Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eamonn Dorans closed

• 30-08-2009 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭

I just heard from my brother that it's closed now... anyone know what's up??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Closed as in shut down / out of business?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

According to my mate, whos Dad knows the owner, it's just being done up completely, thank God as I couldn't hack that horrible smell of damp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

According to a mate of mine who was supposed to play a very important gig there last night Dorans was hit with a week long closure order because of underage drinking there. Should be open again on Wednesday.

*Please bear in mind that this is a rumor and I have not heard anything concrete about it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Hopefully they're fixing the place up. I love going there but it's an absolute dive! Toilets downstairs should only be undertaken by the brave/drunk and desperate.

Twee. wrote: »
    Hopefully they're fixing the place up. I love going there but it's an absolute dive! Toilets downstairs should only be undertaken by the brave/drunk and desperate....and nobody taller than a midget.

FYP! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

pithater1 wrote: »
    According to a mate of mine who was supposed to play a very important gig there last night Dorans was hit with a week long closure order because of underage drinking there. Should be open again on Wednesday.

*Please bear in mind that this is a rumor and I have not heard anything concrete about it.

That's the tale I heard myself.

The jukebox needs a going over, not enough metal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Overpriced smelly shíthole tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ahhhh! I was out on Thursday night and saw that Dorans was closed, was wondering what was going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

now where will i get a crap pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

On another note, does anybody know why every Saturday there's a massive queue of teenage emos outside Eamonn Dorans. Every Saturday they're there and I've always wonder why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭smog

From what i heard .. MCD took it over and its getting a complete revamp

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I think they do underage gigs sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭GlasnevinRed

http://www.hotpress.com/Eamonn%20Dorans/news/Dorans%20hope%20to%20reopen%20this%20week/5762491.html
    Dorans hope to reopen this week

Famous Dublin pub and venue "dealing with licensing issues" Rumours that Eammon Doran's, one of Dublin's best-known rock'n'roll venues, had closed over the weekend were clarified by owner Dermot Doran, who spoke to Hot Press this morning. While the doors of the venue have been shut since Friday, Doran explained that the problem was a temporary one. The premises was experiencing "licence trouble", he said, but they were in the process of rectifying the problem.
    "We hope to open again later in the week, all going according to plan," Dermot told Hot Press. "We are behind with taxes, and you need a tax clearance certificate to have your license renewed, but I'm hoping to sort things out over the next couple of days. Technically I could trade at the moment but it's better to take this route for the moment. It has nothing to do with any issue other than license trouble."
    Eammon Doran's has been one of Dublin's most celebrated venues for many years, with a constant flow of bands playing the downstairs venue in Temple Bar, since Doran took over. The venue and pub has a reputation as a place where young Dublin bands often got their first gigs. Its roll of 'past pupils' includes Radiohead, who played their first ever Irish show there in 1993.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Black Thorn

I think most played their 'first gig' there. pity they aren't doing the place up as would have booked a few dates if they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Maybe they're planning on expanding their current offering of 2 different beers on tap.
    Biggest fúcking hole of a place around.
    I hope it never re-opens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

F*ck

They've a deposit from me for a gig I'm running in November, bringing a band down from the north and from England too.. Tried ringing the bloke who I booked the venue from, no answer. Convenient >:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

Is it still closed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

I actually like the place despite their crap over priced pints. How the hell are they behind on their tax bill considering all the dough that place pulls in. Really makes you wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

ED has in fact always operated under an incomplete licence. Connections etc. mean it has been overlooked by authorities until now. Really the only right punishment is to shut it down*

* the above may or may not be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Ah but Dorans is just one of those spots though.
    Everyone will tell you they hate it and it smells bad but you just can't help but end up there...

When no where else is open.:rolleyes:

If I won the lottery I'd buy straight off. You heard it hear first!

edit/ I have not won the lotto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I believe the Hot Press story to be untrue. So now..

Well, it's still closed... so... yeah. I doubt that story is true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

Mate of mine was in eamon dorans one night and went down to the jacks. In the cubicle he went to someone had put a pint glass in the toilet bowl and had crapped right into it.

