Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

where can i rent a car transporter in dublin???

• 02-09-2009 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

hey..where can i rent a car transporter in dublin for a day or 2???does anyone know who rents them and for how much per day??thanks

do they also rent straps and rachets for tieing the car down??

or near dublin?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭3nero

Mr Hire over near the Nutgrove shopping centre
    i think i paid €80 a day for one about a year ago
    i had my own straps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

What car do you need to move, and to and from what locations?

Might be in a position to help, as will be moving a car for another boardsie this Saturday already....

Gil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭brooklands

ok..thanks for ur help....i going to move afriends car for him on mon or tue of next week from dundrum to west cork...but i would be able to do it myself though and thanks for the offer though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭kyote00

I know some one who hires them out....its 20e a day, 40e for a weekend. wheel rachets included.

check my sig for a link to donedeal ad.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭brooklands

great ...thanks for the link.....good luck

I could be wrong, but it looks like there aren't brakes on that trailer.... Just be aware that if that's the case, it won't be legal, and I've heard of a few people being stopped by the Gardaí recently and being read the act for it. Just so you know. If it was just a short run, it'd be fine I'd imagine, but a lot could happen on the long drive to Cork....

Stay safe ;)

Gil

I think the towing rules are

"ensure a trailer is fitted with brakes if it has a gross vehicle weight of more than 750kg or is more than half the laden weight of the drawing vehicle (whichever is lower). "

this is whats in the road traffic act....do you have a reference to the other rule you mention...

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

kyote00 wrote: »
    I think the towing rules are

"ensure a trailer is fitted with brakes if it has a gross vehicle weight of more than 750kg or is more than half the laden weight of the drawing vehicle (whichever is lower). "

this is whats in the road traffic act....do you have a reference to the other rule you mention...

thanks
    These rules don't apply if you can tow it at night. :D

If the combined weight of the trailer and the car you're towing exceed 50% of the GVW of the vehicle you're towing it with, it's supposed to have brakes.

I couldn't find a specific reference in the statute book, but I'll have a proper look when I'm not so flipping wrecked. :D I'm open to correction, but I know that's what I've been told before....

Thanks,

Gil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

This is all getting a bit anal.....i doubt if any Garda knows/cares about these rules...:rolleyes:

BTW..i'm not having a go at the Gardai either...;)

indeed, didn't mean to be anal. But I would like to know that I am within the rules of road. I have also used a trailer transporter fairly often from Hireco.ie -- it was unbraked also.

The other rule that is often broken is speed limit of 80kmph when towing...thats anothers days work....

Its usually when something goes wrong that the legal s**t hits the fan --- its good to be within the law in those circumstances.
    This is all getting a bit anal.....i doubt if any Garda knows/cares about these rules...:rolleyes:

My transporter weighs 1 ton unladen. Granted that's a few hundred kilos more than a ladder type transporter, but it's fully sprung with over-run brakes etc. Now, I usually move landrovers and recently another boardsies classic. In each case, you can consider them to weigh about 2 ton. That's 3+ ton rolling behind my own 2 ton Disco, for a total of over 5 ton....

In all fairness, with that kind of weight, being 'anal' about having adequate braking is hardly something you or anyone else should be sneering at MaxHeadroom.

Now I know you might be inclined to discount this given the fact that a lighter trailer and a smaller car weigh less, you're still looking at up and around 2 ton, unbraked. That's not the kind of load I'd like to have behind me unless I was driving something very heavy as the towing vehicle. 2 ton of unbraked load behind a normal estate car or a light SUV/SWB Jeep could very quickly get out of hand, and jacknifing becomes a real risk.....

So, don't rubbish my input as being 'anal'. This is serious stuff and people need to be careful when transporting cars around the place. Leave aside the relevant SI's and all that - This is common sense stuff lads. Ignore or discount the very real risks at your own and others peril....

