If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
History videos and photos
-
walrusgumble wrote: »the forgotten ten
this is a documentary abut kevin barry and 9 other men who where executed during the war of independence and buried in mountjoy. as many will remember, their bodies were only removed from the jail 5 years ago.
this documentary looks at the hardship their families had to endure in order to get their bodies out of the jail. clearly, as sign of the times and shifting attitudes towards 1916-1922 in light of the government's preoccupation with the peace process.
members of the 6th btn 4th western brigade (athlone barracks) got the honour of acting as pallbearers from their original plot to the cars (other brigades were involved of course) i knew some of the lads. very proud day for them. i also remember the f*ckers in the Indo who had the gall to write sheer lies. (it was round this time i woke up to the notion of revisionists - i was only in my early teens then)
Part 1
www.youtube.com
Part 2
www.youtube.com
Part 3
www.youtube.com
Part 4
www.youtube.com
Part 5
www.youtube.com
Part 6
www.youtube.com
Part 7
www.youtube.com
Part 8
www.youtube.com
" i also remember the f*ckers in the Indo who had the gall to write sheer lies. " What roughly did they say ? Guessing I'd say that tries to belittle it and say that the money could be spent on something better etc though I believe 20,000 or more people turned up to watch it. Now if it was a ceremony for dead british soldiers the Indounionist would be all praise for it :mad: I don't know why anyone buys that toilet paper, nice to see Sir O'Reilly in major financial trouble with it though0 -
McArmalite wrote: »" i also remember the f*ckers in the Indo who had the gall to write sheer lies. " What roughly did they say ? Guessing I'd say that tries to belittle it and say that the money could be spent on something better etc though I believe 20,000 or more people turned up to watch it. Now if it was a ceremony for dead british soldiers the Indounionist would be all praise for it :mad: I don't know why anyone buys that toilet paper, nice to see Sir O'Reilly in major financial trouble with it though
Note when the Indo & the Irish Times wrote articles on this issue, it was shortly after 9/11, so the lazy or people with agendas tried to match 1916-1922 period with problems in the north. nothing new there.
The first Exhibit from the Indo by Willie Dillion "patriot or terrorist",dated 29th Sep 2001 (note the tones and assumptions made such as they ...."took such murderous attacks in their stride"
http://www.independent.ie/unsorted/features/kevin-barry-patriot-or-terrorist-334194.html
The Second is from Fintan "know it all" O'Toole (no surprise there eh?)published in the irish times. it is called "A grotesque denial of bloodshed". he was concerned that it would effect the situation in the north.at the time, garda mccabe's killers were seeking release.when was the FARC incident in Coloumbia? i tried to get a link to the times web in relation to the actaual text of the piece but that costs.the first link is to his radio interview on morning ireland in the aftermath of his comment. The second link is from the sunday business post in response to myarse and fintan
http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/1012/morningireland.html
http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2001/10/07/story786915828.asp
see paragraph 3 in relation to the next link
http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/fac/soc/law/elj/lgd/2003_1/hanafin/
(i will hunt down that article)
http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2001/10/14/story656034828.asp
and then there is kevin myarse
the first taken liberally from indymedia
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/78150
the next is written on 7/10 for, shock horror, the english daily telegraph
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/4266171/Ireland-celebrates-its-murderous-dead.html
next a piece from alan ruddock of the indo
http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/bury-terrorism-along-with-kevin-barry-510805.html
Harris of course was well in on this too. he had an article in the sunday indo on 21.10.2001. i will try and retrieve it
anyway you get the picture. its a small bit unfair to put these men into the same context as the troubles (and that was an unfortunate situation, which both jurisdictions did little to sort out, ie haughey whether it was arms trial or spouting out for political gains that ni was a politcal failure then doing nothing) some of the men hanged did not / barely even fired a shot in anger
look, there are some people who genuinely dispise war and violence and are ashamed of what has gone on throughout irish history.but the reality is that there was a war and like it or not, war is barbaric and brutal etc. it is of huge double standards to belittle people who fought for their country to attempt for the immidate removal of another country's domination and then declare why we should remember that country's (in fairness valiant efforts) contribution during say ww1 when our own country had to put up with their elected parliament being banned and discredited as pro german (by lies and forgery). i understand the temptation of seeing that the troubles and the 1916-1921 is extrinctly linked. but the media can't have it both ways. look at gerry adams ambush during his first rte appearance. he tired to make some link to 1916-1921 and the troubles and gay byrne immediately dismissed it (head down) as being completely different.
