Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boys School Donnybrook - 3 piece suits?

• 02-09-2009 12:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what school in Donnybrook has a 3 piece suit as a uniform? Schools are back here and just realised that some of the people milling around the place I'd mistaken for accountants are in fact about 14 years old.

They're all out the laneway beside my office at the moment smoking and looking for all the world like a group of bold confirmation kids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Anyone know what school in Donnybrook has a 3 piece suit as a uniform? Schools are back here and just realised that some of the people milling around the place I'd mistaken for accountants are in fact about 14 years old.

They're all out the laneway beside my office at the moment smoking and looking for all the world like a group of bold confirmation kids

I'm not 100%, but think it may be John Scottus school? It's there along Morehampton Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 velvets-rule

Hate to admit it, but that was probably me smoking. I smoked beside offices in my suit when on my lunch break. And yes, I was a student at John Scottus, but don't get me started on that place.

Your fined 25 euro if your caught having a smoke.

Is your office behind the Donnybrook Fair?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

John Scottus brainwash the children with religious fundamentalism don't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭donaghs

I've heard a lot of differing opinions on the place. Anyone who went there care to explain what the place is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Black Dog

Expensive smokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

So illegal underage smoking only has a fine of 25 quid?
    thats pretty light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

So illegal underage smoking only has a fine of 25 quid?
    thats pretty light.

What do you want them to do if it's off school grounds? In most cases on school grounds it involves a fine + suspension, can't speak for all schools though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

John Scottus is that a posh proddy school??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

fryup wrote: »

No its a hedge school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

No, it's an 'edge school
    FYP

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

No its a hedge school

a hedge school whats that??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

No its a hedge school
    witty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

philstar wrote: »
    a hedge school whats that??
    Hedge schools were outdoor Catholic schools when other Catholic schools were banned here hundreds of years ago... The sort of time when when you could refer to "posh proddy schools" without sounding like a total doofus

RMD wrote: »
    What do you want them to do if it's off school grounds? In most cases on school grounds it involves a fine + suspension, can't speak for all schools though.

expulsion.

Though that kinda explains why I'm not a principle :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭CuppaCocoa

expulsion.

Though that kinda explains why I'm not a principle :pac:

No, you're not a PRINCIPAL because you can't spell! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Seems to me that he can spell but made the mistake because principal and principle are homophones.

Back on topic, the boys could possibly have been from Sandford Park School.

no word spelt wrong there, just a wrong word. But I'm not an english teacher either so don't give a fook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    pwd wrote: »
    The sort of time when when you could refer to "posh proddy schools" without sounding like a total doofus

ah come on now, any school that has a 3 peice suit as a uniform has got to be posh proddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Tut tut....

But bitch slapped & owned here...
    no word spelt wrong there, just a wrong word. But I'm not an english teacher either so don't give a fook

Lilybarlean don't ever come here correcting people's spelling, or indeed their grammar again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭D.R cowboy

It could have been any school,
    FYI MOST SCHOOL HAVE A 3 PIECE SUIT ANYWAY

Once they were not wearing air max nike runners, you'll be Ok OP

D.R cowboy wrote: »
    It could have been any school,
    FYI MOST SCHOOL HAVE A 3 PIECE SUIT ANYWAY

Once they were not wearing air max nike runners, you'll be Ok OP

or 5 piece

shirt
    tie
    jumper
    slacks
    shoes

or 5 piece

shirt
    tie
    jumper
    slacks
    shoes

What about the blazer?

or 5 piece

shirt
    tie
    jumper
    slacks
    shoes

whatever stevo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

3 piece suit would have been pretty cool in school. Better than a scratchy wool jumper at least. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Gyalist wrote: »
    Seems to me that he can spell but made the mistake because principal and principle are homophones.

Back on topic, the boys could possibly have been from Sandford Park School.

No they either wear a jumper or blazer- it's not three piece.

Piste wrote: »
    No they either wear a jumper or blazer- it's not three piece.

I know that it's not a three-piece suit but my son is a student at Sandford and he often wears both jumper and blazer.

John Scottus wear a navy blazer and grey marl jumper so I don't see how that could be mistaken for a three-piece suit either.

Depending on where in Donnybrook the OP saw the boys it could be either of
    John Scottus, Sandford Park, Gonzaga or St. Conleth's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭scifi77

Putting a three piece suit on a young lad. Talk about setting them apart. What kind of notions is that giving the young fellows? Some of these little guys could be thinking they are a cut above perhaps, purely because of what they are wearing, not because of their ability. I wore a school uniform but I would have been mortified if I had to parade around in a 3 piece suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭scifi77

It would also be interesting to know what the fees are for this particular establishment.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

scifi77 wrote: »
    Putting a three piece suit on a young lad. Talk about setting them apart. What kind of notions is that giving the young fellows? Some of these little guys could be thinking they are a cut above perhaps, purely because of what they are wearing, not because of their ability. I wore a school uniform but I would have been mortified if I had to parade around in a 3 piece suit.

most the schools around d4 are 3 piece suit schools. i went to conleths, there was a 3 piece suit option, not many wore it, was mainly the junior school wearing it, john scottus in general wore it alot more

scifi77 wrote: »

Well statistics don't lie my friend and most of those guys will end up in suits anyway, so they might aswell get used to being better that guys running around in tracksuits etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

Nothing like a bit of class outrage. I mean, how dare anybody send their child to a private school.

most the schools around d4 are 3 piece suit schools. i went to conleths, there was a 3 piece suit option, not many wore it, was mainly the junior school wearing it, john scottus in general wore it alot more

You obviously don't know what a 3 piece suit means.

