Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Accum For 09 - 10

• 09-09-2009 11:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭

A Friend of mine does a big accum every year and two years ago he took one bookies for 10000.. He came so close last year .This was his bet which he placed just before christmas ,300 accum on Kauto Star to win the king george @2/1, Man Utd to win carling cup @8/11, Man Utd to win the league @13/8, and Man Utd to win the champions league @13/2...The first three came up and it came down to the end of May when Man U played Barca as you know barca beat them and he was let down for 26 grand ..Talk about been so close....This is his ''Big Accum' for this year, usually id have my own opinions and wouldnt listen to anyone but im thinking of going with this ; 200 accum on Spurs winning carling cup @10/1, Man Utd to win league @13/5 ,Chelsea to win champions league @7/1 and KK to win all ireland hurling @evs..It pays a massive 125,000..If spurs were to win the carling cup, which would be no surprise, the other three have big chances of coming off... Was wondering what some of you make of it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Do bookies not have a limit on payouts to a single winner? I remember hearing about someone who got stuffed over a limit, 75k is sticking in my head.

That being said, good luck. You might need it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭Former Great

Mad_Max wrote: »
    Do bookies not have a limit on payouts to a single winner? I remember hearing about someone who got stuffed over a limit, 75k is sticking in my head.

That being said, good luck. You might need it :D

Some do but odds are from PP and id reckon there limit is a million..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,902 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

A Friend of mine does a big accum every year and two years ago he took one bookies for 10000.. He came so close last year .This was his bet which he placed just before christmas ,300 accum on Kauto Star to win the king george @2/1, Man Utd to win carling cup @8/11, Man Utd to win the league @13/8, and Man Utd to win the champions league @13/2...The first three came up and it came down to the end of May when Man U played Barca as you know barca beat them and he was let down for 26 grand ..Talk about been so close....This is his ''Big Accum' for this year, usually id have my own opinions and wouldnt listen to anyone but im thinking of going with this ; 200 accum on Spurs winning carling cup @10/1, Man Utd to win league @13/5 ,Chelsea to win champions league @7/1 and KK to win all ireland hurling @evs..It pays a massive 125,000..If spurs were to win the carling cup, which would be no surprise, the other three have big chances of coming off... Was wondering what some of you make of it???
    His bet last year was far better. He stood to win 30k at the prices you listed.
    He is pretty stupid for not sticking 10k or so on utd NOT to win to lock in the profit, could of secured 15k or so

This years bet, there are too many long shots, best of luck.

Mellor wrote: »
    His bet last year was far better. He stood to win 30k at the prices you listed.
    He is pretty stupid for not sticking 10k or so on utd NOT to win to lock in the profit, could of secured 15k or so

This years bet, there are too many long shots, best of luck.

Yeah he could of guaranteed himself 13k i think it was.. he did lay off 2k on barca , suppose he just got greedy.. He was fairly confident utd would beat barca aswell..

Basically, I consider that money to be already mine. The imaginary 13k on Utd (for a 30k return). And unless i'm rolled to place a bet like that, or very close. I'd always lay some of it off. Sometimes, i'd lay so much off that the result doesn't matter. I do this in poker too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I done one of these myself at the start of the season:

€250 accum on Barca for La Liga @ 10-11, Brazil for the WC @ 5-1, Chelsea for the PL @ 9-4 and Juve for Serie A @ 7-2. It returns over 40k.

Gimme gimme gimme

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Would he not just pick a few other accums for smaller stakes? There is a reason this bet is over 600/1.

5starpool wrote: »
    Would he not just pick a few other accums for smaller stakes? There is a reason this bet is over 600/1.

Well that is what he decided to go with, he also had a massive bet which came in sunday.. In January he placed a 1600 accum on Man utd to qualify for the carling cup final @1/4 , Man utd to qualify against inter in champions league @4/6 ,Man Utd to win league @11/8 goin on to KK to win the hurling@ 4/6 which came up on sunday.. He specialises in accums like this ..His not a person who bets frequently with this kind of money, only when he knows there is a big chance of the bet coming off.. The one posted at the start of the topic is his long shot but he is fairly confident of gettin a run for his money..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Catenaccio!

He's amazing, he predicted Kilkenny to win the All-Ireland and Manchester United to win the league??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

Is he a Man U fan by any chance?

He's amazing, he predicted Kilkenny to win the All-Ireland and Manchester United to win the league??!!

Quit with the sarcasim , im sure you would have went in at the start of the year and had 1600 of your own money on utd and kk and said to yourself , grand thats money in the bank.. Its easy say it now when its happened..

