Marty Morrisseys post-match interview with Brian Cody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

When else could Marty ask the question of Brian Cody? These are the kind of questions that are asked in post match interviews. It was an extremely relevant question as everybody I watched the match with (neutral supporters) were scratching their heads in disbelief at the awarding of the penalty. It was a question on the lips of thousands of people who watched the match. It was a decision that turned the game at a critical time and had a huge bearing on the outcome. I agree that if it had been asked at the celebrations last night, it would have been out of place. The question, however, was asked at the appropriate time - the post match interview. Cody could have said that it wasn't his decision, Kilkenny pulled away, or whatever. It is only because of the outrageous manner in which Cody behaved towards Marty Morrissey that everybody is talking about him. Many people are absolutely disgusted with the way he behaved. He deserves and will accept praise for being a big part of the 4 in a row achievement. Equally, he deserves criticism for his behaviour towards Marty. He is obviously keeping his head down. Among his own people he will be revered but he has lost the respect of so many neutrals. I for one, had great time for him once but not now.

The problem wasn't the question, it was the answer! It was the question that was on all of our lips! The answer wasn't expected or warranted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Brian Cody didn't want to make an issue out of the referee, the Tipperary team didn't make an issue out of the penalty or the referee.
    What happened on the field stayed on the field for both sides and Marty trying to corner Brian was not a wise move by the interviewer.
    Any wonder Michael Lyster and the panel were laughing their heads off at Marty and his interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭super_metroid

marty is a man of great decency, a man of great integrity
    an honorable man in a dishonorable time

brian cody cannot grasp this concept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

blackbelt wrote: »
    Brilliant,absolutely brilliant.I've had enough of RTE scutinising referees at every possible twist and turn.It is the human element in the game and the ref isn't going to get it right ten times out of ten.Cody was right to get in Marty Morrissey's face and I hope RTE learn from this.

Here is a manager who just won 4 All Irelands in a row and to be asked about the referee in a really happy moment was going to try and put a cloud over the shining moment.

Still I never expected Cody to react like that.Ger Loughnane came out a year ago criticising Kilkenny for rough and dirty play.There are a lot of begrudgers out there and I think Cody just had enough and decided on air to stick it to them.

Ah now bb, it was a massive point in the game and a highly dubious one at that so the question had to be asked. I dont think Cody came out of it badly tho, i was laughin my head off watching it. I just found it bloody entertaining by Cody and Marty.

Also bb, remember the last time a manager got fed up in a sport and vented it on air? Definately came out looking worse than Cody did but again, bloody entertaining hehe... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXpUdBlRZe8

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I agree with Blackbelts points.
    But tell me this when was Cody ever going to disagree with the ref? I mean Cody of all people, after winning a four in arow iswell he was hardly going to turn around and say it was terrible ref decisions??

I just don't see the logic to it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭road_high

marty is a man of great decency, a man of great integrity

WTF :confused:. You'll have him up there with Mr. Theresa next :D

deise_girl wrote: »
    I agree with Blackbelts points.
    But tell me this when was Cody ever going to disagree with the ref? I mean Cody of all people, after winning a four in arow iswell he was hardly going to turn around and say it was terrible ref decisions??

I just don't see the logic to it..
    Of course he wont but Marty cant just ask the easy questions. It was the turning point in the game so he had to bring it up. Cody probably should have done the old Arsene Wenger tactic and said "I didnt see it properly so i cant comment" but we would have missed out on a funny moment if he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Aidric wrote: »
    Spot on. He clearly took offence to the fact that someone might question the supreme force that is Kilkenny. I'd hazard a bet that he lost the support of many neutrals for such a thuggish approach to a simple question.

I don't know of many neutrals who'd support them shower of ****

Hmmm, asking for a ban there mate.

