Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bord bia inspections

• 27-08-2009 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

have many of ye had one of these bord bia inspections . i was saaposed to have one this morning at nine o clock and he never showed up no phone call good job it raining and i was round the farm got a big letter last week telling all the things i needed to be ready even put a pad lock on the medicine cubard last nite. what do ye think of this did it happen ta any of ye r have ye been inspeced 2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Rujib1

masse5455 wrote: »
    have many of ye had one of these bord bia inspections . i was saaposed to have one this morning at nine o clock and he never showed up no phone call good job it raining and i was round the farm got a big letter last week telling all the things i needed to be ready even put a pad lock on the medicine cubard last nite. what do ye think of this did it happen ta any of ye r have ye been inspeced 2...

Roll on Bord Snip Nua, and may 85% of box ticking public servants go with it :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

once had a dept inspection and asked did I need to be there and told no was just a walk around grand! rang the person that evening said everything went grand everything okay, two weeks later phone call from same person asking for directions to the farm for same inspection. said but you where did that two weeks ago, lied blindly saying no i didn't, obviously didn't know I knew their boss well:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭millertime78

I had this inspection recently. What a complete joke, it consisted of the "inspector" filling out a form and giving me a score to say I'd passed. The inspection lasted about 20 mins, barely walked the farmyard, didn't cover at least 80% of the farm. I'd like to the see the failure rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

masse5455 wrote: »
    is it a bord bia inspection or dept of ag inspection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭rooney32

i heard there is 1 dept of agri employee for every 10 farmers.
    no wonder there is so much paperwork and "inspections" for all these people to justify their positions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭DanFindy

Rujib1 wrote: »
    Roll on Bord Snip Nua, and may 85% of box ticking public servants go with it :eek:

Thanks a lot numpty, im a REPS planner and yes workin in the public service and yes hanging onto my job by the skin of my teeth with a mortgage to pay and me own wedding coming up to pay for along with the usual bills loans insurances fertiliser costs meal costs etc etc i think i do people a good service ensuring they get their reps money which is so badly needed by many west of ireland farmers........Good man thanks for that valuable input..................:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

well danfindy if its such a good service, can you tell us where the money and confirmation for reps4 is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

have had 2 of these bord bia inspections .... but the one thing that drives me mad is a dept guy coming out to inspect twins ffs i had 12 sets of twins last year i am sick of it he wants to see the dam , my register and the calves each time :mad::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

most goverment schemes relating to agriculture exist primarily to provide jobs for civil servants

i would love to know how much of the money allocated to a scheme ends up at the farm gate.

Cran wrote: »
    well danfindy if its such a good service, can you tell us where the money and confirmation for reps4 is?

I wish i knew, thats not my fault, that lies with the goverment and the allocation of funding. What rags me is that of course there are pen pushers in every job, department and every walk of life but im not one of them i work bloody hard and try only ever to help farmers and i hate the way people (Rujib1) tar us all with the one brush:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 phancydan

Been in that bord Bia scheme for a few years now, inspection was pretty straight forward just don't get why i do it? was promised a better price from factories would follow if i was bord bia approved but it hasn't. me thinks tis yet more wastage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Rujib1

DanFindy wrote: »
    I wish i knew, thats not my fault, that lies with the goverment and the allocation of funding. What rags me is that of course there are pen pushers in every job, department and every walk of life but im not one of them i work bloody hard and try only ever to help farmers and i hate the way people (Rujib1) tar us all with the one brush:confused:

Correction here! Not tarring all with the same brush. I said 85% not 100%. You obviously beong to the 15% which are jusifiable.

The fact is the 1 dept employee for every 10 farmers is INSANE :eek:

That is what I was referring to. I was not referring in any way to the personal integrity of any one official.

So reduce the number of dept people by 85% to get to 1 official to 67 farmers, and that seems high if you ask me from a cost effectiveness point of view.

PS: Any chance you could push my SFP to the top of the pile :D:D

Thanks.

R1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

The problem is that when An Board Snip do make the cuts, they will cut the necessary services like you and that is not fair because you provide a necessary service. The pen pushers will keep their jobs. The boys at the top will still be ok and they will protect their own.

