Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are the Jeremy Kyle show guests the future of britain ?

• 05-09-2009 5:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭

Flicking from channel to channel the other day I came upon the Jeremy Kyle show. As bad as the Jerry Springer show was at least most of the guests there were been coached and put up to the on stage antics. However the Jeremy Kyle show is the real deal. Their was even a head butting on the show.

Manchester District Judge, Alan Berg, sentenced a man who headbutted his love rival while appearing on the show. Judge Berg was reported in the Manchester Evening News as saying: "I have had the misfortune, very recently, of watching The Jeremy Kyle Show. It seems to me that the purpose of this show is to effect a morbid and depressing display of dysfunctional people whose lives are in turmoil", and that it was "a plain disgrace which goes under the guise of entertainment".

I have to agree with his sentiments. So folks, are these neanderthal guests on the Jeremy Kyle a sign of the future of britain ??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

As long as they don't turn out like Jeremy Kyle it will all be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

McArmalite wrote: »
    Flicking from channel to channel the other day I came upon the Jeremy Kyle show. As bad as the Jerry Springer show was at least most of the guests there were been coached and put up to the on stage antics. However the Jeremy Kyle show is the real deal. Their was even a head butting on the show.

Manchester District Judge, Alan Berg, sentenced a man who headbutted his love rival while appearing on the show. Judge Berg was reported in the Manchester Evening News as saying: "I have had the misfortune, very recently, of watching The Jeremy Kyle Show. It seems to me that the purpose of this show is to effect a morbid and depressing display of dysfunctional people whose lives are in turmoil", and that it was "a plain disgrace which goes under the guise of entertainment".

I have to agree with his sentiments. So folks, are these neanderthal guests on the Jeremy Kyle a sign of the future of britain ??

Pretty much nail on the head, for me. While not the furtire of society (I won't say "Britan" because we cna pick it up here and are heavily influenced by it, while other areas have similar idiots) it's in danger of encouraging scmbaggery.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Those shows bring out the lowest common denominator in society. You'd see the exact same thing happen if there was a show like that in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

I always thought the people on it were actors.

The studio audience I mean.

I always thought it was a bit fun to watch though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Jeremy Kyle is such a bellend. He pretends he cares about what happens, but he's secretly getting a hard-on everytime something crazy happens, because he knows through very basic science that: crazy = ratings and ratings = money.

Anybody ever see this eejit?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLFIBdwkrxA

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

dlofnep wrote: »
    Jeremy Kyle is such a bellend. He pretends he cares about what happens, but he's secretly getting a hard-on everytime something crazy happens, because he knows through very basic science that: crazy = ratings and ratings = money.

Love youtube comments:

Bet he is the kind of guy when having sex with him he goes "basically, I have to come uh"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

Are the Joe Duffy guests the future of Ireland?

Are those bellend guests on the FM104 Phoneshow the future of Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

Those shows bring out the lowest common denominator in society. You'd see the exact same thing happen if there was a show like that in Ireland.
    Do you really think we have scummers like the ' guests ' on the JK show. After all is Ireland not the land of saints and scholars ? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

So folks, are these neanderthal guests on the Jeremy Kyle a sign of the future of britain ??

No more than any other group who are willing to be cretins on tv, like the Big Brother inmates for example (or Come Dine with Me! ;) ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Kyle's a bigger scumbag than any of his guests, can't stand the man at all.

I'm even pissed of that his name is in the title of a thread here :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

dlofnep wrote: »

can't believe I just watched that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

I thought that those people were actors just like Jerry Spinger guests.

Do you really think we have scummers like the ' guests ' on the JK show. After all is Ireland not the land of saints and scholars ? :)

Come on, imagine getting a couple of crazy bastards from some working-class housing estate in Limerick and sticking them on tele? :p

If they were to represent my future, I'd be awfully shocked!

can't believe I just watched that

Basically, yeah. I agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Judge Berg was reported in the Manchester Evening News as saying: "I have had the misfortune, very recently, of watching The Jeremy Kyle Show. It seems to me that the purpose of this show is to effect a morbid and depressing display of dysfunctional people whose lives are in turmoil", and that it was "a plain disgrace which goes under the guise of entertainment".

That exactly is the purpose of that show but as long as we know the difference .Most of the audience seem to be made up of students brought in to ' laugh at Bedlam

http://www.museumoflondon.org.uk/archive/exhibits/bedlam/f_bed.htm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Stupid question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

The future of the British prison population perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

There does seem to be more nutters/idiots around nowadays, God knows why.

