Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst thing that ever happened to you

• 26-08-2009 10:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭

For me it was shaming myself at a cousins 21st birthday. It was an open bar, which i took full advantage of. So after an unholy amount of drink i was dancing the night away like a complete idiot. From what i was told, apparently while busting my moves, i ended up puking what can only be described as projectile vomit, all over dancefloor and myself. After which i collapsed and had to be dragged out of the place. The dancefloor was left empty the rest of the night.

Worse thing was, i woke up the next day with no memory thinking i had a great night:(.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Okay, I'm going to try post this without thinking about it.

When I was younger, I was walking along a wall with some friends. On one side of the wall, was a thick patch of nettles.

For some reason, I became unbalanced and fell off the wall into the patch of nettles. That not being bad enough in itself, the nettles contained one dead sheep, that had been dead in summer for a number of days, and was bloated. I fell right onto the sheep, which then burst, covering me in dead sheep juices and maggots.

So I stood up stung, stinking, soaking, and covered in maggots.

I will never, ever forget that smell as long as I live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Silverfish wrote: »

When I was younger, I was walking along a wall with some friends. On one side of the wall, was a thick patch of nettles.

For some reason, I became unbalanced and fell off the wall into the patch of nettles. That not being bad enough in itself, the nettles contained one dead sheep, that had been dead in summer for a number of days, and was bloated. I fell right onto the sheep, which then burst, covering me in dead sheep juices and maggots.

****DING DING DING DING DING DING!!!!****

We have a winner! In record time no less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Worst thing? Having to read this thread. There's about one every... month? Two weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

I once drank my head off with Dark rum in my friends house. There were five of us and no-one else was even drunk.

I went up to the bathroom, put my head in the toilet bowl and started dry heaving.

I then **** my pants.

My friend had to break the lock to get in, and he had to shower me and change me into new clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 maverick09

I twisted my testicle. It was swollen for a few days. Couldnt even walk because of the weight of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I once drank my head off with Dark rum in my friends house. There were five of us and no-one else was even drunk.

I went up to the bathroom, put my head in the toilet bowl and started dry heaving.

I then **** my pants.

My friend had to break the lock to get in, and he had to shower me and change me into new clothes.

Sorry but that was really funny:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cookie Jar

Sorry but that was really funny:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭MmmmmCheese

karlog wrote: »
    For me it was shaming myself at a cousins 21st birthday. It was an open bar, which i took full advantage of. So after an unholy amount of drink i was dancing the night away like a complete idiot. From what i was told, apparently while busting my moves, i ended up puking what can only be described as projectile vomit, all over dancefloor and myself. After which i collapsed and had to be dragged out of the place. The dancefloor was left empty the rest of the night.

Worse thing was, i woke up the next day with no memory thinking i had a great night:(.

Something similar to that happened to me. I was at a teenage disco when i was 16 and downed a litre of straight vodka before i went in. I collapsed within 10 mins of going in and had to be taken to first aid. In there i stopped breathing and they put an oxygen mask on me. My parents were called and i was taken to hospital in the ambulance (none of which i can remember.) Next thing i remember was waking up in bed the next morning. That wasn't really the bad part, the worst part was the almighty grounding i got after it. So there ya go, don't be a silly little drunken teenager at teenage discos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Fell into a Christmas tree, twig went in my eye, cut my eyelid, nearly blinded me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

I will never, ever forget that smell as long as I live.[/quote

Munging:)

no not minging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Confab wrote: »
    Worst thing? Having to read this thread. There's about one every... month? Two weeks?

Whose holding a gun to your head?

Point them out and I will deal with them.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Capsizing in a boat about the size of a bathtub from Belize to Guatemala during a hurricane. Was a tropical depression early that morning and then intensified to a Cat 2. The 30-40 minutes hanging on to the half submerged boat was the worst experience of my life. Couldn't even open my eyes with the waves and horizontal rain. The sea is a monster.

I was also once kidnapped with a few others in Colombia but that wasn't as bad as it sounds. Although initially it was.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

barakus wrote: »

Munging:)

no not minging.

Munging would be the word, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Bleeden ell thanks for sharing, :D

Took up smoking, cnuten things, I was in an air incident and I havn't flown comfortably since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Catching my poneytail in a spinning lathe. The smell of the skin on my neck burning with the friction was horrible, but at least i wasn't scalped.

This isn't the worst thing that's ever happened to me, but it's the one that has happened most recently:

I was outside the Crane in Galway on Thursday night next to some really old guy with a beard. We made some small-talk and I mentioned something about how great it was that the rain had stopped. Then it started to rain, and I jovially said "Looks like I spoke too soon. Haw haw haw."

