Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this knackerish?

• 09-09-2009 2:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭

Not the knacker drinking itself but what I do beforehand. So we'll agree to meet at around nine at Tesco to buy our drink and the lads will turn up at nine, head down the alcohol aisle and pick up their warm tesco lager, carling, cider etc. But not me. If there's one thing I will not stand for, it is drinking warm beer. My beer will always be cold. So what I do is arrive at Tesco around half eight, grab a six pack of heineken or bud off the shelf and place it in one of the two small freezers that tesco have. I'll then take a few small crates of bulmers off the shelf and place them in front of my cans in the freezer. I'll then go back outside and wait for my friends, popping inside every few minutes or so to check on my now cold beer. Works every time.

Am I a knacker or a weirdo or have too much time on my hand or do I just go that extra mile to consume beer in the best way possible? Anybody else do this? I think it's rather creative myself. I like to think of myself as having taken knacker drinking to a new level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

You are the queen of the greenfield scum but if I see down by the bandtand i will break your legs

edit very smart by the way.. you shoudl be made queen of greenfield.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Quality. Top notch dedication to drinking. 10/10.

I salute you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

K4t wrote: »
    Not the knacker drinking itself but what I do beforehand. So we'll agree to meet at around nine at Tesco to buy our drink and the lads will turn up at nine, head down the alcohol aisle and pick up their warm tesco lager, carling, cider etc. But not me. If there's one thing I will not stand for, it is drinking warm beer. My beer will always be cold. So what I do is arrive at Tesco around half eight, grab a six pack of heineken or bud off the shelf and place it in one of the two small freezers that tesco have. I'll then take a few small crates of bulmers off the shelf and place them in front of my cans in the freezer. I'll then go back outside and wait for my friends, popping inside every few minutes or so to check on my now cold beer. Works every time.

Am I a knacker or a weirdo or have too much time on my hand or do I just go that extra mile to consume beer in the best way possible? Anybody else do this? I think it's rather creative myself. I like to think of myself as having taken knacker drinking to a new level.

Sounds like good planning to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Good idea tbh. Must try that myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

Why not buy your drink earlier that day and put it in the fridge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

CHD wrote: »

That defies the defintion of knacker drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

My parents don't like dropping me off to my weekly knacker drinking sessions for some reason......I live in the country

Edit: Nice to see the positive feedback in this thread. I knew I was a genius.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Nope, It has nothing to do with horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭Jen Pigs Fly

woooow! Go on the Maynooth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭larchielads

just buy it from the freezer in an off licence at 9 instead of tesco? is that still not knacker drinkin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Knackerish behaviour in Maynooth? Wow, it's not like the town doesn't have a a repution already :eek:

Sounds like good planning OP, I salute you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Improvise, adapt and overcome, well done young man!!

Hows about this:

Put 12 cans in the freezer then buy them.

Then in the field sell single cold cans to ur mates for a profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Hee hee, I encourage all residents of Maynooth to go to Tesco on Friday evenings and look out for beer cans in the freezers. Replace any nice, cold cans you see with warm cans :D

/evil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

You could take it a step further and buy one of those freezer bags to ensure your cans stay cold when drinking in said field, good to see someone taking the sport of knacker drinking so seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Ed_

Am I a knacker or a weirdo

You are neither. You are quite the genius. If only I had the gumption to do this when I was a teenager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

You're planning ahead, nothing wrong with that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

genuis idea wish i had taught of that all those years ago. next step would be the freezer bag or cooler box. that way you could sit on it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

good show K4T. fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You're buying the beer?

Then it's not knackerish. You just got drink smarts boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Besides the unfavorability of having beer in such close proximity to cider, albeit only for half an hour, it's quite a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

OP, if you put the beer in the large chest type freezers it will get the beer colder in less time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I used to do this in dunnes when I was a kid, I would have to go around shopping with the mother so would leg it in and stash my supercan of lilt in the freezer and get it at the end. Best have it in good contact with things, frozen peas are good. Sometimes staff would spot me and probably thought I was leaving it there to explode, so I had to do it very slyly.
    it is drinking warm beer. My beer will always be cold.
    Warm beer gets you drunk faster. The real knackers stick it in a hot chicken at the deli counter. The super knackers will go in the day before, open a mulitpack and bash the cans up, then get them half price the next day on the trolley with near out of date and damaged stock. Sometimes just being out of mulitpacks is enough to get them cheap since the scanners will not know the barcode.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Not knackerish, just completely retarded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 CreamySaturday

rubadub wrote: »
    I used to do this in dunnes when I was a kid, I would have to go around shopping with the mother so would leg it in and stash my supercan of lilt in the freezer and get it at the end..

Supercans... i was very fond of them.. thanks for mentioning them, it made me smile :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Jaysus OP I don't know how to address your post except to say that you seem like a nice bloke, but as mad as a badger.

Why would you put in the amount of work you seem to be prepared to do for the sake of Budweiser or Heineken. Either stash the Tesco Gold or be true to yourself and hide a premium ale or lager. Your commitment to quality deserves that. You're the Jamie Oliver of knacker drinking.

"I find if I come here earlier and cut a hole in the hedge, you can actually see the Guards coming. Pukka".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

rubadub wrote: »
    I used to do this in dunnes when I was a kid, I would have to go around shopping with the mother so would leg it in and stash my supercan of lilt in the freezer and get it at the end. Best have it in good contact with things, frozen peas are good. Sometimes staff would spot me and probably thought I was leaving it there to explode, so I had to do it very slyly.

Warm beer gets you drunk faster. The real knackers stick it in a hot chicken at the deli counter. The super knackers will go in the day before, open a mulitpack and bash the cans up, then get them half price the next day on the trolley with near out of date and damaged stock. Sometimes just being out of mulitpacks is enough to get them cheap since the scanners will not know the barcode.

This Gringo. He speaks the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

.............This freezer goes to 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Not knackerish at all, in fact it shows ingenuity. A1 for you in the knacker drinking stakes, I salute you sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

i used to do this years ago. The four cans of stella or cider would go into the freezer with the turkeys. Noone used to go near that one. Worked a treat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

I'm going to rob your beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭mack81

You are the Stephen Hawkings of knacker drinking IMO:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Load of effort, go to an offo that chills the beer.

Most in Maynooth do.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Sorry OP, MagicMarker says No, thereby negating all the plaudits. Better luck next time.

That's brilliant ...that kind of street smart behaviour will get you far in life ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Knacker! Just buy a bag of ice and have a couple on fast chill while the rest is in the fridge!

Better still ring tesco and get them to put a couple in the fridge! You might start a terend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Not knackerish, just completely retarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Great work young man, if only I had thought of this in my day

i like it.. buckfast could easily be slipped into the fridge aswell for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

good idea i hate the way tesco doesnt keep beer in fridges its basically like saying your all alcos anyway and love our cheap prices so we wont even bother chilling it ........... you will buy it anyways ye alcos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭tanyaog2007

why wudnt ya just buy a bag of ice :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

why wudnt ya just buy a bag of ice
    My way you spend nothing. Afterall, every little helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

instead of taking half an hour to get your cans you could just go to another place that actually keeps cans cool. I used to ring up the local offy and ask em to put me cans in the fridge and I get em later when money arrives in bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Have you people never heard of a cooler and some ice ?

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

id love a cold can right about now!

to save time you could try and get tesco to deliver your cold cans to whichever field you may be drinking in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

If you wear your best pyjamas while in Tesco then yes, you are a weapons grade knacker....if you dress like a normal person then I applaud you putting a little one over that great friend of the Irish, Tesco PLC:D