Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Third date .. any exciting ideas for one out of dating game for ages??

• 10-09-2009 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

OK .. met girl online..we're both separated and early 40s (young early 40s LOL)

Fisrt meet .. coffees to see do we like each other..we do..second date..cinema followed by soft drink in a too loud pub (twas all we could find that was open...)

So I like her..she clearly likes me...3rd date agreed...but any nice ideas...we're in Dublin and neither of us big drinkers...could be weekend afternoon or night...really want us to have some fun... help..been out of dating game for a while...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

right, so admittedly im smashed as im writig this,

but isnt this weekend ment to be one of the nicest weather we get all year?

feck the evenings, ask her to meet up on saturday day and take her to dublin zoo followed by a picnic/walk through phoenix park.

It isnt expensive,
    the animals are brilliant
    the weather is good.

You get to do something different and get educated ( :pac: )
    Its not expensive, tener in or some lark
    and if you find the crowds to hard in zoo to talk intimately or whatever, you have the walk or picnic after to really enjoy eachothers company,
    Zoo is a great date!

if you stuck as to how to get there, the number 10 bus from cty centre has its last stop right beside enterance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

IMMA in Kilmainham hospital is always lovely and you dont even need to like art and its got a nice coffee shop.Great ambience.

Plenty of early bird menus going . Combine nice weather and food Bloody Stream in Howth and a walk on the piers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Colonel_McCoy

go for something to eat, walk on the beach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭ladygirl

Hey, im not from dublin so dont know if would be as nice/good up there, but curraheen park greyhound stadium in cork is a fantastic night out,,, now i have no interest in greyhound racing whatsoever but i can say that me and my bf went out there and i loved it,,, you could go for a meal in the restaurant and the racing breaks up the formality of a meal and is good craic too.. after the races then the band comes on,, (dont know if its the same set up in dublin but i would presume it is)

other than that id say the zoo is a pretty good idea... :)

good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

ladygirl wrote: »
    other than that id say the zoo is a pretty good idea... :)

good luck

Not sure about the zoo idea - the vast number of sprogs would put me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭VaioCruiser

a) take her to Powerscourt waterfall. Very romantic. Take a rug to sit on and a snack/picnic.

b) Take her to the upstairs lounge in the Westin Hotel on Westmoreland Street. It is SO classy and impressive.

All the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

What about a walk in Dun Laoghaire and lunch/dinner in a little cafe there? Start at the pier and work your way up towards Sandycove. Cavistons is good for seafood but might be a bit pricey and it's a good idea to book in advance. Anyway, make the most of the fine weather.

Would you mind letting us know the name of the site where ye met? I'm in the late 30s/early 40s age group myself and am looking for a good dating site where I can find honest chaps. Thanks.

Good luck with the third date :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

SarahSassy wrote: »
    Not sure about the zoo idea - the vast number of sprogs would put me off.

ha, i dont remember posting my original suggestion for it!

you're right do, the zoo can be full of children, but i went there with my gf a while ago, and it was surprisingly fine!

If it get to much we could of just headed off to the Africa section, its huge, good way to get away from them.

Id avoid the tours do... now they are full of kids!

anyway, best of luck OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Peggypeg

Go to Howth, nice walk around the pier and then some fish and chips. Although give her a heads up about the walking as she might be planning on wearing heels.