Why all these cuts in the Agricultural sector? We contribute a huge amount to the amount of exports that this country has. If farmers cut down on food production (which we can all see happening after this crap summer), then we will have less exports and less money coming into the country, and probably more imports of cheaper food which sees money going out of the country.

IMO its a backward step for the country and will cost the government more in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

I think fishery officers,local councel,EPA,and department of ag inspectors are all doing the same job ie. inspecting water courses and controling polution
    one body should do.
    Also if your herd profile is online and correct matching tb test I think there should be no need to keep the same thing on heard regester book and pay a man to drive out to sign it and keep farmers from a half days work

Correction here! Not tarring all with the same brush. I said 85% not 100%. You obviously beong to the 15% which are jusifiable.

That is what I was referring to. I was not referring in any way to the personal integrity of any one official.

So reduce the number of dept people by 85% to get to 1 official to 67 farmers, and that seems high if you ask me from a cost effectiveness point of view.

PS: Any chance you could push my SFP to the top of the pile :D:D

Thanks.

R1

Sorry lad im just under pressure with me job on the line at the moment, and yes i know the department are carrying a LOT of baggage

As for the sfp i could do wit me own comin in:rolleyes: but i dont work for the department so nowt i can do im afraid bud im just public service (Teagasc)

reilig wrote: »
    The problem is that when An Board Snip do make the cuts, they will cut the necessary services like you and that is not fair because you provide a necessary service. The pen pushers will keep their jobs. The boys at the top will still be ok and they will protect their own.

Why all these cuts in the Agricultural sector? We contribute a huge amount to the amount of exports that this country has. If farmers cut down on food production (which we can all see happening after this crap summer), then we will have less exports and less money coming into the country, and probably more imports of cheaper food which sees money going out of the country.

IMO its a backward step for the country and will cost the government more in the long run.

Well said lad :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Sorry lad im just under pressure with me job on the line at the moment, and yes i know the department are carrying a LOT of baggage

As for the sfp i could do wit me own comin in:rolleyes: but i dont work for the department so nowt i can do im afraid bud im just public service (Teagasc)

most farmers would not view teagasc as being public servants in the true sense of the word , teagasc work much harder than you average civil servant at the dept of agri , they also know a hell of a lot more about farmers and have an entirely different relationship with farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

then we will have less exports and less money coming into the country, and probably more imports of cheaper food which sees money going out of the country.

Thats so true, and not to mention the fact that a lot of the schemes they cut (REPS etc.) were more than half funded by the EU, so thats even more money lost to this country. They should have found the cash for these schemes somewhere, they haven't a clue have they?

any teagsc advisor we ever had were hard working and definetly earned their money maybe the waste in teagsc is higher up.
    Pacoa is on the ball getting rid of schemes funded by eu is madness ie (reps, early retirment)
    For ever 10 euros that is spent in this country the government will get back 6 in taxes.
    If the eu puts 5euro and the government matches the 5 euro the government will end up getting 6 back no logic is scrapping them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

djmc wrote: »
    I think fishery officers,local councel,EPA,and department of ag inspectors are all doing the same job ie. inspecting water courses and controling polution
    one body should do.
    Also if your herd profile is online and correct matching tb test I think there should be no need to keep the same thing on heard regester book and pay a man to drive out to sign it and keep farmers from a half days work

add to that list Teagasc Agricultural Catchments Programme http://www.teagasc.ie/agcatchments

Jobs for the boys!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

rooney32 wrote: »
    any teagsc advisor we ever had were hard working and definetly earned their money maybe the waste in teagsc is higher up.
    Pacoa is on the ball getting rid of schemes funded by eu is madness ie (reps, early retirment)
    For ever 10 euros that is spent in this country the government will get back 6 in taxes.
    If the eu puts 5euro and the government matches the 5 euro the government will end up getting 6 back no logic is scrapping them

the EU is not behind the scrapping of reps for many farmers , the irish goverment is , most of the funding for this scheme came from brussells , the irish goverment decided they didnt want to fund any of it so the schme was scrapped , for many that is , not all

got notification of a bord bia inspection next week and the number of the inspector is not a valid phone number:mad: do i ring bord bia or sws?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭John_F

Bord Bia id be thinking but itl be some one in sws will answer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

R1

Well it is totally insane Rujib1, you said it there fella. Raving bonkers. but you spotted it, fair play, very perceptive.