That's skill that is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Hahahahaha, that is actually excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭craiginireland

Is it still closed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

was still closed when I walked by it earlier this week....ah memories of when it was the Rock Garden... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

Ph3n0m wrote: »
    was still closed when I walked by it earlier this week....ah memories of when it was the Rock Garden... :)

It was brilliant as the Rock Garden,remember seeing Kerbdog there('94?) and the Jim Rose Circus Sideshow . Great times!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

aye sneaking into Jim Rose Circus cause it was over 21s only and I was a young young boy at that time...with curious eyes, red ruby lips...ooops wrong forum....LOL

According to a post I read on metalireland.com the owner of the building brought Dermot Doran to court and has evicted him for non-payment of rent. However the full license has been re-applied for so possibly the owner will give it a go himself.

My sister walked by there recently and said there was a skip truck backed in and they were throwing a lot of stuff out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

Dord wrote: »
    According to a post I read on metalireland.com the owner of the building brought Dermot Doran to court and has evicted him for non-payment of rent. However the full license has been re-applied for so possibly the owner will give it a go himself.

My sister walked by there recently and said there was a skip truck backed in and they were throwing a lot of stuff out.
    Yeah i saw the skip too.
    Friend of mine is good friends with the owner, I will ask him if he knows anything and post back shortly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

DigiGal wrote: »
    Yeah i saw the skip too.
    Friend of mine is good friends with the owner, I will ask him if he knows anything and post back shortly!
    Please do. I still have to find a replacement venue for the 6th, minus the deposit I gave dorans :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

Dord wrote: »

Oh if only I'd known, I would have tried to yoink the Thin Lizzy light

Just saw that it has reopened with a fresh lick of paint and is now called "3 Crown Alley". I didn't venture inside though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Opened already? I walked past it the other day and they looked like they were doing a good bit of building work to it.

Hmm.. wonder what it's like inside.. ?

Larianne wrote: »
    Opened already? I walked past it the other day and they looked like they were doing a good bit of building work to it.

Hmm.. wonder what it's like inside.. ?

It looked a lot brighter than before. The walls inside are cream or white rather than the black and red of before. I might wander in tomorrow if I get a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

As long as it doesn't smell of damp anymore downstairs and pints aren't over a fiver it will be better than what it was.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭boosh_fan

I remember paying 13 something in there for 2 pint bottles of bulmers - a disgrace! And a guy wearing a hawaiian shirt djing..... NEVER again - no matter what they rename the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Mr. Razzcocks

Is it still gonna be the same just with a different look??

Please god let the toilets be different!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's one big toilet tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭1968

I heard that they're dropping the rock/alternative vibe and going for temple bar irish music/ballads 7 nights a week. : /

(A friend of mine who plays in an irish trad band was invited to go in next week and have a meeting with the management about the possibility of having a residency)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

1968 wrote: »
    I heard that they're dropping the rock/alternative vibe and going for temple bar irish music/ballads 7 nights a week. : /

(A friend of mine who plays in an irish trad band was invited to go in next week and have a meeting with the management about the possibility of having a residency)

Really? It was one place I kind of liked in Temple Bar even if it was smelly and dirty, the last time i was in there I did feel kind of ancient and I'm only 27 so that wasn't fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

They are talking about it on the Rock and Metal forum too:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055256320

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

I was in town the other waiting for someone so I called in to scope it out. €4.80 for a pint of Smithwicks is pushing it. The decor is gone all Sex and the Shitty. The Thin Lizzy sign is gone. The jacks have been redone (in the upstairs bit) and are kinda pleasant. There's a bottle of Red Breast and some other Jamesons behind the counter - I dare not ask how much a measure is though :(.

There's no posters for gigs or anything. Looks like there's new staff as well. DiFontanes is still there but it's sectioned off now and the shutters are down.

I think it's more than just a licence issue and a refit to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Did Eamonn Dorans reopen ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Nope. Its now some generic Irish bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭7ofBrian

No. Its now called 4 Dame Lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

7ofBrian wrote: »
    No. Its now called 4 Dame Lane.

???

Pretty sure 4 dame lane is on, well, Dame Lane.