Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Hurling moment this year

• 08-09-2009 12:20pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Seeing as the season is over, I got the idea from the Sunday game to ask what everyones favourite moment was this year.

Mine would be in the Galway match, when Dan caught the first ball. Even though it went wide it kinda made me hopeful, then he caught the next and it went in the back of the net :D:D

Great times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Greatest moment..............mmmmmmmm............all the moments of the All Ireland ! It was fantastic, people are still talking about it ! ie. it had everything !!!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I agree with last post the AI final had it all. What a game pity there had be a defeated team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Eoin Kelly (the Waterford one) putting a 65 into the Kilkenny net. :D

And if anyone writes that one off as a fluke, let them, because I've a backup hurling moment of the year: less than 10 minutes later, the same guy volleyed the sliotar on target towards the same net. Only PJ Ryan's brilliance stopped him from getting goal of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Seeing the Dubs play their first Leinster final since 1991.

Hoping we can kick on next year and build on the progress that we made this summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

fricatus wrote: »

And if anyone writes that one off as a fluke, let them, because I've a backup hurling moment of the year: less than 10 minutes later, the same guy volleyed the sliotar on target towards the same net. Only PJ Ryan's brilliance stopped him from getting goal of the year.

The latter is mine. Amazed how Mullane teed up such a wonderful pass while surrounded by harrying Kilkenny defenders; Kelly blitzed it and the save was out of this world by Ryan. Great play all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Joe Canning's final point from the right touchline V Ballyhale in the club semi. Not an absolutely brilliant score in itself but Shamrocks were staging a revival of sorts and Port' needed to steady things. Joe raced onto the ball, lifted and passed (as much as hit) it over the bar from 60+ yards with all the assurance that it was completely the right thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

djScarey wrote: »
    The latter is mine. Amazed how Mullane teed up such a wonderful pass while surrounded by harrying Kilkenny defenders; Kelly blitzed it and the save was out of this world by Ryan. Great play all round.
    Pity thats the only pass he made all the match:pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I think there have been plenty, hard to pick one, KK dismantling Cork in the league, Portumna's performance against Ballyhale in the Club semi final, the league final.

The ultimate moment for me though was Tommy Walsh's point in the all ireland, great score, he could play any line on the field and was the perfect answer to all the BS spoken about him all year. One of the best players I've ever seen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Thought the U21 semi final between Galway and Clare was the game of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I'm a Limerick man but my favourite moment of the year was Tipp 6th goal against us in the semi final. Poetry in motion, and showed the large gap between the teams. It was a case of Tipp toying with us, and showing us up big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

grenache wrote: »
    I'm a Limerick man but my favourite moment of the year was Tipp 6th goal against us in the semi final. Poetry in motion, and showed the large gap between the teams. It was a case of Tipp toying with us, and showing us up big time.

Wow, now there's a lesson in charity and humility! There's no way any of my moments of 2008 would have included Kilkenny scores in the final, no matter how good they were!

Chin up though, ye'll be back. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

yea that would be one for me. For me personally, one of my favourite moments of the year was when brian murray scored the penalty against dublin to bring us back into the match :). Good times alright :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Favourite moment....the final whistle of the first Waterford - Limerick game. That was as bad a championship game as I've ever been too and was glad to get out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭super_metroid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Winner.

/thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Ross O'Carroll's superb point for Dublin in All Ireland quarter final against Limerick down in Thurles. Inside the touchline and surrounded by Limerick players, he scooped the sliotar up and then slotted the ball over. Hurling poetry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

When the final whistle was blown in the KK Tipp match Sunday evening:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭mailrewop

same for me, brilliant shot but what a great save.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

For pure drama, it has to be final few minutes of the Waterford-Galway match. If anything it reminded me of those encounters we had against Cork where nearly every match went down to the last puck of the sliothar. The fact that it came so out of the blue surely played it's part too.

