Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Parking, again !

• 08-09-2009 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭

How has everyone found the new " overflow " carpark ?

To be honest i've found it just made the parking situtation in WIT a whole lot worse. Today there seemed to be far more cars abandoned in worse places. Some tit in a silver polo parked accross the pedestrian crossing. That kind of stuff cant continue.

Rant over :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

wheres the "overflow" carpark? Ya some of the parking at the Cork rd campus is disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

the overflow is in the rsc, down by pcworld

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Cork Road campus has always been terrible. Usually people cop on once the clampers come out and clamp those parking arseways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭ec18

i've been waiting for this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Overflow car park is on soccer pitch grounds opposite the blue maxol garage on the Cork rd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

thats a fair distance from the campus. theres no chance of me walkin that. i'll take me chances parking on the pedestrian crossing

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

thats a fair distance from the campus. theres no chance of me walkin that. i'll take me chances parking on the pedestrian crossing

Hardly a "fair distance". Your just causing grief for everyone else by parking arseways in the main car park. Its like €60 to get the clamp off anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Mr check raise

atleast a 10 minute walk!

Whats the problem with a quick walk? Its no more then 10mins anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

Couldent agree more, parked in the RSC myself today and the walk only took 7/8minutes, Besides loads of students walk from Riverwalk/Manor to the college everyday without whingeing...:rolleyes:

For anybody whos classes start at 10/11/12 the RSC parking is a godsend. last year I'd nearly arrive pre 9am regardless of what time class starts to get a space,so in my book an 8min walk is well worth a few extra hours of sleep and avoiding Russian roulette with the clampers or cops in Lismore park:D

the clampers are watching now. Saw alot of warning notices stuck on alot of cars today for illegal parking. Id say they'd be a bitch to try get off your window:o

Kettle of hot water, pour onto window - sorted. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

It's people like you that have no regard for people walking or disabled people trying to cross at what is the designated safe part for the public at a pedestrian crossing. I would also say you would drive into the class room if you had the chance. Do you bit mate, have consideration for others and take the walk if you can't find parking on campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Air out of tires, electric air pump, clamp in the boot, sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

Air out of tires, electric air pump, clamp in the boot, sorted
    That, a BoltCutters.. or if you have the patience, a lock-picking kit :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Dumb Terminal

A guy in my class last year moaned from one end of the day to the other about the parking, he lived in Riverwalk. I'd tell him to have the heart attack now and save himself the trouble.

If someone really wanted to sort out the parking for the year they'd suggest to the cops that they set up breathalizer check at the cork road on any given weekday morning. What time does rubys stop serving at these days, 3am? just ask any cyclist how scary that cork road roundabout is.

Iv been told there should be a shuttle bus connecting the car park to WIT. Not seen it myself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

There is a bus connecting the RSC to the campus as far as I know it will run on the hour up until either 12 or 1, will be in with the lads in the SU tomorrow so will find out all the details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

xFROSTY Gx wrote: »
    the clampers are watching now. Saw alot of warning notices stuck on alot of cars today for illegal parking. Id say they'd be a bitch to try get off your window:o

In the uk its illegal for thoese stickers, to be stuck on the drivers side window, as they obstruct the drivers view, as they are very hard to peel off, not sure if its the same back home

shanemul wrote: »
    There is a bus connecting the RSC to the campus as far as I know it will run on the hour up until either 12 or 1, will be in with the lads in the SU tomorrow so will find out all the details

I know there should be, but has it started yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭beegirl

Sully wrote: »
    I know there should be, but has it started yet?

I asked one of the 'wardens' from the SU there last week, they said there wasn't going to be a shuttle bus. It's not much of a walk to be fair! Then again they do a shuttle bus from Manor Village, it'd be just one extra stop on the way, wouldn't it!?!?

There is a shuttle bus running,got it by chance at 10am during the week,however it is chargeing 1euro.If I knew that before I got in I would have walked! It basically looks like a rapid cabs MPV with WIT shuttle stickers plastered on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tuff1

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    There is a shuttle bus running,got it by chance at 10am during the week,however it is chargeing 1euro.If I knew that before I got in I would have walked! It basically looks like a rapid cabs MPV with WIT shuttle stickers plastered on the back.

lads thats shocking.

lads thats shocking

Well I've got 2 working feet,might aswell keep the change;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

I go in for 8:30 every day and get a space out front :D every second Wednesday im not in till 11:15 so i put the bike in the car and cycle from the Waterford united pitch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

I dont mind walking at all, BUT, we got landed with an extra €600 in fees this year. I'm wating for the amazing event they are planning on spending our money on.

Also, why do the need all that grass? Someone told me they need it so the engineering department can use it for surveying.......really.....that much grass? No way.

AND another thing, when they were putting ion the Tourism and Leisure building and the Nurses building, what stopped them from oputting in underground parking?

As far as a college goes its as a sham. Now they are building the Carriganore Campus over the next five years. All that land, why didnt they just save money and move the ENTIRE campus out there over the five years? Would have made so much sense.

