Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could I wear this to a wedding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Yeh i think its gorgeous...it looks short though. How short is it on you OP? The length on the model is grand but any shorter and id probably say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭squishywishy

anniehoo wrote: »
    Yeh i think its gorgeous...it looks short though. How short is it on you OP? The length on the model is grand but any shorter and id probably say no.

Thanks Anniehoo
    Its not short when I put it on. Below the knee at least. Looks short on the model alright but its not when on. Bit boobie tho... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Maybe the photo isn't doing the colour justice - but it looks too white for a wedding. It is a lovely dress though, and if the colour is a bit darker, then go for it.

Get a shawl or nice jacket/cardigan as a cover up for the church and outside. It's not nice to see too much flesh on display in the church, especially if it's all goose-pimples.

dudara wrote: »
    Maybe the photo isn't doing the colour justice - but it looks too white for a wedding. It is a lovely dress though, and if the colour is a bit darker, then go for it.

Get a shawl or nice jacket/cardigan as a cover up for the church and outside. It's not nice to see too much flesh on display in the church, especially if it's all goose-pimples.

Yeh the picture doesnt really do the colour justice. Its darker but not too dark really...which worries me.

Defo wearing a shawl. Have been to many a wedding and know thee ettiquete. Wouldnt dream of having loads of flesh on show in a church or at a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Yeh the picture doesnt really do the colour justice. Its darker but not too dark really...which worries me.

Defo wearing a shawl. Have been to many a wedding and know thee ettiquete. Wouldnt dream of having loads of flesh on show in a church or at a wedding.

If it is a light colour - would you consider dyeing the dress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

unless you are the bride, no.

If it is a light colour - would you consider dyeing the dress?

Its silky material and dry clean only so dont think I can.
    It came in blue too but they didnt have it in the shop.

CathyMoran wrote: »
    unless you are the bride, no.

Im clearly not the bride. If I was I'd wear what ever I want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Im clearly not the bride. If I was I'd wear what ever I want
    it is not appropriate im my opinion then

Even with copper/gold coloured shoes and shawl???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭mazken

you obviously like the dress so if you're comfortable wearing it then go for it. however, if you're going to be self-conscious in it and wondering throughout the day whether it's appropriate or not well then i'd give it a miss...you want to enjoy the day and not be worried about whether the bride/bridal party etc think. just my opinion :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

It does look at bit too white to be worn at a wedding. Could be the photo but I can't imagine it being that much darker.

As mazken says, you want to be comfortable on the day and I'd say you be on the receiving end of some snide comments if you wore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

it looks too white for a wedding.
    Sorry Dudara but i think that "rule" is the most ridiculous one ever invented. The bride will always outshine everyone on the day regardless of what colour anyone else wears. Imagine lads goin "eh..man im wearin a dark grey suit so you cant". Its really silly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭MelonieHead

General rule of thumb would be, if it's ambiguous enough to ask people on the Internet, then it's more than likely not appropriate.

It didnt really occur to me until I saw the thread in Wedding and Marriage and now the other one in the Ladies Lounge and said Id ask.
    Bride is a friend so Ill show her and wear a different purple dress if she thinks its too white (Its actually cream though and at that goldy cream)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭hatetherain!

Beautiful dress but I dont think its suitable for a wedding because of the colour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

Stumbled on this thread, I'm a dumbass bloke and even when I looked at the dress which is nice mhon was not to a wedding as I could imagine other ladies saying why would she wear that to a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

IMHO it's definitely not suitable for a wedding guest to wear, especially because of the satiny material it's way too bridal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ElaineMcG

Course you could wear this to a wedding, yes a brides wedding dress is always white but it is generally long and unless the bride is planning to wear a short dress then go for it, you wont take away from her at all.... People worry too much about these things if it looks good on you which Im sure it does as it a fab dress then wear it, who cares what others think!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Eerie

It really depends on the Bride - i'd ask her if it's OK. If it were me i wouldn't care/notice if anyone wore white or cream to my wedding but some people are funny about that sort of thing.

If you do decide to wear it, may I suggest having bright accessories (i.e. Hot pink, turquoise, red...) so the whole outfit looks less bridal.

• Totally inappropriate, IMO. You think it's fine but the bride most likely won't. Out of all the dresses, why would you choose one that looks so bridal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭janbaby

Only the Bride should wear any shade of white/cream. I think the dress is fab but I don't think you should wear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

Follwing on from a similar thread in Weddings and Marriage about wearing white/cream/ivory/champagne to a wedding.

do you think it would be acceptable to wear this dress to a wedding?

http://www.warehouse.co.uk/fcp/product/fashion/Spotlight/pleated-detail-prom-dress/12462

Its much darker in person. Kinda goldie cream.

Bought it for a party but was gonna wear to a wedding after

I'd never really thought about the whole ''don't wear white to a wedding' thing until I was a bridesmaid a couple of years ago. I overheard a group of girls bitching about another guest at the wedding who was wearing a white dress with a big black flower by the hem. It was a lovely dress, not at all bridal-y looking but they were going mad over her. The bride in question wouldn't have cared if people had turned up in black bags as long as they enjoyed the day!
    Chances are that the bride won't care as long as she's not wearing a short dress herself. More than likely there'll be someone giving out about it on the day if you wear it though so I suppose it depends on whether you mind that. Lovely dress btw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

christ - cant believe that I even opened this thread but it was the first one up on the home pages of boards and I was curious

I'm a bloke by the way and I've one question - how would you or your family feel if some random bird turned up at your wedding wearing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭lubie76

Not appropriate for a wedding in my opinion. The colour and material are too similar to a wedding dress and the only thing to distinguish it is the length and cut. I wouldn't wear to a wedding although its a lovely dress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭2xj3hplqgsbkym

Nice dress, but.... I personally wouldn't wear it because:
    -the bride will hardly tell you not to wear it, even if she thinks you shouldn't
    - even if you are not trying to upstage the bride it makes you look pretty pathetic as people will think you are trying to upstage the bride
    - even if you feel comfortable in the dress do you really want to risk making the bride feel upset on her special day?
    - with gold accessories it will look even more bridal
    -it's the only one day you are expected not to wear white/cream so why would you??

2 girls wore white or cream to my wedding, although I wasn't upset at all, I thought to myself, ' how sad that they are even trying to steal some attention from me on my wedding day.'

I'd say keep it for a christmas party or some other special event as it's a nice dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭jenniwenni

It bloody well looks like a wedding dress, unless you are looking to cause hassle, dont wear it! Keep it for a christening, much more appropriate.