Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lawless Ireland....sweet Jesus not again...

• 14-09-2009 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

You guessed it...he's back,

Brian O Donovan takes another look at the 'shocking' tomfoolery that goes on, on our countries streets...

Brace positions people, we're in for more mind boggling youtube clips that we've all seen before and...well...that's it really.

And so it begins.

Friday

9pm

3e

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

i take it you wont be watching it so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Oh yay. More puke-inducing TV3 rubbish. Stop the presses.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

if its on 3e then its probably a repeat of the old series.

If it was a new series it would prob be on TV3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I hope they release the dvdvd bawx set for Christmas.

How about "If Lynch invaded Lawless Ireland".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

deadwood wrote: »
    I hope they release the dvdvd bawx set for Christmas.

How about "If Lynch invaded Lawless Ireland".

Lads if I order that and "The Guards" dvd box set together I can save on postage, will it be out for christmas :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

You you might even be able to get traffic blues on boxset too, more riveting television.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

You you might even be able to get traffic blues on boxset too, more riveting television.

By TV3 standards, Traffic Blues was worth an oscar ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sisu200

sdonn wrote: »
    Oh yay. More puke-inducing TV3 rubbish. Stop the presses.
    with tons of ad breaks about psyics and bloody ring tones and bloody competitions that rob you blind:eek::eek::eek::eek: now theres the real crime ha!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Brian O Donovan is,if anything guilty of diverting attention away from the REAL evil doers such as this fine example of Irish humanity......no word yet on his "Mates" however....no doubt they`ll bring him the comfort of visits and solidarity as he serves his "massive" sentence.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/career-criminal-given-11-years-for-beating-immigrant-to-death-1916692.html

My question for Judge Bermingham.....What exactly does a career criminal with 60+ previous convictions have to do in order to merit a FULL sentence....why suspend ANY of it ????

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Some interesting stuff here about the ongoing "Situation" down in the Kingdom....Any local ES people able to confirm,deny or otherwise expand the Boards knowledge base.....Particularly on the Stab-Vest for Court Appearances bit..... :confused:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-struggling-to-contain-traveller-feud-1917205.html

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

AlekSmart: Just to set your expectation now - The charter clearly states that posters may not "release any information whatsoever that is not already in the public domain."

The only information you will receive here is what you read in the papers. Any ES personnel who attended this incident will not comment because it is an ongoing investigation. If they do, it gets deleted.

Also, you might want to read the bit of the charter which forbids ES personnel to discuss policy, practice, and so on. This means nobody will confirm or deny specifics of what you read in the papers. Again, if they do, it gets deleted.

psni,perhaps you misinterpret my post ?

I don`t have any "expectations",nor do wish to entice ANY ES personnel into revealing sensitive information other than what the "Garda Sources" allegedly revealed to the Sunday Independent`s hacks.

To clarify,my questions relate more to the General public order situation in the that region rather than any specific goings-on at Tralee Courthouse

I`m quite confident that most AGS personnel posting here do so with a high level of personal and proffessional discretion which reflects in the quality of the postings historically.

Surely the Article of itself merits discussion from a general or personal professional perspective ?

However If,in your moderators opinion it does not,then please delete as you see fit.

Apologies to all if this post is misplaced or inappropriate.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Any local ES people able to confirm,deny or otherwise expand the Boards knowledge base.....Particularly on the Stab-Vest for Court Appearances bit.....

So exactly what did you want local ES people to confirm or deny? Particularly on the Stab-Vest for Court Appearances bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

donvito99 wrote: »
    You guessed it...he's back,

Brian O Donovan takes another look at the 'shocking' tomfoolery that goes on, on our countries streets...

Brace positions people, we're in for more mind boggling youtube clips that we've all seen before and...well...that's it really.

And so it begins.

Friday

9pm

3e

Discuss.

facepalm2ly3.jpg

not again!!!!

the episode on irish football hooligans was gas and showed what a complete gobsh1te the reporter was!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 KimHawkins

the "lawlessness" of our streets is blown out of all proportion so that the Garda can justify overturning the recruitment freeze.

*only my opinion*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

KimHawkins wrote: »
    the "lawlessness" of our streets is blown out of all proportion so that the Garda can justify overturning the recruitment freeze.

*only my opinion*

The "lawnessness" is not blown out of proportion, Dublin on Friday/Saturday nights for example. There aren't enough Gardaí on the streets at the moment to handle the drunken fights/assaults. And by whom is the "lawnessness" blown out of proportion by?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

every small town as well as cities in ireland have serious public order issues just take what happened in Mayo a few weeks back with the garda getting stabbed and other stabbings, in most small towns in Ireland there are two gaurds in the patrol car covering a huge area and backup is probally 30 minutes away at best and they are seriously at risk when it kicks off, most people dont think theres a probelm because they are tucked up in bed when its happening and and if they dont see it well then it didnt happen!!!

The "lawlessness" of our streets is blown out of all proportion so that the Garda can justify overturning the recruitment freeze.

Well Kim,all I can say is that Your opinion is noted....I`m assuming its all down to your definition of the word "Lawlessness".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

*only my opinion*

Have a look in your local city/town/village at night, you'll see that its not blown out of proportion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 KimHawkins

donvito99 wrote: »
    And by whom is the "lawnessness" blown out of proportion by?

Senior Gardai, if anything high profile happens is is used as an excuse for ending the recruitment freeze and for the extension of police powers.

If you don't realise this you are in dream land.

I go out into Dublin city centre every week. The odd scuffle here and there, loads of cops on the streets to deal with it.