Then again, sense doesnt usually prevail when it comes to this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

m3llowship wrote: »
    As far as a college goes its as a sham. Now they are building the Carriganore Campus over the next five years. All that land, why didnt they just save money and move the ENTIRE campus out there over the five years? Would have made so much sense.

Then again, sense doesnt usually prevail when it comes to this country.

Thats simple the goverment has said they are not allowed to move under grad courses out there and that carriganore is for 4th level only. The college's plan all along has being to place the newer building out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

They could just buy the tesco and knock it down and the surrounding houses il give them a loan from my massive student coffers :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Paul_D

Since today students are not allowed to park in the glass factory. There used to be at least 100 cars parked over there every day.
    Why woudnt the college make a deal with them to provide parking for the students just like they did with RSC? The RSC seems like a complete failure just because it's so far away. It could have worked if they had a free shuttle bus running. Although, there is a bus that goes from Manors Village to college, how difficult it could be just to make another stop beside RSC?

I remember last year I was able to come at 9.10 and still get a parking in college, what exactly has happened this year? Now, the only chance to get parking is to come at 8.45-8.55 the latest, which means that I have to leave home at 8am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I can't fathom how people think the walk from the RSC is too long! In larger campuses you'd be walking longer distances from class to class!

Paul_D wrote: »

I remember last year I was able to come at 9.10 and still get a parking in college, what exactly has happened this year?.

Students are no longer allowed to park in Lismore Park which resulted in an increase of the amount of student using the campus car park. I think thats the reason anyway:pac:

xFROSTY Gx wrote: »
    Students are no longer allowed to park in Lismore Park which resulted in an increase of the amount of student using the campus car park. I think thats the reason anyway:pac:

Yea, could be the reason. I wonder if it is legal to not allow students to park on a public road in the estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Blah Head

Someone said here, students cant't park in the glass factory anymore? Is there clamping going on there now too, or what exactly is stopping us from parking in there???

And, for the post RE: amount of grass area out the back of the college! I think thats for the whole 5 - 10 guys that use it each april and may to play football on!! Im in engineering/architecture course, do surveying, and use Max 10% of total grass area. I say Tarmac the lot of it!!!

Yea, could be the reason. I wonder if it is legal to not allow students to park on a public road in the estate.

Bye-laws are now in place blocking all but resident parking. Originally tickets were given for offenses such as parking on a footpath (illegal), parking on yellow lines (illegal) and blocking entrances. Council signs are up stating its permit parking only.
    Blah Head wrote: »
    Someone said here, students cant't park in the glass factory anymore? Is there clamping going on there now too, or what exactly is stopping us from parking in there???

First I heard of it, but the Crystal factory is closing down there.
    And, for the post RE: amount of grass area out the back of the college! I think thats for the whole 5 - 10 guys that use it each april and may to play football on!! Im in engineering/architecture course, do surveying, and use Max 10% of total grass area. I say Tarmac the lot of it!!!

Blame planning laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clano

I think there is some law that there has to be a certain percentage of grass area or something not sure though

I tried to get a parking there on Thursday and was stopped by a guy at the entrance saying that students cant park there anymore because the car park gets over 100% full. (which is not true, it's never full)

Trust me, that car park is often 100% full.

Have you noticed the second part the further on, it's massive and maybe only half full.

Across from the bank? That appears half full but is often full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 holla!

There is a security guard down at crystal now. He told me that they get 250+ cars in there some days and it's leaving no space for visitors. I can't imagine they would be getting many visitors with the place closing down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Maxtor

Its shocking where people leave their cars, I come in early most days to get a proper designated space and then I come back and find my car blocked in by some ass who doesn't give a crap about anybody else parked properly.. My mirror has been hit, car dented.... although im in the correct space, I don't know why they bother having camera's, nobody cares! I know knowbody wants to walk from the rsc, but like it can't continue, its like a circus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 eilissinead

Glad I'm not there anymore!! Re comment about the 5-10 guys playing football on the grass....think thats my fiance and his class you are talkin about! haha! I think the college has to keep a certain amount of grass!! As for all you people parking arseways, you really are a bit of a pain!! Its one thing just parkin on the double yellows but parkin across the pedestrian crossin is a bit far, in fact, id prob try and let ur tires down just ta p**s you off!!!! Really annoyin too when i used to get cars blockin me in, i'd wait for someone to come and move the car and they wouldnt even apologise....and i have to say, it was mostly fellas!! The other thing is, those stickers on the windows.....they shouldnt be allowed. they have to be dangerous!! As for the parking in the RSC.....shouldnt have to walk that far, they should provide parking closer....and NOT charge for it!!!!!!

Its shocking where people leave their cars, I come in early most days to get a proper designated space and then I come back and find my car blocked in by some ass who doesn't give a crap about anybody else parked properly..
    Totally agree, you turn out of your space wih just millimetres to spare thanks to some eejit usually in a clapped micra usually.