actually, come to think of it, maybe a good idea is for a thread to analysis various media, writters,opinions, etc about various historical events in ireland be it 1916, tan war, social issues like church v state, condoms, abortion etc. then we can see if they were honest held opinions or people setting their own agenda's? links to articles would be fairly easy to get. it could be split into different categories dealing with theme and again split into different categories marking the author of the pieces.
the purpose, not to witch hunt, but to be informative. to see what media said then and later, to see revionism or geniune beliefs (that could not be spouted years ago) in cold light. would it be worth it? would people contribute? or would one likely face slander/libel and turn such a thread into degeneration? or are people some may strongly disagree with, best not mentioned?0 -
I was going to post this in the 1916 movie thread, but its porobably more relevant here. While its by no means a classic, it is a decent enough portrayal of Anne Devlin. A remarkable and courageous woman. Enjoy!
0 -
based on a number of excellent books with pay detail attention to the intelligence war during the 1921-1922 period, this is RTE's documentary/drama get Collins. Some of the dialogue comes from diaries and interviews of those involved.look at the remarks made at the end by the person who plays David Neligan.Sad, but it gives an idea on how and why people took the sides they did in the civil war. remember Ned Broy?, one of collins' main men in the castle, who later became a Garda Commissioner, like Neligan,but had no problem serving during Dev's FF and setting up the feared Special Branch - "Broy's Harriers". A number of historians (people interviewed here, wrote on the Squad - Foy being one) have showed, as many know, how close the British nearly smashed the Squad. Strange how an Irish man, (Dev) managed to do it in a few days with the Custom House Raid Anyway...
Part 1
http://www.youtube.com
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
http://www.youtube.com0 -
This is a documentary from BBC's Panorama in relation to British State (Brian Nelson - Stevens Enquiry/Report) Collusion in the North. - "A Licence To Murder".
Of course some might deny allegations et, but strictly from a human perspective irrespective of one's back ground or political beliefs, victims here tell their stories, many are notable, in particular in relation to the Pat Finuance
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
UTV/ITV Counterpoint (1996ish-around Jim Smith's Extradition case) entitled "Unlocking The Maze" - The Escape/Break Out of the Maze Prison. The point really here for posting this, is the comparisons of the stories of the veteran's of 1919-1923 who went on the run or were carrying out ASU activities
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
A more recent documentary on the Maze Escape entitled "Breakout" - a little bit more detail-difference here,a former prisoner officer takes part
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
-
Hope you don't mind walrus but I've edited your posts a little to stop them stretching the screen. I've also stickied this thread, some very nice contributions from people here. /Powertripping mod.0
-
brianthebard wrote: »Hope you don't mind walrus but I've edited your posts a little to stop them stretching the screen. I've also stickied this thread, some very nice contributions from people here. /Powertripping mod.
no problem. do what you have to do to make this a top thread.
