Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr. Bourne goes to Marathon

• 30-08-2009 11:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭

I've changed my account from geoff29 to this - someone was messing with the other one so it's gone.

Anyway, I started running again mid-august. One of my friends mentioned they were doing the marathon and asked me to join them. I politely declined, citing unfitness. And then secretly went running that evening...

I recognise there isn't a lot of time between now and the marathon. I pretty much gave up running at the end of last year. I tried again in April but got sick, and I remember at that point I couldnt even run for 6 minutes. Apparently six months of doing nothing but sitting at a desk does that to you, which is a shame! I got back into the gym over the summer and must have built up a pretty good level again because running these last few weeks has felt ok, aerobically at least.

My previous race-times from 2008:
    1 mile = 5:10~
    2 miles= 11:12
    5k= 18:33 (esb beach race wasn't ideal!)
    5 miles = 29:45
    10k = 39:55

I have no interest in trying to replicate them. I ran the 5k the other day in 22:51 and frankly that's fine with me. My aim over the next few weeks is to *see* if the marathon is possible or not. And by possible I mean in the 3:30 to 3:50 bracket. If I don't think I can go under 4, then I'm not too keen. I've done it before, slowwwly, so have a fair idea what that's like - and frankly want to avoid the prolonged pain that is a running/walking marathon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭bourne99

So far I've covered just under 50 miles, the last runs were:

Wed, 6.5 miles, 51:52
    Fri, 5 miles, 34:49
    Sun, 7 miles, 62:45

After wed/fri and with my confidence skywards, that 7 miles was supposed to be 8/9 miles but ran to Dun Laoghaire and found that a) some festival thing was on and b) Dun Laoghaire is a lot hillier than is good. A terrible run altogether, had to stop once or twice. Also I refuse to run downhill due to risk of shinsplints, so that didn't help. Running back up that road to glenageary roundabout was hard going. It just wasn't working today and was totally drenched in sweat. Then, with one mile from home, I heard some thunder. Not wanting to get struck by lightning, I went pretty fast. Which is why I feel like I do now.

Aim is to run 8 min miles easy. Previous experience has taught me that I can't run two days in a row. Well today was hard. Hopefully will get that 8 miles in someday this week.

The weather has been really good these last few days, for driving at least. Although I'm always worried about steering tracking/electronics/flooded engines, there's something strangely satisfying about driving through 1 foot deep puddles...

With the rain having briefly dispelled, I ventured out last night. Hadn't been out since Sunday's terrible run but knew at the very least that I would be rested, and so I was. Indeed, I did my longest run since the marathon 07! I did 9 miles in just under 72 mins, so as with the other runs, kept up this rather silly but comfortable run that I've been doing these last few weeks.

With pace out the window, I've been trying to find a comfortable run that won't cause injury, as I've hurt myself a number of times. So, the biggest change is that I've tried to eliminate any vertical motion, or as much as possible, so that I kind of glide along. Trying also to limit the force I create in landing. I keep my torso upright too - which when you are going slower is much easier to do, and I find that it makes me concentrate. I was always one of these guys leaning forward, and even more forward when I was tired so that my legs had this 'just in time' approach - i.e. - they landed on front of me before I fell on my face. It gets tiring, and although I went fast, I always felt it was inefficient and frankly very hard going!!

Breathing is the other thing I've been working on. When you're not trying to break a p.b., it's amazing the things you can work on! Last night was the best in a long time. After 7.5 miles I had this strange sensation where it suddenly felt as if I had changed into top gear and my breathing became so easy and not in anyway laboured - like revs dropping on a car. But with that, I found my legs going faster and indeed I flew the last mile, just to see.

Anyway, 9 miles, that's a good start. I could have kept going but it got very dark all of a sudden. Will go easy tomorrow 3-5 miles, but hopefully next week maybe I'll do 10 miles?! It's heartening!

Somehow found some sunshine in between the showers during the eve. 4.6 miles in 31:41. Would have completed the 5 miles but got distracted by a pretty girl and went off course (not the bushes)!!

Starting to notice that my general pace is improving. I see other runners up ahead and I'm happy to close up knowing that I won't have to keel over as soon as I pass them. Legs felt fine today, which was a surprise after Friday. A girl beeped at me the other day when I was 'powering' up a hill - which is a bit better than the 'move your ass' I got when I started back a few weeks ago, which was during one of the many times I had to stop and walk. Nothing better than wearing running shorts to go for a walk. Sigh...

Will go to the track this week, and with some misplaced confidence! You see, there's nothing like going there to remind yourself just how unfit you really are. I think I need to be taken back down a peg or two.

10/11 miles on Friday? Who knows...! And awayyyy I go!

Well, I had a great run this evening down on the track. Loads of people around, triathlon clubs, marathoners, hurdlers, sprinters. Was a great atmosphere!

So off I went, and based on the first 100m, I felt good and decided I'd give 5k a go. Was trotting along at my 8min/mile pace and then noticed I was closing on some people ahead, so I sped up a little and overtook them. That felt quite good. Then, the track being the track, I could see a fast enough guy (by my standards that is!) on the opposite straight, so I kept his pace in a game of pursuit. Which meant that I kept catching more people and overtaking them. Lots of people out just plodding around so was good fun overtaking around the outside/inside etc. Felt a bit bad too so would be out on lane 8 on some straights! Noticed then that I was closing on the guy on the opposite side.

Mile 1 = 7:05, and feeling good.

Start of lap 5/6 suddenly had that 'oh ohhh, don't know if I can keep this pace' feeling. But I managed to get my breathing back, and a lap or two later I felt good again. With all that commotion though, I found it hard to concentrate on what lap I was on, especially with all the people about!

Mile 2 = 6:36, wow!

That was my reaction at that point. I barely had time to glance at the watch, 2 miles in 13:40 YES! So, breathing hard again now, but if I push it, I could finish with a good time here!! I had caught up with that guy now and starting lap 10/11 I overtook him, and some of the stretching by-standers gave me a charity clap! All the time though, I was counting the laps to myself and realised I was already on the last of my 12.5 laps, so time for a last surge forward. Crossed the line and looked at the watch.

