Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking about entering PL competiton

• 31-08-2009 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭

I've been training now for about 2 years and training is geared towards hopefully competing in powerlifting in beginning in 2010.
    I'm currently following the Wendler 5/3/1 programme with good results so far

I currently weigh 112 kg so am looking to lose about 3kg and compete in the 100-109kg weight class.

Current numbers are:
    Bench: 110kg
    Deadlift: 185kg
    Squat : 150kg (ATG)

All these have been done without a belt or straps.
    bench was done using Inzer Wrist wraps.

I'm looking for information on entering competitions.
    which association do people think would suit me based on the fact that i want to do Raw, drug free lifts?

I would like to compete in a 3 lift competition although i realise a single lift competition might suit be better, particularly seeing as my bench isnt up to scratch.

any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Liam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Single lifts are on around Feb next year, i shall hopefully be benching at it if i can keep this progress up..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

I've been training now for about 2 years and training is geared towards hopefully competing in powerlifting in beginning in 2010.
    I'm currently following the Wendler 5/3/1 programme with good results so far

I currently weigh 112 kg so am looking to lose about 3kg and compete in the 100-109kg weight class.

Current numbers are:
    Bench: 110kg
    Deadlift: 185kg
    Squat : 150kg (ATG)

All these have been done without a belt or straps.
    bench was done using Inzer Wrist wraps.

I'm looking for information on entering competitions.
    which association do people think would suit me based on the fact that i want to do Raw, drug free lifts?

I would like to compete in a 3 lift competition although i realise a single lift competition might suit be better, particularly seeing as my bench isnt up to scratch.

any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Liam

To have any chance of even coming in the top 5 at that weight you would need to improve all lifts significantly mate

Enter regardless as the experience will be worth it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

john_cappa wrote: »
    To have any chance of even coming in the top 5 at that weight you would need to improve all lifts significantly mate

Enter regardless as the experience will be worth it

That's assuming there's even 5 people in his weight or age class. There's a lot of "empty" classes in Irish PL cos the sport's so small.

How old are ya Liam?

As noted, the IDFPA's probably the best starter fed around. It's where everyone seems to get their grounding anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I'm just gone 26.
    I know i havent a hope of winning anything in my first few competitions, especially with my current numbers.

Sound, ill check out that site, become a member in january and keep training hard

Not directed at anyone in particualr, I dunno why everyone's so concerned with winning.... realistically speaking depending on who shows up you've between a 100% and 1% chance of winning. All just comes down to the day half the time. And if you're only winning cos stronger competitors aren't showing up then it's not really something to brag about!!

Liam, Ya only have to get down to 110kg btw!!

And do a full comp.... (or at least all 3 lifts in a single lift comp) you're not a real powerlifter unless you do!! :D

Im not entering to win
    I'm hoping to be in it to break my own records and push myself as far as i can.
    yeah, i weighed myself this evening, gone up to 115kg, 5kg to lose............

gotta start adding some more cardio although the diet has come on a lot now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

hanley, whens teh next full comp, i shall be making an appearance!, i could win aswell seeing as my class will prolly be empty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Im not entering to win

Fair play, I always wanted to have a go myself.

Im not entering to win

That's the attitude!!!!
    hanley, whens teh next full comp, i shall be making an appearance!, i could win aswell seeing as my class will prolly be empty!

IDFPA single lift comp's in Feb at some stage. You can do all 3 and treat it as a full meet tho "officially" you won't get a total. Full power national champs are april in Tullamore!

i guess ill do both, ill need to get a singlet thingy tho wont i?

you can lift in your first one in shorts and t shirt according to the idfpa website but think ill get a singlet anyway.

I get lots of my gear, wraps, straps, belts, bands etc from www.irongladiators.com
    great value and they dont charge much for delivery and they carry the best gear, Inzer

i guess ill do both, ill need to get a singlet thingy tho wont i?

Yah you will!!

You'd get away without one at the single lifts (first comp like). If you're still in need of one in April lemme know and I'll give you a lend. I'll be up on the raw day supporting Kev like!

im using sugarays atm for my iron works and wrist wraps

you can lift in your first one in shorts and t shirt according to the idfpa website but think ill get a singlet anyway.

I get lots of my gear, wraps, straps, belts, bands etc from www.irongladiators.com
    great value and they dont charge much for delivery and they carry the best gear, Inzer

Inzer gear is certainly not the best single ply gear.... None of their equipment (except maybe the Rage-X) is anywhere near the new generation titan stuff.

It doesn't really matter when it comes to singlets, belts or wrist wraps tho!!

think its too much to want a 180kg+ deadlift by feb :P?

BTW, are knee wraps allowed in raw comps?

Hanley wrote: »
    Inzer gear is certainly not the best single ply gear.... None of their equipment (except maybe the Rage-X) is anywhere near the new generation titan stuff.

It doesn't really matter when it comes to singlets, belts or wrist wraps tho!!

really?

fair enough, you'd know more than me

I have an Inzer Belt, wrist wraps, knee wraps, straps and just got a Blast single ply bench shirt.
    I find the Inzer belt very awkward to wear though so i use one i bought from www.animal-gear.com.

still havent tried the blast shirt
    I'm not even thinking about lifting equipped anyway and as you said, it doesnt really matter for wraps etc.

think its too much to want a 180kg+ deadlift by feb :P?

BTW, are knee wraps allowed in raw comps?

No, on both counts.
    really?

fair enough, you'd know more than me

I have an Inzer Belt, wrist wraps, knee wraps, straps and just got a Blast single ply bench shirt.
    I find the Inzer belt very awkward to wear though so i use one i bought from www.animal-gear.com.

