Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

turf bags

• 27-08-2009 6:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭

Hey all, not sure where to post this, so feel free to move it.
    I wonder can anyone tell me where I could get 25kg turf bags, new or used. I have googled it, and I am not getting anywhere.
    Thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the farming and forestry forum might be of help, or contact bord na mona

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

Im not sure but you should get through to Ads by Google he'll let ya know. Make sure you specifically say "turf bags" and tell him i sent ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Comments about "Culchies" in 5,4,3,2...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ah turf, that's the good shit right there

roll on winter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

What's turf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

ive some.

Post your address and ill arrive at your door wearing one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Someone PLEASE post the culchie forum link ASAP

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Supercell wrote: »
    Someone PLEASE post the culchie forum link ASAP

Yes.. because wicklaaa is now part of dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

im sure that aul sod phasers knows what turf is..

.. i'll take my pun coat and leave now.

Any turf I have bagged or seen in bags is put into old fertilizer bags or animal feed bags. I have never heard of purpose made turf bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭smiley girl

Any turf I have bagged or seen in bags is put into old fertilizer bags or animal feed bags. I have never heard of purpose made turf bags.

oh yea there so is, apparently! I was asked to see if I could find some, and as I said, I googled, and came here cos you lot are full of info! As I was told, 'it has to be 25kg. The other ones the guy has a 20, 25 and 40 kg. He wants them all 25kg cos he wants to sell it by the bag. We were told, 'yea yer man down the road can get ya 100 bags for 16euros' but thats all the info we got! Suppose they don't have to be purpose made turf bags just any plastic 25kg bags will do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Get some pulp bags

oh yea there so is, apparently! I was asked to see if I could find some, and as I said, I googled, and came here cos you lot are full of info! As I was told, 'it has to be 25kg. The other ones the guy has a 20, 25 and 40 kg. He wants them all 25kg cos he wants to sell it by the bag. We were told, 'yea yer man down the road can get ya 100 bags for 16euros' but thats all the info we got! Suppose they don't have to be purpose made turf bags just any plastic 25kg bags will do!

Whats that advert on the tv where it shows two old men in the west of Ireland building a stone wall and this old woman comes to them with tea in a real old ireland manner - and then says she has to rush back to the house because she's bidding for something on ebay? That reminds me of you!

When your dad said he wanted you to look for turf bags, What he meant for you to do is to go out the back door, down to the farm yard and see if there are any bags folded up under the old tractor wheel thats on the ground beside the fertalizer spreader... not google it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

get to your nearest farmer and he will have plenty of empty meal bags, and fertilizer bags that are only going to be buried ,so im sure he would be glad to ablidge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

You mean you want empty bags to fill turf into. If you pay anything for these, you are a fool as its mostly fertilizer bags that used and there is no shortage of those around the countryside.

Also you mentioned, any 25kg bag would do. Now this could be a mistake. For example a bag made for holding 25kg of feathers would be a bit on the big side for holding turf. Ha ha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

You need to get the good s-turf!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Wolfsberg

Am I missing something here?! You couldn't buy "25kg bags" for turf. Each sod is a different shape to the next one, they have different densities, moisture contents etc. There is no such bag that would hold the same weight of turf everytime! The only way to measure the same weight of turf each time is to use a scales! :confused:

Wolfsberg wrote: »
    Am I missing something here?! You couldn't buy "25kg bags" for turf. Each sod is a different shape to the next one, they have different densities, moisture contents etc. There is no such bag that would hold the same weight of turf everytime! The only way to measure the same weight of turf each time is to use a scales! :confused:

lol.

25kg bag is a standardised term us culchies use for a bag that holds animal foodstuffs etc...

although a fertalizer bag is roughly the same size its contents is 40kg..

they're about 3ft long by 1.5 ft wide. You'd fit a small child in one, or a small adult in one with some "alterations"

snyper wrote: »
    lol.

25kg bag is a standardised term us culchies use for a bag that holds animal foodstuffs etc...

although a fertalizer bag is roughly the same size its contents is 40kg..
    To be honest with you, I am from what you would call "the country" if you saw it. I live in the absolute sticks, surrounded by agriculture, the nearest village is about 2 or 3 miles away. I have never heard that before. :o

I've done my fair share of turf piling and fertiliser-bag-related activities too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

To be honest with you, I am from what you would call "the country" if you saw it. I live in the absolute sticks, surrounded by agriculture, the nearest village is about 2 or 3 miles away. I have never heard that before. :o

Have you heard of a manure bag?

mickdw wrote: »
    Have you heard of a manure bag?
    Yeah. 10-10-20 bags we call them in my house.

lol.