Mile 3 = Huh?!

Sigh... In all of my commotion/overtaking/running/breathing I'd miscounted my laps and ended up doing 11.5 instead of 12.5! Arghhhh. I was really nackered those last 2 laps or so!

So, 4.6k instead of 5k, but the time was 18:47! Which I am very proud of given my recent return! If I'd done a proper last lap I'm convinced I would have made 5k in just under 20 mins! Argh, and even better, I was heading towards a sub 6 minute mile on Mile 3!! If only I'd learned to count at school.... Finished up with a couple of sprints to show the local soccer girls how its done. (By girls I mean guys)

Well, anyway, feel like I'm on a bit of a roll. I love this easy-does-it running. Every run I start at 1 mph. Feel like a bit of a girl, but some of the girls I know are pretty tough so... No pains at all yet, and moreover, my recovery times are working. I've been drinking a lot of milk the last month or so, maybe that's helping! Will run again before the end of the week. 10 miles is looking realistic I think!

ps. Some cute girls at the track. I'll be doing some extra crunches the next few days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Best of luck bourne99.. Your log will make interesting reading between now and DCM me thinks :).

When will you make a final decision on whether you'll run it or not?

rigal wrote: »
    Best of luck bourne99.. Your log will make interesting reading between now and DCM me thinks :).

When will you make a final decision on whether you'll run it or not?

Thanks very much! I'm giving it a good go anyway! At the moment I'm just keeping an eye on the closing dates for things. Will defintely do the half marathon coming up and probably when I do that and get into some of those longer runs, I'll see if I'm able for it. At the moment, hardest part is probably resisting my urge to run everyday etc. I just can't do it. So, if I can just stay injury-freeeeee....! Somedays I see these 60 year old women jog by me and they look like they can go forever and ever and ever and... I wish I was like that!!

First, my heartfelt thanks to the rugby-socks-wearing cyclist who passed by and shouted 'f***ing sp*' at me. I was five miles into my run, but your kind words spurned me on. And yes, I have learned, I shall never cross your mighty path again. :confused: Never?!

I recognised the guy from the gym actually. Big guy. And impressively, always wears his rugby socks. Gym, cycling, cinema - the socks are there. Anywhere but the rugby pitch. Indeed, I felt tempted to stop in my tracks and recall my old defensive duties on the wing, to see whether I could still tackle a moving object. If only I'd been listening to the Bourne soundtrack, I'd probably be sitting in the local Garda station right now... (Or A&E, he's a big guy)

Ah well...

So did 6.75 miles approx in 50:17. Fine I suppose but I didn't stick to my usual plan for whatever reason. Didn't start slow as I've been doing, and therefore didnt slowly build up a good rhythm. Instead it was a hit and miss affair with fluctuating pace. Fluctuating - now there's a word that doesn't get used enough. Legs felt a bit tired, but still no aches/pains/fluctuating etc. So on that front, I gotta be fluctu- happy.

And so I shall be! Still going for 10/11 miles this week, maybe at weekend.

That was a bit harsh!

What about defending your namesake's honour? Maybe you'll be more ready for him next time. Perhaps carry a squeezy water bottle and spray him if he does it again. Just treat the chase as an adrenalin fueled tempo run... oh I forgot that you share the same gym.. oh well.. you're a runner now anyway so no gym membership required...:cool:

That was a bit harsh!

What about defending your namesake's honour? Maybe you'll be more ready for him next time. Perhaps carry a squeezy water bottle and spray him if he does it again. Just treat the chase as an adrenalin fueled tempo run... oh I forgot that you share the same gym.. oh well.. you're a runner now anyway so no gym membership required...:cool:

Aye, twas a bit out of the blue alright. Thought best to leave him be as really it would have ruined my run! Have stopped going to the gym a while back - running is the only exercise I get. All this swimming and cycling stuff that others are doing - frankly I call that cheating!!

Well, I said I'd do it, and I did it! I ran somewhere between 11.5 and 12 miles in exactly 90 mins. I'm shocked that I'm following through on my goals!

The run itself was hard going, I have to admit - the first run in a while where I think I was as mentally drained as I was physically.

I had been working all day Friday, physically I mean, so it was directly from work at 8pm when I started. I knew from the get-go that I was tired - legs felt flat but I was determined that I was going to run long. I started out quicker than I meant to, first 3 miles in around 22 mins. I got to my 6.5 mile marker in 48:48, which was pretty good I suppose. Around then though, I got a kind of sinking 'I'm only halfway through' feeling. I trudged on, but still felt flat. Over the same ground at this point the previous week, I'd felt as if I'd just started and had suddenly came alive. Not this time around. It was getting very dark out now too, and the street lamps refused to come on - think that contributed to any negative feelings. But I blindly trudged on, safe in the knowledge that I know every path/pothole/step on the route like the back of my hand.

It was at the nine mile mark where things got tough. I felt I was just hanging on (and also decided that in future long runs - I should take a water bottle with me!!). Only another 20 mins or so to go I kept telling myself over and over. But my legs weren't listening. At exactly 10.25 miles, and running along the N11, my legs just went into shutdown mode. It took A LOT in me not to stop and walk. Only another 1.5 miles. C'mon. It felt as if I was running through a thick mud, and the sudden onslaught was quite surprising - especially after the 9 mile run last week when I was so sure that I could keep going without any problem. Hah! Well I showed myself! But right then, pedalling through the mud, it occurred to me just how hard this whole thing really is, a marathon I mean - or even a half-marathon for that matter!

'Why am I doing this?' You know you're struggling when you're asking yourself that question, and at 10.5 miles I really was struggling! At least I'd gotten through that 400m section of my legs refusing to move (The odd thing was that I lost no time). But wow, I felt tired. Again, a lot of this was psychological as this is unchartered territory for me. At one point I was running along and felt a strange sensation - like someone suddenly pushed me forward on my left hip. I even turned around to see if there was someone there. There was not. It was absolutely pitch dark at the end and the last say 5 minutes of running was so hard. It's a section with a lot of 90 degree corners and little hills - every single one of them was taking it's maximum toll - and I was paying in full! My body had once more employed a 'just in time' approach, for it was just in time that the finish line came when I knew I couldn't run anymore. Short of a threat on my life, nothing could have kept me running. 90 minutes nonstop.

