Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Spin 5th September

• 03-09-2009 10:34am
    Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭

9am, under the Luas bridge in Dundrum? For anyone not going to Electric Picnic or going on some epic randonee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

If I am able to get an errand done on Friday afternoon, I'll join you.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Festina day? Or Kaiku day?

Kaiku if no rain forecast

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Looking good
    SATURDAY will be breezy with moderate to fresh westerly winds. Leinster and Munster will be mainly dry with some bright or sunny spells.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I would like to, but I have no helmet at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I would like to, but I have no helmet at the moment.

I'll give you a helmet tomorrow, if you want to call into town and collect it. It will even match yu blue Italian gear.

Is it a Large (> 59cm)?

Don't think I'll be wheeling out any Italian gear tomorrow, time to go back to winter kit.

Thanks for the offer ROK ON.

Is it a Large (> 59cm)?

Don't think I'll be wheeling out any Italian gear tomorrow, time to go back to winter kit.

Thanks for the offer ROK ON.

It is, but it is missing some of that soft padding/sweatband, so it would be advisable to wear a cap underneath.

I have decided to take you under my wing and become your cycling conscience. Any time that you want to flake on a cycle, I will step in to provide you with a spare bike, helmet etc.:D

(Which is rather rich given that I dint complete the Sean Kelly at the w/e)

Yeah I sensed a bit of "can't let Dirk pull a fast one" in your generous offer :).

I'll pick it up tomorrow so, let me know when and where. I'll have to pick up a new SIM card first though, so around lunchtime might me a good idea.

EDIT: Watching the vuelta and I see your Xacobeo kit right now.

What happend to your helmet? Crash?

Yeah I sensed a bit of "can't let Dirk pull a fast one" in your generous offer :).

I'll pick it up tomorrow so, let me know when and where. I'll have to pick up a new SIM card first though, so around lunchtime might me a good idea.

EDIT: Watching the vuelta and I see your Xacobeo kit right now.

Close to Tara St station. I will pm you my mobile.

el tonto wrote: »
    What happend to your helmet? Crash?

Nope. Nothing...checked it the other night and 2 massive cracks along one of the struts. Never been crashed, dropped, stood on, etc. It's being sent back to CRC for inspection so hopefully it is covered under warranty. It actually had a few small defects in the foam, like large pores, but I never paid them much attention. Bit disappointing from Giro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

I wanna go for a spin but don't know if I have time. What distance do ya reckon?

Anything between 60 and 100km is good for me.

Sounds good to me, short and fast as opposed to long and slow.

So many jokes there, must resist...

Thank god I wasn't the only one about to unleash some innuendo.

Raam wrote: »
    So many jokes there, must resist...

I don't get it? I was only referring to my preferred riding style. I prefer to go hard early on and explode before anyone else has had a chance to warm up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

Anything between 60 and 100km is good for me.

OK cool. will try and make that so.
    long and slow is good but since time is of the essance hard and fast will do :p

I don't get it? I was only referring to my preferred riding style. I prefer to go hard early on and explode before anyone else has had a chance to warm up.

That's why the ladies have no time for you

I always thing it's a good idea to lube mine up really well before a long ride.

I give mine a good pumping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

If mine's dirty I give it a good soapy wash. Sometimes I just spit on it and wipe it down with a rag.

Well that's certainly better than wiping it in the curtains when you're done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Will there be any virgins on this? It would be a good time to break some newcomers in. I'm fed up of seeing the same old faces (and asses).

FFS Pete. You had to bring the tone down, didn't you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Will there be any virgins on this? It would be a good time to break some newcomers in. I'm fed up of seeing the same old faces (and asses).
    +1.

But only if they're shaved. I'm sick of all these super-hairy newcomers who get tired after an hour, and keep complaining that their ass is sore.

FFS Pete. You had to bring the tone down, didn't you.
    Why are you giving out? No noobs allowed?

When we go up sallys gap are we going up the front or the back?

Sallys Gap? Far too wide for me, it's like riding a tricycle up O'Connell street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭keano007

I could be up for this....I'm kind of a virgin and I'm very hairy though!!

Really though might see can I keep up with ye guys if there's no objections?

keano007 wrote: »
    I could be up for this....I'm kind of a virgin and I'm very hairy though!!

Really though might see can I keep up with ye guys if there's no objections?

If you can't, you have to buy lunch for everyone. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

way too early in my cycling life to be going out with you hardcore fellas, im still a 40km max man, and i only noticed a 5% gradient kills!!!

besides, im gonna cycle over to the swift clinic to get some stitches out early saturday morning, ill wave when i go by, ill be the fella dying on the Lapierre :eek:

way too early in my cycling life to be going out with you hardcore fellas, im still a 40km max man, and i only noticed a 5% gradient kills!!!

besides, im gonna cycle over to the swift clinic to get some stitches out early saturday morning, ill wave when i go by, ill be the fella dying on the Lapierre :eek:

El Tonto will be the guy dying on the Wilier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

HI - not sure if you lot will remember me it's been so long, sorry, sorry....! As I said to the priest it's been about 2 months since my last....Anyway have to get back so was looking for spins this weekend. Saw the Randonee stuff and winced - even the 160 might be a bit much after so long off the bike, however it's still under consderation. Hurt my back again (running!) so might be smarter to go with you than be stuck in the middle of nowhere with the Randonnee. Any idea who's doing what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭keano007

If you can't, you have to buy lunch for everyone. ;)

Sounds fair enough i suppose! Any suggestions on routes or r ye gonna play it by ear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭waitforme

Five weeks of no cycling due to hols and apathy. I hope to be joining y'all 2moro, so long as I can fight the peer pressure to consume ridiculous levels of alcohol this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Timmah!

I too would like to join in but fear I'll get dropped within a km, might see you there.

keano007 wrote: »
    Sounds fair enough i suppose! Any suggestions on routes or r ye gonna play it by ear?

How about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

How about this?

What time would you expect to finish that at?

Might make a trip to the darkside, sorry southside, for it but I need to be back early as the boss wants to do baby shopping.........no we're not buying an actual baby just all the bloody millions of things they'll apparently need ;)

lafors wrote: »

Might make a trip to the darkside, sorry southside, for it but I need to be back early as the boss wants to do baby shopping.........no we're not buying an actual baby just all the bloody millions of things they'll apparently need ;)

Its not millions of things, its an infinite amount of things. Only thing more time consuming than infants is shopping for all the crap they consume. Been there too many times. I feel yur pain.

Something between 2.5 and 3 hours I'd guess.

What about stopping for an hour to have coffee!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

At a somewhat respectable pace that would take about 2.5hrs i suppose

Hopefully should make it myself for the spin, inflammation in the knee's has died down a bit

How about this?

A nice easy one for the beginners, eh. Where are we gonna stop to have our lunch bought for us?

We should hide a barbecue in the bushes somewhere in the Wicklow Mtns, then everyone brings their own meat on the spin.

Should be interesting beind chased by dogs up the Sally Gap with all that meat in our pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭Gasco

In a similar position to lafors, what is it about the imminent arrival of a child and a sudden urge to spend long periods on a bike? Would like to tag along for a few k at least, I imagine i will lose sight of ye by the Edmondstown road (thus avoiding any lunch buying muttering)

As long as you're not last up the hill you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Better idea: BBQ in an oil drum under the Luas bridge. Something to do for the 45 minutes we spend waiting for everyone to turn up.

I might encourage the hobos to come along and give their opinions on the merits of deep-section carbon rims and the suchlike.

I'd be along tomorrow if it weren't for those pesky kids