Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

another coke seizure

• 14-09-2009 10:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭

i've just seen this

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0914/drugs.html

3 million fooking euro.

calculated that if a gram costs e70, which i believe it does where I am anyway, that's 42,857 deals. add this to the other seizures recently, and that one in cork where the whole world's supply of marching powder was found.

why can't our government cop the fuck on, poison this shit and send it back out on the sly.

and get thousands of scumbags off our streets.

and free up thousands of jail spots, which cost e90k per cunt per year apparently (http://archives.tcm.ie/irishpost/2007/02/21/story5288.asp).

and reduce garda workload/overtime because deco and anto are brown bread.

and reduce waiting times and doctors' workloads in A+E because there aren't as many coke-fuelled assaults happening around the place.

how about instead of closing hospital wards, taxing the fcuk out of the common man, and bringing in fees that will stop half the country going to college, we poison a few scummy cunts that nobody really wants anyway. i'm sure that by killing a load of skags we can reduce such burdens.

i can't see an argument against it, we need to tighten our belts to get through these hard times, and any method of saving money must be considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

I could not agree more with you dogg!! Make pubs and clubs nice places again with have the skanks around gone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

if you poisoned the cocaine in ireland we'd have no professionals left in the country probably

Coke fueled assaults - what the hell are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

genericguy wrote: »
    i can't see an argument against it, we need to tighten our belts to get through these hard times, and any method of saving money must be considered.
    Alternatively, any method of making money must also be considered. Why don't the government sell the coke to the populace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

When I first saw the thread title, I thought you were complaining that you had a coke stroke or something.
    why can't our government cop the **** on, poison this **** and send it back out on the sly.

and free up thousands of jail spots, which cost e90k per **** per year apparently (http://archives.tcm.ie/irishpost/200.../story5288.asp).

and reduce waiting times and doctors' workloads in A+E because there aren't as many coke-fuelled assaults happening around the place.

how about instead of closing hospital wards, taxing the fcuk out of the common man, and bringing in fees that will stop half the country going to college, we poison a few scummy ***** that nobody really wants anyway. i'm sure that by killing a load of skags we can reduce such burdens.

Coke is very much the white collared middle class drug of choice. Although it has become more affordable for the working class in recent times. You'd probably wipe out half the doctors and nurses working in A&E if you poisoned the stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Coke is horrible. I don't see the fascination that people have with it.

Sure it makes you feel like Jesus but so does 3 litres of vodka

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

coke in ireland is probably about 10% pure anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Pighead wrote: »
    Alternatively, any method of making money must also be considered. Why don't the government sell the coke to the populace?

absolutely, but poison the stuff before that, to get rid of the people society doesn't need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

A fine excuse for Andrew Strong to buy the cheaper stuff again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

i've just seen this

3 million fooking euro.

calculated that if a gram costs e70, which i believe it does where I am anyway, that's 42,857 deals. add this to the other seizures recently, and that one in cork where the whole world's supply of marching powder was found.

why can't our government cop the fuck on, poison this shit and send it back out on the sly.

and free up thousands of jail spots, which cost e90k per cunt per year apparently (http://archives.tcm.ie/irishpost/2007/02/21/story5288.asp).

how about instead of closing hospital wards, taxing the fcuk out of the common man, and bringing in fees that will stop half the country going to college, we poison a few scummy cunts that nobody really wants anyway. i'm sure that by killing a load of skags we can reduce such burdens.

You stay the hell away from my cocaine, all yous all stay the hell away from my cocaine!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Where are you getting the idea that 'coke-fuelled assaults' are commonplace in the country? And do you not think that thousands of poisonings would place a bit of a strain on our A&E wards, which you admit are stretched as it is? Maybe think for a minute before you post again instead of spewing bile from your fingertips.

I guess the irony of frivolously labelling people as 'scumbags' while advocating genocide as a pragmatic solution to a problem that doesn't exist is lost on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

I have never heard of Governmenr sponsored mass murder as a method of getting rid of drug users.

The thousands of scumbags you wish death on will no doubt reduce the number of boardsies given the ambivolent attidude to drugs on this forum. Not all drugs are consumed by scumbags and no I don't use drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭ProjectColossus

That is one hell of a rant. You know what though, I agree. **** the lot of them. Half the professionals in the country dead someone says? Jobs for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Thats enough corpses to fill the new Aviva stadium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

That is one hell of a rant. You know what though, I agree. **** the lot of them. Half the professionals in the country dead someone says? Jobs for the rest of us.