Now I know what I'm in for..!

The positive things are many though. I have run over 11 miles nonstop. I didn't once feel out of breath. My pace was pretty good throughout. Most importantly: no pain. Sure, there were lot of little aches, but they were mostly born from tiredness and I'm sure will stop once I'm used to running a longer distance like this. But nothing serious. Nothing structural! So far so good!

I think this week I won't run anywhere near as long, but might see about a tempo run or something like that, as well as a visit back to the track. Of course, I say that now...

A rather uneventful 4.8 miles in 35:05 to finish the week off. Quite good considering that I was out drinking last night. I should point out that I don't drink..! I covered 27 miles this week which is probably a new record for me! Hooray!

Just logged on to sign up for the half marathon but it's sold out. Dunno where this leaves me now. Meant to sign up over the weekend but just plain forgot. I had a terrible run at it a few years ago and really wanted to 'put right' what I'd done wrong before and wash away the bad taste... What can I say. I'm rubblish!

Missed a few days there, mainly just to have a rest. Played tennis one day. Ran exactly the same route as Sunday but tonight found it much harder, which makes no sense because on Sunday I was in awful shape due to 'the night before'. Today I expected to be in great nick due to the rest, but instead legs felt dead. Left foot particularly at base of where shin meets foot. Didn't feel pain in particular just a strange lethargic feeling that I suspect if I'd run longer might have gone away, I don't know. I tried to alter my style of running too, but just didn't feel like I was striking the ground properly with the left foot. I mean that literally as I could actually hear my left foot landing stupidly each time! Will break my 'no successive days running' rule and do my usual Friday night run, which I find to be the most enjoyable one of the week. Anyway, 4.8 miles in 35:19. Probably the most boring run since back.

Lots of people running along the N11 this eve - must be some sort of race approaching :D

Can't believe those numbers for the half marathon that's absolutely amazing!

Legs are not good at the moment, which has come out of the blue. They feel like they're made out of glass. Fragile. Think I need to slow down again to a dead stop and just see how to work this out. The only other thing I can think of is the fact that I've not been sleeping this week, literally. Stayed up all night on 2 days and have yet to catch up, with 4/5 hours the other nights. Clutching at straws but at least when I go out again on Sunday I'll have given myself a positive mental attitude and psychological boost by actually sleeping!!

Anyway, ~6.5 miles in 46:21. Pace was all over the place as I was trying to figure out the legs. Also, was expecting cold weather this eve and went out wearing my long sleeve top with tshirt over it. Mistake...!

Hmm, just looking above there, time is around 5 mins up on a few weeks back. So, at least I didn't get sore legs for nothing!

Might just go out for a quick blast on Sunday. I'd love to see how long I'd last at a good pace! Not very long perhaps, but at least boredom would be placed on hold!

Edit: Played Tennis there for the first time in ages during the week and was doing a lot of sprinting/change direction etc. - totally forgot that my legs were killing me after that!! Queue rolling eyes.

You know what? Eff this and eff the lot of yous half-marathon organisers who for the second year running have excluded me from your line-up!! Granted it's entirely my fault on both accounts, but yeah, eff the lot of yous!! So, I'm running my own 13.1 miles next Sunday morning and there ain't nothing you guys can do about it. Oh yes, and as for the entry fee that could have been yours? I'm gonna blow it on:

a) parking in a fancy multi-story carpark even if on-road parking is free
    b) hats
    c) some NIKE gear from CHAMPION SPORTS
    d) a single drink in Cafe en Seine

All I need to do now is work out my own 13.1 mile route that is somewhat local and won't bore me (too much)! So, yeah, maybe there won't be any atmosphere. And yes, maybe there won't be any music, and worst of all, maybe there won't be a goody bag at the end. Well, you can keep your Lucozade Sport my friends because, no matter what, this is one race I'm going to win!!!!

hmm, on second thought, what if I lose? That would be weird..

Just went out to see what the legs were up to - they felt a little better. That being the case, I'll rest for another few days.

18:37 for the 2.6 miles. Covered a mile in 6:15 or so, but any chance of a good pace was ruined by a) much traffic when crossing the road and more importantly b) my inability to keep up a good pace!!

Sheesh, you'd think I'd been running nonstop since 1994 the way I've been tapering!!

Meant to run either 6.5 miles or 9 miles tonight, but ate something dodge at lunch and threw-up after. Felt awful for whole evening but wanted to do *something* so headed out to the local track. At least this way I was close to the car at all times, as opposed to being 5 miles from nowhere!!

So, ventured out and, apart from stomach which was on the verge of self destructing, I immediately noticed that my legs were feeling good again - so that was a good start. Wasn't sure how many laps I'd be doing but here what I did in the end on each lap:
    1. 2:04
    2. 1:47
    3. 1:47
    4. 1:42
    5. 1:43
    6. 1:41
    7. 1:40
    8. 1:40
    9. 1:39
    10. 1:36
    11. 1:35
    12. 1:34
    13. 0:41 (half lap)
    So, 5k in 21:15. After my accidental 4.6k from a couple of weeks ago, I made sure to click off each lap on the watch, but funnily enough, I didn't actually look at the time, so I'm quite impressed with my consistency if nothing else! But, disappointed all the same, it 'felt' like a 20:something, but alas, it's my fasted 5k this year (recorded), so better than nothing!! I blame the dodgy stomach!!!:D And of course that 2:04 first lap which I forgot about!

Overall I could have pushed on for maybe another lap or two, but at the end I sounded like a bloody steam-train!! 1:42/lap was comfortable though, at that pace maybe I could have gone and gone. But there's a big difference to go 10s/lap faster than that and it's a great compliment to all you Berlinner 3 Hour runners (and below!) who maintained that pace all the way through - and even in that heat. I tip my hat to all of you good fellows - no matter the time - 26.2 miles seems very far to me at the moment. Very far.