Wrap your knee wraps tighter, seriously ;) (no-one wraps tight enoguh)

And the blast shirt is a totally different animal to some of the heavier duty single ply gear... you'd be amazed at the thickenss of it.

Inzer are pretty much kings of multiply gear at the moment, that could be where the confusion came from!

ah oh right i was wondering, i thought they were alloweed except in 100% raw

multiply shirts include Denim shirts?
    I bought Ryan Kennelly's book and he uses an Inzer Denim Shirt

afaik wrist wraps are allowed, as is a belt in raw lifts, but nothing else is

i knew they where allowed ,just confused about knee wraps, oh another thing, what about elbow sleevies?

The majority of raw feds don't. USAPL and raw unity allow knee sleeves, different animal tho.
    multiply shirts include Denim shirts?
    I bought Ryan Kennelly's book and he uses an Inzer Denim Shirt

Kennelly wore the Inzer Super Duper Phenomn (seriously, that's it's name) for his biggest lifts. It's a triple ply poly shirt. He actually had a falling out with John Inzer 6-12 months back and is either designing his own now, or using the APT Apex shirt or possibly the new Overkill brand. Not sure tho.
    afaik wrist wraps are allowed, as is a belt in raw lifts, but nothing else is

Spot on.
    i knew they where allowed ,just confused about knee wraps, oh another thing, what about elbow sleevies?

Nope! Wear em warming up, take em off on the platform. That's what I do!

do you find them useful?

More so for training. Too hyped for comps to notice!!

i always see maradaur meat from tmuscle wearing them, strong ass mofo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

IDFPA single lift comp's in Feb at some stage. You can do all 3 and treat it as a full meet tho "officially" you won't get a total. Full power national champs are april in Tullamore!

would i be right in saying the world champs are in ireland next year too?

yay! i get to feel small!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Think I'll enter for these too, and i've got four singlets from rowing so I'm grand if they're the same as powerlifting ones! :pac:

i call dibs on parsleys spare!

Not directed at anyone in particualr, I dunno why everyone's so concerned with winning.... realistically speaking depending on who shows up you've between a 100% and 1% chance of winning. All just comes down to the day half the time. And if you're only winning cos stronger competitors aren't showing up then it's not really something to brag about!!

:pac:F*ck you too man :D:p

i call dibs on parsleys spare!

No bother, sher plenty to go round!

How does one go about entering for these yokes anyway?

podge57 wrote: »
    would i be right in saying the world champs are in ireland next year too?

Yup... up in Dundalk!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

True story re: competing and pool sizes.

We held a tournament a few weeks back and there were 2 divisions with only 1 guy in it. So i gave the lads the option of moving into the next category up. One guy, a heavyweight, accepted that and the other guy, a featherweight, wanted his medal for the division he hadn't competed in.

So I agreed to give him his medal, but when I went over to hand it to him, he took out his Brazilian flag, his camera and he and his team started cheering. He wanted to get a photo of me presenting him with his medal, which I wouldn't do, so he got our IT guy to come out from behind the laptop to give him the medal, he draped the flag around them both and got some photos. I bet they went straight home to Mammy.

Competition is for enjoyment and experience, compete and enjoy not matter what the sport.

Yup... up in Dundalk!!

Dundalk?? Really??

That would be awesome, I could convince my friends to come then

Dundalk?? Really??

That would be awesome, I could convince my friends to come then

Hahahahah that sounds SO desperate!! :D

It would be desperate if i didnt have 193 friends :P

That's more than I have on facebook anyway!

EDIT: Bullsh!t - you've only 32 friends on FB. I'm WAY cooler.

EDIT 2: And that's cool, you might get one or two who actually go so!

That's more than I have on facebook anyway!

EDIT: Bullsh!t - you've only 32 friends on FB. I'm WAY cooler.

EDIT 2: And that's cool, you might get one or two who actually go so!

ouch...anyway, i was only on facebook for about 3 weeks, then i forgot all my login stuff and they didnt email it to me. That means in 1 year of being active, i would have 554.667 friends

Stats dont lie...

Face book =/= friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

How important are deadlift socks would football socks be ok for second competitions and further? I made an order from lifting large but forgot to get socks, doh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Yup... up in Dundalk!!

I practically live near there. Where abouts d'you reckon?
    The big JJBs or wha.

How important are deadlift socks would football socks be ok for second competitions and further? I made an order from lifting large but forgot to get socks, doh!

Doesn't matter in the slightest tbh. There's no difference at all. A pair of socks w/ a bigger nylon/poly blend's probably best. The cotton ones can snag the bar/tear quite easily.
    squod wrote: »
    I practically live near there. Where abouts d'you reckon?
    The big JJBs or wha.

It's in the big hotel that starts with a C... The Crowne Plaza?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I just wanted to check that they would be allowed, think they can be fairly strict about clothing and stuff? Thanks for that.

Yeah but like all ya need's a singlet, cotton short sleeved t-shirt (nylon's not allowed per the rule book, but is usually let thru) and knee length socks of some sort. Ya don't have to wear the socks thru the entire comp, just the DL.

I normally jsut wear a pair of ankle socks and change before the DL.

Here, are these singlets alright for a competition?

Parsley wrote: »
    Here, are these singlets alright for a competition?

Can't see why not...

Righteo, that's me sorted then.

What kind of numbers would he need to be lifting, say, to win?

Caoltan wrote: »
    What kind of numbers would he need to be lifting, say, to win?

Depends who shows up...

If James McConnell arrived at 110kg... he's liable to do something crazy. Not sure of numbers, but probably in excess of the following - 240kg squat, 200kg bench, 290-300kg deadlift.

If he came down to 100kg he'd be up against Kevpants and Skully who post here, and a few others. Probably need to do a 220+kg squat, 140+kg bench and 250kg+kg deadlift to place ahead of em.