He laughed really hard at this and slid towards me, placing his arm around my shoulder. Then he started to caress my head, repeatedly telling me that I have "lovely soft hair" for about thirty seconds before slloooooowwwllyyy sliding his hand down to my hip where he held me (I was seriously frozen in shock :() for around twenty more seconds. At that point, my cigarette was gone so I just threw it away and calmly walked into the pub completely fucking traumatised.

The worst thing about being propositioned by an old man was that it wasn't the first time this had happened. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

This isn't the worst thing that's ever happened to me, but it's the one that has happened most recently:

I was outside the Crane in Galway on Thursday night next to some really old guy with a beard. We made some small-talk and I mentioned something about how great it was that the rain had stopped. Then it started to rain, and I jovially said "Looks like I spoke too soon. Haw haw haw."

He laughed really hard at this and slid towards me, placing his arm around my shoulder. Then he started to caress my head, repeatedly telling me that I have "lovely soft hair" for about thirty seconds before slloooooowwwllyyy sliding his hand down to my hip where he held me (I was seriously frozen in shock :() for around twenty more seconds. At that point, my cigarette was gone so I just threw it away and calmly walked into the pub completely fucking traumatised.

The worst thing about being propositioned by an old man was that it wasn't the first time this had happened. :o

You must be hot

edit: Your a he? Damn that cant be good. Has it always been old men;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

You must be HOT!!!

Oh he's smokin'.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Worst thing that ever happened to me was when I was 19. Went out to a nightclub with friends, had 4 bottles of bud by then so was not in any way drunk. Then I can't remember anything else. I woke up next day with my mum by my bed. I'd never been a drinker and never came home drunk or anythingt before. She told me that she was woken at around 4am by some neighbours who had recognised me when they were driving home from town. I was staggering along the road in the middle of the countryside. My mum was so upset, she stayed with me all night because she sais I was raving and talking gibberish. I can only assume that my drink was spiked because my friends said I only ordered one drink in the club, and disappeared shortly after. I still don't know what happened to me as I can't remember. Not knowing is terrible :(

You must be hot

Oh yeah, I'm a ride. Don't appreciated being fondled by the incontinent though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Oh he's smokin'.:pac:

He was until he finished with the cigarette.:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

sorry guys its a long'un but its worth it :D

when i was 7 i think (maybe 8) my dad was doing some repairs to a boat in Wicklow. My ma was pregnant at the time so he took me with him.

He was in the engine room doing the repairs and i was sitting on deck with a colouring book or something. Then it starts to rain. My da comes out to check on me, sees its raining, gives me the keys and tells me to go sit in the car.

The car was a 95 Beamer (as good as new) and had electric windows which were open. I being the bright little boy that I was knew that they wouldn't go up unless the engine was on. I moved over from the passenger seat to the driver one and turn the key....one stage too far. And of course the bloody thing was in gear and starts moving...towards the water edge.

So que a load of screaming people shouting "ah look the car is going for the edge" etc etc, and the next thing i kno, the car is in the water and sinking fast. The water played havoc with the electrics and the windows were going up and down, up and down, meaning i couldnt get out and i wasnt strong enough to break em.

From what im told, me da and a few other lads jumped in after me and when they got to the car, the windows stopped half way open and my da reached in and pulled me out thereby saving the day.

I can just remember sitting in the lifeboat on the way back to th epier saying sorry dad, sorry dad, sorry dad

an eventful day to say the least!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

boogle wrote: »
    Worst thing that ever happened to me was when I was 19. Went out to a nightclub with friends, had 4 bottles of bud by then so was not in any way drunk. Then I can't remember anything else. I woke up next day with my mum in my bed. I'd never been a drinker and never came home drunk or anythingt before. I still don't know what happened to me as I can't remember. Not knowing is terrible :(

thats a better story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

ottostreet wrote: »
    thats a better story

No. It's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭carefulnow99

dannym08 wrote: »
    sorry guys its a long'un but its worth it :D

when i was 7 i think (maybe 8) my dad was doing some repairs to a boat in Wicklow. My ma was pregnant at the time so he took me with him.

He was in the engine room doing the repairs and i was sitting on deck with a colouring book or something. Then it starts to rain. My da comes out to check on me, sees its raining, gives me the keys and tells me to go sit in the car.

The car was a 95 Beamer (as good as new) and had electric windows which were open. I being the bright little boy that I was knew that they wouldn't go up unless the engine was on. I moved over from the passenger seat to the driver one and turn the key....one stage too far. And of course the bloody thing was in gear and starts moving...towards the water edge.