Hmm... at least my legs feel a bit better?!

Well, after enjoying the 5k there the other night, I meandered back to the track again last night, with the intention of doing a few laps before running off somewhere else. Instead, my few laps turned out to be 25 laps or 10,000m..! Started just before 7:45 pm, and as it wore on, the place went pitch dark - with just one or two streetlamps dotted around.

My times for each lap (not that you'd care, but for my own ref!):
    1. 1:55
    2. 1:56
    3. 1:54
    4. 1:54
    5. 1:51
    6. 1:49
    7. 1:50
    8. 1:50
    9. 1:49
    10. 1:48
    11. 1:49
    12. 1:51
    13. 1:51
    14. 1:50
    15. 1:49
    16. 1:50
    17. 1:49
    18. 1:47
    19. 1:46
    20. 1:46
    21. 1:47
    22. 1:42
    23. 1:38
    24. 1:35
    25. 1:18
    So, 10k in 44:54. My legs felt terrible at the start - within 4/5 laps I was thinking of stopping. Felt as if I wasn't landing correctly. I was very heavy on my feet - especially old lefty! After another few laps, I either blocked it out or went numb! And just tried to concentrate on the times. If anything, it was good experience to get a 'tangible' feel for the difference in running 8 min/mile, or 7 min/mile, or 6 something pace. The other thing is my runners, Asics 2130s, they have about 250 miles on them altogether, but definitely they don't suit the track. I wouldn't be interested in wearing flats/trainers/spikes etc., but I think I need something with a big more get up and go..!

That was the 4th time EVER I had run exactly 10k, and believe it or not is actually my second fastest time! I think based on my current fitness, that was about as good as it could have gotten for me. Some laps were slower than they were meant to be, but this was partially down to the fact that it was so dark I couldn't read my watch! As well, sometimes I was just thinking about something else, and before I knew it, I had lost two seconds. It's only two seconds, but at 8pm in the pitch dark, struggling to see the watch, you end up thinking 'how did that happen?!' And before you knew it, you'd lost another two seconds all over again!

As for the run itself, With no one else on the track, it was a bit boring. But about 5/10 laps in, a really stunning girl came along and looked to be doing a similar amount of laps. Indeed she was very consistent and because (luckily) was running slightly slower than me, I had the pleasure of being able to overtake her a few times (whoever you are, you are HOT!!). It took everything in me to resist the urge to run fast when I went by 'hey, look at me! I'm a fassssst runner'. As well, some people started watching and every now and then they gave a clap as I went by. So, overall I enjoyed it.

My last word has to be on that final lap which was 1:18. It wasn't the fastest lap I've ever done, but after running 24 laps before it, each slowly, it felt like I was on a for a 60 second lap! But more than that, I gave it everything I had. Everything. And I can't often say that.

Finished up with some sprints. 'hey, look at me! I'm a fasssst runner'

Hey,

Are you following a training plan for DCM?

You'd be better off doing more mileage at a slower pace if you're still planning on doing it.

Hi, no not following a specific training plan - pretty much letting my legs dictate things, although yeah, I'm very much aware that higher mileage is the way to go. Had decided to do one one long run per week - i.e - each Sunday between now and marathon. Did that 12 mile run two weeks ago but legs were giving trouble after that so missed longs runs since then. Was using this week as a recovery and thankfully, I'm back stronger than I was before. Hopefully will manage a long run this wkd.

As for the marathon, yeah sure I'll give it a go, I think my initial goal was probably a bit optimistic. If I can manage anything under 4 hours, I think that's fair enough.

Will hopefully complete 1 long run/week until then, and although I doubt I'll go longer than 15 miles, I have a fairly vicious competitive streak (and experience from previous marathon!), to drag myself the last ten miles.

It's a silly plan, I admit..!

Anyway, on the plus side, all of this has got me fit again, and I think that's the main thing. Suddenly 10k races are on my mind!

I'm training for my second marathon so still a novice but the plan I'm currently following has me doing longer runs during the week. The weekly long run therefore seems that little bit easier. I'd recommend trying to get a 9-12 miler in mid week at a slow pace over the next two weeks. You could still do one speed session as well. Guarantee you'll notice the endurance improving.

Ah you're right, of course! Thanks for the thoughts too. I was indeed hoping to do 9 miles last night, but after a mile, I knew it wasn't on. But yeah, you're right. Will hopefully on Sunday get a long run in, and then like you're saying maybe try 9 miles again..

What's your time you're aiming for? Actually I'll read through your log again

Maybe it was the pizza I had for lunch, or maybe there's something in the water - but tonight was a really great run for me. I think that the last few days/weeks have started to show some progress in fitness.

The route I take is fairly hilly, so downhill the first mile was 6:55. Usually at this point, and at that pace, I'd be screwed. I purposely slowed a bit for the second mile but quite simply I felt so comfortable. I was gliding along with ease. As if I'd hit top gear.

The next 2 miles are all uphill and went through ~3.2 miles in 22:10.

Finished the 4.6 miles in 30:43, which is a minute faster than my previous best this year. It was however not the time, but the manner in which I ran that I'm happy with. Whenever I pushed on, I was able to take some time to recover or keep going up the hills, and then be able to push again without being destroyed. New for me this year! At the end, I didn't feel like I was on the verge of collapse, even with a sprint at the end.

A good week so far, hopefully will get something longer in on Sunday.

bourne99 wrote: »
    What's your time you're aiming for?... Actually I'll read through your log again

Sub 3:30 (2nd time of asking) - pray for me :rolleyes::o:rolleyes:........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Hi bourne99, some great times posted for 2008 there. I'm very jealous!
    I'm sure you know what you're doing, but most people training for DCM 09 have already done around 3x20 mile runs, so if you're heading for your first 13.1 this weekend, there's a bit of a mileage gap. Most runners will start tapering after next weekend. Best of luck with the training.