Some might note my posts seem a little narrow topic wise. I don't intend that to be. It would be great, in my opinion, if we can get some stuff on
world war 1&2
Irish diaspora
church v state
social documentaries in relation to Ireland (or even the world itself) 1940's to present (history class in secndary school only made briefish remarks)
stuff on Eastern Europe and cold war era would be great0 -
The most shameful period of Irish History, the Civil War
This is an RTE documentary on the Irish Civil War, entitled "The Madness Within". If one has not done so already, check out Michael Hopkins' excellent book "Green Against Green". It would be some coup to get the RTE drama "The Treaty" (assuming it would be allowed - copyright etc) on here.That film was very interesting where it showed the in fighting between the Irish team
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Ballyseedy Massacre in Kerry.1923 Reprisal & Cover Up. RTE 1997ish
Key figures such as Paddy O'Daly from Collin's Squad Fame & David Neligan "Spy in the Castle" don't come out well.(In Earnie O'Malley's papers, O'Malley expressed doubts about Neligan's involvement). Incidents like this, make the Tan War look like a walk in the park, intensity wise.
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
John Ford's The Informer 1935. i don't think its the complete version
Part 1
Part2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
-
Someone posted a link in politics to this website; http://freedocumentaries.org/index.php
I don't know the names of any documentaries but I'm sure some people here will be able to make use of it if they so wish.0 -
It will keep Me occupied for hours!I have just found it and intend to watch every video,cheers guys:) This is Lynch's infamous 'adress to the nation'on the 13th of Aug 1969:0
-
try not to get scared - here now is the "lover" on EU, Socialism, Falklands & er, the North, Margaret Thatcher:eek:
The Rise of the Witch
On Socialism & European Single Currency
No No No! - Europe & EMU
The Bruges Speech
Getting hammered by a housewife in relation to the Falklands
"The Lady's Not For Turning" 1981 - re trade unions
In response to Brighton Bombing
http://www.youtube.com[youtubehXTJ6g3no5M[/youtube]
Anglo Irish - Hillsborough Agreement
Her Legacy/Infection
Freedom & Belin Wall
The day the windbag resigned
Robin Cooke speech in 1996 over Scott Report on the arms-to-Iraq scandal in the Commons.
www.youtube.com
Robin Cooke's Resignation Speech - Few moments in the Commons where a Member got a standing ovation, still when the vote came (Iraq), the rest of the MP's seem to have forgot what he had said....... he died very shortly after this, didn't he? blair didn't even go to his funeral?:(
Speech 1
www.youtube.com
Speech 2
www.youtube.com
Pitty Irish TV don't televise Dáil & Seanad Sessions as extensively as say BBC, or at least put the Oireachtas Report on at a better time than late on a Sunday night, look at BBC, who dedicate Sunday morning to political programmes0 -
A set of Interviews / Documentary in relation to former loyalist prisoners of the Maze during the Hunger Strike of 1981. Some interesting contributions. One notable contributor is the late David Irvine. It was made in the eve of the 25th Anniversary of the strikes
a TG4 production in relation to the Hunger Strike in 1981, a set of interviews from those involved pre and post strikes
A British TV Documentary on The Birmingham Six
I would like to put this up.Its the famous Pee Flynn interview on the Late Late Show in 1999. It is signifant in the sense that it woke people up to the Haughey regime. "A class Act". Telling Gay that that Tom Kilmartin that he & his wife is not well.This was a boiling point for Kilmartin who, as some suggest, made or made him determined to give evidence at the Tribunals. Oh, ye, his view on his daughter. This, sadly is part of Irish History. Oh yeah, Pee then trying to be honest and upfront.... you "should try it sometime":rolleyes:
Is there anything significant to this type of interview, say in another country? How many other politicans are capable of completely alienating themselves in the manner Pee Flynn did here?0 -
A little piece on the history and heritage of Clonmel:
0 -
Famine / immigration related post
The first clip is produced by Pathe films in 1905.Apparently,that brought attention to famine in Ireland in that year. The film has been altered and is used to draw similarities to the early famine of 1846-50. Just ignore the music in the background and heads asking questions.