Very true.

Its also a handy measure when talking about the load capacity of the boot of a car or the back of a small van. i.e. how many bags of calf nuts will fit in it!!:D
    Yeah. 10-10-20 bags we call them in my house.

We call them manure bags as well, or say shaking manure for the act of spreading fertilizer. But I thought it was best to call them fertilizer bags in my initial post on the thread for the benefit of the townies.

Whats that advert on the tv where it shows two old men in the west of Ireland building a stone wall and this old woman comes to them with tea in a real old ireland manner - and then says she has to rush back to the house because she's bidding for something on ebay? That reminds me of you! that's so not good, is it?!

When your dad said he wanted you to look for turf bags, What he meant for you to do is to go out the back door, down to the farm yard and see if there are any bags folded up under the old tractor wheel thats on the ground beside the fertalizer spreader... not google it! :D
    ok, so thats funny, except its not, cos the jokes on me!!!!

Ok Ok everyone, as I did say, about the 16euro for 100 bags, we don't want to buy them. My boyfriend got some bog and this year he has put it to good use! So now he wants to sell it and I was nominated to source bags. I didn't do a good job as he has told me only an hour ago, he has gotten a whole heap of bags of several different farmers in the area!
    Thank you all for your input and help but its sorted now!!

I feel the topic hasn't been discussed enough yet. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

ok, so thats funny, except its not, cos the jokes on me!!!!

Ok Ok everyone, as I did say, about the 16euro for 100 bags, we don't want to buy them. My boyfriend got some bog and this year he has put it to good use! So now he wants to sell it and let go because of the recession and now we have to rob turf from a nearby bog to earn a few quid. I was nominated to source bags. I didn't do a good job as he has told me only an hour ago, he has gotten a whole heap of bags of several different farmers in the area!
    Fixed that for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

that was a bread add about the 2 awl fellas wasnt it?

Why do u need bags anyway? Whats wrong with feckin the whole lot into a trailer like everyone else? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Usually Its fertisler bags or even better cattle feed mail bags, theres good money to be made selling Turf to them City Folk and timber is even Better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Manure bags..
    Muck backs..
    10-10-20 bags..
    Turf bags..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Manure bags..
    Muck backs..
    10-10-20 bags..
    Turf bags..

:D AWW you cant beat Glenroe,brings back memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Call Joe Duffy good after noon caller, what? your looking for some turf bags.

Forky wrote: »
    Fixed that for ya

You are so funny Forky! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

It's the way I tell em

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

you could ask your local turf accountant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

Turf Bags?

- Connemara implants?

:D:rolleyes::D
    you could ask your local turf accountant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

What about the 10-10-20 fertiliser bags.....they're always recycled to bring the turf in?

finisklin wrote: »
    What about the 10-10-20 fertiliser bags.....they're always recycled to bring the turf in?

0-10-20 or 0-7-30 bags are better :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

0-10-20 or 0-7-30 bags are better :pac:

We could never afford the bigger bags!?!:o

finisklin wrote: »
    We could never afford the bigger bags!?!:o

the bags are the same size... the ratio of Nitrates phosphates and potash just differ...

..yes i know too much about this.... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

But I thought it was best to call them fertilizer bags in my initial post on the thread for the benefit of the townies.

If they'd been referred to as ****-bags, I would've assumed that this was another anti Fianna Fail ranting thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

We use Sheep Nut bags as they are plastic and keep them every year, one year I filled over 1,000 bags of turf and drew home the last of it and was home by home by midnight and had to drive to Dublin the following morning for an all-Ireland. Another year the skin fell of my fingers from Fertilizer bags which were not washed out as the ammonia took some effect to my skin. Done me no harm anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

There's a whole other world out there just waiting to be discovered.
    Turf, feedstuffs, fertilizer, calf nuts, what are they? They all sound so exotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Who buys turf by the bag? It's supposed to be sold by the trailer load.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

ScumLord wrote: »

A 'trailer-load' is the imperial unit of measurement, new EU directive means we have to use the newer metric unit known as 'turf-bag'.

Hal1 wrote: »

Next time I need to find anything, I'll ask you!!!:D

Demand fuels our need for turf bags! Some people don't want to buy by the trailer load, others do:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

WTF are you talking about? It's "supposed" to be sold by the trailer load? Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

WTF are you talking about? It's "supposed" to be sold by the trailer load? Why?
    Because that's the way it's sold. You only need a bag to bring it from the shed to the house. Turf is cheap, selling it by the bag is just a way to raise the price. I've never seen turf sold by the bag anywhere but in cities where it's considered some kind of luxury.