Cull ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Who cares about the future of Britain anyway? We're in Ireland. Except for brummytom, the poor fecker.

On topic, lads you do realise the whole Jeremy Kyle/reality guilt thing is faked? The guests are being paid to say that stuff. Please tell me you don't take that stuff seriously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Confab wrote: »
    Who cares about the future of Britain anyway? We're in Ireland. Except for brummytom, the poor fecker.

On topic, lads you do realise the whole Jeremy Kyle/reality guilt thing is faked? The guests are being paid to say that stuff. Please tell me you don't take that stuff seriously...

Oh I thought they were real disadvantaged people lured into the studio with the false promise of chicken nuggets and bacardi breezers in return for their tales of woe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

People looking for help with what in the main seems to be their ' self inflicted ' problems is one thing but You would have to be short a brain cell or two to allow yourself to appear on that programme .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I had to google who this thread is about, thankfully i've never seen the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭*giggles*

We're gonna do a D.N.A test to see if you're on drugs:-P
    NO! YOU LISTEN! He torments people into being "better" and just like him. I say let's do a whole manner of tests on him, to see if he really should have a show like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Fake or not, I enjoy the show. It can be great fun watching it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Pyr0 wrote: »

Sad.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I wouldn't say the guests are the future of Britain.
    Those people are mainly the dregs of society and only make up a small percentage of the population.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Who cares about the future of Britain anyway? We're in Ireland.

AMEN. Táím an-bhuíoch díot, Confab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Unfortunately, stupid, ignorant, aggressive, ill-mannered cretins tend to 'breed' at a higher rate than the antipode. Hence, this population will continue to grow, but with the advent of serious crime, and in a sense agnate to bacterial growth, 'checks' will intervene to curb this populations' growth as having such a large number of cretins would be unsustainable, it's natural selection and being a criminal scumbag like Jeremy Kyle's guests is as much a hinderance as it is an advancement (i.e. in their respective communities).

Pyr0 wrote: »

Pyro,

The Irish taxpayer had pumped at least €1,000,000,000 into Baile Munna. It really is unbecoming of you to post comments like the above under the location banner of 'Ballymun'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

How is it sad watching it ? It's a form of entertainment, I enjoying watching him rip the people a new one, even if it happens to be made up. The same can be said for Jerry Springer, yeah it was massively over the top at times and downright unbelievable but it was entertaining.

Now if you excuse me, I've more youtube clips to watch :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Suprised TV3 haven't tried something in the same vein.

mike65 wrote: »

My thoughts precisely. Aside from the (quite excellent, in fairness) 20/20 current affairs series TV3 had years ago, I'm still awaiting a serious, intelligent programme on that channel. They even scrapped their version of Aertel years ago.

Ray Burke, thank you for being bribed to lift the restrictions all those years ago (on Century Radio). And thank you to every government since for not re-imposing them on other recipients of state licences. The last thing we want is intelligent broadcasting, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

El Siglo wrote: »
    Unfortunately, stupid, ignorant, aggressive, ill-mannered cretins tend to 'breed' at a higher rate than the antipode. Hence, this population will continue to grow, but with the advent of serious crime, and in a sense agnate to bacterial growth, 'checks' will intervene to curb this populations' growth as having such a large number of cretins would be unsustainable, it's natural selection and being a criminal scumbag like Jeremy Kyle's guests is as much a hinderance as it is an advancement (i.e. in their respective communities).

Your ideas intrigue me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

TV3 already show Jeremy Kyle. RTE airs a similar programme - Dr Phil - everyday.
    As much as people can dislike Jeremy Kyle, Dr Phil is a similar style of programme - and it's paid for by Irish taxpayers' money.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    My thoughts precisely. Aside from the (quite excellent, in fairness) 20/20 current affairs series TV3 had years ago, I'm still awaiting a serious, intelligent programme on that channel.

What sort of programme would you consider "intelligent"? Don't say anything with the word 'Tubridy' in it! please.

TV3 already show Jeremy Kyle. RTE airs a similar programme - Dr Phil - everyday.
    As much as people can dislike Jeremy Kyle, Dr Phil is a similar style of programme - and it's paid for by Irish taxpayers' money.

What sort of programme would you consider "intelligent"? Don't say anything with the word 'Tubridy' in it! please.