So que a load of screaming people shouting "ah look the car is going for the edge" etc etc, and the next thing i kno, the car is in the water and sinking fast. The water played havoc with the electrics and the windows were going up and down, up and down, meaning i couldnt get out and i wasnt strong enough to break em.

From what im told, me da and a few other lads jumped in after me and when they got to the car, the windows stopped half way open and my da reached in and pulled me out thereby saving the day.

I can just remember sitting in the lifeboat on the way back to th epier saying sorry dad, sorry dad, sorry dad

an eventful day to say the least!!

what did ur dad say bout the car?!!!!:eek::eek:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

what did ur dad say bout the car?!!!!:eek::eek:

he was surprisingly nice about it. When they took it out of the water it looked like was in perfect condition so it was taken into a back shed in the port and a few people with sledge hammers went in after it. (*If the insurance company is reading this, I'm not saying anything untoward happened*).

Anyway end result was a big insurance payout cos the car was nearly new before i...erm...y'know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭carefulnow99

dannym08 wrote: »
    he was surprisingly nice about it. When they took it out of the water it looked like was in perfect condition so it was taken into a back shed in the port and a few people with sledge hammers went in after it. (*If the insurance company is reading this, I'm not saying anything untoward happened*).

Anyway end result was a big insurance payout cos the car was nearly new before i...erm...y'know

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::mad::mad::mad:

tut tut...very tut tut lol

:p:D:p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Maybe you should stop wearing that cocktail dress and blonde wig when you go out.;)

edit: Your a he? Damn that cant be good. Has it always been old men;)

Not always, I was come onto fairly heavily on the same thursday night by a woman as well. So two-thirds of the time I have been approached for a leg-over have been old men.

Maybe you should stop wearing that cocktail dress and blonde wig when you go out.;)

That's like telling a woman not to wear make-up going out. :mad:

Speaking of which, I'm also not going to stop wearing make-up when I go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Broke my spine when I was 17.

Being told I might be sh1tting into nappies and never getting laid again at 17 was a bit :eek: By the grace of, er, something, I made a decent'ish recovery though, happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

boogle wrote: »
    Worst thing that ever happened to me was when I was 19. Went out to a nightclub with friends, had 4 bottles of bud by then so was not in any way drunk. Then I can't remember anything else. I woke up next day with my mum by my bed. I'd never been a drinker and never came home drunk or anythingt before. She told me that she was woken at around 4am by some neighbours who had recognised me when they were driving home from town. I was staggering along the road in the middle of the countryside. My mum was so upset, she stayed with me all night because she sais I was raving and talking gibberish. I can only assume that my drink was spiked because my friends said I only ordered one drink in the club, and disappeared shortly after. I still don't know what happened to me as I can't remember. Not knowing is terrible :(

You were fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I read this last night, before I went to sleep. I lay awake with the most disgusting mental image in my head for ages :(

Worst thing that ever happened to me?

Probably my experience in A&E in Tallaght hospital. I had a stomach infection, couldn't hold down liquids, so they left me dehydrated for over twelve hours.

They tried to take a sample of my blood, but couldn't find any veins. At one point, I had two doctors, both grabbing one of my arms, punching them! Oww.

When they finally took me in, they hooked me up to a drip containing antibiotics. Within seconds, I had a massive allergic reaction to it, followed by an Asthma attack :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Raiser wrote: »
    You were fantastic.
    Why am I in your sig :confused:

Nothing really happened to me I could class as the worst.Some bad things but nothing really stands out.Maybe crashing while mountain biking alone.Middle of forest alone and unable to breathe or move much for about 30 seconds after the crash.That wasnt exactly pleasant.Recovered anyway.Got home and then discovered a little bit later id torn a small hole in my leg.Yay :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

When I was about 24 I was in Cologne with my sister. It was a baking hot day so we decided to grab a few beers and head to the beach.

We got to this big railway crossing with about 8 different racks for the trains. This guy told us that if you ran across the tracks you'd be at the beacj but if you walked around it would take about an hour. We were so hot and really wanted to be messing around in the sea drinking beers so we decided to risk it.
    The guy warned us that a train could come at any moment on any track and that German trains are fast as lightning. Being young and indestructible we bravely took our position at the edge of the tracks, took a deep breath an dran as fast as our legs would carry us.

Next minute I hear somebody yell 'TRAIN!!!!' and I froze midway to see a train coming right for us. My sister legged it and made it to the other side. I froze.
    I remeber just closing my eyes and thinking this is it. I'm dead.

Next thing the train flys by me and the momentum of it lifts me off the ground and throws me back a few feet. Once it had passed I lept up and ran to the other side.