And just so you know - I'm not having a go at anyone either. We all make our own decisions, but I like to look out for other boardsies, as several of you will attest. ;)

Gil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Gil_Dub wrote: »
    My transporter weighs 1 ton unladen. Granted that's a few hundred kilos more than a ladder type transporter, but it's fully sprung with over-run brakes etc. Now, I usually move landrovers and recently another boardsies classic. In each case, you can consider them to weigh about 2 ton. That's 3+ ton rolling behind my own 2 ton Disco, for a total of over 5 ton....

In all fairness, with that kind of weight, being 'anal' about having adequate braking is hardly something you or anyone else should be sneering at MaxHeadroom.

Now I know you might be inclined to discount this given the fact that a lighter trailer and a smaller car weigh less, you're still looking at up and around 2 ton, unbraked. That's not the kind of load I'd like to have behind me unless I was driving something very heavy as the towing vehicle. 2 ton of unbraked load behind a normal estate car or a light SUV/SWB Jeep could very quickly get out of hand, and jacknifing becomes a real risk.....

So, don't rubbish my input as being 'anal'. This is serious stuff and people need to be careful when transporting cars around the place. Leave aside the relevant SI's and all that - This is common sense stuff lads. Ignore or discount the very real risks at your own and others peril....

And just so you know - I'm not having a go at anyone either. We all make our own decisions, but I like to look out for other boardsies, as several of you will attest. ;)

Gil

That's always a popular response when someone realises they can't argue with good old fashion common sense and a bit of cop-on, but don't want to man up and admit someone else has a valid point to make that they hadn't considered themselves... Good on ye, I'd expect nothing less.

I'll look up the SI's tomorrow, and agree with Kyote00 that it's a hell of a lot better to make sure you're all nice and legal if something happens and the fit hits the shan. Hah. Intelligence, eh? You either have it or you don't, right? ;)

Gil

Anyone know what these numbers means....all cars seems to have them .... pulled from carzone (new car search)

Landrover discovery:
    Weights: gross vehicle weight rating (kg): 3,230, gross vehicle weight rating (lbs): 7,121, kerb weight (kg): 2,718, kerb weight (lbs): 5,992, gross trailer weight braked (kg): 3,500, gross trailer weight braked (lbs): 7,716, gross trailer weight unbraked (kg): 750, gross trailer weight unbraked (lbs): 1,653, kerb weight includes driver: kerb weight includes driver, gross train weight (kg): 6,730 and gross train weight (lbs): 14,837

kyote00 wrote: »
    Anyone know what these numbers means....all cars seems to have them .... pulled from carzone (new car search)

Landrover discovery:
    Weights: gross vehicle weight rating (kg): 3,230, gross vehicle weight rating (lbs): 7,121, kerb weight (kg): 2,718, kerb weight (lbs): 5,992, gross trailer weight braked (kg): 3,500, gross trailer weight braked (lbs): 7,716, gross trailer weight unbraked (kg): 750, gross trailer weight unbraked (lbs): 1,653, kerb weight includes driver: kerb weight includes driver, gross train weight (kg): 6,730 and gross train weight (lbs): 14,837

It basically means that you can tow 750kg's unbraked, and that anything over that and up to an upper towing limit of 3500kg's should be braked. Gross train weight is the combined weight of the vehicle and its maximum towing allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

Some good advice there Gil_Dub!

Too many motorists often rubbish such advice as being "anal" when, as you said, it's just a common sense approach to have everything in order, whether its brakes, lights or whatever. It's because people dont heed such simple common-sense advice that causes other people to get injured, or worse!

I worked in the motor trade for many years and used all sorts of towing combos, i.e. A-Frames, Towing Dollys, Transporter trailers..and the old fasioned way using a rope or towing bar.

It's all to easy for things to go seriously pear-shaped if the device (and driver!) are not 100%. Examples...I recall when using an A-Frame the combo almost jack-knifing several times (at very low speeds), or when using a rope, and indicating a right turn, the following car overtook us just as I was about to turn right!

And dont forget that in most cases you will need an 'EB' driving licence to tow a transporter trailer.

Safe travels!