Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shanty Towns Springing up In America.

• 20-08-2009 8:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Just on RTE News there, Charlie Bird was reporting about A shanty town of tents in Flordia made up of people who have lost there jobs and there homes have been foreclosed, the woman says they dont take Families and that Hundreds of Families turn up eveynight looking for food and tents:eek:, Charlie says that there are shanty towns springing up all over America, what a absolute disgrace America is, instead of looking after there own people they prefer to spent Billions on war and bailing out the rich, and people call it the greatest country in the world, yeah right, give me Ireland any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Verchiel

Just on RTE News there, Charlie Bird was reporting about A shanty town of tents in Flordia made up of people who have lost there jobs and there homes have been foreclosed, the woman says they dont take Families and that Hundreds of Families turn up eveynight looking for food and tents:eek:, Charlie says that there are shanty towns springing up all over America, what a absolute disgrace America is, instead of looking after there own people they prefer to spent Billions on war and bailing out the rich, and people call it the greatest country in the world, yeah right, give me Ireland any day.

So.yeaeh.and.I,so,This,thank.go,left.hi.yah

Whut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Verchiel wrote: »
    So.yeaeh.and.I,so,This,thank.go,left.hi.yah

Whut?

Did you take those red pills again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

, the woman says they dont take Families and that Hundreds of Families turn up eveynight looking for food and tents:eek:,

What do they take, just single peoples?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Verchiel

Damo9090 wrote: »
    the https://www.dominos.ie/ireland/default.aspx

one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

You just need to look at the sort of opposition the universal health care proposals are bringing in and you'll understand the root of the America's problems: greed and stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I'd counter-argue that council homes are nothing more than glorified Projects.

But tbh this is the first I've heard about the shanties. ill look into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Actually the PC term is "Temporary Domicile" Towns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

America's messed up, there's texas students coming to Ireland with no money or appropriate immigration documentation and they're being put up in nice hotels in Ballsbridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Dont get me wrong i like Americans and have lived in America, but i just feel so sorry for the working class people there, there very Patriotic and yet the goverment and there country treat them like crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Dont get me wrong i like Americans and have lived in America, but i just feel so sorry for the working class people there, there very Patriotic and yet the goverment and there country treat them like crap.

Wait until it bottoms out in Ireland before you start talking about how other governments treat their people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

jumpguy wrote: »
    You just need to look at the sort of opposition the universal health care proposals are bringing in and you'll understand the root of the America's problems: greed and stupidity.

The UHC proposals that Obama put forward are an unfair, unweildy joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Napoli

You're dead right Jonjo, it's an absolute disgrace. You can bet the same people sleeping in those tents would be the first to sign up to the army to fight for their country if another war started. Poor gullible suckers and this is how America treats them.

What part of the USA did you live in Jonjo if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

This is news to me and i see other that live in the US, Charlie knows more about whats going in the US then its own media. I doubt this story, or there is much more to it than it being people that have recently lost their jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭marzic

well i hope none of them was trying to get any sleep, with charlie bird fcuking blaring in the background, the poor sods probably thought it was the police on loudspeakers coming to clear them out:D

Napoli wrote: »
    You're dead right Jonjo, it's an absolute disgrace. You can bet the same people sleeping in those tents would be the first to sign up to the army to fight for their country if another war started. Poor gullible suckers and this is how America treats them.

I lived in Alaska and also Idaho, made plenty of good friends there and have lots of good friends in the U.S army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

RTE has always been anti-american. It would not surprise me if they ignored about 5 stories about how americans are trying to get by in recessionary times, to give us this whopper.

wheres a link? I've tried searching Rte's website and can find nothing about this.

edit: unless you count this, where 200,000 of gainesville's residents were uprooted two days ago, and as many as 100 killed.

Tragic really. Gainesville was my last residence in florida. great spot tbh.

http://www.miamiherald.com/news/miami-dade/story/1190676.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

This should be moved to the conspiracy thread :rolleyes:ya know it's all part of the master plan ,the economic destruction of america the crash of the dollar in october etc... ;););););)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Napoli

Jaysus you've been around the block a few times Jonjo. I remember watching an Al Pacino film based in Alaska. It seemed like a really odd place - daylight for 23 hours straight or something like that. I'm not a fan of cold weather myself now.

I'd only be interested in visiting the coasts like California or New York tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭NilByMouth

who cares??its in america

Jaysus you've been around the block a few times Jonjo. I remember watching an Al Pacino film based in Alaska. It seemed like a really odd place - daylight for 23 hours straight or something like that. I'm not a fan of cold weather myself now.

I'd only be interested in visiting the coasts like California or New York tbh.

Aww ya cant beat Alaska espically the south east by the inside passage, no roads just the ferry system to get from town to town, its only cold 7 months of the year the other 5 months are 25-35 degrees and 24 hour daylight, but come end of september it really gets cold, i was sleeping in a tent for a few weeks and when i got out in the morning the tent used to be covered in light ice:D didnt notice the cold that much espically after lots of drink oh and loads of lets just say colourful charcters up there who thought i was a charchter, no greater acolade:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭murfie

Overheal wrote: »
    wheres a link? I've tried searching Rte's website and can find nothing about this.

http://www.rte.ie/news/9news/

It was on 9 news tonight i guess. I have not watched it yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

syklops wrote: »
    RTE has always been anti-american. It would not surprise me if they ignored about 5 stories about how americans are trying to get by in recessionary times, to give us this whopper.
    I'd be inclined to disagree. They've reported on all the stimulus packages plenty. They reported the less-than-expected job losses this quarter. However, the situation is very bad in the USA. The rich-poor gap is greater than the Grand Canyon itself at this stage. Partly to blame on this odd hyper-anti-socialism thing Americans have going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Longford town would make that place look like Heaven

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

jumpguy wrote: »
    lol ... "hes trying to give us free health care"
    "damm kenyan"

:p:p

some ppl think he was a kenyan born muslim lol....