We both burst into tears and were shaking like leaves. It's the closest I've ever come to death.

The true stupid part of this story is that after going to teh beach and getting hammered, we took the same route home...goddamn lazy Irish drunks!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

marrying a canadian when i was very young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭flanzer

As a matter of interest, do you eat lamb?

My uncle tells a story of him as a kid wandering and getting locked into a butchers fridge at christmas full of hanging turkeys. 50 years later, he can't sit down for dinner with anyone who eats any sort of foul without wretching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭FutureTaoiseach

Travellers smashing up €1609 worth of glass in my apartment because I wouldn't give them my motorbike. Doesn't include damage to my motorbike including smashed break lights/rear-view mirrors over a 2 yr period. They live on a neighbouring housing estate. When I asked the Gardai to look at the CCTV that the management company were suppose to have installed on the estate, it turned out the sign was wrong - there was no CCTV. It eventually stopped because my neighbours were keeping a lookout one night and caught one of those leaving the scene, reporting him to Gardai. He wasn't charged but he appears to have got the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

I remember I was at the IFTAs and I was in the media room and free wine was pouring, so I helped myself to a glass or two, my mate and I were drinking so much of the stuff we got thrown out after 10.30ish after dropping the red wine and being loud etc.. that's not the end we walked around to front of RDS I had fallen then I just about remembered going to hospital, then I walked out and get a taxi remeber it cost me nearly €50

the funny thing is when I got kicked out I had swiched my recorder on so recorded the whole thing, and I lost my glasses brused my arm

don't remember much even listing back to it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

either this thread is wrongly titled or you people have had too happy of lives , theese stories fall under most embarrassing thing that happened to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Don't ever tell that story to a potential boyfriend. If I was getting down and dirty with you all that'd be going through my head would be your body covered in maggots :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

My little brother killing himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Had a drinking competition with a french guy who said the Irish couldn't out drink the French and it being my birthday said feck that lets have ya, so not being contempt with just out drinking him in shots I had to start drinking pints aswell, night wears on and both of us are twisted hardly able to speak when finally he passes out and goes asleep, i;m hailed as the winner friends cheer etc...fast forward 5 mins i'm upstairs in the toilet projectile vomiting toilet gets blocked, i'm starting to hear and see people who aren't there, sick all over the floor which am crawling in, on my clothes, pulled the toilet seat off somehow and fell asleep in my own puke, had a hangover for the next two days...that toilet never got fixed luckily we had a spare.

Things I do for my country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 AlphaRob

I got kicked around in london by about 12 black dudes that decided it would be fun to slice my back up with a blade.F*cked me right up it did not to mention the broken jaw and fractures all over i was in a state.......

Ah but what ye gonna do:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Getting an email from The Department of Homeland Security with my picture, Soc Sec number on it saying. "This has been sent to the FBI since your Visa expired. You must leave the United States within the next 24 hours or you will be deported and receive a lifetime ban from the USA and a possible prison sentence."

Turns out my Visa hadnt expired but there was an admin error. I was an illegal immigrant for about two weeks.

My honduran girlfriend laughed her ass off at me but I was bricking it. She said, "Eh, that **** happens all the time to hispanic people" in her best Rosie Perez accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

Christmas eve eve (24th), 2006.
    Me and two of my most trusted advisors get phucked up on fosters and rum in the bayside inn, proceed to a field around the corner afterwards for a couple of joints.
    I go to take a slash in the bushes, nettle bushes. Locked, weiner out and pissing with my hands in my pockets, I loose my balance and stumble forwards, falling cock first into the nettles...still pissing.

Now every Dec 24th is called 'Nettle dick night', inventive, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Christmas eve eve (24th), 2006.
    Me and two of my most trusted advisors get phucked up on fosters and rum in the bayside inn, proceed to a field around the corner afterwards for a couple of joints.
    I go to take a slash in the bushes, nettle bushes. Locked, weiner out and pissing with my hands in my pockets, I loose my balance and stumble forwards, falling cock first into the nettles...still pissing.

Now every Dec 24th is called 'Nettle dick night', inventive, huh?

Christmas Day is on the 25th last time I checked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I got an acoustic guitar for Christmas and thought it meant I was a protest singer.

I can smile about it now, but it was bloody terrible at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭narwog81

getting brought outside a nightclub in rural russia by 3 members of the local mafia because my spending at the bar was getting too much attention from the local ladies.

not nice at all, especially when my ability to defend myself had been substantially reduced by the large quantity of champagne and vodka already consumed....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

fullstop wrote: »
    Christmas Day is on the 25th last time I checked

congratulations