But I'm actually going to go with the first 30 seconds or so of the Munster final. Me and a Tipp friend of mine were smack bang in the middle of the Waterford terrace and we had been debating for ages beforehand whether Mullane would produce the goods again or were those matches against Limerick just once offs. He was so sure of himself that the Tipp backs would keep him quiet for the duration of the game, so imagine the look on both our faces when Mullane skinned his marker and stuck over that first point after barely 20 seconds :D

Obviously it wasn't the stand out exciting moment of the year, but I always smile thinking back to that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭looder

Fav moments of the year in no particular order:

- Paudie Maher having Shefflin in his pocket throughout the whole game in the league final
    - Paudie Maher having Shefflin in his pocket throughout the whole game in the All Ireland final
    -Cummins save from Shefflin in the league final - Immense
    -Beating Cork in Thurles after all the striking earlier in the year
    -Winning in Croke Park for the 1st time in 6 or 7 attempts
    - one of Lar Corbetts points on sunday. From out on the sideline. Pure class.
    -The emergence of Noel Mcgrath
    -Benny Dunnes 3 points when he came on against Cork

My favourite moment however was seen Eoin Kelly back at his best against Kilkenny on sunday. The man has gone through the pain barrier all year for his county. People wrote him off but he's proved them all wrong on Sunday.

Liam Sheedy, Thanks for the memories this year!

Outside of Tipp, watching Waterford's comeback against Galway sticks out.

P'J. Ryans save against Eoin Kelly (of Waterford)

Seamus Hicky's point earlier on in the year where he made a 20 yard solo was class too

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I'll probably get killed for saying this but when Clinton gave Shefflin a kick up the ass was another class moment!! I think I laughed for half an hour afterwards!
    :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

deise_girl wrote: »
    I'll probably get killed for saying this but when Clinton gave Shefflin a kick up the ass was another class moment!! I think I laughed for half an hour afterwards!

And they say KK players are dirty.At least that eejit from Tipp had the decency to do it to Walshs face, takes a special kind of idiotic sneak to do it to a man when his backs turned.

deise_girl wrote: »
    Oh god........Can open.....worms everywhere.......the horror

Ill get all this out of the way fast
    "rabble rabble......scumbag.....rabble rabble......people talk bout tommy walsh......rabble rabble...........people call kilkenny dirty......rabble rabble.........RABBLE!"

That cover everything?

And they say KK players are dirty.At least that eejit from Tipp had the decency to do it to Walshs face, takes a special kind of idiotic sneak to do it to a man when his backs turned.
    Feck.Got beaten to it right in the middle of my typing

And you mean like the same kinda person who breaks a hurley off someones legs cause they got past him :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Well shefflin should have given the ball to Clinton in the first place for the free out. :pac:

And I didn't argue about Kilkenny, Tipp I tryed to shush people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Shannonsider

Daysha wrote: »
    For pure drama, it has to be final few minutes of the Waterford-Galway match. If anything it reminded me of those encounters we had against Cork where nearly every match went down to the last puck of the sliothar. The fact that it came so out of the blue surely played it's part too.

But I'm actually going to go with the first 30 seconds or so of the Munster final. Me and a Tipp friend of mine were smack bang in the middle of the Waterford terrace and we had been debating for ages beforehand whether Mullane would produce the goods again or were those matches against Limerick just once offs. He was so sure of himself that the Tipp backs would keep him quiet for the duration of the game, so imagine the look on both our faces when Mullane skinned his marker and stuck over that first point after barely 20 seconds :D

Obviously it wasn't the stand out exciting moment of the year, but I always smile thinking back to that now.

+1. Have to agree, Mullane looked out of the game, had hit a couple of wides and if it was any other player he may have just gone through the motions and seen out the last few minutes. But the courage and determination (let alone pace) he managed to muster up to be on the end of that pass and drive it over the bar and over the net. Hurling at its greatest.

Was also delighted to see Eoin Kelly and Lar Corbett deliver 2 great performances in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEp1Fmc6eXY&feature=related

lovely little flick to complete his hattrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

For me, it was a sad moment, but more a confirmation that its all over.

Its the moment the Cork game finished against Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Yes. All of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Eoin Kelly's performance on Sunday, simply because it was the ultimate silver lining and a performance that augurs well for our challenge next year, a fully fit Eoin, a buzzing Lar and a year older McGrath is a FF that would scare the sh*t out of any FB line.