Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help me break the World Record for High-5s received in 24 Hours! All in aid of Unicef

• 26-08-2009 8:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks! (mods, can you please leave this here? I need as many people to see this as possible)

At the DLR Festival of World Cultures on Saturday I'll be taking a shot at breaking the Guinness World Record for the greatest number of High 5s received in 24 hours. The record is currently 3,131, held by Blake Rogers of Rhode Island, New York. It is my intention to get it to 5,000, but the only way I can get this done is if you guys help me out. So spread the word! It's all in aid of Unicef, so I'm doing it for the right reasons.

I've got a Twitter page running under the name High5record, and you can check out my video blogs here:

http://www.gltfa.com/

Maybe some of you guys heard me on Spin yesterday? I was interviewed about the whole thing at about 2:30. Dublin City FM interviewed me about 90 minutes ago, and LMFM are talking to me on Friday.

Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

on the internet?

*only read thread title

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

sorry i only have 3 fingers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

And where could one give you this "5"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bags not counting.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Go to the Dun Laoghaire Festival of World Cultures on Saturday! I'll have a stage of sorts down near the seafront.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    His hand, perhaps!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Mmcd

You're soooooo getting swine flu!

Mmcd wrote: »
    You're soooooo getting swine flu!
    I wasn't doing much with my life anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Maybe you're being a bit ambitious, your hand will probably get sore and tired :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Do high fives to the face count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Wacker wrote: »
    I wasn't doing much with my life anyway...

Obviously :P

Best of luck with your challenge !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,195 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Hi-5?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭magicianz

What type of training did u do for it? :-o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

yeah man i'll try to give you a few, gonna be there on sunday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

How do Unicef benefit from you getting lots of high 5s?

Also do they have to be unique? Could one not just play patty cake-patty cake with some one for the day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Do you need 5,000 different people?....if not surely you can find 2 different people to try this with you....also 5,000 over 24 hours works out just over 3 a minute...not exactly breaking our boll*x here are we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

But I means he has to stay up, If he aims to get 8 hours of sleep, I'm guessing for an hour neither of his hands will be accessible. Therefore, it will be 500 in 23 hours

which is 1 per .276 of a minute. Which is 1 per 16.56 seconds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Do you need 5,000 different people?....if not surely you can find 2 different people to try this with you....also 5,000 over 24 hours works out just over 3 a minute...not exactly breaking our boll*x here are we?
    im guessing its more the trouble of getting 5000 ppl to stand in a line.....

and theres probly some ghey rule so both ppl have to move their arms or somthing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

Mousey- wrote: »
    im guessing its more the trouble of getting 5000 ppl to stand in a line.....

and theres probly some ghey rule so both ppl have to move their arms or somthing...

Ah, the brokeback rule of '05.

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    How do Unicef benefit from you getting lots of high 5s?

Also do they have to be unique? Could one not just play patty cake-patty cake with some one for the day?
    You can read about that here:

http://www.unicef.ie/high_five.htm

In a nutshell, I've got a company lined up who will donate a water purification kit to Unicef for each High 5 I get. There will also be people collecting near me.

Yes, each High 5 needs to be from someone new. Also, I have to do them all with my right arm, they all need to be above head height, and I need to stay in the same place the whole time.

magicianz wrote: »
    What type of training did u do for it? :-o
    I talk about the training here:

http://www.gltfa.com/?p=708.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

You can read about that here:

http://www.unicef.ie/high_five.htm

In a nutshell, I've got a company lined up who will donate a water purification kit to Unicef for each High 5 I get. There will also be people collecting near me.

Yes, each High 5 needs to be from someone new. Also, I have to do them all with my right arm, they all need to be above head height, and I need to stay in the same place the whole time.

Hey Wacker, probably be there so that's one high five!Best of luck with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I will only do it if you use hand sanitizer after every high five... There are some gross people out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

Why not just stand on grafton street with a sandwich board on you advertising what you're doing. You'd easily get 5000 done in half the time :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I'm in a different country, so please accept my crippled internet five

_ / |
    / \ | | /\
    \ \| |/ /
    \ Y | /___
    .-.) '. `__/
    (.-. / /
    | ' |
    |___|
    [_____]
    | |

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

... to the side, down below, up above.... you're in love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Best of luck Wacker. Fair play to ye. I can't promise to make it, but if I did, where would your hand be if I was coming out of the Kingston beer garden heading back towards the station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

A fitting Username.

Best of luck with it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

Yeah I'll be there, and may even drag someone else along. So one Guarenteed, and maybe a second one. HIGH FIVE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

I'm definitely jizzing on my hand before giving you a high 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

Purposefully heading to the event just to slap you some unicef love. Ill bring along 2 others

Wacker Fan #605

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Sticky of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

WeeBushy wrote: »
    I'm definitely jizzing on my hand before giving you a high 5.
    Rabies wrote: »
    Sticky of the week.

I'm sure thats what whacker will be saying too!

Best of luck with it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Good luck dude.

Nice to see someone actually doing something useful instead of organising a flash mob or some sh*te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,829 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Go to the Dun Laoghaire Festival of World Cultures on Saturday! I'll have a stage of sorts down near the seafront.

I'll see you there so.

I'm sure thats what whacker will be saying too!

Best of luck with it!

lol

I feel bad for saying that now after all the other nice and supportive comments that everyone else is leaving.

I will reconsider jizzing on my hand. But I can't promise anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I'll be there..
    And High Fivin..

o/

Rabies wrote: »
    Sticky of the week.
    First of all, thanks a million for making this a sticky! All the good wishes are greatly appreciated. What I really need though is for you all to spread the word - tell all your colleagues and friends about what I'm up to. If you guys are High-5ing me, be sure to identify yourselves as Boards users!

Secondly, I believe I'll be set up near the Ferris Wheel and all the food stands around the green area at Sandycove. My mates will be making themselves known and pointing people in the right direction though, so I'll be easy to find.

Thirdly, I will have hand-sanitizer available. Not only can anyone use it, but I'll use it whenever anyone asks me to, so don't be worrying about swine flu and whatnot.

Fourthly, everyone should go to the DLR Festival of World Cultures anyway, regardless of my being there. It's great craic!

Finally, this one is for WeeBushy: jizzing on your hand prior to a High 5 is a bit gross for me even. Please don't!

Fair enough, I'l refrain from jizzing on my hand until after I High 5 you.

Good luck with the effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭Ivona Tinkle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Won't be there, but best of luck anyway. Have you spoken to Guinness about inclusion in the Guinness Book of Records if you make it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

Ahh the ol' high world championships,I read about this every year in Obscure Sports Quarterly!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

raah! wrote: »
    Maybe you're being a bit ambitious, your hand will probably get sore and tired :P

With a name like Wacker, I doubt it will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭kingofslaves

I'm working as a volunteer supervisor in the Newstownsmith Stage area, just next to the ferris wheel & carousel. I'll tell all my volunteers to come High-5 you! best of luck and good to see someone helping UNICEF.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

raah! wrote: »

Thats what she said!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

You posted something like this in AH and expect serious replies, wow!

Fair play nonetheless, doing it for a great charity!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

not sure if i will make it but i have plenty of friends working at this festival so i asked them to pop along :) best of luck and i look forward to your one handed reply to see whether you managed it or not :)