Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Rehearsal space

• 24-08-2009 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

Can anyone tell me what the going rates are for rehearsal in The Forge these days? I used it a few years ago and from what I remember the place left a lot to be desired. Have they improved the service or is the equipment etc. as bad as ever? Is there any alternative rehearsal space around Galway city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭tonyhiggins

This might be a good place to ask:

http://www.screamformegalway.proboards.com

The Forge is the same as it ever was. I think it's e25 for 3hrs, and you can only book in 3hr slots as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭conti

cariss1 wrote: »
    Have they improved the service or is the equipment etc. as bad as ever?

Not sure what you mean by service. What service do you need only to be let into the place?

Anytime good equipment is put in there it just gets stolen or broken so it's understandable that they use they gear that they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 cariss1

Cheers for the link Tony, wasn't aware of that forum.
    Conti, I was never fortunate enough to use the Forge when it had new equipment and it's a shame people would break and steal stuff when the place is providing a much needed facility.
    I moved to London a few years back and, only having experience with The Forge, it was an eye opener to use some of the rehearsal spaces there. Good equipment, staff that were knowledgeable and passionate and also you got a feeling of being part of a vibrant music scene. A lot of them arranged gigs for bands they thought were worthy and provided equipment rental for the bands that only had a couple of guitars and a few good tunes. They didn't have issues with people breaking or stealing stuff as there was always somebody at the front desk monitoring and helping out where necessary. And also to ANSWER THE PHONE for bookings. Some of these places welcomed musicians just to hang out and chat in the communal area when they weren't there to rehearse. This was a great way to meet like minded people and exchange demos and ideas. I wish the Forge provided a service like that as Galway is such a great city with an unbelievable amount of talented people knocking around. I would like a little bit more than just to be let into a place. Just my opinion but the music scene in Galway could with a kick up the arse. There are only a hand full of local bands that are currently making any impact on a national level and judging by the individual talent I see amongst my friends and even just walking down shop street, Galway could easily dominate the Irish music scene. Again thats just my opinion and ye're welcome to disagree. Cheers for the feedback lads, it's appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭conti

cariss1 wrote: »
    the music scene in Galway could with a kick up the arse. There are only a hand full of local bands that are currently making any impact on a national level and judging by the individual talent I see amongst my friends and even just walking down shop street, Galway could easily dominate the Irish music scene.

Agree %100. The cover band scene has that town ruined. Once people get a few quid into their hands on a regular basis that seems to be the end of their ambition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭bloo

I totally agree cariss, im amazed that in what i thought was the musical capitol of ireland has only 1 reasonably priced rehersal place, at least to my knowledge. Galway is crying out for a decent rehersal space with half decent equipment.

The place i used to practice in back in england had a number of properly sound proofed rooms with equipment that you could hire out for each practice, something like 2 quid to use the amp, a few more for cymbals if you needed them. And that place was set up by a local band! Im sure people would respect the place and not damage or steal equipment if it was half decent to begin with.

Anyway as far as i know the Forge is the same as always about 25 quid for 3 hrs.. just dont call the number for the recording studio by accident, even tho its next door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

cariss1 wrote:
    Can anyone tell me what the going rates are for rehearsal in The Forge these days?
    From what I can gather you can book 3 hour slots on the weekend and 2.5 hour slots during the week (I'm open to correction on that). The 3 hour slots are €30 and the 2.5 hour slots are €25. When booking, try the mobile number - 086 344 8199 and if they don't answer that, try the number for the B&B at the front - 091 561 446. The same people run both.

I've been using the Forge regularly for the last couple of years. The quality of the supplied equipment is poor but then I always bring my own gear. The thing that annoys me most is the parking. The rooms are down an alleyway so it's very easy to be boxed in by someone else. It also can be quite awkward carrying amps and stuff in and out because the doors are usually blocked by cars. In the summer especially the rooms can get quite overheated as there is no ventilation.

Now, with all that said it's the only place I know of in Galway and until I have enough money to buy a big house in the country it's what I'm going to have to use. The fact that it's in town means it's handy to go for a beer or two afterwards!
    bloo wrote:
    Galway is crying out for a decent rehersal space with half decent equipment.
    I totally agree. I discussed the idea a couple of years ago with a few people and we came up with a few ideas on how to combat the theft and breakages problem. Sadly we couldn't raise enough money to get it off the ground and that was the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

No references ... but I have a feeling that I've seen plans about a space being planned.

Must have been within the last two years (I've only been around that long) or less (maybe one).

May have been associated with the (now canned/delayed?) venue in Fisheries Field (oops, just realised the great pun there!). Or very maybe the arthouse cinema that's coming along on Merchants Rd.

Its been a good few months since I posted my enquiry regarding rehearsal space in Galway and still The Forge is the only option.
    I have decided to set up a rehearsal space in a unit I have acquired in the Ballybane industrial estate.