Prime Time Investigates is intelligent by TV standards. It adds something to society, to our awareness of real issues in this country. The documentaries on National Geographic and TG4 are also similarly intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Pyro,

The Irish taxpayer had pumped at least €1,000,000,000 into Baile Munna. It really is unbecoming of you to post comments like the above under the location banner of 'Ballymun'.

Eh?

Eh?

Well, there is a myriad of programmes in the Mun designed to bring society there forward and if, after a decade of such programmes, Jeremy Kyle has an audience there I have to wonder about the success of such programmes.

Prime Time Investigates is intelligent by TV standards. It adds something to society, to our awareness of real issues in this country. The documentaries on National Geographic and TG4 are also similarly intelligent.

I get you. I think Irish TV stations aim to go for entertainment value, more so than "intelligent" programming.
    They claim they want to provide what the majority of this country wants, and scrolling through their autumn schedules, that would seem to state that Irish people value light hearted entertainment shows, above anything.
    Programmes like 'The X Factor' do incredibly well in Ireland - ratings were up by 60,000 this year.

If you like programmes like 'Prime Time', TV3 have a new show called 'Midweek' which you might like. It's discussing current affairs and topical issues relating to the Irish public.
    So seemingly, they are trying to introduce new things and a bit of depth to their programming.

I get you. I think Irish TV stations aim to go for entertainment value, more so than "intelligent" programming.
    They claim they want to provide what the majority of this country wants, and scrolling through their autumn schedules, that would seem to state that Irish people value light hearted entertainment shows, above anything.
    Programmes like 'The X Factor' do incredibly well in Ireland - ratings were up by 60,000 this year.

If you like programmes like 'Prime Time', TV3 have a new show called 'Midweek' which you might like. It's discussing current affairs and topical issues relating to the Irish public.
    So seemingly, they are trying to introduce new things and a bit of depth to their programming.

Never heard of 'Midweek'; I'll look out for it now. As I said, a few years ago I watched 20/20 on TV3 and it was very informative. I looked for it many times since but it wasn't there. It's usually English soaps or US-style reality TV. That doesn't add much to my existence to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Your ideas intrigue me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

I hope you can swing a sack of door knobs?

But you gotta supply your own knobs!;)

Never heard of 'Midweek'; I'll look out for it now. As I said, a few years ago I watched 20/20 on TV3 and it was very informative. I looked for it many times since but it wasn't there. It's usually English soaps or US-style reality TV. That doesn't add much to my existence to be honest.

It's a new show, starting this Wednesday with Collette Fitzpatrick. She does Midday during the day as well.

Yeah, it's not for everyone! But based on ratings and TV3's percentage share of the market, it would seem that quite a lot of Irish people are interested in programmes like that.

As for 20/20, you should call up and enquire if they're planning on getting it back? A friend of mine called up to ask about The Shield ... It was put back on air a few weeks later! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

There was a BBC Radio poll a few years back about who listeners would least like to have a picnic with in the world and Jeremy came second only to Osama

Bubs101 wrote: »
    There was a BBC Radio poll a few years back about who listeners would least like to have a picnic with in the world and Jeremy came second only to Osama

People wanted to have a picnic with Osama Bin Laden?

I guess they could pick up the food in Nine Seven Eleven before they went...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

TV sucks.

You should all go read a book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

Jaysis don't jinx yourself!

TV sucks.

You should all go read a book.

Now, there is a post, and a potential thread, way ahead of its time. I could easily live without a television - easily.

I particularly dislike the average Irish pub, which is now an incredibly noisy, TV-obsessed place. Give me Kavanagh's/The Gravediggers in Glasnevin or Grogan's and their TV-free pubs anyday.

TVs are so last century.

Television producers have always been on the lookout for cheap programming, for example quiz shows, any type of chat show without professional or famous participants, funny home movies etc

There will always be a list of willing participants to go on these shows for their 15 minutes of fame.

Channel4 once did a series called "The word" A late night show that included a "I'll do anything to get on TV" moments such as a guy who got into a bath full of watery cow manure, another young guy french kissing an old grandmother, and a guy who put a huge sheep's testicle in his mouth.

With 24*7*365*(however many channels there are on your box) hours of airtime to fill, it can't all be quality stuff.

The likes of BBC3 & 4 tend to have fairly good dross filters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

They're not the future of a country. Someone else is. They're the people who live off those others who are the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Are the Jeremy Kyle show guests the future of britain ? YES OR NO?!?!

Sorry if this has already been done, I haven't read the whole thread yet