Amen brother I never tried it and never will! Its very dirty how to people do it in pubs off toilet roll holders is beyond me!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I know a good few people that take coke regularly and they're not scumbags! They're people who work and dabble at the weekends....bit of a generalisation there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

renraw wrote: »
    I know a good few people that take coke regularly and they're not scumbags! They're people who work and dabble at the weekends....bit of a generalisation there....

Supporting the illegal trade in the drugs makes them 'a scumbag'. Giving money to Ireland's Drug lords make them scumbags. The industry they fund cause countless deaths across the globe.

Just because they wear nice clothes does not stop them from being scumbags.

Oh, bags vagina doctor! No wait pilot! Yes, no, definitely pilot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Supporting the illegal trade in the drugs makes them 'a scumbag'. Giving money to Ireland's Drug lords make them scumbags. The industry they fund cause countless deaths across the globe.

Well then surely buying clothes made in SE Asia sweatshops makes you a scumbag. Getting on any form of transport with rare metals mined in countries with no safety regulations leading to thousands of early deaths and misery for countless more makes you a scumbag. There's always a bigger picture.

Coke is horrible. I don't see the fascination that people have with it.

Sure it makes you feel like Jesus but so does 3 litres of vodka
    Thing is, half a gram of charlie leaves you in control of of your bladder and motor functions. That said, I'm not a fan. (Or more likely, I'm not a fan of persil, novocaine and ephedrine).

Just because they wear nice clothes does not stop them from being scumbags.

Please don't steer this towards another bi-weekly drugs legalisation debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

But so does the oil industry, the mining industry, agriculture, etc.

amacachi wrote: »
    Well then surely buying clothes made in SE Asia sweatshops makes you a scumbag. Getting on any form of transport with rare metals mined in countries with no safety regulations leading to thousands of early deaths and misery for countless more makes you a scumbag. There's always a bigger picture.

I see where you are coming from. But there is a big difference between coke use and the examples you outlined. Firstly the coke user is knowingly supporting the lives of Drug lords. I don't think many people go out of there way to deliberately buy goods produced by slave labour (although they may inadvertently do).

Secondly the coke user is engaging in serious criminal activity. That alone must cause us to question their moral judgement.

I don't like the term 'scumbag' and only used it to illustrate the point to the poster who initially used it.

To me the coke user is as complicit in the deaths of gang land drug feuds (and other drug related violence) as the funders of the IRA were in the deaths during the troubles. The real kicker for me though is that coke use funds the lifestyle of our top criminals. I do not think it is acceptable give money to people like John Gilligan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

To me the coke user is as complict in the deaths of gang land drug feuds (and other drug related voilence). The real kicker for me is that coke use funds the lifestyle of our top criminals.

What would you say to someone who know this fully and accepts it yet is indifferent towards it

I see where you are coming from. But there is a big difference between coke use and the examples you outlined. Firstly the coke user is knowingly supporting the lives of Drug lords. I don't think many people go out of there way to deliberately buy goods produced by slave labour (although they may inadvertently do).
    Not really, everybody just chooses to ignore the fact that there's no way that €3 tshirt could be made by high paid European workers. People do go out of their way to find the cheapest clothing so are actively seeking out clothes made in places where workers are treated like animals.
    Secondly the coke user is engaging in serious criminal activity. That alone must cause us to question their moral judgement.
    Serious? The only danger you'll encounter when buying drugs is the guards. Your just buying into this media outrage and propaganda. Those thugs that go around killing each other are using drugs money to fuel their violence but they simply hate each other, it's not really the drugs that made them hate each other it's a long running feud.

c0rk3r wrote: »
    What would you say to someone who know this fully and accepts it yet is indifferent towards it

I'm not sure I understand. Are you asking me what I would say to some who accepted my argument that drug use fuels the lifestyles of Ireland's criminals?

I would probably tell them that. If they chose to be indifferent about that than that’s their choice. I wouldn't choose to be friends with some one like that though. In the same way I would not be friends with some who was giving money to Taliban.

Are you asking me what I would say to some who accepted my argument that drug use fuels the lifestyles of Ireland's criminals?

Yes that's what I'm saying. There is no point snorting self deception and smoke illusions like scumlord is trying to do. People know the damage they are doing, where the money is going and what manner that money is funding. Why deny it. It is what it is and they accept it. I doubt they care if you dont wish to be friends or associate with them, there are plenty of other people that will.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Not really, everybody just chooses to ignore the fact that there's no way that €3 tshirt could be made by high paid European workers. People do go out of their way to find the cheapest clothing so are actively seeking out clothes made in places where workers are treated like animals.

I disagree. There is nothing to suggest that expensive clothes could not also have been made in sweat shops. The retail price for a product in Ireland does not always reflect the condition in which the product was produced in Asia. The greatest determinant of price here is the mark-up and distrucbiton cost, not the manufacturing cost.