So let us just think that through.

Let us also imagine that there is less than 4,000 working for the Dept according to this article(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0427/1224269160531.html), so ten times that....well that must mean there are 40,000 farmers in Ireland. So all farmers in ireland would make up a third of the population of Co. Louth, the wee county which has 111,000 people crammed in between Meath & the sea. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Louth).

Now if you consider that John Gormley's ever so popular Green Party got 96,936 votes in the last election, it means there are two-and-a-half times as many Green voters as farmers in Ireland.

Aren't statistics marvellous?

LostCovey

PS I haven't considered here the possibility that the headline statement "one dept employee for every ten farmers" is poppycock. I believed it blindly and took it on trust just like you.

rooney32 wrote: »
    i heard there is 1 dept of agri employee for every 10 farmers.
    no wonder there is so much paperwork and "inspections" for all these people to justify their positions.

And you have to get honourable mention too Rooney1, for highlighting this fascinating fact.

If you heard it, it must be true.

LC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Know where you coming from whelan1. Got advice to register heifers and use bulls to replace lost calves. Dept will register first set, send letter to check second and inspect third and other sets after. Fine if you have 20 cows and 5 sets of twins. I normally have 5 or 6 sets and it just too much hassle at busy time of year to justify their expenses. last set of angus males i registered i was waiting till over the 6 weeks so had to test them then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Pacoa wrote: »
    Thats so true, and not to mention the fact that a lot of the schemes they cut (REPS etc.) were more than half funded by the EU, so thats even more money lost to this country. They should have found the cash for these schemes somewhere, they haven't a clue have they?

This is the key point for me, they cut schemes which were co funded (usually majority funded) by the EU. Thats free money from the EU that the Irish government said nah, can't be bothered with that. It's like saying we're not going bother doing any exports this month

The thing is that a huge amount (nearly all i would imagine) of this money would have been spent in Ireland, for instance a young farmer getting the installation aid is going to spend every penny of it (be it on living expenses or on the farm) thereby creating jobs and cashflow to other businesses which desperatly need it.

Those cuts were pure madness and show that the people running the country (and lets be honest its the civil service) really haven't a clue

i am in the angus scheme but sell all calves , so very few if any going to factory do istill need to be registered with bord bia for culls etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

LostCovey wrote: »
    Well it is totally insane Rujib1, you said it there fella. Raving bonkers. but you spotted it, fair play, very perceptive.

So let us just think that through.

Let us also imagine that there is less than 4,000 working for the Dept according to this article(http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0427/1224269160531.html), so ten times that....well that must mean there are 40,000 farmers in Ireland. So all farmers in ireland would make up a third of the population of Co. Louth, the wee county which has 111,000 people crammed in between Meath & the sea. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/County_Louth).

Now if you consider that John Gormley's ever so popular Green Party got 96,936 votes in the last election, it means there are two-and-a-half times as many Green voters as farmers in Ireland.

LostCovey

PS I haven't considered here the possibility that the headline statement "one dept employee for every ten farmers" is poppycock. I believed it blindly and took it on trust just like you.

Ah where are you going with this post??

There are over 4,000 employees in the Department of Agriculture and there are about 31,000 FULL TIME farms in the country (a number which is expected to be about 10,000 come 2025) (currently about 30% of all farms) http://www.agresearch.teagasc.ie/rerc/downloads/NFS/NFSReport09.pdf

So the ratio is about 1:8 for full time farms and 1:25 for all farm types

Thats without including the 1500 Teagasc Employees (but at least there is some good benifits to Teagasc)

Either way there are way too many employees at the department of agri but then again there must be a hundred thousand too many employees across all deparments and public agencies so its only a drop in the ocean of the overall public sector problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

LostCovey wrote: »

LostCovey

From the CSO
    Number of Farms (Thousand) by Farm Size and Year in 2002
    Total 136.5
    Less than 5 Hectares 10.4
    5-10 Hectares 15.8
    10-20 Hectares 32.8
    20-30 Hectares 24.4
    30-50 Hectares 29.1
    50-100 Hectares 19.3
    100 Hectares and Over 4.6
    Average Size 32

So, according to the CSO there were 136,500 farms in 2002, down from 170,600 in 1991. These stat's just say how many farms there are, how many full time farmers there are in 2010, I don't know.