I guess St. Petersburg has had a "Tent City" since 2006:

http://www.stpeteforpeace.org/tentcity.html

Given that, I doubt very much this Shanty thing can really be pegged squarely at this recession. The problem in St. Petersburg is much more complicated, and knowing they read this shyte: Rte, I'd like you to follow up with that correction, thanks.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tent_city#St._Petersburg.2C_Florida.2C_USA

I'm sure if you handed each of them a tent and told them to go squat in Phoenix park, you'd notice the Homeless problem in Dublin much more as well.

The truth is Tent Cities like this are nothing new, and exist all over the US. Its just another term for Shanty. They exist all over the world. You can read up in the link: its not a new phenomenon. Sad sure. Reflection on recent failure? I dont know about that. Again, can you point to many countries that have had no homeless problem in the last 15 years?

Well, except maybe one of those countries, where they just black-bag their hobos and throw the bodies in a landfill. Good ol' XYZ countries. And I'll hazard a guess at somewhere cool like Sweden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

Way to go Overheal, stickin' it to the man.
    The Bird Man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Damo9090 wrote: »

If he did, he should take a bigger handful and unplug the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

I went to Seattle in about 2003, landed at Tacoma-Seattle International and took the freeway into Seattle. On the way in, we could see little tents in the hills near the road. It was a sobering experience. Here we were, in the richest country in the world, where supposedly anything was possible, and people were living in huts of galvinised steel and plastic in the pissing, freezing, relentless Pacific Northwest rain. And this was well before the Credit Crunch. I don't want to imagine what it's like there now.

Sure. Its a very interesting social problem. But I don't think it deserves to be looked at as something New thats just "Springing Up". We do need to address it as a long standing issue; look at it and come up with some things. And by We, I mean everybody. This isn't just "those crazy bloody stupid gun wielding yanks again".

Galvanized Steel and Plastic beats the hell out of soggy cardboard though. Eh? Eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

probably just a few music fans on the way to oxygen, got too drunk, got lost, so decided to set up camp :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

American has to go through some kind of..................radical change. Please stand by as looters that what they want.

WHY?
    REALIZE, REAL EYES, REAL LIES!
    LIES!

CCCP^ wrote: »
    I went to Seattle in about 2003, landed at Tacoma-Seattle International and took the freeway into Seattle. On the way in, we could see little tents in the hills near the road. It was a sobering experience. Here we were, in the richest country in the world, where supposedly anything was possible, and people were living in huts of galvinised steel and plastic in the pissing, freezing, relentless Pacific Northwest rain. And this was well before the Credit Crunch. I don't want to imagine what it's like there now.

Yeah ive been in Seattle many times, it has a big homeless problem.

Overheal wrote: »
    Galvanized Steel and Plastic beats the hell out of soggy cardboard though. Eh? Eh?

Spot on.

A temporary housing structure made of galvanised steel and plastic is far more suitable to the US homeless demographic.

The walls of a cardboard shack could never sustain the weight of a stuffed gun cabinet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

well they can sign up now cant they?

American has to go through some kind of..................radical change. Please stand by as looters that what they want.

WHY?
    REALIZE, REAL EYES, REAL LIES!
    LIES!
    No more Machine Head for you.
    stovelid wrote: »
    Spot on.

A temporary housing structure made of galvanised steel and plastic is far more suitable to the US homeless demographic.

The walls of a cardboard shack could never sustain the weight of a stuffed gun cabinet.

nice :pac: i didnt see that coming.

CCCP^ wrote: »
    the American Dream cant exist for everyone
    for it to be available , the opposite must also be available.

ask not what your country can do for you.... kinda ironic isnt it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

I think the speech from one Boston Legal episode summed up the cost of the war perfectly(Not sure how accurate this is now, but it was damn good).
    Free health insurance for every uninsured family, $124 billion.

Convert every single car to run on ethanol, $68 billion.

Primary education for every child on the planet, all of them, $30 billion.

End hunger in America, $7 billion.
    We have to talk about the cost of this war in terms of human lives.

stovelid wrote: »

corvette?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i know its not the exact thing we are discussing but las vegas blogger vegasrex did a piece on vegas' tent city a few weeks back, interesting read http://www.casinoguide.com/blogs/lifeinvegas/blog/off-strip/skid-row-of-vegas/

Good man Andy, you will sleep well tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Yes we can :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

More shocking still is the recent phenomenon of people in the states living in their cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Karma TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Sure isnt there shanty towns in Ireland, what the hell do yous think Tallagh is?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

This is old news, this version started two years ago in the states.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/7297093.stm

It's just Rté had a slow news day so they ran with it and then somebody heard it for the first time and thought :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

murfie wrote: »
    This is news to me and i see other that live in the US, Charlie knows more about whats going in the US then its own media. I doubt this story, or there is much more to it than it being people that have recently lost their jobs

what about people in jobs who can't afford homes?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/8186690.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Ah, sure Niall Mellon and the generous Irish will fix that problem....

Caoimhín wrote: »
    what the hell do yous think Tallagh is?

Misspelt?