I would agree with you that most of us turn deliberately turns a blind eye to slave labour/sweat shops in SE Asia. Hopefully an awareness similar to the Fairtrade coffee movement can develop.

In any case, I think that issue absolves drugs users from their participation in the drugs industry.
    Serious? The only danger you'll encounter when buying drugs is the guards. Your just buying into this media outrage and propaganda. Those thugs that go around killing each other are using drugs money to fuel their violence but they simply hate each other, it's not really the drugs that made them hate each other it's a long running feud.

What was the feud over? Most drug feuds are over money. Drug money. The prospect of Drugs money leads many in our society to a life of crime and violence. I think many drugs users choose to miss the link between their choices and supporting criminality.

To be honest I'd have a bigger problem associating with people who are ignorant of how the world works and hold double standards in regards to issues like this.

I doubt they care if you dont wish to be friends or associate with them, there are plenty of other people that will.

No, they won't lose much sleep over it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Yes, because everyone who does coke deserves to die :rolleyes:.

And i suppose you've never done anything naughty ever?
    Perhaps you should stop being so judgemental.

Besides......what sort of idiot politician would poisin themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I take Coke occasionally and I don't consider myself a scumbag, or useless to society.

I'm 25 years old and I work in a very productive job where I am liked and respected by my colleagues.
    Every day I solve new problems and use the knowledge my university degree gave me.
    I work quite hard to make sure my career keeps progressing and to pay for the mortgage on the house I bought two years ago.
    I generally (with a few obvious exceptions) lead a law abiding life.

I don't overdo it at the weekends and start/get involved in fights.
    I've never physically hurt somebody except in self defence.
    I don't steal.

There are quite a few people out there who are very productive and useful members of society who use various drugs for various reasons.

Just because every now and again they might have a wild party with some friends and make a decision that they want to take some Coke, or Pills, or Weed, Or MDMA or Vitamin B12 or whatever does not make them a useless scumbag.

Some people seriously need to realise that here are thinner brushes.

Wazdakka wrote: »
    I take Coke occasionally and I don't consider myself a scumbag, or useless to society.

I'm 25 years old and I work in a very productive job where I am liked and respected by my colleagues.
    Every day I solve new problems and use the knowledge my university degree gave me.
    I work quite hard to make sure my career keeps progressing and to pay for the mortgage on the house I bought two years ago.
    I generally (with a few obvious exceptions) lead a law abiding life.

I don't overdo it at the weekends and start/get involved in fights.
    I've never physically hurt somebody except in self defence.
    I don't steal.

There are quite a few people out there who are very productive and useful members of society who use various drugs for various reasons.

Just because every now and again they might have a wild party with some friends and make a decision that they want to take some Coke, or Pills, or Weed, Or MDMA or Vitamin B12 or whatever does not make them a useless scumbag.

Some people seriously need to realise that here are thinner brushes.
    Thing is, I don't think people like the OP realise they interact with normal recreational drug users on a daily basis, and probably like and even respect quite a few. They think they can recognise them on sight from their sunken cheeks and the horns growing out of their heads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

i've just seen this

3 million fooking euro.

Ahhhhh dont be wreckin me buzz

What was the feud over? Most drug feuds are over money. Drug money. The prospect of Drugs money leads many in our society to a life of crime and violence. I think many drugs users choose to miss the link between their choices and supporting criminality.
    The feuds began before drug use became popular in Ireland and the feud would probably continue even if drugs where legalised, they'd just lose their income and have to turn to other ways to fuel their hatred for each other.

Drugs don't cause the problem, that's a fact, the legality of drugs is the source of the problem. I can think of only one drug that really turns people violent regularly and that's alcohol. People who think coke turns you into a violent psychopath don't know what their talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Cocaine users fund groups like terrorist organisations like FARC.
    Heroin users fund groups like the Taliban and Al Qaeda.

All these drugs go way beyond murdering drug gangs in Ireland, drug users are most likely the biggest funders of terrorism in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

i've just seen this

3 million fooking euro.

DO we have any idea what the weight was? The weight versus the actual worth never matches up.

Min wrote: »
    Cocaine users fund groups like terrorist organisations like FARC.
    Heroin users fund groups like the Taliban and Al Qaeda.

All these drugs go way beyond murdering drug gangs in Ireland, drug users are most likely the biggest funders of terrorism in the world.

