Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Byrne Ultimatum

• 14-09-2009 9:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭

I don't like Jason Byrne to begin with but my god this show is making me want to pull him out through my telly and kill him.

The jokes are tasteless and his stupid facial expressions aren't funny either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Thought the first round was good, but it's going downhill fast..
    They should at least make sure the token broad has a sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

Jason Byrne's attitude is just dyre, me thinks he's never watched a comedic gameshow in his live. And that guy to the far left is just not funny at all and should just shut up.

Bring back the panel i say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭kierank01

I think it will get very tired very quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Pablod

your man sitting beside PJ Gallagher is an idiot!! he's only making himself laugh with his rubbish jokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

it lasted 5 minutes here. pure shyte. he never was funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 alipackers

And whats worse is that after this monstrosity is a programme with that Baz idiot in it! Oh RTE what have we done to deserve this on a Monday night!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭kierank01

I missed the very start, but what is the story with the guy sitting on the floor in the front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 AnthonyK16

This is shamelessly trying to copy the Mock the week format but like so many other RTE comedy ventures is failing miserably.Is anyone else watching this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The set is awful. The panal is far more natural in it's delivery.

kierank01 wrote: »
    I missed the very start, but what is the story with the guy sitting on the floor in the front?

he's the band for the show....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gallagher looks in awe of the shite your man beside him's saying :pac:

This is more like 5 drunk 18-20 year olds in a gaff exchanging stupid stories than a television programme.

Watched it for about 5 minutes there. It's shocking cringeworthy. Literally had to switch off it was so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

Jasus it's fairly dire, I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt by sticking with it in the hopes it might improve, but what in gods name is rosanna davidson doing there other than proving to the nation that she's thick! She hasn't opened her gob in 15 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

This is the worst steaming, stinking piece of crap I have seen in a long time. Bloody hell, how did this get commissioned?

the highlight of the show so far is your man with the mini-piano :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Let's try and keep it to the one thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Who is the guy sitting beside PJ Gallagher?

Ah i can see the fornt page of the sun tomorrow "THEY SAID JESUS AND MICKEYS IN THE SAME SENTANCE"....

But in all fairness this stuff seems a bit unneccesarily vulgar.

It's come close to crossing the line a few times, especially with the tank into croke park joke.

It's too manic to watch tbh!

The multiple choice round is moronic, but moderately funny.

orla wrote: »
    Who is the guy sitting beside PJ Gallagher?

think its bernard something from a midlands radio show or something along those lines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Bring back colm and jim jim, so we can shoot them all together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Shooting stars it aint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I knew that I wouldnt like it, so I didnt watch it, thanks for confirming my suspicions.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i see rosanna davison was taught to read by homer simpson. and for those that don't get it, 'boy card reads good!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Bernard O'Shea from the i105 breakfast show.

That show makes Colm & JimJim look like comedy gold!!!

Pablod wrote: »
    he's the band for the show....lol

Better than Tubridy's band..
    Something very studenty about it alright, bet the two lad's friends (no doubt in Biotechnology) think that they are "mad" lads for doing the show.

They really need to script the shows to some extent. Mock the week give the guys the topics a few days before so they have stuff prepared but deliver it as if it is fresh and spontaneous.

Baz up next. Think I'll be f*cking the TV license through the Post Office window next chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Sweet mother of the divine sorrows, wut was that?

Sorry basquille didn't see a thread here before I started this one.

The funniest thing about the whole show was the guy on the piano.

PJ Gallagher has let me down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭bluemooner

the audience werent laughing either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Stevo11

Round 1 and the last round were hilarious!! The bit in between... bruuuutal..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 alipackers

Baz up next. Think I'll be f*cking the TV license through the Post Office window next chance.

How on earth did he ever get on tv, nevermind his own programme. His dad must be a "big cheese" down in Donnybrook or something

idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dunnie1982

How did that show get commissioned. Who is an charge of programming at RTE. The audience were in stitches laughing, were they playing father ted off camera for them, or just pumping nitrous oxide into the studio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭hacx

There's gonna be one hell of a stink kicked up about this tommorrow.. Should be fun.

Sorry basquille didn't see a thread here before I started this one.
    Your thread was first.. someone else started a thread after yours, which I merged.
    PJ Gallagher has let me down.
    To be fair, PJ Gallagher was never funny! :)

basquille wrote: »

To be fair, PJ Gallagher was never funny! :)

Some of his sketches have been funny.

I'm not a huge fan of comedians who laugh at their own jokes while telling the joke.

I'll probably get ropped into watching this again next week. Hopefully they're will be better guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Bloody hell that was dire. I have never found Jason Byrne funny and this show just confirmed it for me. What is it what him making all those stupid accents? He is woeful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Car crash TV.

Who the fcuk is that absolute toolbox beside Colin? he's the only one laughing at his jokes.

My god, just... appaling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Interview in todays Mirror(or Herald?). He said basically he's only interested in getting this on British Telly.Sounded a bit p';.'#d off that he wasnt given the UK version of Anonymos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

At least they all thought it was funny....

So awful editing. Shot after shot of PJ Gallagher and yer mad beside him in stitches. They might as well just have had canned laughter.

Rossanne Davidson set back the cause of Irish women 50 years. She was there purely as lads eye candy - nothing else to contribute.

Poor stuff all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 rainny

Absolute crap. Used to think Jason Byrne was 'kind of' funny but I was wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Crow71

ahh, to be fair pj gallagher is normally good. Off night perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

This, and Ryan Turdigy's family tree thing, makes me want to go postal on RTE.

What a shower of ****wits.

Nate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Wow. Just watched this tonight thinking it'd be a bit of fun (from the ad). Boy was I wrong! Tasteless jokes a gogo (I'm not being 'prissy' either, as I tend to lean towards the sick side meself) but they just seemed forced and there purely for shock value. I'm guessing that most of the laughter was dubbed in at the last minute too as every time the camera flicked on the audience there were at least half with furrowed brows and mouth agape.

Also is it fair to say that this show has made me embarrassed to be Irish? That poor fella John Bishop. I've been to his stand up and he comes across as a pretty decent guy. But I felt it was just a show of English bashing for the whole thing. I mean he does a bit in his show about him trying to shake off the "Great British" label.

I really hope this gets cancelled soon. Not even sure how it was aired in the first place! Scrapin the oul barrel are we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Jason Byrnes stand-up, and even Anonymous, can be very good at times, but what is wrong with this? I don 't get it. We're one of the funniest races on the planet and yet we can't nail a comedy template that's been done a million times before.. I'm genuinely confused.. And don 't go blaming RTE folks, they're not the ones trying with the funnies!!

You know, I think when we stop mimicing what they do in the UK and just go for it (Apres Match, Soupy Norman, Paths to Freedom) we can get it together, but this whole 'let's do a show based on Mock the Week, Have I got News for You and Shooting Stars' ain't working..

rainny wrote: »
    Absolute crap. Used to think Jason Byrne was 'kind of' funny but I was wrong...

"Hang on a minute...those are FAKE HANDS"

Thats about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,030 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I feel sorry for anyone who watched this.

Everything about it was horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

kierank01 wrote: »
    I think it will get very tired very quick.

It did. I watched it for 2 mins and turned it off.

A mickey with ears? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

BaZmO* wrote: »
    It did. I watched it for 2 mins and turned it off.

A mickey with ears? :rolleyes:

Didnt even last 2 minutes in my house...utter crap...Too many ego's in the same place at the same time spells this shyte.....