Tie and blazer is not a 3 piece suit. I suggest you take tailoring 101.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

D.R cowboy wrote: »
    Well statistics don't lie my friend and most of those guys will end up in suits anyway, so they might aswell get used to being better that guys running around in tracksuits etc

Ye they more than likely will end up in suits, but deliberately setting them apart to think they're better than others simply because of a private education will turn them into a arrogant snobby ****.

RMD wrote: »
    Ye they more than likely will end up in suits, but deliberately setting them apart to think they're better than others simply because of a private education will turn them into a arrogant snobby ****.

So dressing well makes you an "arrogant snobby" whatever?

What about people who "deliberately set themselves apart" by wearing €150 runners, Lacoste tracksuits and sport 18ct gold sovereigns?

What do you propose children wear to school? A State standard uniform (trousers for both boys and girls, of course) with tri-colour armband?

JonJoeDali wrote: »
    So dressing well makes you an "arrogant snobby" whatever?

What about people who "deliberately set themselves apart" by wearing €150 runners, Lacoste tracksuits and sport 18ct gold sovereigns?

What do you propose children wear to school? A State standard uniform (trousers for both boys and girls, of course) with tri-colour armband?

well said , you seem to be a man of my heart;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Lads, not everyone wants to send their kid to a Catholic school.

There is a substantial number of us who aren't Catholic. I'm an atheist, my family isn't Catholic either. I don't want my kids going to a Catholic school. There was no free alternative, so I sent him to a fee-paying school. What's your gripe??

Until state schools exist in every region, fee-paying schools will exist.

Besides, the fee-paying schools have diverse ethoses. Some are Church of Ireland (they're not actually Protestant you know), some are non-denominational, some are Muslim or Jewish or big into rugby or music or classics - parents can then chose what will suit their child and the family ethos.

Wait till you have to decide where your kids will go to school - and find the local schools are not what you'd like at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Its John Scottus. Its a meh school in the area.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

a meh school?????

According to this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055425380 John Scottus is run by a cult organisation

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

You obviously don't know what a 3 piece suit means.

Tie and blazer is not a 3 piece suit. I suggest you take tailoring 101.

for the sake of the thread title and what most have referred to here, its a 3 piece

It's not a 3 piece suit considering the proper semantics of the phrase. If you wish to try to generate momentum to change the meaning, by all means, go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

And yes, I was a student at John Scottus, but don't get me started on that place.?
    According to this thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055425380 John Scottus is run by a cult organisation

Maybe velvets-rule can get started on that place?

I'm not sure that the majority's ignorance of the actual meaning is any justification for trying to declare the meaning now changed.

Nevore wrote: »
    I'm not sure that the majority's ignorance of the actual meaning is any justification for trying to declare the meaning now changed.

i said for 'sake' of the thread... jeez

I just don't see what end allowing people to labour under a misconception serves. :confused:

Nevore wrote: »

Interesting that you observe the majority to be ignorant. Perhaps this is the case from your perspective. I'd better watch out next time I'm on Wikipedia.

I'm not trying to declare anything. When one uses words, it is reasonable to assume they are being used according to their definition and that the semantic role is clear from the context.

To describe the John Scottus uniform as a "three piece suit" is ridiculous. Loose use of language only leads to confusion.

I'm not trying to declare anything. When one uses words, it is reasonable to assume they are being used according to their definition and that the semantic role is clear from the context.
    Agreed.
    To describe the John Scottus uniform as a "three piece suit" is ridiculous. Loose use of language only leads to confusion.
    Agreed...
    You seem to think that I think the John Scottus uniform is a three piece? Would you like to read the thread again and perhaps we'll start over.

Thanks for ruining the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,070 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Whereas your contributions did - what?
    John Scottus brainwash the children with religious fundamentalism don't they?

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

donaghs wrote: »
    I've heard a lot of differing opinions on the place. Anyone who went there care to explain what the place is about?

I went there, What you want to know?

I wasn't brainwashed when i went there, When i left i hated the place, but looking back, it was more me being harsh on the place

The School is Partly Funded by the SPES, However its a normal school, does normal subjects, and Normal Teachers

The school offers Optional Subjects (Greek, Sanskrit, Latin), Which are encouraged. But your not going to be kicked out for not doing them

Admittedly, its been nearly 7 years since i left, But the Main Man of the school, is a Dr Telford, who would always be Interested in talking to anyone about the school, if you were interested.
    as for 3 piece suits thing, I'll clarify that now

When you start in Morhampton road, your meant to wear a Blazer, Grey trousers and Blue shirt. The Grey Jumper is optional, As is the blazer. (one or the other, on a cold morning, i (and many others) wore both

When your in 5th year. the uniform changes to a blazer and Shirt and tie (of your own choice)