First, I must thank Rigal and Krusty who got me on my bike (not literally) this weekend. I had challenged myself to do 13.1 miles, but I'm not sure if I would have bothered. So, it's thanks to them that, for better or for worse(!) - I did!

Due to work, I didn't get out until tonight! Went to Donnybrook and did a few loops, backwards and forwards of Roebuck/Fosters etc. So, a hilly enough route.

Here are the times I can remember off hand:
    2.1 miles, 15:28
    4 miles, 32:36
    6.5 miles, 50:29
    9.5 miles, 73:30
    12.09 miles, 92:46
    13.5 miles, 1h 43mins 16secs

The first 10 miles I was fine. Sore hip/stitch/shoulder. But fine. Then, I drank some water, and that really didn't help. At around 12.5 miles I started feeling 'it', whatever that is! I even forgot to record 13.1 miles on my watch, but I thought, ah sure, I'll go a little longer! Then, on the way up Roebuck Road, I was quite suddenly overtaken by exhaustion. I managed to get up that little hill before Fosters avenue again, but my little legs were grinding to a halt. I lost my breath and I was sweating so much that it was as if someone had thrown water over me. The whole thing was like a car overheating. After 13 miles of faultless running, my legs just started grinding, grinding, grinding until they stopped - like a car's engine seizing due to lack of oil!!

At least I'd made it to the top of that hill, and as I leaned against the wall outside Fosters Motors, desperately trying to stretch or do anything to get myself going again, I thought of what I'd written on this log the other day: 'I have a fairly vicious competitive streak'. Well, I thought, where's my bloody vicious competitive streak now!?! Then I wondered why I'd parked the car so far away?!

2/3 mins rest, and I set off again - only because I had to get to my car, so why not try and run there?! At least Fosters was downhill this time! It was midway down when my left calf said 'What do you think you're doing?'. Then a minute or so later, my right ankle joined in the chorus, 'not this time! I'm out!'. The ankle just went to jelly and I burst out laughing.

I managed to run/walk the rest of the way and got back to the safety of my car!

15.04 miles in 1 hour 58 mins 16 secs, but frankly I'd prefer to strike that last mile off the record!!

Conclusions:
    1. I seem unable to remain running behind others. I always seem to have to get by, and yet, when I do overtake, I always feel bad :(
    2. My runners, Asics 2130, are perfect for a marathon. Not the track, but perfect for this kind of thing. Not once did I think to myself, 'hey, these runners suck!' Indeed, I didn't think of them at all!
    3. I can run a half-marathon in ~1h 40mins! That's not too bad for these last few weeks
    4. Sadly, I'm not so sure I can do a marathon. Drinking tea now and eating bics, it would be easy to revert to my no problem attitude, but that guy at the top of Fosters Avenue earlier on - he was pretty sure I couldn't do a marathon!
    Ah well! We'll see, I still have another week or so to make some miraculous progress!!! Thanks again to Rigal and Krusty for (unwittingly) making me do this!

That's a great post! I was LOL at that. Not that I find your suffering funny - it's just your style of writing! :D

I'll be interested to hear what KC suggest here. He is the man with the experience!

My opinion (and that's all it is) is that you will endure a fair bit of pain during DCM if you go ahead and do it but I think everyone suffers to some degree in a marathon and if you're set on doing it then no one is going to change your mind.

Now that you can run (mostly) for two hours maybe aim to run for 2.5 hours next weekend and 3 hours plus the weekend after. Time on your feet is key. Don't worry about pace as your marathon goal is to complete the distance not post a fast time (am I right?).

You're a fast runner with a competitive streak so I hope you're sitting down for my next suggestion -

Try running slower in all of your sessions especially the long run. The speedwork is all well and good if you're legs can handle it along with the long runs but you're obviously struggling so why not slow down on the mid week runs and push the mileage up a bit. It'll be boring stuff but it's what's required if you want your legs to be up for the long runs at the weekend.

Best of luck - look forward to reading your posts regardless of what you chose to do.

P.s. Give yourself a pat on the back for doing your long run after a days work. I've tried that before and have struggled big time. You'll always do much better after a decent night's sleep and some proper eating.

That's a great post! I was LOL at that. Not that I find your suffering funny - it's just your style of writing! :D

Thanks for the feedback - I wasn indeed quite pleased with myself! If I can get this leg working again, then yep will hopefully start pushing on the mileage! It seems to be the way to go. I'm just wondering how I used to manage to run 17:xx 5ks by running approx 15KMS a week?!?!

As for running slower?! No dice! I just can't take it going slower. If I get any slower - I'd end up jogging on the spot - and that would look silly! I wanna go faster!!!

But yeah, fair enough, I suppose I'll continue going slow...

Or maybe not. I find that whatever the speed, I feel equally screwed at the end. I mean, I think it's as much the 'time' spent running as it is the distance. Time on your feet as you said

Wow, I could barely walk since the run the other night. So, with that in mind, obviously I went running tonight! Wasn't the smartest move I've ever taken.

Had expected the hip to be sore again, but it wasn't at all. Instead it was old lefty up to his usual tricks! The pain moved from the top of the calf down through to the base achilles area. Something felt strained. Hopefully it just needs rest. Of course, I was 5 miles into my run tonight when I realised this. I had intended to do 9 miles, but the pain was quite bad - and so after twenty seconds of crying in the bushes, I remerged a new man, with the lofty intentions of making it to 6.5 miles - which just happened to be the exact point where my car was parked...!

Can I just point out also that the constant rain, my chaffing t-shirt/shorts/boxers/socks - another stitch would you believe - NONE of these issues played a part in my stopping early. You should never wear an air-tex in the rain - no matter how cool it looks.

But my feckin leg that was bloody sore all the same. I think I might give it until sat again and see about those 9 miles. Course, knowing me I'll try again tomorrow...

6.5 miles, 47:30.

ps. beware of manhole covers - slippery when wet!

