Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Military Training

• 24-08-2009 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭

Hey guys,

Im in prep training for the Royal Marines expecting my PJFT and PRMC early in the new year.

Basically im looking for a training partner or more to the point ex-mil or current willing to up my tempo to a top notch standard over the next few months! Apart from the gym all my training is on the curragh, so if your around the kildare area!!!!

My mates come with me on and off but nothing consistant, would really like the advice and help of someone that knows what they are talking about and willing to push me to my limit and beyond. No reward tho im afraid just the joy of seeing me suffer!!:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

You kidding? We're a bunch of armchair commandoes on here, you sound like you're talking about real effort.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭bsquadron

You kidding? We're a bunch of armchair commandoes on here, you sound like you're talking about real effort.

NTM

haha, surely there is one of ye that can make it off the chair!!:) we could do a Rocky job and follow me on ye're push bikes roarin abuse at me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

you sound like someone i know!are thou'st initials J.D. perchance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Try the politics forum, there's a few regular posters over there who would pay good money to see a RM suffer. You could make a few bob out of this. :D

No sorry mate, my initials aint JD, but if you know someone in the same boat as me by all means get him to PM me. Cheers.

haha, problem with that is those guys would expect to abuse a potential RM for free! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Was a guy posting in here a bit back, forgot his handle who was after the marines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Iceage, that was probably me you are on about, still am but not nearly as seriously now that I am nearly fit enough.

We go soon though, hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

the fitness you'll need is running, and some upper body strength.

personally, i wouldn't go round advertising the reason you want to up you fitness, you'll find someone to partner you without mentioning the RM bit.

PERSEC my boy, and lots of it.

I know whats needed mate, just lookin for someone as fit if not fitter than myself to up the tempo a bit, mates were fine for awhile but eventually just get bored with it as they happy enough with their fitness level. Like drawing blood from a stone trying to get a training partner alot harder than I thought it would be.:(

Even anyone about trainin for a triathalon or marathon or somethin, give me a shout!

Oh and advertising about what im at isnt my intention, I mainly just wanted to see if there is anyone in the same boat as myself. Never know unless I ask!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

running club?

stick a note up at the gym 'couch potato seeks fellow couch potato to cattle prod each other into buffness: ring bob on 12345678'?

Ireland is a small place, asking on here and saying why you want to get fitter isn't as annoymous you might like to think, and what happens if you got a 'yeah, sure' from on here? they know why, and you don't know them, or anyone who reads their replies, from Adam.

sorry to give you a hard time, but persec and an almost ridiculous obsession with secrecy are the way to avoid hassle. its a state of mind, not something tagged on at the end.

Already gone to the local athletics club, they only wanted to concentrate on competing, 100m/ 200m/ shotput etc. So hit that nail on the head.

Well ahead of ya mate, stuck a notice on the gym notice board, within about 2 wks one of the instructors had a running club going (fair play) but unfortunatly for me all that joined were 4 old biddies, :rolleyes: but she couldnt ignore them for me (because they were in the club so to speak) so that back fired on me too! :( So now iv resorted to the web! :eek:

I know what you mean mate, no harm done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭QOTSA90

Sorry, but what is 'persec'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

Have you tried asking in the fitness forum? I'm sure you'd find someone there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Persec - Personal Security.
    Opsec - Operational Security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭Duffers

Mate the PRMC is pretty easy all things considered you just need a basic level of fitness! More about sprints than endurance, I got MD'd from phase 2 just over a year ago, am now in the UK and will be rejoining soon:(
    Sorry I can't help you with the trg. partner bit. find a fit bird and get her to run in front of you, makes those boring runs fly by woohoo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Must be somebody near you who's up for a bit of this although a few weeks back a few of us were on a bit of a fitness bender here.. Found I do much more when I'm on my own though if I was honest...

Mate just keep running, and chins, and running, and push up, running, and runing!

Did I mention running, with weight? Careful though. :P

Cheers lads,

Just from experience ya cant beat a bit of company and someone giving you an egg on! Always found that no matter what you at gym, running, swimming, whotever, you can be amazed what your capable of with someone shouting words of encouragement! :) Never mind either way il stay with what im at, someone wants to join me all the better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

bsquadron wrote: »
    Cheers lads,

Just from experience ya cant beat a bit of company and someone giving you an egg on! Always found that no matter what you at gym, running, swimming, whotever, you can be amazed what your capable of with someone shouting words of encouragement abuse! :) Never mind either way il stay with what im at, someone wants to join me all the better!

Fixed that for ya

LOL.....:) Cheers...... obvious mistake! :D