked is then... Alternatively you can do the Raid Pyrenean any time starting 1 June (you have to wait for the passes to open.) 100 hours, 720km (if you don't get lost), ~11,000m climbing, best thing I have ever done on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

why would anybody want to cycle on cobblestones?

that other thing looks interesting

Because it is a classic cycle race, who wouldn't

paris-roubaix.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

blorg wrote: »
    Because it is a classic cycle race, who wouldn't

paris-roubaix.jpg

my arse wouldnt!!!

i cycled through temple bar on tuesday, just to see, never again!!!! :eek:

i understand the history and prestige, but getting battered for a few years couldnt be as good a memory as a stage of the tour de france or giro, thats just my opinion though, each to their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭papac

Bump.
    I am seriously considering the 2010 Paris Robaix Sportive on 6th June.

I know its a long shot but has anyone got first hand experience of this event???.

I have been on cobbles quite a few times on this course (Training).

http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/web/site/BC/roa/News2009/20090506_Lincoln_Preview.asp.

My other half is from Lincoln.

I actually get a buzz (no pun intended) out of riding cobbles.(Interesting in the wet :)) and I have always loved P-R.
    Next chance won't be until 2012 so I might have to go for it.Some first hand advice would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Because its better thaen cycling up a bloody mountain

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Did a chunk of Paris Roubaix yesterday, and didn't feel the cobblestones at all (fortunately the Tacx VR is not that realistic:))

(fortunately the Tacx VR is not that realisticsmile.gif)

Try putting it on top of your washing machine while its on spin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

A few clubmates of mine do flanders every year, hugh crowd do it though,

Tbh i done the marmotte last year and i dont think its worth the hassle to do a big sportive, I just prefer do go away and do a traing week somewhere. cheaper as well

i dont think its worth the hassle to do a big sportive,

I would agree normally-Prefer to go to the Pyrenees on my own.
    I've just had a thing about Paris-Roubaix since I was a kid. (Shortly after it first started:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

is the pavé really like templebar ?
    are they that bumpy ... jaysus that would be so so hard.
    would have to get 32 spoke open pro wheels for something like that ..

You would want wide tyres, I think that would be the main thing. Any pictures I have seen it looks smooth enough but certainly in the Hell of the North you see enough riders cycling along the mud in the side of the road to avoid the pave!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

E@gle. wrote: »
    A few clubmates of mine do flanders every year, hugh crowd do it though,

Tbh i done the marmotte last year and i dont think its worth the hassle to do a big sportive, I just prefer do go away and do a traing week somewhere. cheaper as well

Trip to the Marmotte next year for 9 days isn't costing much more than the trip to Spain for 7 days. The big sportive is a goal though. Something to drive you forward and get you out of the bike when you otherwise wouldn't.

Tis also a great excuse for a new bike :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

A few clubmates of mine do flanders every year, hugh crowd do it though

Signed up for next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

barrabus wrote: »
    is the pavé really like templebar ?
    are they that bumpy ... jaysus that would be so so hard.
    would have to get 32 spoke open pro wheels for something like that ..

Much worse. I had swollen hands the day after Flanders. I actually felt sick to my stomach that it was so painful cycling over Cobbles. I can't really describe it, it's not like going over a few bumps in templebar, it just goes on and on and on. Hands hurt, arms hurt, head hurts...

I recommend wider tyres, double wrapping bar tape, anything really.

I recommend wider tyres

I use 28mm tyres a fair bit anyways. I have to negotiate 7 miles of mountain potholes just to get to the shop.Pave me asre.

Interesting to note that in the commentary on this years race Sean Kelly seemed to think that the gain from wider tyres on the pave section was more than outweighed by the losses due to heavier tyres on the smooth sections.

Hes talking about racing I know and if it happens I'll be on open pros and 25s at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

On my commute bike I have a set of Specialized Roubaix Pro Tyres with armadillo compound. They are quite a large tyre, in that there is a very thick layer of rubber on the part of the tyre that is in contact with the ground.

If anyone was doing this support, I guess it would be at least worthwhile having a think abut these types of tyres.
    Theye were designed for cycling on the pave - IIRC Boonen used them. Anyway I thought they were appropriate for cycling in Dublin, and thus far they have proved that way (apart from Luas tracks).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Well, for Flanders while the speed could be high if you got in a good group, there were no real descents and because it is narrow routes chock full of cyclists, and I mean THICK with cyclists, I never really got moving. The climbs and the cobbles, that's what there is. I would sacrifice some efficiency for comfort.

I think we got lucky with the weather, as they normally expect rain, which I was told turns the whole thing into absolute carnage.

Specialized Roubaix Pro Tyres

Interesting tyre.Might have a closer look nearer the time.Cheers for heads up.