This will be funded by my friends and I but we will be looking to rent the place to honest respectful musicians to help cover the cost of rental and electricity supply.
    As we do not have the funds or resources to set it up to the professional standards I mentioned in my previous post we are going to start with a big soundproof room with good equipment.
    This project will be entirely none profit and any excess beyond bills will be put into maintaining, upgrading and hopefully expanding this facility.

I understand the unit isn't as close to town as would be preferred but from a financial perspective it's the only option.

This is what we will provide:

- A 15ftx15ft adequately soundproofed air conditioned room
    - Marshall cabs for Bass and Lead guitar
    - Marshall heads for bass and lead guitar
    - Fender Combo Amp for Rhythm guitar
    - Pearl Drum kit
    - A good stereo P.A system
    - Sennheiser microphone
    - Zildjian cymbals and Guitar Leads (Perishables) would be provided for a small extra cost.
    - Tea/Coffee facilities
    - Tons of parking space
    - a Lock up for storage (Alarmed premises)
    - Flexible time slots

Please post any other suggestions ye may have and they will all be gratefully considered.

Anybody who wishes to use this space can P.M me there number and I will contact them with information on when I hope to have the place set-up by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭happytime

conti wrote: »
    Not sure what you mean by service. What service do you need only to be let into the place?

Anytime good equipment is put in there it just gets stolen or broken so it's understandable that they use they gear that they do.

thats a load of bullsh1t

if i pay for a rehearsal room i expect to get the use of a kit that isnt falling apart

the owner of the room HAS A DUTY TO ME THE CUSTOMER to provide me with what I am paying him for ie equipment in reasonable condition; not junk that is falling apart

if you book into apple rock in Dublin all the drums are 100%

toilets are always kept well too; coffee/tea no problem...parking no prob

the jacks in the forge are a disgrace a dog wouldnt sh1t in them

having said all that he's reasonable when it comes to the money side of things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭DOTHEDOG

ok it seems that this thread is outdated but is their any half decent studios with gear to reherarse need to know asap or pm me numbers if you can cheers

DOTHEDOG wrote: »
    ok it seems that this thread is outdated but is their any half decent studios with gear to reherarse need to know asap or pm me numbers if you can cheers
    Assuming you mean Galway city, the only two I know of are The Forge and cariss1's place. If you come across any more please let me know and I will update the Resources thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭drum!

Carris' place is really nice. The amps are deadly, definitely better than The Forge although the PA systems in The Forge have larger speakers and more wattage. The guy who runs it too is a gent, decent and reasonable. The only thing is it's too far out of the city (i've no car) so i always use The Forge. The kit isn't much better than The Forge's though.

The Forge has decent peavey amps in there, we get a decent metal sound out of them anyway, the bass amp does the trick. The kits are the real let down but i generally bring most of my own gear minus the kick drum. Bernard is an absolute legend and is really flexible if there is no-one booked in after your allotted time.Parking is not great, you often get interrupted and asked to move your car so someone else can get out but bear in mind that you can park on New Road for free after 6:30pm and all day Sunday.

Thanks for the kind words Drum!.

Just to let ya know I have upgraded the kit and the PA since you were last in.

I now have a Yamaha Rydeen kit in there which has much stronger hardware, Remo skins and Zildjian Crash and Hi-hats that (unlike the old metal) don't resemble Papadums.

The new P.A has a 1000w Amp and 2 large speakers with Yamaha powered mixer.

The last one I had wasn't up to much anyway but it gave up the ghost when somebody decided the 300W Marshall Amp + 4x12" Cab just wasn't loud enough for a 12ft square room and thought micing up the amp through the 50w (vocal-only) P.A would make their guitar sound so much better.

I offer pick up and drop off in town at the weekends as I have to go through it to get to the studio anyway.

See I told ya I'd take the constructive criticism on board ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭drum!

Good man! Glad to see it's still going well for you. Those equipment upgrades have it clinched for ya in Galway by the looks of it.I can't understand why that guy mic'd up that guitar rig.Bizarre!

Did you get the second room set up yet?

Well its only going ok at the moment, I have a few sound regulars in and a few new bands that surface then disappear then resurface again but I make rent most weeks and that's all I'm after for now.

I've been busy at work so the progress of this project has been on hold since the start of the winter.

Funds permitting I'm going to set-up a second room at the end of the month and see where things go from there.

Hows your musical project going, are you still in the 2 piece outfit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

Hope its still up and running, it'd be great to have alternative to the Forge:D

Just sent you a pm about info.

Mike747 wrote: »
    Hope its still up and running, it'd be great to have alternative to the Forge:D

Just sent you a pm about info.
    The address and contact number that you need is in the resources thread here. Look under Galway obviously :).