Here is the point, if maybe forty thousand people go into one area on the piss, you are going to get some trouble. It is a matter of probability, not lawlessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Senior Gardai, if anything high profile happens is is used as an excuse for ending the recruitment freeze and for the extension of police powers.

Sorry, do you support the recruitment freeze? Do you support Gardaí being taken off the streets? Do you support some of the most experienced Gardaí in the country retiring?Do you support years of under investment and lack of numbers that was only in recents years reaching tolerable levels and is now going down the kitchen sink?
    KimHawkins wrote:
    If you don't realise this you are in dream land.

Ok then, your in La La Land.;)

I go out into Dublin city centre every week.

Well done.
    loads of cops on the streets to deal with it.

There are no where near enough cops on the streets anywhere in this country to deal with the relatively stable level of crime we have. Don't just let Dublin let you determine the policing number for the whole country.

This thread is going way OT.

No It aint OT...if anything its Bullseye ON Topic !

The thread is all about Lawless Ireland and has mimic`d real life as it now develops into how people PERCIEVE their suroundings.

KimHawkins appears to be comfortable enough with his/her experiences in Dublin City Centre every week and thats cool :p

However to then attempt to portray AGS senior management as using Kim`s tolerable level of "Lawlessness"...the "Odd Scuffle" as a means to force Central Government to deploy extra resources is somewhat cynical I feel.

I too spend most of my working week in and around the City Centre at very close quarters to those 40`000 "goin on the piss" and I can definitely state that in MY opinion the Citys Garda resources are WAAY over stretched,and not only at night.

This allows all sorts of oul,typically Irish drunken nonsense to be passed off as the bit of "craic" and for those who don`t want to partake to cross the street and avoid it...however in recent times there`s NO avoiding it as the savagery continues up and down every street,lane and alleyway in the Central zone.

Sadly Kim Hawkins view is so typical of a large section of Irish society which when faced with direct in-yer-face evidence of unacceptable behaviour will immediately seek out some form of arcane excuse for it.

In our present state these excuses usually revolve around the traditional Too-Much-To-Drink but are also now able to bring in "Bad Gear" or " just lost his/her job" and any one of a thousand other occurences to allow some gobdaw to wreck many other peoples night out.

Kim`s views will,of course,change rapidly when he/she comes up close`n personal with some gargled nitwit carrying a blade and intent on scent marking Kim and dominating his quarry...presumably when (NOT If) this happens Kim will be equally cool with the Garda response.????

Apologies for sourcing from the Irish Independent again,however since it`s a record piece and not opinion I think it`s valid.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/youth-blinded-nurse-in-egging-attack-from-car-1935802.html

Yet again we see definite and incontrevertible evidence of grave wrong to a totally innocent citizen by what effectively amounts to a pampered half-wit.

I`m very familiar with the craze of "egging" (Oh what a laugh Ha Ha Ha !) along the N11.
    Public Transport,it`s staff and it`s passengers are all regarded as fair game for attack by a sizeable chunk of young EDUCATED youths.

And why not sez you,as our lagal system appears to regard the taking of another persons eyesight in this manner somehow acceptable even excusable.

I`m somewhat confused by the Judge wanting the go-ahead for a charitable contribution when the victim has already turned down an apology and €10,000 "Compensation" from this young git.

Doubtless this 18 year old "Partygoing" guy represents a chunk of Irish youthful society which is going to be dealt a huge dollop of reality by the post NAMA Ireland as the Partying slams to a halt and the likes of him suddenly have to look at an egg as something which will keep hunger from their door rather than a weapon of destruction.

Following on from the appalling catalogue of human suffering revealed in the Connors case earlier in the week are we to expect another nod-through for this young fellow so that he too can progress through to a Connors level !

The "lawlessness" of our streets is blown out of all proportion so that the Garda can justify overturning the recruitment freeze.

I like to keep KimHawkins (Post # 16) quote to mind when reading accounts such as this........

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/hero-jeweller-grabs-raiders-loaded-shotgun-and-foils-heist-1936644.html

I have the height of sympathy for Mr McDonagh,his staff and all those caught up in the criminal "adventure" of these fine specimens yesterday.

It strikes me that the intelligence level of Dublin`s criminal "gene-pool" must be fairly low when this crew would mount an attack on a day of National Protest when the City Centre has far more Gardai allocated to deal with the resultant disruption.

Yet again we see the ramping up effect here.....

A loaded shotgun this time,coupled of course,with the fact that its user is on-bail (Yawn!) in connection with another such robbery in South Leinster all contributes to yet more evidence that the current Bail arrangements are not working,at least for those who are NOT criminally inclined.

The usual oul codswallop of the trio of raiders all being
    well known
    to Gardai ensures that the Free Legal Aid scheme is about to be presented with yet another impressive drain in it`s (Our) resources.

Full marks to all the Gardai who responded in the manner described in the article,but my thoughts are with the Jeweller and his staff who will now face the glare of publicity and all that comes with it.

Forget "KimHawkins". That user is a well-known troll who re-regs constantly to bait the forum. Completely ignore any post of his.

I had Kim Hawkins "opinion" in mind...

*only my opinion*
    , as I read through this fairly comprehensive account of a day at Tralee`s (Legal) races.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/tales-of-axes-and-swords-as-two-tribes-go-to-war-1943979.html

Sounds like a major operation to steward this little bit of exhuberance,I wonder if any of the participants are paying enough Tax and PRSI to cover a wee bit of it..?