You have to bear in mind that Paris-Roubaix is something like 260km and only 55km of that is on cobbles. So if you are racing it, yes, you probably want to cope with the cobbles but optimise for the 205km you are on smooth asphalt... if doing the sportive however I reckon prioritise the cobbles and go wide with your tyres to survive.

and go wide with your tyres to survive.
    My sentiments entirely.As I said Open Pros and 25s at least.

The pros tend to go with 25s and if that is your max with clearances as it is on many road bikes then that is yoiur max. But 28s or 32 if you have a bike that will do that might be better still. I have a nice new cyclocross bike which even with knobblies (Schwalbe Racing Ralph) felt very fast on asphalt...I have also put slick 35s on my commuter and it doesn't seem any slower. With a course like that you would be looking at slicks but I wouldn't rule out slick 32s or even 35s...

I have a Columbus tubed alloy winter Frame with Black Rain audax forks that clears a 28 easy and is really comfy-slack angles help I think.May use that.
    I am hoping to give up smoking and buy myself a Cervelo RS before the time. From what I can gather these clear a wider tyre than 25.(CTT used a funny green 27 at Paris Roubaix this year.).Not 100% sure of this.Might depend on profile of tyre.

I know a lot of people use cross bikes on the sportive and I would give this some thought.
    Right now organising putting in the miles for five months is the most important thing.
    I do a lot of rough cycling on 28mm Gatorsins and I think I would trust em for the job. The devil you know and all that.
    One could alway let a bit of air out of a fatter tyre at the start of the worse pave sections and pump em back up rock hard when it smooths out. Its a crazy plan but it just might work.:)

Edit; Just found out that 3t forks on Cervelo RS will only accept some 25mm tyres.Depends on profile height. Plenty of clearance at the back end.Interesting.

papac wrote: »
    One could alway let a bit of air out of a fatter tyre at the start of the worse pave sections and pump em back up rock hard when it smooths out. Its a crazy plan but it just might work.:)
    I think that would take up too much time and drive you mad in its own way. However you have basically 100km of asphalt before the first cobbled section so you could certainly have them pumped up to the max for that and just let a bit out at 98km. I'd go for the widest tyre you can fit and if you have a winter bike that will take wider wouldn't go for the Cervelo... bear in mind it is a flat course so weight isn't an overriding concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,219 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

blorg wrote: »
    wouldn't go for the Cervelo

I thought the RS's cobbleraceproofness was half the point of it.

Or maybe it's just a way of marketing comfy bikes to Freds ;)

marketing comfy bikes to Freds wink.gif
    Of course they are. This is the real world. Marketing hype is not the reason this Fred will buy a Cervelo though.Higher head tube/ longer chainstay bikes make sense for lots of reasons and its good to have the choice.I believe that we have been marketed non comfy bikes for too long.Speaking of comfy-I'm just wondering where my wife is going to sleep when I get my Cervelo.
    let a bit of air out of a fatter tyre

I was sort of joking here Blorg but as you say it might make sense to do it once.On the tyre width thing it may be worth noting that my "fit" weight is a fraction over ten stone and I consider that 28mm is plenty of tyre for rough stuff.A heavier guy could do with something bigger certainly.

I think most of the pros use the old type of tubulars for roubaix with handbuild wheels, Ambrosia rims being the choice for Bonnen anyway.
    Last year a lot of pros where using V brakes as well.

I have a piece from either Pro cycling of cycle sport magazine i'll see if i can find it.

tubulars for roubaix

I think you are right Eagle. This makes good sense for supported cobble racing.Not such a good choice (as you probably know.) for an auld fella like me-unsupported- trying to prove a point to himself.(I am not sure what that point is yet:))

The v-brake thing is interesting. In the wet/mudbath I could see cantis being a good bet. Maybe vees not so much as I could see them clogging in the mud.

Edit. Also lever compatability issues with vees.

I know in the olden (great) days of P-R they used to use tubs and then a fat tyre over the tub I would imagine on a clincher. I remember 1 pro saying it was like riding with balloons.

Lumen wrote: »
    I thought the RS's cobbleraceproofness was half the point of it.

Or maybe it's just a way of marketing comfy bikes to Freds ;)
    My point being that if you already have a bike that will take 28s or bigger and the Cervelo will only go to 25, you would be better off on the bike with bigger tyres. Presuming you are not trying to "win" anything I think 25s would not be optimal for the non-pro doing Paris-Roubaix.

Edit. Also lever compatability issues with vees.

Here How they solved that problem

P-R_BT_cockpit_600.jpg

They're cantis surely. My 11 year old daughter has those inline levers on her Islabike. They're a great job imo.
    AFAIK you can't use sti levers (or ergo) with vee-brakes without bodgery.

