Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car brought and painted for all ireland..road legal?

• 04-09-2009 1:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭

Well lads, I have a question me and my friends brought a 94 fiesta and done her up on blue and gold for the All Ireland, got insured and tax for the week but no NCT but she runs perfect(family friend who sold it to us and was very concious of safety)

My question is besided the NCT and the flag in the back window(easily removed) is there anything Ilegal. My big worry is that some idiot got hold of it during the week and drilled a few holes in the middle box and she sounds like a cross between a lawnmower and a ferrari! I don't want to take it for a spin if all thats highly illegal! We applied for the nct so im not overly worried bout that as shes only a month out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

If you bring that to Dublin expect to get the train home. ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

PROMISE ME

When you take it out you will dress up like this

http://www.diversitygifts.com.au/images/products/TOY-BANANAS-B1-BEANIE-20CM.jpg

First thing I thought of when I saw it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

Huggles wrote: »
    PROMISE ME

When you take it out you will dress up like this

http://www.diversitygifts.com.au/images/products/TOY-BANANAS-B1-BEANIE-20CM.jpg

First thing I thought of when I saw it.
    Ha ha now that is good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,753 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Its lovely - hope it doesn't break down and leave you stranded in the rain on the way to the match!

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Its lovely - hope it doesn't break down and leave you stranded in the rain on the way to the match!

........or on the way to coppers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

we had a old transit painted orange and white for the armagh games in croker (been a while:() it had flashing orange beacons and the armagh crest stuck on the sides! it was definitely not road legal but we never had any hassle from AGS. it broke down on the m50 last year and thats the last we saw of her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Nice job :D

I'd say your only potential problem would be the colour on the logbook not matching the colour on the car, you could send the form down to Shannon requesting they change the colour listed but to be honest once you have road tax, insurance and if you were to get a date for the NCT the Gardai should let you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

Shur all the guards are big into gaa,there'll be no bother.Massive craic.Drive away

alo1587 wrote: »
    Shur all the guards are big into gaa,there'll be no bother.Massive craic.Drive away

:eek:.....Its true. The boggers have all their cousins on their side. Sure ye wont get done by one of the relations :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭sgthighway

I saw a Dumper painted White on a back of a trailor in 1998. A while later I'm outside Quinns having a pint when I hear then see the same Dumper coming up the road with a big sign: HERE TO TAKE HOME SAM.
    They went back to Kildare empty. :D:D:D
    If you behave you should be grand in your car..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

and the flag in the back window(easily removed)
    There is no legal requirement to be able to see out a rear window. No need to remove the flag.

Good luck on the day! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Couple a Kerry lads down here too have a Green & Gold Mini that sees Dublin regularly on All-Ireland day.

Be sure and drive her up O'Connell street and get a musical horn like the dukes of hazzard, one other thing if ye wins be sure to invade the pitch. The car looks like a Corsa or Nova are you sure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,157 ✭✭✭✭Berty

netwhizkid wrote: »
    The car looks like a Corsa or Nova are you sure?

You should get a week off from motors for not noticing it is a Fiesta. :rolleyes:

The giveaway is the Ford badge. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

a little off topic but Op what is the model number & the year of the international in the corner?

Good luck to morrow

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

No NCT. Get the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

No NCT. Get the bus.
    Your no fun!!