First of all, I have decided not to do the marathon. I'm simply not where I want to be, and I fear that if I did line up on the day, my immarturity would shine through quite brilliantly! So I'd go flying along until Mile 18 or so when, like the other night, I would suffer total power loss - and then be one of those guys at the side of the road, stretching muscles that shouldn't be stretched and cursing life with equal ferocity. I really don't want to be one of those guys. Really! So, I thinks it's the mature decision to say 'not yet'. And I feel better having made the decision as has been on my mind. Just like Georgia.

The good news (for me I mean) is that I shall continue running, and continue with this log. The fact is that I like running fast. So, I'll prob enter some short races. I shall however continue the longer runs with one eye on the future-marathon-calendar. What that is, and when that is, I do not know.

Anyway, back to tonight. Leg almost back to normal, but still not quite, so I immediately ruled out any kind of long run. Which meant back to my 4.6 mile route. Set a new 'season's best' on it last Friday, so I was interested to see if I could match the time.

Went out fast. Too fast! 6:09 for the first mile, which has a slight downhill gradient. Still, when I looked at my watch I thought 'Sheesh it's dark', as I couldnt read the time, but then I saw the time and thought, 'Wow!'

Mile 2/3 is uphill, and I went through 3.2 miles in 21:26. I saw the time and realised that I was within reach of last week's time, so quite frankly, I fairly pushed it the last bit with a good consistent fast pace.

4.6 miles in 29:47! Felt well after too, and that's been key. A few weeks ago, I was struggling for air at the end but today was fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

good stuff outta you, no point killing yourself just to record a marathon, let's see what you can do over the classic distances

Great call - tough decision to make but you'll have plenty more chances to run a marathon. Enjoy the short stuff.

Thanks guys, will do. Nice to be fit again at least - hopefully I'll get some fast times going!

Don't quite know what happened tonight: a total system's failure. Had intended to do 9.5 miles.

The first 2 miles were fine, going through mile 1 in 6:30 or so without much effort (nice to be able to say that). Mile 2 was fine as well, even if I then noticed my legs were starting to feel 'heavy'. Mile 3 is uphill, so any pain at this point I always assume to be normal, but when I got to the top I noticed that my right hip suddenly did its thing. But still, screw it, no problem, keep going. At mile 4 I got that feckin stitch again. Also, my feet started paining as I was wearing totally the wrong pair of socks which were far too thin. Went through 4 miles in 29:00. Then quite suddenly the left calf just went again. I pictured a 'ping' noise in my head, if it's possible to picture a sound?! Something definitely feels incredibly strained though. I made it to mile 5 in 37 mins, but I realised I wasn't going anywhere. Still was a good 1.5 miles from the car, so with my tail firmly between my legs, I walked the rest of the way along the N11. If anyone saw a rather dejected figure walking along, well, you know who it was!

About 0.5 miles from home, impatience got the better of me. Decided to pretty much sprint the last part. The leg is only very sore when I land heavily on it, but at speed I can be quite light on my feet, so overall, it was a nice way to finish, and at least I felt as if I'd done something! I love running fast at night!

Well, I suppose with no pressing deadlines, I had better give the leg a rest. Purposely did nothing on Sat/Sun, and Friday had been the best run yet almost, so this came out of the blue. Glad I'm not doing the marathon!

Ar$e

I hadn't intended doing any running tonight, and as I ate my dinner I felt committed to this decision. However, after dinner I wasn't feeling very well, so thought some air might do me good. Ended up driving home via the track and, since I had running-gear in the car, I gave it a go.

With the leg giving trouble over anything after 4/5 miles, I decided now was a good opportunity to run 1610 meters, or a 'mile' as others call it. I arrived at the track to find it totally abandoned - which suited me fine as I was wondering if I was going to throw up! A mist/fog then arrived as I completed my single lap warm up so I thought I'd get on with it.

Lap 1, 410 meters. As it was pretty dark but for a few street lamps, I found it hard to gauge my pace. I thought I'd gone out fast and when I read the clock it said 1:27 - not the kind of return I was hoping for! Sigh...

Lap 2, I pushed on a bit harder, felt quite fast. But was too busy to bother checking times now - just kept hitting the lap/split button!!

Lap 3, I wondered why I had pushed on in lap 2?! Half way around this lap I thought I was gone. I kept telling myself "You're over half way! You're over half way!!" over and over and over again. It was so cold at this point too, and I was breathing so hard that I could see the breath condensing like a steam engine...

Lap 4, This was hard! Even the first straight my legs were gone but I was just trying to keep any momentum going and as I rounded the bend I remember thinking "7/8s! 87.5%! Go!" The back straight went ok but the final bend was rubbish and just about hanging on. Thankfully I did.

I hit the stop button but couldn't even look at my watch. I was absolutely destroyed and was sure that it was a terrible time. I was barely able to walk another lap and just couldn't catch my breath, and I was wondering if I was going to throw up. I didn't - and I felt like a champion for that! But I had to lie down on the ground for a few minutes and I was so annoyed - it felt like I had put a lot into the run, yet I *knew* it was a crap time. Then I thought what I often think when I'm in bits 'Why the hell do I run?! Why the hell did I just do that?! I hate running!! Runners are idiots!' Collapsed back into the car and put the heater on. That didn't help so put the aircon on. That didn't help either so put the window down! Was there for a good 10 mins just sitting in the carpark before finally drove off! At that point, still hadn't checked the time so instead on the way home I played 'guess the time'!

My head kept telling me it was going to be over 6 minutes. Laps 3/4 were too slow! But my heart was praying sub-6 minutes please!!!!

Arrived home and checked the time: 5:29!!! I burst out laughing and in that single moment all of my 'running is for idiots' thoughts evaporated and were instead replaced by a feeling of well-being that is still with me 3 hours later!

Splits:
    Lap 1 (+10m), 1:27
    Lap 2, 1:19
    Lap 3, 1:21
    Lap 4, 1:20

As some of you may remember, I had tried for a sub-5 minute mile last year and ended up at 5:08 or so a couple of times. So to get to 5:29 in 6 weeks or so, I'm really, really happy!