All I was hinting at was that he's not some 'specialist' as you pointed out. These are not far out predictions he's making ffs :D

In_tuition wrote: »
    Is he a Man U fan by any chance?

Believe it or not he isnt actually... Lookin at it myself i think utd will struggle this year in the league , but then when you look at the other teams ,there no great shakes either and utd always seems to have the luck..

Where these bets placed online with the same firm?

Fwiw, for the top three leagues I'd go with Juventus, Barcelona and Chelsea.

No all placed in shops..

If he has indeed placed these bets fair play to him.

I might do the first accum myself for the laugh but on a smaller scale €10-20

All I was hinting at was that he's not some 'specialist' as you pointed out. These are not far out predictions he's making ffs :D

Obviously not but would you have put 1600 on the same bet last january..

All relative. Maybe 1600 is nothing to him? Maybe it's 1% of his bank?

Maybe, but i know him well and wouldnt think he has that sort of money lying around..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

Maybe, but i know him well and wouldnt think he has that sort of money lying around..

Bit of an idiot then really isn't he :rolleyes:

BTW those selections are related bets so the bookie wouldnt take them. In my experience you cant do a double with single prices on the same selection for 2 different comps as they are related. The bookie would offer you a reduced price as they have a knock-on effect on the price.

Warper wrote: »
    BTW those selections are related bets so the bookie wouldnt take them. In my experience you cant do a double with single prices on the same selection for 2 different comps as they are related. The bookie would offer you a reduced price as they have a knock-on effect on the price.

How are two completely competitions related... A related bet is for example, Wayne Rooney to be top goalscorer in the premiership at 5/1 and man utd to win league @2/1.. This is not allowed because if wayne rooney is top goalscorer there is a greater chance of man u winning the league and is known as a related bet, so the bookies give you reduced odds, probably around 8/1... So tell me how is man u winning the league and man u winning the champions league a related bet. They are two different competitions...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

So where are we going with this OP, he predicted Utd to win a few games kast year and Kilkenny to win the AI and that's the basis for backing his accum this year?

BTW those selections are related bets

There not.

I asked where they were placed as I know for certain there is no office in this country that would accept a bet which was a 5 figure sum payout, maybe a horse bet but not not sports related. If some of the cases I find it extraordinary hard to believe that for the kinda money you are talking that he didn't lay off larger sums comes the final events.

How are two completely competitions related... A related bet is for example, Wayne Rooney to be top goalscorer in the premiership at 5/1 and man utd to win league @2/1.. This is not allowed because if wayne rooney is top goalscorer there is a greater chance of man u winning the league and is known as a related bet, so the bookies give you reduced odds, probably around 8/1... So tell me how is man u winning the league and man u winning the champions league a related bet. They are two different competitions...

I thought this was obvious. EG if a team is performing well in 1 competition they have every chance they will perform well in the another since it is the same selection we are talking about. IE if Man Utd win the are performing well in the League they have every chance of performing well in the CL.

Go try placing this bet online if you wish with any bookie and you will see that the double is not available as they are RELATED:rolleyes:

There not.

I asked where they were placed as I know for certain there is no office in this country that would accept a bet which was a 5 figure sum payout, maybe a horse bet but not not sports related. If some of the cases I find it extraordinary hard to believe that for the kinda money you are talking that he didn't lay off larger sums comes the final events.

Total bull and I know cause I have the docket to prove it. Boylesports took my accum btw.

I thought this was obvious. EG if a team is performing well in 1 competition they have every chance they will perform well in the another since it is the same selection we are talking about. IE if Man Utd win the are performing well in the League they have every chance of performing well in the CL.

Go try placing this bet online if you wish with any bookie and you will see that the double is not available as they are RELATED:rolleyes:

Both bets were phoned up to head office when they were placed and they didnt refuse either.. The bet which ran on to man u in the champions league final , was takin by celtic bookmakers..And he did lay off two grand on barca at evs..He was confident man u would beat barca hence the reason for only laying off two grand on barca..

it's a accumulator, so its obviously with the same firm. Online or Brick and mortar.
    I asked where they were placed as I know for certain there is no office in this country that would accept a bet which was a 5 figure sum payout, maybe a horse bet but not not sports related.

LOL,

Where are you getting this nonsense from, how do you know what a bookie will stake. I know for a fact that 5 figure sums do and have happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

This is 100% wrong. Ok, the price on Utd in CL might be shorter because they are doing well in Premiership, but the bets are not related.