They're cantis surely. My 11 year old daughter has those inline levers on her Islabike. They're a great job imo.

your 11yo has Carbon Record Cantis on her bike;). Now that is full euro. I doff my cap to you sir.

P-R_BT_cockpit_600.jpg

just wondering when you pull the brifter does the courier style brake lever move as well!!!

bcmf wrote: »
    just wondering when you pull the brifter does the courier style brake lever move as well!!!

No! And brifter is a bad word around here ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

. . .AFAIK you can't use sti levers (or ergo) with vee-brakes without bodgery.

Someone should tell that to my bike that has had them for the last 2.5 years.

11yo has Carbon Record Cantis on her bikewink.gif

No-But I think I should buy her a full super record gruppo.
    I could use em myself until she is old enough to appreciate em properly.Thanks for the excellent suggestion.:rolleyes:
    Someone should tell that to my bike that has had them for the last 2.5 years

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/canti-direct.html

They work just not well. Some people say they're grand. I have used a mtb canti lever on v-brakes and it never was right. Did stop you though.

P-R_BT_cockpit_600.jpg
    They are cantis as others have pointed out. Cantis are compatible with road levers, normal V brakes are not.

The problem with cantis is that braking performance is terrible, compared to calipers. Basically if you jam on the brakes the bike will slow in its own time. I have tried low profile and now wide-profile and while the wide are better braking is still crap. If there are any out there that disagree, I'd appreciate it if you could have a look at my brakes :)

Mini-V brakes also work with STI levers and have very good braking performance, as good as calipers but more "grabby" with less modulation. Calipers would still be better overall. However you have to run Mini-Vs very close to the rim so any sort of buckle whatsoever and you basically have no braking. This happened to me touring in Sicily, by the time I let the brakes out enough that they weren't rubbing on the (slightly) buckled wheel I basically had no braking performance at all.

@papac- mud may be an issue for Mini-Vs in the likes of cyclocross but I honestly couldn't see it being an issue on something like Paris-Roubaix, you get dirty sure but you are not plowing through muddy fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

Just beware Papac, despite the ' R3 with a taller headtube .... ' Cervelo marketing bull, the RS is a bit of a noodle, a comfortable one though it has to be said, but a noodle nonetheless. Try one first, up a steep hill you know really well, you might change yer mind ..... I did, BIG TIME !!!

Of course they are. This is the real world. Marketing hype is not the reason this Fred will buy a Cervelo though.Higher head tube/ longer chainstay bikes make sense for lots of reasons and its good to have the choice.I believe that we have been marketed non comfy bikes for too long.Speaking of comfy-I'm just wondering where my wife is going to sleep when I get my Cervelo.

Try one first, up a steep hill you know really well, you might change yer mind ..... I did, BIG TIME !!!
    Thanks for the tip Murph100. RS is at top of my shortlist atm but I intend to do lots more research/testing before I commit to anything.

Can I just say, I have an R3 and it's amazing. Climbs really well and very comfortable on rough roads.

No worries, I almost bought one as Slane have a very good price on them at the mo, but I wouldn't touch one now. The Bianchi Infinito, and Argon 18 Gallium Pro ( Thanks Lumen :) ) both have tall headtubes and are well worth putting on your shortlist as is the Basso Astra. Wheelworx actually have a Gallium Pro frame in at the mo, absolutely stunning looking.

Thanks for the tip Murph100. RS is at top of my shortlist atm but I intend to do lots more research/testing before I commit to anything.

I have an R3 and it's amazing.

I wouldn't imagine the R3 is much different construction wise-same carbon-same size tubing as RS. Or is it??
    Have you ever noticed any of the noodly thing that Murph100 mentions on your R3. (Silly question maybe since you are on here recomending it.)

Dont doubt it for a second Raam, anyone I know who has one cant say enough good things about them BUT the RS is a totally different frame ( and not in a good way ) despite what Cervelo try to tell / bullsh!t us. I'd love an R3 but I'm just too leggy for the geometry :(

Raam wrote: »
    Can I just say, I have an R3 and it's amazing. Climbs really well and very comfortable on rough roads.

Murph100 wrote: »
    Dont doubt it for a second Raam, anyone I know who has one cant say enough good things about them BUT the RS is a totally different frame ( and not in a good way ) despite what Cervelo try to tell / bullsh!t us. I'd love an R3 but I'm just too leggy for the geometry :(

Leggy: Tall or bulky?

I've no idea what the RS is like. Anyone on here have one?
    As for being noddly, whatcha mean?

Different carbon, £400 cheaper, didn't think it would make much of a difference but boy was I wrong.

I wouldn't imagine the R3 is much different construction wise-same carbon-same size tubing as RS. Or is it??