That was a long post for a five minute run!

Wore long sleeved tshirt last night as thought it was going to be cold. I was wrong. Overheated, but managed fairly consistent pace and finished well. Nothing to report...
    31:31

Enjoyable run this evening - and my thanks to the high pressure system that Ireland is enjoying at the moment! Was happy just ambling along the first four miles, then the last 2.5 I pushed on a bit. Finished in 45:43 which I think is the quickest I've done this route this year, but not sure. Wasn't trying to go fast - it just happened - so I think that's down to a general improvement in fitness. I could have gone longer, but why bother I thought! Millions of people out running tonight! Yep, literally millions!

Was eating dinner and watching Setanta Sports earlier - anyone heard of this 'tough guy' event/run?! Crazy people wading through rivers and mud, and rivers of mud. In freezing conditions. Seemed frankly stupid even by my own standards - but alas those in the room with me were quick to point out that it's exactly the kind of thing that I would do... Heh... hmm

I must try a proper 'tempo' run again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Well done on the mile time, thats excellent and being able to push yourself on your own, I wonder how that run would translate under race conditions ?

Woddle wrote: »
    Well done on the mile time, thats excellent and being able to push yourself on your own, I wonder how that run would translate under race conditions ?

Thanks very much - yeah I still have hope that someeee day I'll duck under that elusive 5 min figure! 4:59 I would gladly take even if it meant having to hang up my beloved 2130s then and there!!

Was looking at some of your reports there a while ago - I was on here a year or so back and I remember you were just kind of getting going again (or had been recently) - looks like you've been making pretty good progress - a few marathons right!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

bourne99 wrote: »
    Thanks very much - yeah I still have hope that someeee day I'll duck under that elusive 5 min figure! 4:59 I would gladly take even if it meant having to hang up my beloved 2130s then and there!!

Was looking at some of your reports there a while ago - I was on here a year or so back and I remember you were just kind of getting going again (or had been recently) - looks like you've been making pretty good progress - a few marathons right!?

Thanks, yep a few marathons but I feel they've taken all my zap so I've been informed of a 2 mile race in Raheny next Wednesday and a 3K in Arklow in November, so I'm going to work on a bit of speed now, so I'll pay more attention to your log for a bit of advice.

Yet again, I've failed to do my elusive 9 miles! First two miles were very comfortable and completed in 14 mins flat. At the 2.5 mile point, I felt my left calf act up again. This was at the bottom of a long hill which goes on until the 3.2 mile point. When I got to the top, I was in some agony; hills seem to make it worse. I thought about stopping but instead kept going and decided to abandon the long run and take my 4.6 mile route instead. I figured that another 1.4 miles or so wouldn't make much difference to me at that stage, so I pressed on a bit quicker and finished up well. But it was bloody sore. Even worse, maybe it was because I was worried about my leg and caused myself some stress, I overheated badly. Felt awful generally - which was a shame after such a promising start.

31:27 in the end.

I think my technique of running is causing some problems. I've altered it a few times in order to reduce the impact levels, but I suspect I've caused myself harm here as I've never ever had a problem like this before - and I've had lots of problems believe me! Ironically, the slower I go, the more pain I cause myself.

So, that being the case, I'll head out to the track tomorrow evening and see about trying to record a 20:XX time for 5k.

Went back to the track tonight to do my intended 5k in 20:XX as I said the other day. As per usual, it was pitch dark - even more so than usual as winter's really starting to make its presence felt. But alas, it was still quite pleasant and surprisingly warm - despite the winds that rocked my car back and forth along the M50.

I decided that I wasn't going to push like crazy this time, I had set myself a goal of 1:40/lap, and at the end of lap one, I saw 1:42 on my watch. So, I hit the split button, settled into that pace, and didn't bother looking at the watch until I had finished.

Lap times:
    1. 1:42
    2. 1:43
    3. 1:44
    4. 1:43
    5. 1:42
    6. 1:45
    7. 1:42
    8. 1:42
    9. 1:40
    10. 1:40
    11. 1:31
    12. 1:28
    13. 0:39 (half lap)
    Final time: 20:46

Unfortunately, after exactly 1km, my left calf once more just 'went'. The first two laps felt absolutely great - really comfortable, and then rounding a bend, the calf tightened up considerably - exactly the same problem as I've had the last week or two - so I think I'm going to have to take a few days off. Anyway, I was at the track, so I figured I'd push on. Unfortunately it played a bit on my mind and it was funny because at around the lap 8/9 mark, where I usually start to speed up, I started feeling a little nervous - i.e - if I go too hard on the leg, I don't want to not complete my 5k. It was all quite sore really and I was carrying my left leg completely - at one point I thought to myself 'imagine if I had two good legs!'. Lap 11 I figured eff it I was nearly home so I sped up a tiny bit, but I only went fast on the final half lap - which was disappointing. As has been the case the last few times, usually I'm able to muster up a 1:20 flat after a few 1:30s. But not to worry. 20:30 would have been nice, but this is a good start.

Anyway, 5k in 20:46 - another 'seasons best' for me! Yeah!

Just thought I'd review my progress since starting this log thing a few weeks back. I've also added a 'goal' which I hope to achieve by the year's end.

1 mile
    Aug: 7:00~
    Oct: 5:29
    Goal: 5:10

Aug: 22:51
    Sept: 21:15
    Oct: 20:46
    Goal: 19:XX

Sept: 44:54
    Goal: 41:XX (I'm sceptical on this one!)

4.6 mile route
    Aug: 34:49
    Sept: 31:41
    Oct: 29:47 (freak time, not a fair reflection)
    Goal: 28:XX

6.5 mile route
    Aug: 51:52
    Sept: 46:21
    Oct: 45:43
    Goal: 43:XX

That should keep me going for the next while!

Edit: Comments, Happiest with the 1 mile time from the other day, as well as my 4.6 mile routes. That is my 'local' run, and when I started trying to do it again during the summer, I couldn't even run for 6 minutes in a row. When that happened, I went to the gym for a few weeks before remerging and trying again. Luckily it did the trick!