This is a clip of Irish Immigrants arriving at Ellis Island, i think in 1906
-
Radharc's docementary "When Ireland Starved" presented by Peter Kelly
The Cause of Poverty
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
The Irish Holocaust
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Managing The Famine
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Exodus
Part 10
Part 11
Part 12
Footage of Irish Solidiers during WW1
Footage from the battle of The Somme (ignore the music & quotes)
Trench warfare WW1 in colour (ignore the music)
Can anyone get links to full length documentaries on the Irish in World War 1?, like RTE's documentary on the Connaught Rangers and their mutiny in India. I think it was called shot at dawn0
-
RTÉ Hidden History of Frank Aiken
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
The Limerick Soviet 1919 (will edit this when i get the rest of the documentary- feel free to post the rest of it, if you have it)
it's not every day a true legend comes to ireland or at least on irish tv - the famous muhammad ali interview. a true character.
part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
John F Kennedy Related videos
His Inaugurial Speech in 1961
www.youtube.com
His Speech in relation to Choosing to go the Moon
www.youtube.com
The Cuban Crisis (note the change of the recording of his voice)
Kennedy in The Dáil Part 1
www.youtube.com
JFK in The Dáil Part 2
www.youtube.com
JFK in Wexford
JFK in Shannon
www.youtube.com
The Assassination Tape
www.youtube.com
Destroying the Single Bullet Theory Part 1
www.youtube.com
Destroying the Single Bullet Theory Part 2
Destroying the Single Bullet Theory Part 3
Destroying the Single Bullet Theory Part 4
Destroying the Single Bullet Theory Part 5
ABC 2003 programme
As part of our history special methodology lectures in the PGDE in UCD we had a guy named Stephen Tonge in yesterday giving us a talk about online history resources. This was his second visit and he gave us a huge number of online video and audio resources covering things from Russian to German to Irish history. It was easily the most useful methodology class of the year.
One of the resources was the RTÉ Archives site which seems to have an enormous selection of video and audio clips relating to the outbreak of the troubles. He said the scene from 5 October 1968 where an RUC guy, unaware of a camera on him, wallops a Civil Rights marcher was particularly infamous. They all can be found here: http://www.rte.ie/laweb/ll/ll_t11c.html
However, I cannot get the QuickTime program, which is used to play all of the clips, to work properly. I really want to check some of the stuff he was talking about. I keep getting "461 - Unsupported Transport". This happens on Chrome & Explorer. I uninstalled and reinstalled QuickTime to no avail. Would anybody know how I could solve this issue? Thanks.0 -
As part of our history special methodology lectures in the PGDE in UCD we had a guy named Stephen Tonge in yesterday giving us a talk about online history resources. This was his second visit and he gave us a huge number of online video and audio resources covering things from Russian to German to Irish history. It was easily the most useful methodology class of the year.
One of the resources was the RTÉ Archives site which seems to have an enormous selection of video and audio clips relating to the outbreak of the troubles. He said the scene from 5 October 1968 where an RUC guy, unaware of a camera on him, wallops a Civil Rights marcher was particularly infamous. They all can be found here: http://www.rte.ie/laweb/ll/ll_t11c.html
However, I cannot get the QuickTime program, which is used to play all of the clips, to work properly. I really want to check some of the stuff he was talking about. I keep getting "461 - Unsupported Transport". This happens on Chrome & Explorer. I uninstalled and reinstalled QuickTime to no avail. Would anybody know how I could solve this issue? Thanks.
Ye that site is fiercely annoying. RTÉ is a treaure trove. It would certaintly make the licence fee even more valubale if it was more accessible. Use to be able to see it , like yourself, bang, gone. Most of the sources I use is Youtube, but that sometimes tends to get fecked over with certain politicss and music, annoying, let the clips do the talking.
Anyone got links to documentries on Irish matters that are not covered already
eg - social changes of the 1930-1990's
role of Ireland in he UN - eg the army and garda in the leb0 -
-
Sorry, should have posted about Jim Connolly Heron showing Enda Kenny around the battlefield site between the GPO and Moore Street today here. Here are the links:
Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bqJ70VeTZmQ
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reLOYROPC8Q
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fV3NqR5DAx00