And funnily enough they still managed the 4 in a row without the likes of your support :D. Nobody in Kilkenny gives a fcuk about the likes of you or indeed the support of other so-called "neutrals".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

I was surprised to see Coady fly off the handle in such a manner. Totally uncalled for imo. My sympathy is definitely with Marty here.

mfitzy wrote: »
    And funnily enough they still managed the 4 in a row without the likes of your support :D. Nobody in Kilkenny gives a fcuk about the likes of you or indeed the support of other so-called "neutrals".
    Sure the Nazi`s managed to do alot of bad things without much support either ;) Only messing, not comparing KK to them, just looking for my right of passage (cruiserweight? come here! Ok, ill stop hehe) In fairness, i was torn between the 2 yesterday. you have KK, definately one of the most skillful teams to take the pitch of all time and well deserving of 4 in a row (but preferably under better circumstances). Then you have Tipp who in fairness probably outplayed KK for most of the match and would also have been worthy of stopping the 4 in a row. As a neutral, i think we all want to see a team that can match KK and beat them. Not their fault but their dominance has made it less enjoyable to watch as they have been so far ahead of most teams recently. Great to watch them play (when they do it cleanly ;) ) but matches up to the final or semis at least have become too one sided. Tipp have shown now tho that they are well in there also and that final has made me look forward to next year more than ever. If we have a repeat final, which i think we may, it will be a great game.

One thing i will say, Frankie`s comment is childish alright but in general neutrals tell the best about a team/game. If your a rival or a part of the county, you will see it from one side. Real neutrals will tell it as they see it so dont count em out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

Begrudgemuch? :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,317 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Marty is an interviewer and his job is to ask questions. After any match he asks questions based on the main talking points i.e. controversial decisions, always has done, that is his job afterall. If he didn't ask those questions would there be any point in post match interviews? 3 mins into the interview, Cody was clearly getting pi**ed off and Marty tried to ask a different question but Cody interrupted him and went on with a bit of a rant. As an experienced manager I would not have expected that of him. He went down in my estimation. When he looks back at the Youtube video I honestly think he won't be too happy with his outburst, at least I would hope so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Rocky7

I was watching the match with friends from America who were interested to see the game. I have to say I was embarrassed by Cody's carry on during the interview- they were stunned. They couldn't understand how a reasonable question from an interviewer warranted the kind of abuse from Cody.My mother is from Kilkenny and she was ashamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Rocky7

Needless to say that the mother was delighted with the result but knows that it was fortunate one, given the non-penalty that turned the game. The victory which should have been so sweet has been soured by Cody's rant. He shouyld have taken a chill pill.

Rocky7 wrote: »
    Needless to say that the mother was delighted with the result but knows that it was fortunate one, given the non-penalty that turned the game. The victory which should have been so sweet has been soured by Cody's rant. He shouyld have taken a chill pill.

Certainly did not sour it for me one bit. In fact, things said in heat of the moments after a match are irrelevant to the bigger picture of securing an historic 4 in a row. Course it is mana from Heavan for those who want to tarnish Cody and dicredit his achievements. Gives them something to feel good about becuase their own counties cannot emulate his success.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,317 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Certainly did not sour it for me one bit. In fact, things said in heat of the moments after a match are irrelevant to the bigger picture of securing an historic 4 in a row. Course it is mana from Heavan for those who want to tarnish Cody and dicredit his achievements. Gives them something to feel good about becuase their own counties cannot emulate his success.
    ....... discredit his achievements? This does in no way take away from his achievements of being manager of a fantastic KK hurling team! It does however I believe take away from him as a man, a clear difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

It was a stupid interview. Entertaining yes but stupid. In fairness to Cody he does not court controvsy well and was right to have a go at Marty.

I though I was watching "You've been framed" when Marty brought it up and as he tried to dig himself out I just laughed. What a gob****e

When Cody went for Ref in Thurles it was disgraceful what was going on. He was letting Galway away with murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

Couldnt of put it better myself!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

ah who is going to remember this interview in 5 years time?

still, its a more entertaining reaction by arsene wenger "i did not see it" or fergie's everyone's out to get us mantra.

i think it was fair enough for marty to ask, just timing was not great. maybe if cody flashed a smile it might have turned down the tone.

