Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cops made me late for work

• 11-09-2009 9:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 28

The cops stopped my bus for ages this morning so about 50 rich people could drive by in nice cars for some "Gumball Ireland" money flauting thing.

I don't pay the cops to disrupt my day to let rich people by.

Maybe im over reacting but i thought it was disgusting and makes me lose even more faith in this failing state. I wouldn't mind but they would have got by us if they had just waited for the traffic lights anyway!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

That circus is heading my way :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭MaceFace

The cops stopped my bus for ages this morning so about 50 rich people could drive by in nice cars for some "Gumball Ireland" money flauting thing.

Maybe im over reacting but i thought it was disgusting and makes me lose even more faith in this failing state. I wouldn't mind but they would have got by us if they had just waited for the traffic lights anyway!

Dublin City Council make me late everyday for closing off half the road space so lucky people who have the luxury of public transport can whiz by :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

Ah! you see just because you pay them, like politicians, civil servants etc, doesn't mean you control them. That is done by the friends and associates of those rich people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I'm also delayed like MaceFace when I use my car because half the road space isn't available to me because of bloody poor people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

It's a charity event. We have public events on our streets all year round that require temporary road closures and so on. I think you might want to braoden your horizons as to what living in a civil society is. I'm not a sports fan but I wouldn't be complaining if I lived in Kilkenny and the city centre gets closed down for a few hours for the homecoming.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

BrianD wrote: »
    It's a charity event. We have public events on our streets all year round that require temporary road closures and so on. I think you might want to braoden your horizons as to what living in a civil society is. I'm not a sports fan but I wouldn't be complaining if I lived in Kilkenny and the city centre gets closed down for a few hours for the homecoming.

+1. if this was a regular occurence, then yes, fair enough to be annoyed. If the gumball was treated like 'normal traffic' people would not do it. Thus, charities missing out.

OP how long were you stopped fir? I normally get stck behind buses who are pulled in and I can't overtake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭rgfuller

It looks to be in aid of Barretstown http://www.cannonball.ie/home.html
    Seems a fine idea to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

It was for charity cool down dude!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Freethinker

Oh, sorry i didnt realise it was for charity. Yikes, came across as a right [EMAIL="b@stard"]b@stard[/EMAIL] there then!

Your ok!! I do be like a bull if someone makes me late for work!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Freethinker

It was the eating i got when i finally made it in that put me in foul humour!! no more whinging posts from me thats for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

The Garda management take the view that these type of events are far better being escorted out of the city rather thanhave them taking off one at a time and some clown among them playing catch up and jumping red lights. This way the Gardai control their driving in the city.

Don't worry, I doubt they will last the 3 days without some penalty points being dished out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Hang on though..... The OP has a point.

This "its for charity" isnt a carte blanche to tie the road network up in knots.

What was wrong with these participants using the roads as normal?
    They arent cyclists or runners.
    No they are just cars. & there isnt a vast amount of them either.

The "its for charity" arguement didnt stop the OP getting giving out to when he got into work.

If a bunch of 911 owners want to caper around the country for charity, let them do so, but with the rest of normal traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Freethinker hates sick children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Freethinker hates sick children.
    Oh, sorry i didnt realise it was for charity. Yikes, came across as a right b@stard there then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

its for 'charidee', no no it really is loads of rich people showing off

Hang on though..... The OP has a point.

This "its for charity" isnt a carte blanche to tie the road network up in knots.

What was wrong with these participants using the roads as normal?
    They arent cyclists or runners.
    No they are just cars. & there isnt a vast amount of them either.

The "its for charity" arguement didnt stop the OP getting giving out to when he got into work.

If a bunch of 911 owners want to caper around the country for charity, let them do so, but with the rest of normal traffic.

I don't believe he has a point and its very short sighted and selfish attitude to adopt. It is a legitmate and valid use of the roads. We live in a community and there are plenty of events that need Garda escorts or temporary road closures from road races (running) right through to the taxi events. It's hardly an inconvenience and if so a short one. This particular event would only need a escort to get them off from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭bauderline

its for 'charidee', no no it really is loads of rich people showing off

Not you again... you whinged on about the M3 for ages didn't you ? I guess you are eating tarmac on that one !

Personally if its for charity and ESPECIALLY for a childrens charity I don't care if they strap dildo's to their heads and run buck naked through dublin city center at peak time five days a week, if it raises money, especially a decent amount, then its a good thing, period !

I believe they coughed up 500 euro each to enter the event. In the current economic climate it is only a good thing that those that are well off will put their hands in their pocket for this sort of thing, if farting around in their cars is the reciprocity they want.. so be it... who cares !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭HerbSimpson

Like all those crappy celebrity reality shows, tag on the "charity" tag and it has to be immune from criticism. Like all those people who go hiking in the Alps etc and expect you to fund it with contributions because it for "charity".

No, you're missing the point. It's not immune from criticism - it may be a good or bad way of raising money and there may be better or worse ways. The fact is that it was a public event for charity and therefore the use of a Garda escort to allow this cavalcade move through traffic was not a misuse of resources in favour of wealthy car owners. No more than Gardai holding up traffic to allow a student bed push start off etc.

As it happens it wasn't all flash expensive cars and a few of them belonged to garages as opposed to drivers. There were a lot of expensive cars bought during the Celtic Tiger years and if car enthusiasts wanted indulge themselves with a high performance car then fair play to them. Wouldn't fancy the repayments myself nowadays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,544 ✭✭✭sk8board

Have to say my 10 yo was beside himself today watching the Gumball (as was I), seeing all these exotic cars collected in one place. Great idea. Its not the cross-US or cross-EU 150mph rally that most associate the gumball with, thats just showing off and writing off great cars

this was a good idea and well worth it. begrudgery is a bitter life-long pill (except for those who win the lotto, who then buy these cars)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

While I think the idea is good they should have started the event at 11am on friday to avoid causing disruption to people going to their workplace at rush hour. It could also have started on a saturday at 9am if that was important to the event, I'd imagine a saturday start would have got much more people interested in the event.

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    While I think the idea is good they should have started the event at 11am on friday to avoid causing disruption to people going to their workplace at rush hour. It could also have started on a saturday at 9am if that was important to the event, I'd imagine a saturday start would have got much more people interested in the event.

Saturday would have been much better ! Most people off work and no traffic!!!