A related bet is like saying "I want a double on Utd to win at 2/5 and Utd to win 2-0 at 4/1". Obviously if the second bet comes in then the first has to. Thats a related bet.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by In_tuition viewpost.gif

it's a accumulator, so its obviously with the same firm. Online or Brick and mortar.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by In_tuition viewpost.gif
    I asked where they were placed as I know for certain there is no office in this country that would accept a bet which was a 5 figure sum payout, maybe a horse bet but not not sports related.

LOL,

Where are you getting this nonsense from, how do you know what a bookie will stake. I know for a fact that 5 figure sums do and have happen.

Oh right, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭raheny red

careca wrote: »
    This is 100% wrong. Ok, the price on Utd in CL might be shorter because they are doing well in Premiership, but the bets are not related.

A related bet is like saying "I want a double on Utd to win at 2/5 and Utd to win 2-0 at 4/1". Obviously if the second bet comes in then the first has to. Thats a related bet.

They are related!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

raheny red wrote: »
    They are related!

I don't think they are. It's two completely different events.

They are related - any bookie will tell you this. Its the same idealogy as saying backing a double on the same horse to win the 2.05 at Doncaster and the Epsom Derby nest year. The bookie will not accept this bet as they are related even though they are 2 separate events. They might offer you a reduced price but will not accept is as a double.

I mean just ask any bookie or try placing it online and you will see there is no double option available.

They are related - any bookie will tell you this. Its the same idealogy as saying backing a double on the same horse to win the 2.05 at Doncaster and the Epsom Derby nest year. The bookie will not accept this bet as they are related even though they are 2 separate events. They might offer you a reduced price but will not accept is as a double.
    I mean just ask any bookie or try placing it online and you will see there is no double option available.

Well how come the bookies took both bets iv talked about , both were phoned up two head office.. So where are some of you getting ur info from..

Warper is using the fact that if you attempt to place the bet online it won't allow you but if you were to do the bet in an independent betting shop or if you were a loyal customer with an online firm you could potentially get the bet on no problem. It comes between the realms of being related but it actually isn't. You can make a case either way but the bet will accepted in certain cases. Fire the abuse back at me all you's wish but this is the fact of the matter.

The only way i can see the bet being taken would be if the teller made a mistake and overlooked what was written on the docket (which often happens by negligence) or it was a local bookie and you had an agreement. It would be in the bookmakers rules that they dont take related bets at single prices. That is why you get Utd. specials like last year Utd were say 50-1 for the quad but if you took the single prices obviously it would be a lot more (you couldnt by the way).

The fact remains they are related bets - there is no argument against that. If you manage to get single prices for them, well thats great but it would be a mistake on behalf of the teller. In the event of the bet being a winner, the bookie also has the right to amend the bet back to its special price as they would say that the bet was taken at the incorrect prices.

I cant believe we are still talking about this. As i said if you dont believe me go into a shop and ask for yourself.

Fair enough.

I cant believe we are still talking about this.

at least we agree on something :)

I have asked two lads on the poker forum who work for bookies to say who is right.

I'd be willing to have a bet with you that you are incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Lads they are related even though they are different events. Similarly, you can' do a double on Kauto Star to win the King George and the Gold Cup.

You should have got on early Warper and had that bet :eek:

I tried to do a bet like that online and it said "bets cannot be combined" and someone else said it can't be done in bookies either.

Apologies, I was convinced they would look at them as two separate events and to be fair, I think its shocking that they don't.

Just in case my wife is reading this (she says I'm never wrong)

Warper - YOU WERE RIGHT AND I WAS WRONG !!!

I tried to do a bet like that online and it said "bets cannot be combined" and someone else said it can't be done in bookies either.

Apologies, I was convinced they would look at them as two separate events and to be fair, I think its shocking that they don't.

So lads how about the one that he won the 13000 on , do ye think thats a related bet aswell,he has yet to collect on it but the day he placed it the shop assistant phoned head office and the bet was excepted..

I should have but im only reading this now - not to worry. I know it is frustrating that they dont.

So lads how about the one that he won the 13000 on , do ye think thats a related bet aswell,he has yet to collect on it but the day he placed it the shop assistant phoned head office and the bet was excepted..

Its dodgy but if the assistant rang head office and they accepted, well they accepted. They have the caveat of saying it was taken in error though. I dont know, let us know what happens. They normally wouldnt accept the bet in the first place though unless they overlooked the selections.

I was just chatting my friend there and has got paid out on it...Maybe your right about the accum in which he had man u three times to win out three competions at single prices , the bookies took the bet, but maybe there would have been some controversy if the bet had of come up..

Happy days so but just something to watch out for.

Happy days is right ,13,194 it came to, not to be sniffed at especially with the shape this country is in..The more people that makes them bookmakers suffer the better...