So, took 8 days off there to help the calf work itself out. Lasted fine, but afterwards when I was having to do some climbing on a ladder, I 'felt' it. It was generally hard going again tonight after the miniature break and zero air since the last day. Was quite mild out and as per usual, I overheated. I suspect it could be ZERO outside and I'd still overheat...

6.5 miles in 46:55. It felt a lot faster than that, especially the last part but alas it was slower than I expected. At 4 miles or so, I was really not feeling the best, and then I thought to myself, '4 miles?! Wasn't there a marathon on yesterday!?'

Congrats to all who were braver than I! Seems like a lot of targets were met, a good day for running.

I think I might do one of those jingle bell 5ks in december and see if I can manage that sub-20, so that's my short term goal.

Was a nice evening so I couldn't resist a short and relatively quick run on a route I used to do all the time, but haven't covered in a year or so. Did the 2.9 miles in 19:08. My record for the route is 17 flat, so happy enough with tonight's run as was hoping for anything under 20. Good fun.

Beware of Micra drivers btw, especially at junctions. They're rubbish and liable to try and hit you. And to all Golf drivers: you're not as good as you think you are.

Was a really nice night out tonight: slight drizzle with puddles on the ground - and not too warm and not too cold. For me, perfect conditions for running at night. What's more, as soon as I set off, my legs felt great so I decided screw it, time for a no-excuses fast run.

My previous best was 45:43 from a couple of weeks back. So, I decided I'd go out pretty quick, and I did passing the 2 mile mark in around 13 mins. Recently, well Tuesday, I had noticed I was fading between miles 4-5, so I tried to keep the tempo up this time. It hurt. Luckily I managed to hold the pace though, and I finished the last 0.5 mile well. Throughout the run, I kept aiming for puddles to and by the end, with the leaves all over the place, I looked like I'd done a cross-country race.

The only downside was an altercation with an Audi - both of us were at fault. He appeared from nowhere, at some pace, to join a stationary, backed-up main road, just as I was crossing his minor road. I didn't see him as I was watching for the traffic turning off the main road. I think we both scared ourselves and almost had a 'racing incident'. Alas, he braked, and I used my best rugby sidestep to avert disaster, but I suspect his heart-rate matched my own. I waved an apology, but he still beeped. I'm not a beeper, but fair enough. Anyway, the moral of the story is to watch out at the moment, slippy conditions etc.

Final time 44:04, which is almost 1:40 improvement over previous fastest. Needless to say I was quite happy and it felt like a return to form as I have reverted to my 'old' running style. Hopefully the calf issue is fixed, it certainly seems that way. Nearly at my 43:XX target time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Hey just catching up on your log there.
    You have good speed there!

I'm hoping to start back on track sessions over the winter and do some shorter stuff. I'm really interested to see what times i could produce in 5 and 8ks.

First of all, a big welcome back to my running companion who pushed me along when I recorded my p.b's before. This week, as I've finally started to pick up the pace a little, he has rejoined me in my running. His name is pain, and he is always present now, looking over my shoulder. Giving out...

Well, I'm pretty busy today, but just got out for a 2.9 miles which again I tried to do with a 'no-excuses, fast' pace! Bit of an ominous chill in the air today, but overall conditions were pretty good and very little traffic. I started out a little slow, but picked up the pace and compared to my 19:08 run a few days ago, I was slightly quicker on all of my splits, and finished up in 18:43 - which I think is quite competitive! It's been hard going these last few days, but great to see progress on the times front. I wonder if before the end of the year I might get a p.b. over some kind of distance? I think I need to aim for it.

Have to say I'm pretty happy with myself! I've never been one to gain weight or anything, but I look visibly fitter and leaner now so again I take that as a sign of things going in the right direction.

I had forgotten how much I enjoy these short runs - it's why I run really. The long distance stuff, which I was trying out a couple of weeks ago, just really isn't me. So, I think I'll just keep going with these 2.9, 4.6, 6.5 mile routes that I have.

Again, I have also to recommend these Asics 2130s that I wear. I'm a neutral/underpronator runner and although I think these were designed for the overpronator etc., they have stood up incredibly well, and now that they are well and truly run-in, they are totally moulded to my feet. Indeed, with each run as more little holes are appearing and more rubber is being worn away, they are getting lighter and lighter, yet are still comfortable. Only a few weeks back I was thinking it was new runner time, but screw it, if I can endure these faster runs, then so can they! The main thing is that I have zero foot/leg/knee problems at the moment. So, if anyone sees a pair stuck in a bargain shelf, might be worth a look. I hated mine when I got them first. They were the most expensive runners I'd ever bought, yet they just seemed... clunky?! I even reverted to 1120/1130s, but now that I'm into them, I'll be sad to see them go. Running is a pleasure at the moment, and that's how it should be!!

Nuts. The cold weather has finally arrived. Went out last night and it just didn't *feel* right from the get-go. Had taken Mon/Tues/Wed off and as soon as I started running it felt like an age since I'd done it and my actual running technique didn't feel right... Weird. Anyway, went on as normal until the 4 mile mark when suddenly my right calf did exactly what my LEFT calf had been doing over the last few weeks! Was quite shocked! Kept going anyway, but it all felt rather slow and as I ran I kept trying to guess what my finishing time would be. I guessed 47:00, so when I crossed the line in 44:58 I was quite happy. I couldn't manage a fast finish, which was a shame, the silly leg.

Don't quite know what to make about this whole calf-strain thing. As I've mentioned before, I'd had lots of things with my legs before, but this is new. Had a spectucular failure of the quad once whilst sprinting for the try-line years ago - that was one of the most painful things and out of the blue. But this, this is just a silly niggling thing, but identical to what I felt in the left calf a week or two back. As I ran along though, I did think to myself, 'well at least the left calf is working now'!?!

I fear this is a sign that I am getting older. I remember the days when I could run five miles, play a game of tip, go to the gym - then go out for the night. And all without stretching...!