One man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Since the recession started, the only thing that I had to give up, simply because I can't afford any more, is coke:(

Are you happy to fund theses freedom fighters ? Because if you are you must agree with their methods and actions ? right? Dont tell me your into the whole denial, self-deceit of the situation. You do know when you buy the drugs where the money goes and the harm that goes with it? right? What do you think about that. Tell me you accept it otherwise your a fraud

Wazdakka wrote: »
    One man's terrorist is another man's freedom fighter.

Tell that to the families of innocent people killed by FARC in car bombs in Colombia or to the survivors of AQ terrorism.......

People cannot simply remove themselves from these violent acts when they choose to fund them through the purchase of harmful illegal drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

I think what is needed here is some kind of Fair Trade cocaine (tm) organisation, buying directly from farmers in some of the poorest countries of the world. This way it would take power out of the hands of the drug lords and help stimulate the local economy of these poor farmers, helping to ensure a brighter future for their children. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Are you happy to fund theses freedom fighters ? Because if you are you must agree with their methods and actions ? right? Dont tell me your into the whole denial, self-deceit of the situation. You do know when you buy the drugs where the money goes and the harm that goes with it? right? What do you think about that. Tell me you accept it otherwise your a fraud

do you know when you buy a mobile phone,an essential opponent (and other electronic consumer products) of which is coltan, 2 thirds of the worlds supplies of which are in the congo? do you know that wars are being fought for control of coltan mines and that funds from those supplies are perpetuating the wars and that people are dying,being maimed and women being raped so that you can use your mobile phone?
    What do you think about that?

gonna throw away your mobile now?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coltan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

And just like Che, any of those mother****ers could end up on a t-shirt, espoused by clueless ***** as a hero.

It's a funny world mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Yeah, that would work alright,

Cocaine isnt exactly a drug for the lower classes is it?

Decriminalising it would do far more to alleviate the strain on the prison system dont you think?

alcohol?

How about legalising it and (to quote) taxing the fcuk out of the common man?

Yes, look at the revenue the government gets off taxing the socially acceptable drugs.

wudangclan wrote: »
    do you know when you buy a mobile phone,an essential opponent (and other electronic consumer products) of which is coltan, 90% of the worlds supplies of which are in the congo? do you know that wars are being fought for control of coltan mines and that funds from those supplies are perpetuating the wars and that people are dying,being maimed and women being raped so that you can use your mobile phone?

No I accept it. This is the reality of the situation why would i deny it

well then i'm glad you're keeping it real ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

do you know when you buy a mobile phone,an essential opponent (and other electronic consumer products) of which is coltan, 90% of the worlds supplies of which are in the congo? do you know that wars are being fought for control of coltan mines and that funds from those supplies are perpetuating the wars and that people are dying,being maimed and women being raped so that you can use your mobile phone?

Exactly, nice post. Most of the clueless ***** giving out about the illegal, socially acceptable drugs, would be the type of stupid **** who would try to impress their other-half with diamonds... but conflict diamonds arent for this discussion. Diamonds are legal you see. There are billboards sporting images of them.

Don't you mean tantalum which can also be got elsewhere apart from the Congo.

We know the effects of greed is the biggest killer on the planet....

You do know when you buy the drugs where the money goes and the harm that goes with it? right? What do you think about that.

I do not necessarily condone the actions of who ever is at the top of whatever drugs pyramid that I'm at the bottom rung of but I don't think that my small amount of money makes a difference one way or another.

I'm not deluded enough to think that by me deliberately not purchasing anything illegal or manufactured at the expense of others will stop the practices.

That's like being a vegetarian because you don't agree with killing animals for food.
    Fair enough if that is your choice, but it's not going to stop or in any way impact the process happening.

If there was an alternative source available that I could be sure was not funding such organisations, I would use it.

I'm just glad I'm not an American tbh.

My apparently flexible morals can take my €70 once every two months (that maybe €15 makes it to source) helping to fund a "terrorist" organisation to do whatever they do..

But I couldn't justify funding the largest group of arms sellers, drugs smugglers, murderers, and global oppressors from my taxes.

Maybe I'm just on a ranty argumentative buzz today or something,
    But I honestly think that if a person buying occasional drugs for recreational purposes is the worst thing they do in life its not that bad..
    Tell me you accept it otherwise your a fraud
    Tell me you own a purple hair-dryer otherwise you are obsessed by midget porn...

Min wrote: »
    Don't you mean tantalum which can also be got elsewhere apart from the Congo.

We know the effects of greed is the biggest killer on the planet....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coltan

Exactly, nice post. Most of the clueless ***** giving out about the illegal, socially acceptable drugs, would be the type of stupid **** who would try to impress their other-half with diamonds... but conflict diamonds arent for this discussion. Diamonds are legal you see. There are billboards sporting images of them.

How many people every year go to a rehabilitation centre for diamond addiction?