The best I seen though was before the mid-term out at the car park out the back opposite college fields. Some numpty left the car on the only exit lane out, totally blocking in about 14 cars parked in that block! Don't usually like to see people clamped but in that case I was delighted to see it!!:D

Just a summary...
    • Clamping is now in operation in Waterford Crystal and the car parked is manned by security,
    • Parking on double yellow lines, obstructing a driveway or parking on a footpath will see you get fined by the Guards,
    • Resident parking permitted ONLY in all surrounding estates such as Lismore Park, Sunrise Cresent, Ballybeg, etc. Park illegally and you will be fined,
    • Residents in Sunrise Cresent have begun using a private firm to clamp non-resident cars who will have enough clamps,
    • Clamping is now in operation by Badbobs/Park Inn, Tesco/Paddy Browns Car Park.
    • A car park holding 300 cars has been opened in the Waterford United Football Club grounds (aka The Regional Sports Center (RSC)) which is located just beyond the roundabout past McDonalds and just before the Maxol/Topaz petrol stations. A RapidCabs taxi at €1 per head will be present from the hours 9am, 10am, 11am, 12pm, 4pm and 5pm. There is a shelter there to wait for the taxi but there should be 3 there during the above times,
    • Outside of the above times if there are about 5 people there you can call Rapid Cabs (051858585) who will pick you up,
    • The college security have begun clamping in College St.,
    • There are an awful lot of "hit and run" accidents whereby people are hitting into cars and driving away - cop the **** on,
    • People who park dangerously or obstruct others will be the main target.

PS It takes 7mins to walk to main campus from the RSC. The Students Union timed it :D

nice post sully, its rediculous the sh!t that goes on with people parking. i watched a guy abaondon his car right in the middle of a lane and walk away, THEN he spotted a parking spot about two car lengths away and moved his car. pure lazyness that he didnt look first,

i wonder why students dont organise some sort of car pool between themselves and get on car for four people all coming from the same place. even if people have to wait around for a class or two, wouldnt they get work done, or go to the dome for a pint and spend some of the petrol money they're saving.

maybe we should get a sub forum here to organise it. even if a quarter of the cars were removed it would make things alot easier.

where do visitors park when they come to the college?

MacGyver wrote: »
    i wonder why students dont organise some sort of car pool between themselves and get on car for four people all coming from the same place. even if people have to wait around for a class or two, wouldnt they get work done, or go to the dome for a pint and spend some of the petrol money they're saving.

maybe we should get a sub forum here to organise it. even if a quarter of the cars were removed it would make things alot easier.

Sounds like a good idea. A website where students can enter their addresses, the time their classes start and some means of contacting them. Then display it all on Google maps thus allowing other students to search for the drivers in their area. The website can be placed on either wit.ie or witsu.ie
    It woudnt be overly difficult to do, I would have done it if I wasnt that busy with my coursework.

i would too but its a bit hectic this semester. maybe while im on work placement ill give it ago, might be worth talking to the SU about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

RSC?? ON A WET WINDY DAY UP THAT HILL...MIGHT AS WELL STAY AT HOME AND STAY DRY........:rolleyes:

WHY DONT THEY ASK WHOVER IS CARETAKING THE CRYSTAL GHOST FACTORY FOR PERMISSION TO PARK THERE THE TOP CAR PARK HAS 400 EMPTY SPACES REAR ONE HAS ANOTHER 250 "EMPTY" SPACES AND THEY COULD KEEP THE FRONT CAR-PARK FOR
    THE COUPLE OF VISITORS THEY GET THIS TIME OF YEAR.:rolleyes:...

"THAT IS IF THE COLLEGE MOTORISTS DIDNT START THE MESSING THAT IS GOING ON WITH THE PARKING UP THE MAIN CAMPUS"

RSC?? ON A WET WINDY DAY UP THAT HILL...MIGHT AS WELL STAY AT HOME AND STAY DRY........:rolleyes:

WHY DONT THEY ASK WHOVER IS CARETAKING THE CRYSTAL GHOST FACTORY FOR PERMISSION TO PARK THERE THE TOP CAR PARK HAS 400 EMPTY SPACES REAR ONE HAS ANOTHER 250 "EMPTY" SPACES AND THEY COULD KEEP THE FRONT CAR-PARK FOR
    THE COUPLE OF VISITORS THEY GET THIS TIME OF YEAR.:rolleyes:...

"THAT IS IF THE COLLEGE MOTORISTS DIDNT START THE MESSING THAT IS GOING ON WITH THE PARKING UP THE MAIN CAMPUS"

You can get a taxi at just 1euro to the college from the RSC on a "WET WINDY DAY".

Crystal Factory seems to be having problems with it being completely full and apparently they do have visitors using the car park on a regular basis throughout the year. Plus, insurance may not cover it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

rsc is a cop out,:( unless its the summer,
    dont reds donoghu have something to do with the glass and the college surely he could sort something out there if he was asked....
    cars should be insured or they shouldnt be on the road there be no problem in that respect...