Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celica ST205 GT4 or MR-2 GT MKII rev 3

• 29-08-2009 7:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23

The time has come to upgrade the ole car for something with a little more performance(0-60 of around 5.5-6.0) costing around 6k from about 1997 on. Boot and rear seats aren't really an issue so I was wondering:

1:Which is faster in a straight line(rolling as opposed to drag)?
    2:Am I wrong in assuming the GT-4 eats the MR-2 in the corners with its 4 wheel drive?
    3:Which has cheaper insurance(I've read GT-4,MR-2 group 20?)

Money is going into the car and insurance(and college:mad:) so nothing really left to mod with so its just a stock vs stock. Was looking at the S15 Spec R too but they aren't cheap! Any alternative ride ideas for the same price, age and performance welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

moved to general motors, will get more replies here i'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

2:Am I wrong in assuming the GT-4 eats the MR-2 in the corners with its 4 wheel drive?
    3:Which has cheaper insurance(I've read GT-4,MR-2 group 20?)

I don't think anyone can tell you much you don't already know. The MR2 is quicker in a straight line but is known as a widow maker. The GT-Four is much better in the corners - just keep the power on and you can go around at insane speeds. I'd bring some lube when you go looking for insurance. Both will generate sky high quotes, if you can get quoted at all. Expect fairly high fuel bills too.

Bottom line is I wouldn't even think about getting a performance car on a tight budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

I don't think anyone can tell you much you don't already know. The MR2 is quicker in a straight line but is known as a widow maker. The GT-Four is much better in the corners - just keep the power on and you can go around at insane speeds. I'd bring some lube when you go looking for insurance. Both will generate sky high quotes, if you can get quoted at all. Expect fairly high fuel bills too.

Bottom line is I wouldn't even think about getting a performance car on a tight budget.

Well the rev1 mr2 is known as the widow maker, the others aren't as bad, a rev3 forward mr2 is grand, there all pretty much the same form 94-98 and you will still find mr2 turbos with 70 or 80,000 miles easily enough which is pretty good for a 15 year old car. Performance wise the mr2 as you say will beat the gt4, it will beat most standard cars such as wrx's, rx7's, supra's, integra's, it just has the prefect layout and a nice amount of power. They are also very popular in the uk so loads and loads of expert advice and parts available, check out www.tbdevelopments.com , a mr2 specialist who can get most pars you need and also give mr2.ie a look, a new owners club in Ireland and you should get plenty of help on there.

I don't know much on the GT4's though so i can't comment on them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 stephen m1

I have both and love them the Mr2 is a great yoke to drive very good on the road and very practical for a two door mid engined car , it still has a decent boot and yes its very quick the early models are the worst handling cars ever made honest , they suffer from snap oversteer and when they go there is no catching them
    If you going to buy one make it a 1995 on turbo or go for the beams engine its a much lighter vvti engine and revs every bit as good as a honda only down side is trying to work on the engine is virtually impossible

The GT4 is going to be a classic of the future for sure its gettin hard to find a good one plus you dont see them to often any more . They are easily good for 300BHP as are the mr2 but the gt4 can hold it far better where the MR2 will lose traction every where id go for the GT4 for practicality and kerb appeal;)

Iv this for sale if interested ??http://www.octane.ie/forum/showthread.php?p=505316#post505316

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭sonic74f

I have owned 2 gt4 st205's(94-99) and they are over engineers cars so excellent build quality all round. Engines are also very strong. Like all performance cars, they need to have been well maintained to stay in top condition. I agree with one of the lads above though, its not a good idea buying a turbo 4wd car on a budget as maintenance can be very high.

If you are going for the gt4, make sure that both figure 8's and lower arms are done in the front (suspension parts) as they are guaranteed to need doing between 60-80k miles and could set you back the bones of 2k. Also doing the clutch is a massive job and about a 1k job so something to bear in mind.
    Fantastic cars though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

gt4 all the way,i had the 93 gt4 pop up light model,some machine to hold the road,the last of the good cars toyota built,

twincamman wrote: »
    gt4 all the way,i had the 93 gt4 pop up light model,some machine to hold the road,the last of the good cars toyota built,

Have to agree, though the mr2, celica, supra was a good time for toyota, they covered all the areas, its such a puty they are gone so eco right now because they used to be such a legend :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I suppose that 2.5l boxer engined rwd coupe they were going to build with Subaru has been shelved now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

MOG7 wrote: »
    Performance wise the mr2 as you say will beat the gt4, it will beat most standard cars such as wrx's, rx7's, supra's, integra's, it just has the prefect layout and a nice amount of power.

RX7 > MR2
    Supra TT > MR2

Vertakill wrote: »
    RX7 > MR2
    Supra TT > MR2

I can see your point but have a look, mr2 turbo is a hugely under rated car

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oZdix0rLRU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojROyPUZvc4&feature=related

MR2 > Supra

MR2 > RX7

:p

MOG7 wrote: »
    I can see your point but have a look, mr2 turbo is a hugely under rated car

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6oZdix0rLRU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojROyPUZvc4&feature=related

MR2 > Supra

MR2 > RX7

:p

The Supra TT out performs the MR2 to 60 and to 100 so I don't see how it lost in that drag, unless it was down to driver error.
    I'd have seriously doubts believing that it's faster in a straight line if both were unmodded.

Not 100% sure on the RX7 to be honest but they look like they should be fairly closely balanced.
    Prefer the look of the RX7 though!

Vertakill wrote: »
    The Supra TT out performs the MR2 to 60 and to 100 so I don't see how it lost in that drag, unless it was down to driver error.
    I'd have seriously doubts believing that it's faster in a straight line if both were unmodded.

Not 100% sure on the RX7 to be honest but they look like they should be fairly closely balanced.
    Prefer the look of the RX7 though!

Ye i know where your coming from, on a track tre rx7 and supra will beat the mr2 but in a straight line drag the mr2 beats almost everything :) I wouldn't think any driver error either in the race against the Supra, those races are done by jgtc drivers so they are more skilled than anyone.

Interesting. Maybe I've been underestimating them.

Yeah I know the drivers. I'm a jap fan so I've seen a bit of them! :D

Ah ye i think the whole hairdressers car image they have makes people underestimate them a little :)

Though back to the op, both the cars are very good, comes down to your own preference which to go for.

here's a pic of my rev3 turbo, been used as a daily driver for the last 11 months and hasn't caused me any hassle really :pac:

P1000735.jpg