i have to say though, the comments about being a thug is laughable. you would swear that the manager and players are professionals. i am pretty sure when cody gets off cloud 9, he will aplogise to marty. i'd say it was a small dampner coming just off the field to be baraged with that hot question.but what would you expect him to say. better HE tackles the question head on (or avoid it making it clear that the question was not to be asked again) than have his own players being confronted with it.

god help us if the football match swings like that (ie the peno) poor auld spillane will spoil himself and wee joe brolly being there to comfort him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Presumably Morrisey is paid about 100K like every other talentless idiot in RTE. On that money he has no right to be so spineless. Any normal person would have gone at Coady head on with his bad manners and lack of grace in victory. Lets see Coady manage another hurling team or county where he can't be so self indulgent in his arrogance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭akaredtop

Cody has been shown up as a stupid Yob. Will people now stop heaping praise on this guy for winning easy championships.They have to win two games every year to win the championship. Big deal.

Couldnt of put it better myself!
    Hope Johnnybravo and mfitzy enjoyed the celebrations last night. I'm sure it was a great party.
    No Johnnybravo, I'm sure you couldn't HAVE put it any better yourself and I don't see how Cody's behaviour would have soured things for mfitzy either. You are not bystanders offering an objective opinion. You're both from Kilkenny in the middle of a big celebration.
    The issue here was about the Marty/Brian Cody post match interview in which the majority of those who saw it thought Cody behaved very badly indeed.
    Sometimes when we are directly involved, it's impossible to be objective. It's all about being able to think and see 'outside the box'. In this week of all weeks, I wouldn't expect anybody from Kilkenny to even want to do that. Doesn't change that fact that Cody made a big mistake. He has done lots of things right but his behaviour during the interview was unwarranted and wrong.
    It's natural that you would try to jump to Cody's defence but as was said earlier, you just cannot defend the indefensible.

akaredtop wrote: »
    Cody has been shown up as a stupid Yob. Will people now stop heaping praise on this guy for winning easy championships.They have to win two games every year to win the championship. Big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Zonda999

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marty_morrissey

Anyone feel like a laugh?

Look at this NOW, before its edited.

Just in case it is:
    Marty Morrissey is a commentator with the sports department of Ireland's national broadcaster Raidió Teilifís Éireann. He is a native of Clare(but moved there when he was younger because he is actually from the Bronx Zoo in New York)[citation needed] and currently resides in Kildare[citation needed]. Morrissey has commentated on many sporting events but his bailiwick is Gaelic games[citation needed].
    He is a former teacher at St Josephs Spanish Point Secondary School.
    Marty has been known to be fond of splashing the cash, after refusing to take the rte paycut Marty went out and blew about €500,000.00 on a horse that finished last in a race at Gowran Park, Co. Kilkenny
    Marty is regarded by everyone as having jeopardised his career, losing any fanbase he had and even endangering his life by trying in vain to take away from the historic 4 in a row victory by Kilkenny with snide comments and infantile questions directed at undoubtedly the greatest GAA manager of all time, Brian Cody.
    Marty is known as a bit of a cassinova around the RTE studios. He has slept with Anne Doyle, Twink, Shirley Templebar and Sharon Ni Bheolain in a foursome and that was a slow night for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭djScarey

If Tipperary had won, the opening question would have been: "So, Liam Sheedy, Benny Dunne should be banned for life?" They're not interested in hurling at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭akaredtop

It's simple really. Cody felt he could bully Mart Morrissey because of the size difference and because he believes some of the hype written about himself over the years. Michael Lyster should have backed up Marty after the interview rather than laughing at it. Bullys are cowards when you stand up to them and I am sure Cody is just the same.

akaredtop wrote: »
    It's simple really. Cody felt he could bully Mart Morrissey because of the size difference and because he believes some of the hype written about himself over the years. Michael Lyster should have backed up Marty after the interview rather than laughing at it. Bullys are cowards when you stand up to them and I am sure Cody is just the same.

What are you on? As if Marty bloody Morrisey costs Brian Cody a thought :D:D. FFS get a grip would ya. He is irrelevant to yet another of Cody's long list championship wins.
    What was Michael Lyster supposed to say; "that Brian Cody is a bold lad for scorning our precious Marty isn't he?" :D:D:D