Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Furthest you have seen an Irish plate from home?

• 01-09-2009 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭

What's the furthest country you have spotted an Irish registered car from Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Pula, Croatia

Saw an 04 Audi A4, that was nearly 2 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Somewhere in southern Germany a couple of years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

The Nurburgring... and it wasn't a Glanza:p S4 estate I recall.

On my honeymoon I got stuck behind a German camper van driving up a mountain pass in Yosemite Park (California)... I set out early one morning at 06:00 to get some good early morning photo's and got stuck behind this thing with no where to pass.... bloody German's; if their not out putting their towels on the pool loungers, they are blocking mountain roads in their camper vans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Saw a D reg Nissan Patrol in Cannes, French Riviera, a few years back.

Seen Irish reg plates in Irish bars a hell of a lot further than that though!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Mexico & Portugal. The one in Portugal was out of tax and insurance by a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Saw one in Romania last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Saw a D reg in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Berty wrote: »
    Mexico & Portugal. The one in Portugal was out of tax and insurance by a few years.

Mexico, jeez, what was it?
    Bluefoam wrote: »
    Saw a D reg in Cork
    Madness, i once saw a LH registered car down here too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Dundalk, with one exception it's the furthest I've been from home :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

My brother was out in Chad with the Irish army last year and came home with photos of the Irish reg'd people carriers out there in the desert dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Dunmoon

Saw a 99D plate on the wall of a restraunt in Quito Ecuador.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Saw one in Romania last year.

Where in Romania Colm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,130 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Original thread, Tipsy Mac. I don't think we've done this before! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭jamiecall

Saw a 2002 Dublin reg Porsche 911 in las Vegas last year in the bellagio car park. Saw an Irish reg escort xr3i cabrio in Marbella this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Saw a 99 D Skoda Octavia in Strasbourg in France about 5 years ago. great idea for a thread btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Friend of mine used to live in Sydney and she said there was a D reg car that she used to see regularly around the city.

Myself, saw plenty of Irish reg cars in France and Spain as a kid, parents used to bring us camping and tour around both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭McGrath5

Friend of mine used to live in Sydney and she said there was a D reg car that she used to see regularly around the city.

Myself, saw plenty of Irish reg cars in France and Spain as a kid, parents used to bring us camping and tour around both

I'm open to correction on this but I think it was a few guys from Dublin who drove a BMW 316 to Australia, obviously getting ferries where necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

maybe not the same car tho . But saw a D reg 3 series (IIRC) in sydney back in 2000 :-o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Beat this one lads.....

Irish registered truck in Vientiane, Laos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Plenty of them in Ulan Baatar in Mongolia (including mine) over the month of August. Only 10,000 miles away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

homer90 wrote: »
    maybe not the same car tho . But saw a D reg 3 series (IIRC) in sydney back in 2000 :-o

No, you're right

http://www.dublintosydney.com/NewWebSite/menu.htm

it wasn't them though as far as I know, I think she mentioned something about a Volkswagen, I must ask her again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I think London is the furthest I have spotted one on my travels :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I saw a Cork registered Volkswagen Golf parked in New York back in 2005, that was pretty cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

My best is Metkovic in Croatia. An Army lorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Onkle wrote: »
    Pula, Croatia

Saw an 04 Audi A4, that was nearly 2 years ago

Thats mad. I saw an Irish reged A4 in Poric which is about 30 miles from Pula back in 2005. Cant remember which year though but it was an A4 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

On hols with herself, we saw a 06 D Silver Touareg in Krakow Poland 2 years ago. It stood out a mile compared to some of the locals cars as it drove down the particular street we were on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I've seen plenty of lorries on the France/Spain border. I also spotted a D reg 535d M Sport in Barcelona!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

A D reg in Gran Cranaria :eek:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Somewhere further than China! :D

Now I wasnt theere, but my friend was. He took his car over with him. Literally spent a few months on a world road trip. Ill see if I can dig up some photos of his car over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

I'm open to correction on this but I think it was a few guys from Dublin who drove a BMW 316 to Australia, obviously getting ferries where necessary.

You are right!

1_Simon_and_Car_with_Sydney_Harbour_Bridge_from_Nth.jpg

All from

http://www.dublintosydney.com

I also recall that BMW bought the car off the lads for their museum. It must be in Ireland as MYwheels.ie has it NCT'd until Feb 2011!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

Seen a irish truck on a autobahn outside Dortmund in Germany a few years back. It was great to see I wasn't the only Irish around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I see quite a few Irish reg cars on the A9 in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

mullingar wrote: »
    I also recall that BMW bought the car off the lads for their museum. It must be in Ireland as MYwheels.ie has it NCT'd until Feb 2011!
    They got the car shipping from Sydney to Rotterdam then drove to Athens for the Olympics then drove back to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

got passed by a lad in a C reg on the A57 to Cologne, had Mallow Painters written on the side of it or something, must of been a booze cruise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

A mate has an old Irish regg'd Merc in Kusadasi, Turkey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I saw an Irish reg in Hammamet Tunisia, back in 99-00.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    What's the furthest country you have spotted an Irish registered car from Ireland?

I saw an Lancer Evolution 2 in Thailand!

How the hell did it get over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Was on a quad driving down the road in zakynthos greece and got overtaken by a dublin registered hyundai coupe!!

I also found a large hill to drive up on the quad and when I got to the top I was standing admiring the view the place was real quite and out of the way and someone I knew arrived up the hill behind me

Small world and all that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

good thread:),
    as far as i remember the only irish reg i have seen outside the country was a truck on its way into paris!,i think it collects fruit and veg and brings them back to dublin,the driver was beeping and flashing at us because we were waving an irish flag at him:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Geoff845

On hols with herself, we saw a 06 D Silver Touareg in Krakow Poland 2 years ago. It stood out a mile compared to some of the locals cars as it drove down the particular street we were on.

I'm sure some finance company has written that one off so.....

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Saw a Cavan Reg in Calahonda in the Costa Del Sol last week.

Fecker even took two parking spaces with his big jeep in the underground carpark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

grahambo wrote: »
    I saw an Lancer Evolution 2 in Thailand!

How the hell did it get over there?

Stolen and put in a container I'd imagine... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Geoff845 wrote: »
    I'm sure some finance company has written that one off so.....

Please explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pcardin

There's a hundreds of them in Marbella, Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

my uncle lives in boston and used to have an irish registered lhd drive e-class estate that he originally bought when he lived in germany. Couldn't bare to part with it so brought it to the states eventually. Still has it in the garage but doesn't use it anymore because its more than a bit past it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Not an Irish car but an Irish plate in London Canada

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtmNuwgGgH8#t=1m29

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭fatboymsport

I have seen a 94 wh Carina E in Lanzarote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 merchant08

Saw a WH reg freelander is alaska 18mths ago
    Hammertime wrote: »
    Beat this one lads.....

Irish registered truck in Vientiane, Laos.

Sure most of the trucks in ireland that are traded in at the main dealers get exported to africa/asia, they dont even change the sign writing/reg on half of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

Saw a navy Hyundai H100 van in Fuerteventura

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

I think the lunar rover used for the moon landing was on an old ZV plate:D