Like the Greens, we're a dying Breed:eek:

Edit: Sorry Tipp Man, I didn't see your post before I replied

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

Tipp Man wrote: »
    This is the key point for me, they cut schemes which were co funded (usually majority funded) by the EU. Thats free money from the EU that the Irish government said nah, can't be bothered with that. It's like saying we're not going bother doing any exports this month

The thing is that a huge amount (nearly all i would imagine) of this money would have been spent in Ireland, for instance a young farmer getting the installation aid is going to spend every penny of it (be it on living expenses or on the farm) thereby creating jobs and cashflow to other businesses which desperatly need it.

Those cuts were pure madness and show that the people running the country (and lets be honest its the civil service) really haven't a clue

When I first heard about the cuts I thought they didn't make sense, but then though, no, they must be going to draw down the money some other way, not leave it untouched.:mad: Madness :mad: If the net cost of these schemes was 0 or less to the taxpayer, surely they could of found the money from somewhere???

Especially since there are lots of young folk out of work now, who maybe left a small family farm to go work on the buildings, etc and would be very glad to take on and moderninse their farm if they could avail of schemes like the early retirement and installation aid. It would have made a better safety net than the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Bord Bia Inspection = Joke

Thats what you get when you let a marketing organisation run an audit.

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Bord Bia Inspection = Joke

Thats what you get when you let a marketing organisation run an audit.
    i agree , but do i need an inspection for only sending culls and a few friesian bullocks to the factory, the date doesnt suit me either

whelan1 wrote: »
    i agree , but do i need an inspection for only sending culls and a few friesian bullocks to the factory, the date doesnt suit me either

No you probably should not have an inspection by Bord Bia, because Bia means food, and I would not care to eat either a Friesian bullock or one of your culls (no offence whelan1)

LostCovey

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Ah where are you going with this post??

There are over 4,000 employees in the Department of Agriculture and there are about 31,000 FULL TIME farms in the country (a number which is expected to be about 10,000 come 2025) (currently about 30% of all farms) http://www.agresearch.teagasc.ie/rerc/downloads/NFS/NFSReport09.pdf

So the ratio is about 1:8 for full time farms and 1:25 for all farm types

Thats without including the 1500 Teagasc Employees (but at least there is some good benifits to Teagasc)

Either way there are way too many employees at the department of agri but then again there must be a hundred thousand too many employees across all deparments and public agencies so its only a drop in the ocean of the overall public sector problem

Well I am just plain confused. Some people saying there are 4,000 full time farmers, and some saying there are 136,000 farmers.

So are the 4,000 in the Dept of Ag just minding the full timers then?

Then who is minding the 132,000 part-timers like me?

Actually, if the 4,000 Dept staff are minding the 40,000 full-timers, then maybe that means us 132,000 part-timers need no Dept support, so maybe we are the REALLY efficient farmers, and the 40,000 full-timers that need state support are dead weight.

You heard it here first: LostCovey and all his/her friends are the lean, mean future.

Rock on.

LostCovey

5live wrote: »
    Know where you coming from whelan1. Got advice to register heifers and use bulls to replace lost calves. Dept will register first set, send letter to check second and inspect third and other sets after. Fine if you have 20 cows and 5 sets of twins. I normally have 5 or 6 sets and it just too much hassle at busy time of year to justify their expenses. last set of angus males i registered i was waiting till over the 6 weeks so had to test them then.

Hey 5live,

You are my kind of guy/gal.

All this traceability stuff is for the birds/Bords.

Well at least it's for Bord Bia, who are all fussed up about food 'n' stuff.

You just match the mamas and papas to any calfeen you like the look of, cos it's all just fer fun.

This bureaucracy just plumb gets in the way of producin' traceable food dun't it.

You betta believe it dude!

LostCovey